The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Jonathan_337

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Jonathan_337 » May 17th, 2013, 5:32 pm

To those who've installed CWM & rooted their Nexus devices, is this guide basically covering all the steps ?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=2160702

Gonna install CWM and root tonight, just wanna make sure nothing goes wrong.

Also just for my own knowledge, what exactly is the difference between the bootloader and fastboot? Is fastboot just the way the bootloader communicates with the host for receiving instructions from the terminal?

On another note -

http://www.usatoday.com/story/tech/2013 ... d/2194311/

Risky move on their part, beneficial to us.

EDIT- Was about to use the above method but for God knows what the ADB drivers just would NOT install on the windows 8. So I was fooling around, not finding anything on Google, then I remembered some driver I installed recently would only install if I reboot Windows and disable driver signature reinforcement...ended up doing that with a toolkit and it worked great. Unlocked the bootloader, installed cwm and rooted..Might flash a custom kernel if anything to speed things up.

Any rom recommendations for the Nexus 7?

Postby Stephon. » May 18th, 2013, 6:53 am

RASC wrote:
Stephon. wrote:I get my S4 today finally
It's been a long lonely road seeing my peers with theres as I cower in a corner with my S3
But tonight my friends, tonight I would be able to pull out my phone in public once more.
No more would I need to leave my phone on silent as I leave the house
No longer would I be ignoring whatsapp messages from friends when I'm too ashamed to whip out my prehistoric phone to reply.

The sun is just a cloud away!

HAHAHA
...what colour?
Case or no Case?
Size memory?

White/Gay flip case/16GB

Postby stev » May 18th, 2013, 9:31 am

flip case? the one with the smart cover?

wanted to know what displays on the little opening for the screen.

Postby ismithx » May 18th, 2013, 7:13 pm

Stephon. wrote:
RASC wrote:
It's been a long lonely road seeing my peers with theres as I cower in a corner with my S3
But tonight my friends, tonight I would be able to pull out my phone in public once more.
No longer would I be ignoring whatsapp messages from friends when I'm too ashamed to whip out my prehistoric phone to reply.

HAHAHA
...what colour?
Case or no Case?
Size memory?

White/Gay flip case/16GB

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » May 18th, 2013, 7:30 pm

Stephon. wrote:
RASC wrote:

HAHAHA
...what colour?
Case or no Case?
Size memory?

White/Gay flip case/16GB

:lol: gay flip case..I fraid them thing.. Usually falls on the edge when the phone does fall, cracked screen

sentraman

Postby sentraman » May 19th, 2013, 12:27 pm

Guys, trying to decide on a 10" tab. Between the nexus 10 and the note 10.1

Thoughts??

Postby nervewrecker » May 19th, 2013, 1:55 pm

Is there anywhere I can land a brand new Samsung S II unlocked?

Or is there anyone with one rooted and stuff already in 10/10 condition and was never molested in anyway by adding million apps.

I'm open to other options besides the S II btw, just basically need a phone with:

good RAM,
Good processor,
good screen size (about same size as the S II),
good memory (expandable slot for SD card is an option),
good cam that can take close up shots and has flash,
4G capable that can run google maps and waze,
gorilla glass and
not too concerned about resale value as I wont be selling back soon.

edit: should mention this is not a WTB post, I am only looking at options right now. Have some other priorities to sort before I sort out phone.
Last edited by nervewrecker on May 19th, 2013, 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby S_2NR » May 19th, 2013, 2:08 pm

I thinking about selling my s2 but not sure what I'll replace it with.. Phones getting too big..

Wonders if to buy iPhone 5:lol:

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » May 19th, 2013, 2:35 pm

S_2NR wrote:I thinking about selling my s2 but not sure what I'll replace it with.. Phones getting too big..

try the nexus 4

Sent from my Nexus 4 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby nervewrecker » May 19th, 2013, 2:57 pm

S_2NR wrote:

I actually considering one of these. They are great phones and have no resale value, I should get a cheap one from a fanboy selling to upgrade.

Only thing is...its not an android :( I love the android interface.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 19th, 2013, 3:19 pm

Buy the iphone.

I know someone that has a couple s2 new. I'll check and see if he has anymore. Priced at 2k tho

Postby Trini Hookah » May 19th, 2013, 3:20 pm

S_2NR wrote:

I actually considering one of these. They are great phones and have no resale value, I should get a cheap one from a fanboy selling to upgrade.

No resale? And what wud they upgrade to? :|

ABA has the s2 for 1600

J453

Postby J453 » May 19th, 2013, 3:43 pm

iamblessed wrote:
S_2NR wrote:I thinking about selling my s2 but not sure what I'll replace it with.. Phones getting too big..

try the nexus 4

Postby S_2NR » May 19th, 2013, 5:46 pm

Worried about nexus 4 falling and breaking. Looks fragile

J453

Postby J453 » May 19th, 2013, 7:08 pm

That's a genuine concern considering the glass back of the Nexus. Even though the durability of the Nexus is probably on par with most other smartphones. I use a case for mine that protects the back and sides pretty well. And it is a slim case so it doesn't add much bulk to the phone itself. There's also an option for a transparent backed case if you want to show off the shiny patterned back of the phone and the prominent NEXUS logo. I went for the matte black case myself which makes the phone kinda hard to identify so I often get asked "what kind of phone is that?" But the phone itself looks and feels great and stock android is a pleasure to use; very fast and silky smooth. Definitely still a very viable choice for any android user looking for an upgrade.

Confession: I went into tstt to purchase a Galaxy S4 but they sold out like 10 minutes before I walked in (not on launch day). So I got this instead. I've used both devices and performance is comparable on both devices; notwithstanding the Galaxy's undisputed superior spec sheet. All in all I'm not at all disappointed with purchasing this device. Especially for saving over $1000 lol. Would definitely recommend it. Has to be one of the best android phones available even though it's not one of the newest.

Postby nervewrecker » May 19th, 2013, 7:31 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

No resale? And what wud they upgrade to? :|

ABA has the s2 for 1600

The No resale is a plus for me, it works to my advantage . As soon as the next model Is released it will have men selling mint iphones at a hefty loss just so they can own the latest phone. I did mention I am in no hurry to buy right?

Will pm aba and sound boy do that check for me. Didn't aba repair a phone recently? Is it that same one?

Postby Chimera » May 19th, 2013, 7:40 pm

Nah the repaired ones were i9300s and 9100s. I'm selling 777 and 747s

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby nervewrecker » May 19th, 2013, 8:09 pm

All of the s2 carries mini sim?

That $1600.00 is for the s2 btw? New?

Postby Chimera » May 19th, 2013, 8:34 pm

S2 is full size sim. 1600 used 9.5/10 condition

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app
Last edited by Chimera on May 19th, 2013, 10:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby M_2NR » May 19th, 2013, 10:28 pm

S2 is damn good. Don't mind the screen a lil lame.

Padna of mine has a n4. No case/screen protector and its alive and well. It took falls too. I think it's the cheapest and coolest alternative for the android experience.

Fwiw I eh paying no 650$ for an android device that will drop to sub $400 in a matter of months some even weeks.

Postby S_2NR » May 19th, 2013, 10:53 pm

M_2NR wrote:S2 is damn good. Don't mind the screen a lil lame.

Padna of mine has a n4. No case/screen protector and its alive and well. It took falls too. I think it's the cheapest and coolest alternative for the android experience.

Fwiw I eh paying no 650$ for an android device that will drop to sub $400 in a matter of months some even weeks.

what u mean lame? not big enough?

Postby M_2NR » May 19th, 2013, 10:59 pm

S_2NR wrote:

i think I talked about it before. Like whites are not exactly white. I see it as if it is textured and off white. It's a bit hard to describe. Compared to devices like the One X, iPhone or the nexus 4, the screen together with the pentile tech - it just isn't as clear/crisp. Personally (side note), I rather the note2 screen over it as well as even the s3 due to the newer pixel arrangement, etc. on the note2.

It's definitely big enough though.

Postby nervewrecker » May 19th, 2013, 11:04 pm

My el cheapo galaxy y still white and the plastic still on the screen.
Can eaisly be passed of as recently bought

Postby Trini Hookah » May 19th, 2013, 11:07 pm

M_2NR wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

i think I talked about it before. Like whites are not exactly white. I see it as if it is textured and off white. It's a bit hard to describe. Compared to devices like the One X, iPhone or the nexus 4, the screen together with the pentile tech - it just isn't as clear/crisp. Personally (side note), I rather the note2 screen over it as well as even the s3 due to the newer pixel arrangement, etc. on the note2.

It's definitely big enough though.
I can vouch for that white thing, but it isn't too bad

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » May 20th, 2013, 4:19 am

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » May 20th, 2013, 7:39 am

J453 wrote:That's a genuine concern considering the glass back of the Nexus. Even though the durability of the Nexus is probably on par with most other smartphones. I use a case for mine that protects the back and sides pretty well. And it is a slim case so it doesn't add much bulk to the phone itself. There's also an option for a transparent backed case if you want to show off the shiny patterned back of the phone and the prominent NEXUS logo. I went for the matte black case myself which makes the phone kinda hard to identify so I often get asked "what kind of phone is that?" But the phone itself looks and feels great and stock android is a pleasure to use; very fast and silky smooth. Definitely still a very viable choice for any android user looking for an upgrade.

Confession: I went into tstt to purchase a Galaxy S4 but they sold out like 10 minutes before I walked in (not on launch day). So I got this instead. I've used both devices and performance is comparable on both devices; notwithstanding the Galaxy's undisputed superior spec sheet. All in all I'm not at all disappointed with purchasing this device. Especially for saving over $1000 lol. Would definitely recommend it. Has to be one of the best android phones available even though it's not one of the newest.

J453 you couldn't said it any better about the nexus 4.this phone rocks.sold my s3's and notes and bought this.I think hardly people have this phone.and sr2nr you are worried bout this phone falling abs cracking.......what would you say about the s3,note1 n 2 and we just ain't see any1 yet posting a s4 with a cracked screen for sale....lol

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » May 20th, 2013, 7:40 am

J453 wrote:That's a genuine concern considering the glass back of the Nexus. Even though the durability of the Nexus is probably on par with most other smartphones. I use a case for mine that protects the back and sides pretty well. And it is a slim case so it doesn't add much bulk to the phone itself. There's also an option for a transparent backed case if you want to show off the shiny patterned back of the phone and the prominent NEXUS logo. I went for the matte black case myself which makes the phone kinda hard to identify so I often get asked "what kind of phone is that?" But the phone itself looks and feels great and stock android is a pleasure to use; very fast and silky smooth. Definitely still a very viable choice for any android user looking for an upgrade.

Nexus 4 owner here..
Have you tried the 4G data plans yet?

Why I ask is that I've purchased data bundles and I'm only seeing EDGE showing up.. It's really frustrating and I didn't spend this money to get crappy 2G speeds..

Are you getting this issue as well?

Postby maj. tom » May 20th, 2013, 7:49 am

Make sure your wifi is off and try Speedtest app and see if it's really EDGE speeds you are getting, or it doesn't automatically change to 3G/H when you start downloading content.

Best to at least call tstt for support.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » May 20th, 2013, 8:21 am

Did the speed test, photo attached.
Wi-Fi is off.
I have the use 2G only box unchecked.

Perhaps my settings need tweaking?

After this I'll probably head to bmobile AGAIN. Dunno why this is so difficult..

1369052203788.jpg

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » May 20th, 2013, 8:23 am

Jonathan wrote:Did the speed test, photo attached.
Wi-Fi is off.
I have the use 2G only box unchecked.

Perhaps my settings need tweaking?

After this I'll probably head to bmobile AGAIN. Dunno why this is so difficult..

we should create a nexus 4 thread....