Porn Star wrote:Very nice. Congrats. But Mr. Tardieu (I apologise if I spelt that wrong), why you always have to be on the small engine case so?

Everything is oh it dont have a real engine unless its a V8. Recently in St Lucia both the V8 powered Galant and the V8 Powered Laurel lost to an engine half their size eh.
Why cant we all just get along?

Even though this thread's about a Drift Capri (which will later evolve into a 1/4mile car)....I'll explain my position on Cars, and their engines...once and for all:-
My 1st car was a 1.3 Laser in '86, and since then have owned over 80 other cars, trucks and vans. From Subarus , Mazdas, Daihatsus, Nissans to Fords, Chevs, even a Lada, Niva, and Cherokee....rebuilt a few 4cyl, a 6 and an 8 or two.
I currently own 6 vehicles...a PCX Jimny, 79 GMC, 61 Hillman Super Minx, 59 Morris Minor, 41 Ford Convertible and that 70 Capri in the pics.
Each generation of owners are as varied as the cars they own, but as far as driveability, handling, comfort, fuel economy and availability...NOTHING beats a car of this "generation".
Here in T&T, because of the monopoly that the Big 3 had in the 60s and 70s...Neal & Nasty, Mc Enearny, and Amars....Trinis only knew a "certain" type of Japanese car... cheap knock down inferior gauge and poorly engineered 120ys, ke 70s and 180bs....now this not to knock any of these I mentioned...except for when you compare them with the SAME models that the Japanese manufactured for their own domestic market....simply put..they shipped the crap to us and kept the good stuff across in Japan. And in case any Neal & Nasty fans are offended....many of those reading this remember how much more we used to pay for the "extras"( AC, boosters, door mirrors, radios, power steering etc) that they N&M...removed from the cars..and then sold them at an additional cost.
So from a purely economical standpoint...TRINIDADIANS only owned a car IF they could have afforded it...cars were known as "luxouries" not the "necessities" as they are today.
That being said..Trinis attached greater emphasis and value on what the rest of the world viewed as a "commodity"...some thing to be used and discarded....hence why soooo many ol timers never drove their cars in the rain, undercoated them from purchase, pulled up their handbrakes with care and delicacy (not yankin them up) not allowin their kids to walk on the upholstery etc...
Cars were just too expensive for the "ordinary man" to purchase.
The era of the 70s...when Coronas and 260cs ruled....The Japs were beginning to copy the American trend of Chrome everywhere...except they were making the cars smaller and with lower displacement 4cyl engines.
It was around this era that Trinis started to benefit from the oil$$$, and Escorts, 180Bs, and Rx2s became the "street warriors"....though they were NEVER meant to act as "SPORT CARS"...Trinis because of the high cost to own and maintain a "Sports Car" (which btw is a car with two (2) doors..a 4 door is called a Sedan)...started to modify these light flimsy lower gauge econo cars to race on the road and on the strip.
And they did quite well for many years...til the advent..in Trini-World...of Fuel Injection and Turbos...the highly feared ol school Sunnys and Escorts with their naturally aspirated 4 cyl with single push rod cammed engines were no match for these new high-brids.
As opposed to the US and Europe, inc Australia...Trinis grew up on Japanese and English based 4cylinders....what the rest of the world knew as a Muscle car was viewed by many here as a 'big ol heavy piece of iron, that dead like ah ol horse"....
Never mind that V8s then and now hold ALL the land speed records for ets and top mph...( yeah, yeah I know, the BONE STOCK Lancer on YouTube did a 200mph pass...whoopee!) ..the Trinidadians "World"...as it had been then dominated by Japanese fed technology...has today, also been made to understand that 2jzs and rbs "run tings"...
And so with that bit of history...we can now tie in what my friend is many young ppls interpretation of a V8 guys....looking down his nose at a Japanese Grocery Getter.
The V8s first of all...don't start their modifications with a "motor swap"...
The term "no replacement for displacement" is not a slap in the face of the Japs...neither is it a new term...it was coined waaay back in the 50s...it is however a truism..as I will expain in simple clear logic...no laptop necessary to understand..here it is: Will a 6000lb Truck go faster with a 1.3liter than it would with a 5.0L V8?
If you point to a thousand vids of rbs or 2js...or V8 Galants or Mustangs being beaten by a New age import motor...all any one needs to do is to take one of those 8000hp NHRA engines and jus "stick it in" his Galant, Mustang etc...and the talk would be done right there.
There is no bragging rights once viewed from the statistical standpoint there will NEVER be a 2jz or rb...to develop 8000horses...yes, the New engines dem does beat Mustang and Camaro...when?...Straight off the show room floor? The GTR is yuh best comeback? In a 100yrs...will they be around? Now I love my likkle Jimny, and wish I could afford one of those Legacy Wagons...they are fun to drive and handle like dat...would I race them? No....especially if it had 4 doors.
New Age cars and their engines....reliable (10yrs) efficient, comfortable, fun to drive, flashy, gadgets galore, easy to fix/get parts for------>YES....V8s------> NO
World record holders?....Google it.
In Trini World? You guys... Take win!
Finally, how long have Trinis been experimenting with jzs and rbs...not about 8yrs now?..More?...and still cyah put down a low 8sec pass?.
( oh shucks ah fuhget Boost and dem, and Aaron...HELLO! How many motors did they DESTROY to get those 9s?...eh? ask them if you have the courage)..Gosh man, right there Puerto Rico...they droppin 7s ON THE STREET.....
Gosh man..travel nuh??!!