THE V8 BOYS present: T&T's 1st V8 Drift Car.

V8 Boys

THE V8 BOYS present: T&T's 1st V8 Drift Car.

Postby V8 Boys » May 18th, 2013, 11:52 pm

It was a vision....I was there watchin Kerry and Dirty Projects do their thing...so cool...but wait, I thought..."WHERE'S THE SMOKE?"

Skills like dat, coughin, sneezing, screachin, but no Blaze ah glory!

We are proud to announce a first in Trinidad and Tobago....A tire smoking, 9thousand rpm, V8 fire-snortin V8 Drift Car.

It is hoped that by Monday 20th we will have a sponsor that fits this beast I'm building...and we hope it will be a MONSTER!...or a Bull.

We are also in talks with CNMG to record and televise this bold new venture, so that Trinidad & Tobago can see how much potential there is in this thing called Motorsport.

Please feel free to share your thoughts and ideas with us. And any sponsors who wanna come for the ride?...Come on down!

Ok picture time...vids will follow...
943146_621397084556085_312368125_n.jpg
The Arrival.....
943146_621397084556085_312368125_n.jpg (17.47 KiB) Viewed 8853 times
944649_621397137889413_1761349040_n.jpg
YES ITS A 1970 MK1 CAPRI
944649_621397137889413_1761349040_n.jpg (17.08 KiB) Viewed 8853 times
946975_621397124556081_216370475_n.jpg
946975_621397124556081_216370475_n.jpg (18.05 KiB) Viewed 8853 times

And just in case some Monster guys are lookin on....
imagesCAOJ21ST.jpg
imagesCAOJ21ST.jpg (9.45 KiB) Viewed 8853 times

Pictures of the motor and gearbox soon to follow...It's a Ford 302 HO w/5spd Tremec short throw gearbox. Rear end is a Ford LSD 9".

navin123

Re: THE V8 BOYS present: T&T's 1st V8 Drift Car.

Postby navin123 » May 19th, 2013, 12:04 am

thats what we talking bout finally some real power

Postby DVSTT » May 19th, 2013, 12:40 am

:D

Awesome! Can't wait to see finished product!

legoRB

Postby legoRB » May 19th, 2013, 1:18 am

Interesting......time to throw up BIG SMOKE!

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » May 19th, 2013, 6:27 am

maybe this project can get it right. + smoke

Triumph

Postby Triumph » May 19th, 2013, 8:30 am

Nothing like a little engine oil smoke to liven things up...

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 19th, 2013, 9:27 am

Is a capri yuh using they?

Miatabrah

Postby Miatabrah » May 19th, 2013, 12:21 pm

How much did the Capri shell cost?

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » May 19th, 2013, 12:32 pm

a nice 351 Windsor and a t5 5 speed would be nice in that. also likin de chevy truck that towin it...building one like that right now

Postby *KRONIK* » May 19th, 2013, 2:45 pm

Dibs on the 1st test drive....

Sent from my GT-N7000 using TriniTuner mobile app

nigie

Postby nigie » May 19th, 2013, 3:25 pm

finally ....a drift car with a real engine..!!. :D :D :D

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 19th, 2013, 3:26 pm

Where you find that Capri looking good .

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » May 19th, 2013, 4:54 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Dibs on the 1st test drive....

ACTUALLY, a few months ago...I was talkin to Kerry, DWO...and told him I was going to build a V8 to give him some compee...he chuckled as ALL good TRUE car guys do..and I then told him I'd like for him to "test drive" it for me....KERRY is one of the few guys I'd let drive any of my cars...he's not only a good driver/drifter but a good guy as well.

As for the power plant..I am going with the '86 model Ford 302 HO, as it comes with a good mid-section....hydraulic roller lifter engines along with roller rockers produce that effortless high rpm you need for a tail-happy drift car.

The 351 would be too heavy and wouldn't rev unless I stroked it.

Which I probably will do with the 302.

Pics below are of a 302, 350 and a 351, a 9" diff, and the Tremec.
559474_621773731185087_2055546816_n.jpg
559474_621773731185087_2055546816_n.jpg (16.28 KiB) Viewed 8507 times
943557_621773894518404_506817052_n.jpg
943557_621773894518404_506817052_n.jpg (18.93 KiB) Viewed 8507 times
968776_621773751185085_690796664_n.jpg
968776_621773751185085_690796664_n.jpg (12.19 KiB) Viewed 8507 times
581646_621773847851742_1949443511_n.jpg
581646_621773847851742_1949443511_n.jpg (16.76 KiB) Viewed 8507 times
405622_621773754518418_21588726_n.jpg
405622_621773754518418_21588726_n.jpg (16.46 KiB) Viewed 8507 times

Postby sliderz1 » May 19th, 2013, 5:39 pm

interesting...inside for a build

Postby *KRONIK* » May 19th, 2013, 7:32 pm

I know i wont get to drive it...
But in the event that someone does...
I call dibs...

Rofl

Postby Ted_v2 » May 19th, 2013, 7:55 pm

Where can I score a diff like that?

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » May 19th, 2013, 8:29 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Where can I score a diff like that?

I have a Ford 8.8 LSD...$3000. ph 770 7791

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » May 19th, 2013, 8:45 pm

A little blast from the past...DWO....Queen's Park Savannah 2010

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » May 19th, 2013, 11:11 pm

what heads and cams are you going to use? this build should be epic!!!

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » May 20th, 2013, 5:43 am

trinibuggy wrote:what heads and cams are you going to use? this build should be epic!!!

A pair of AFRs should do nicely....205cc....and I've always loved the easy 9000rpm a Ford Motorsport B303 cam gives me.
afr-1402_w.jpg
afr-1402_w.jpg (13.65 KiB) Viewed 8364 times

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » May 20th, 2013, 7:26 am

Tail happy...
942249_625333444163083_760141754_n.jpg
942249_625333444163083_760141754_n.jpg (24.71 KiB) Viewed 8245 times

moti

Postby moti » May 20th, 2013, 8:42 am

You don't see much Capri's on the drift circuit (due to the overdose of nissans) but I welcome this.
The choice of power plant is a good one and will keep the tyres lighting.

Also choice of "test" driver is a great one, Kerry can drift anything and is an exceptional driver and person.

Please do keep the updates coming, I know once official sponsors come on board the project will be completed quicker.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » May 20th, 2013, 9:28 am

A few more pics... We'll be putting her up on stands by this evening and begin to tear down the suspension...make some polyeurathane bushings by Helmet, or Zigs, and start to reinforce the underbody with some sub-frame connectors etc.
941566_622071887821938_1370815320_n.jpg
941566_622071887821938_1370815320_n.jpg (13.81 KiB) Viewed 8214 times
971252_622071891155271_132124340_n.jpg
971252_622071891155271_132124340_n.jpg (13.04 KiB) Viewed 8214 times
575841_622071904488603_410866021_n.jpg
ENGINE BAY ALREADY NICELY CUT TO ACCOMODATE THE V8, WE'LL BE DRESSING IT UP A LIL NICER SOON.
575841_622071904488603_410866021_n.jpg (17.43 KiB) Viewed 8214 times

fass4drs

Postby fass4drs » May 20th, 2013, 11:05 am

sweet project..what suspension and brake set up are you putting on this ?

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » May 20th, 2013, 11:51 am

Very nice. Congrats. But Mr. Tardieu (I apologise if I spelt that wrong), why you always have to be on the small engine case so? :lol: Everything is oh it dont have a real engine unless its a V8. Recently in St Lucia both the V8 powered Galant and the V8 Powered Laurel lost to an engine half their size eh. :lol:
Why cant we all just get along? :lol:

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » May 20th, 2013, 11:52 am

Looking forward to this project though.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » May 20th, 2013, 12:10 pm

Porn Star wrote:Very nice. Congrats. But Mr. Tardieu (I apologise if I spelt that wrong), why you always have to be on the small engine case so? :lol: Everything is oh it dont have a real engine unless its a V8. Recently in St Lucia both the V8 powered Galant and the V8 Powered Laurel lost to an engine half their size eh. :lol:

the 2nd placed laurel V8 broke out of the 10 sec.bracket with a 9.98 sec. and that's backing off.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » May 20th, 2013, 12:19 pm

Still did not win the competition.
Not that it matters. My point is that there are great 1 cylinder, 2 cylinder, 3 cylinder, 4 cylinder, 5 cylinder, 6 cylinder, 8 cylinder, 10 cylinder and 12 cylinder etc engines.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » May 20th, 2013, 1:32 pm

Porn Star wrote:Very nice. Congrats. But Mr. Tardieu (I apologise if I spelt that wrong), why you always have to be on the small engine case so? :lol: Everything is oh it dont have a real engine unless its a V8. Recently in St Lucia both the V8 powered Galant and the V8 Powered Laurel lost to an engine half their size eh. :lol:

Even though this thread's about a Drift Capri (which will later evolve into a 1/4mile car)....I'll explain my position on Cars, and their engines...once and for all:-

My 1st car was a 1.3 Laser in '86, and since then have owned over 80 other cars, trucks and vans. From Subarus , Mazdas, Daihatsus, Nissans to Fords, Chevs, even a Lada, Niva, and Cherokee....rebuilt a few 4cyl, a 6 and an 8 or two.

I currently own 6 vehicles...a PCX Jimny, 79 GMC, 61 Hillman Super Minx, 59 Morris Minor, 41 Ford Convertible and that 70 Capri in the pics.

Each generation of owners are as varied as the cars they own, but as far as driveability, handling, comfort, fuel economy and availability...NOTHING beats a car of this "generation".

Here in T&T, because of the monopoly that the Big 3 had in the 60s and 70s...Neal & Nasty, Mc Enearny, and Amars....Trinis only knew a "certain" type of Japanese car... cheap knock down inferior gauge and poorly engineered 120ys, ke 70s and 180bs....now this not to knock any of these I mentioned...except for when you compare them with the SAME models that the Japanese manufactured for their own domestic market....simply put..they shipped the crap to us and kept the good stuff across in Japan. And in case any Neal & Nasty fans are offended....many of those reading this remember how much more we used to pay for the "extras"( AC, boosters, door mirrors, radios, power steering etc) that they N&M...removed from the cars..and then sold them at an additional cost.

So from a purely economical standpoint...TRINIDADIANS only owned a car IF they could have afforded it...cars were known as "luxouries" not the "necessities" as they are today.

That being said..Trinis attached greater emphasis and value on what the rest of the world viewed as a "commodity"...some thing to be used and discarded....hence why soooo many ol timers never drove their cars in the rain, undercoated them from purchase, pulled up their handbrakes with care and delicacy (not yankin them up) not allowin their kids to walk on the upholstery etc...
Cars were just too expensive for the "ordinary man" to purchase.

The era of the 70s...when Coronas and 260cs ruled....The Japs were beginning to copy the American trend of Chrome everywhere...except they were making the cars smaller and with lower displacement 4cyl engines.

It was around this era that Trinis started to benefit from the oil$$$, and Escorts, 180Bs, and Rx2s became the "street warriors"....though they were NEVER meant to act as "SPORT CARS"...Trinis because of the high cost to own and maintain a "Sports Car" (which btw is a car with two (2) doors..a 4 door is called a Sedan)...started to modify these light flimsy lower gauge econo cars to race on the road and on the strip.

And they did quite well for many years...til the advent..in Trini-World...of Fuel Injection and Turbos...the highly feared ol school Sunnys and Escorts with their naturally aspirated 4 cyl with single push rod cammed engines were no match for these new high-brids.

As opposed to the US and Europe, inc Australia...Trinis grew up on Japanese and English based 4cylinders....what the rest of the world knew as a Muscle car was viewed by many here as a 'big ol heavy piece of iron, that dead like ah ol horse"....

Never mind that V8s then and now hold ALL the land speed records for ets and top mph...( yeah, yeah I know, the BONE STOCK Lancer on YouTube did a 200mph pass...whoopee!) ..the Trinidadians "World"...as it had been then dominated by Japanese fed technology...has today, also been made to understand that 2jzs and rbs "run tings"...

And so with that bit of history...we can now tie in what my friend is many young ppls interpretation of a V8 guys....looking down his nose at a Japanese Grocery Getter.

The V8s first of all...don't start their modifications with a "motor swap"...
The term "no replacement for displacement" is not a slap in the face of the Japs...neither is it a new term...it was coined waaay back in the 50s...it is however a truism..as I will expain in simple clear logic...no laptop necessary to understand..here it is: Will a 6000lb Truck go faster with a 1.3liter than it would with a 5.0L V8?

If you point to a thousand vids of rbs or 2js...or V8 Galants or Mustangs being beaten by a New age import motor...all any one needs to do is to take one of those 8000hp NHRA engines and jus "stick it in" his Galant, Mustang etc...and the talk would be done right there.

There is no bragging rights once viewed from the statistical standpoint there will NEVER be a 2jz or rb...to develop 8000horses...yes, the New engines dem does beat Mustang and Camaro...when?...Straight off the show room floor? The GTR is yuh best comeback? In a 100yrs...will they be around? Now I love my likkle Jimny, and wish I could afford one of those Legacy Wagons...they are fun to drive and handle like dat...would I race them? No....especially if it had 4 doors.

New Age cars and their engines....reliable (10yrs) efficient, comfortable, fun to drive, flashy, gadgets galore, easy to fix/get parts for------>YES....V8s------> NO

World record holders?....Google it.

In Trini World? You guys... Take win!

Finally, how long have Trinis been experimenting with jzs and rbs...not about 8yrs now?..More?...and still cyah put down a low 8sec pass?.
( oh shucks ah fuhget Boost and dem, and Aaron...HELLO! How many motors did they DESTROY to get those 9s?...eh? ask them if you have the courage)..Gosh man, right there Puerto Rico...they droppin 7s ON THE STREET.....

Gosh man..travel nuh??!!

moti

Postby moti » May 20th, 2013, 2:33 pm

^^ :shock:

But uncle, Ford or Chevy V8 not JDM.

:skurred: :skurred: :skurred: