||| The Eyewear Thread ; Glasses, Contacts, Shades |||

Re: ||| The Eyewear Thread ; Glasses, Contacts, Shades |||

Postby S_2NR » May 1st, 2013, 4:45 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Lol @ "vulnerable to heat". This is trinidad, we live in a tropical climate.. Oh please.

that's true...coworker had to get new ones for hers because the coating came off..she cooks a lot and the opt. said the heat from the kitchen damaged the coating

i didnt take it because i was done up $4k :( ..might probably get another pair next yr with AR on it

Oh. Vulnerable to heat is not the same as extreme temperatures. That's understandable.

Postby nemisis » May 1st, 2013, 7:06 pm

Xplode wrote:then the nose pads ,the ones to take out with screws hate them if you sweat plenty they get a green color,always like the frames with the ones that are molded into the plastic .
preach brother

Postby Trini Hookah » May 1st, 2013, 7:11 pm

nemisis wrote:
Xplode wrote:then the nose pads ,the ones to take out with screws hate them if you sweat plenty they get a green color,always like the frames with the ones that are molded into the plastic .
preach brother

breds it eh hard to clean that once every 2 weeks to a month eh, a lil cotton swab + rubbing alco and you orn

Postby Trini Hookah » May 1st, 2013, 7:11 pm

nemisis wrote:
preach brother

breds it eh hard to clean that once every 2 weeks to a month eh, a lil cotton swab + rubbing alco and you orn

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 1st, 2013, 7:28 pm

anyone using crizal lenses? Seems as though I'm always finding a new way to get scratches on my lens :? .
In terms of shades, my pair of prescription ray ban aviators got nabbed from my checked in luggage on a certain local airline :roll: .

Postby Trini Hookah » May 1st, 2013, 7:31 pm

tourniquet wrote:anyone using crizal lenses? Seems as though I'm always finding a new way to get scratches on my lens :? .
In terms of shades, my pair of prescription ray ban aviators got nabbed from my checked in luggage on a certain local airline :roll: .

uploadfromtaptalk1367451062792.jpg

My AR lenses are Crizal

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 1st, 2013, 7:58 pm

cool, you got them at Ferreira's right? you mind posting how you're liking them so far, as well as the cost?
now that I've started looking into things, I think I could just spend some extra $$ on something like the Crizal Forte UV, and forgo the transitions. I'll post updates as I get them :)
edit: http://www.crizal.com/EN/Products/Criza ... fault.aspx

Postby Trini Hookah » May 1st, 2013, 8:00 pm

tourniquet wrote:cool, you got them at Ferreira's right? you mind posting how you're liking them so far, as well as the cost?
now that I've started looking into things, I think I could just spend some extra $$ on something like the Crizal Forte UV, and forgo the transitions. I'll post updates as I get them :)

Yup ferreira's
from my last pair its like everything in 1080p now, everything seems so vivid

Wrt to prices $550 for the lens, $550 for AR coating
Last edited by Trini Hookah on May 1st, 2013, 8:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » May 1st, 2013, 8:01 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Image

@kevin thanks bud, ended up picking up my new pair just last week, I found a nike frame i liked in Ferreira's @ price plaza but they were a bit too narrow for my big head :lol: Price was same $1700 as well

My new frames are the Navy Blue to the one above, just full frame and not semi-rimless.

They fit well, and anti-glare coating is definitely worth it! :D

Sweet. Can't go wrong with Converse 8-)

Postby M_2NR » May 1st, 2013, 8:05 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:But m when you're eyes get used to transition, it's hard not using it after

If u see me walk through mid day sun I look like an old Chinese dude....no offense to any old Chinese dudes in here :lol:

yea boy it is... ask me i know... it's over a year now without it :cry:

wrt crizal, anyone know if OP does their AR in crizal. From what they told me, they do it and my lens was done with it but i didnt get that card :? ah get fake or wa?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 1st, 2013, 9:15 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:But m when you're eyes get used to transition, it's hard not using it after

If u see me walk through mid day sun I look like an old Chinese dude....no offense to any old Chinese dudes in here :lol:

I literally had to go back inside the office during midday sun cause of the glare ,wearing the contacts are cool but i miss my transitions.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 1st, 2013, 9:34 pm

If i went the Contacts route, which would've been a better option for me as i'm an active person...couldn't I have just gotten non-prescription Ray Bans, Oakleys or any other shades and i'd be ok?

I heard on radio that Ferreira's has some offer about buying your new frames + lenses and getting a pair of Sunglasses free, don't know too much about it tho

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 1st, 2013, 9:37 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:If i went the Contacts route, which would've been a better option for me as i'm an active person...couldn't I have just gotten non-prescription Ray Bans, Oakleys or any other shades and i'd be ok?

I heard on radio that Ferreira's has some offer about buying your new frames + lenses and getting a pair of Sunglasses free, don't know too much about it tho

Just make sure they polarized, yeah they have a promotion, the free sunglasses are shiet though, I ended up taking a discount, there is an online local shades retailer I'm gonna check for shades

Postby Trini Hookah » May 1st, 2013, 9:39 pm

Hoss there's some dude on fb that retails frames for decent prices, he had some amazing Perry Ellis frames etc, but idk if they still make noise to use your own frames as they used to.

Postby S_2NR » May 2nd, 2013, 3:37 am

Crizal available in Trinidad. :faint: didn't know. I'm particular interested in the fact that it repels dust. Saw that in the ad? How well does this work?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 4th, 2013, 6:13 pm

M_2NR wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:any one in here uses drive wear lenses? how good is it and do you use it at night

I saw this available at VO.

Also I definitely recommend getting transitions if you are outdoors or getting glare a lot. I miss it :(

For me I get headaches with my contacts only because they are non-astigmatism pairs. I think if I get the proper testing ill be ok. It's weird at first but seeing in all angles is awesome. Just stick to the schedule and do the proper cleaning and you should be good to go. If its monthlies don't put it down for 3 months and go back to it (assuming you change the solution every month since this also lasts a maximum of 1 month)

these are the contacts that i have currently, ACUVUE® OASYS® Brand Contact Lenses for ASTIGMATISM and the funny thing is value optical told me about the astigmatism and ferriera optical didnt and i doing business with them since 2007

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 4th, 2013, 9:03 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:any one in here uses drive wear lenses? how good is it and do you use it at night

I saw this available at VO.

Also I definitely recommend getting transitions if you are outdoors or getting glare a lot. I miss it :(

For me I get headaches with my contacts only because they are non-astigmatism pairs. I think if I get the proper testing ill be ok. It's weird at first but seeing in all angles is awesome. Just stick to the schedule and do the proper cleaning and you should be good to go. If its monthlies don't put it down for 3 months and go back to it (assuming you change the solution every month since this also lasts a maximum of 1 month)

these are the contacts that i have currently, ACUVUE® OASYS® Brand Contact Lenses for ASTIGMATISM and the funny thing is value optical told me about the astigmatism and ferriera optical didnt and i doing business with them since 2007

Same ones I use from FO, they identified the astigmatism with me right off the bat when I tested for contacts though

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 4th, 2013, 11:04 pm

well i just tested for glasses by FO ,value optical has deal where you pay $200 and get tested for both contacts and glasses .FO doesn't do that.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 8th, 2013, 11:49 am

i saw yesterday by value optical that they have transitions xtractive ,i have normal transitions which doesnt work behind the windscreen of any vehicle, does anyone have the xtractive on their glasses and how does it work.

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » May 8th, 2013, 10:12 pm

S_2NR wrote:Crizal available in Trinidad. :faint: didn't know. I'm particular interested in the fact that it repels dust. Saw that in the ad? How well does this work?

I have Crizal from Ferreira for about a year now. No scratches, repels water like a charm. Repels dust too but it isn't immune to smudges, spots, etc.

Postby sliderz1 » May 8th, 2013, 10:30 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:i saw yesterday by value optical that they have transitions xtractive ,i have normal transitions which doesnt work behind the windscreen of any vehicle, does anyone have the xtractive on their glasses and how does it work.

i had to search it...

i'd like to know the price of this. Seems like a good option.

Postby M_2NR » May 8th, 2013, 11:22 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:i saw yesterday by value optical that they have transitions xtractive ,i have normal transitions which doesnt work behind the windscreen of any vehicle, does anyone have the xtractive on their glasses and how does it work.

i had to search it...

OT has it also, it just gets a bit darker than normal transitions according to a rep there.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 9th, 2013, 12:21 pm

M_2NR wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:

i had to search it...

OT has it also, it just gets a bit darker than normal transitions according to a rep there.

when you go on the site the site and do the comparison of all the transitions lenses it shows that the extractive gets dark behind the windscreen ,while the plain one doesn't ,so i am going to get this as well ,will only use my contacts when i have to go out or special occasions, paying $540 for 2 box of contacts every month and a half doh make sense.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 9th, 2013, 5:03 pm

for those of you interested in the crizal lenses, Optometrist Today has the Sapphire UV (which apparently is the best overall crizal lens) while Ferreira carries the crizal lens with scotch guard (however, I believe this might be an older lens, but I could be wrong).

WRT to the actual eye exam though, have any of you done your exams at different stores over the years, and care to share your experiences and preferences?

Postby pete » May 9th, 2013, 5:18 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:

i had to search it...

when you go on the site the site and do the comparison of all the transitions lenses it shows that the extractive gets dark behind the windscreen ,while the plain one doesn't ,so i am going to get this as well ,will only use my contacts when i have to go out or special occasions, paying $540 for 2 box of contacts every month and a half doh make sense.

Why do you change contacts every week?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 9th, 2013, 5:22 pm

tourniquet wrote:for those of you interested in the crizal lenses, Optometrist Today has the Sapphire UV (which apparently is the best overall crizal lens) while Ferreira carries the crizal lens with scotch guard (however, I believe this might be an older lens, but I could be wrong).

WRT to the actual eye exam though, have any of you done your exams at different stores over the years, and care to share your experiences and preferences?

Been to FO, VO to test. FO gives much better all round customer service and the doctors are friendly, everything is explained, in terms of choosing frames CSRs are patient and helpful, some will try to make you take as much additions as possible to up the commission others explain each and let you choose. VO, sometimes one of the opticians can be very bitchy and the CSRs try to force frames on you. My experience with OT was that I walked in, started looking at some frames in the display, people who were lighter than me walked in and were promptly attended to, I walked out, I didn't go to beg.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 9th, 2013, 8:32 pm

[/quote]Why do you change contacts every week?[/quote]
i dont an i kinda new to de contacts thing nah, like the feel of not having to adjust my glasses on my face.The contacts that has been prescribed to me is that i can wear a lens for 14 days and is only 3 lenses coming in a box 14 wears per lens. So i ordered that and i am going to upgrade my lens on glasses to xtractive transitions.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » June 8th, 2013, 8:03 pm

ok update FO does not have transitions extractive for my prescription only in progressive lenses which suck ,so i took my business to VO which by the way has a promotion going on and i got 25% off my frames and 25% off my lenses with extractive transitions . promotion is till the end of the month at the different branches http://valueoptical.com/?page_id=778

Postby sliderz1 » June 8th, 2013, 11:50 pm

reason for it not being in your prescription or was it just out of stock?

@FO that is...

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » June 8th, 2013, 11:58 pm

I was told that it doesn't come in my prescription , only in progressive lenses and they would have to call the manufacturer to find out if they can put the extractive on my lenses , so I said don't bother and took my business to vo