Flow Internet Thread

Soul Collector

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby Soul Collector » April 22nd, 2013, 8:32 pm

Haha well my youtube back to normalish after rebooting every damn thing I could have. Yuh really talk to soon lol

@ the GoT, I will PM you or something for the next epi then, I cant handle this torrent business when I thusty for sumn new to watch :? Thanks!

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 22nd, 2013, 9:04 pm

stev wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:So some rain fall today and my torrents barely moving. Man cant get a GoT episode since i reach home from work. I close utorrent and I cant even load a youtube video in peace, it forever buffering. And apparently direct downloads fuqin slow as sheit too...............steuepsssssssssssssssss.

I have flow 5mb in curepe.

i doh think rain have anything to do with it. lol

speeds normal in central. u cudda tell me u wanted game of thrones...i have it in my dropbox. lol

edit: looks like i spoke too soon...i went from 25 to 5Mbps. :lol: flow better had and doh play up.

lolz hahahaha

Postby M_2NR » April 22nd, 2013, 9:19 pm

I just noticed a dip also. It bumped back up though. Also, i noticed youtube also works better.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » April 22nd, 2013, 9:22 pm

noticed a dip as well

felicity

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 24th, 2013, 3:30 pm

I still find YouTube sticking by me in california .

Soul Collector

Re: Low bandwidth on P2P programs.

Postby Soul Collector » April 24th, 2013, 10:30 pm

stev wrote:OP, flow throttles ur bandwidth when using P2P software but there is an easy way around it with i little disadvantage.

first of all, u wont get max download speed in an instant whether flow throttling or not. A well seeded torrent could take 5 - 10 mins to get up to speed.

if u are using utorrent, open the options window and click on 'BitTorrent' from the list on the left. under the section 'protocol encryption', make sure u choose the option 'forced' and check the box 'allow incoming legacy connections'....a well seeded torrent may take up to 10 - 15 mins to get up to speed.

under the 'bandwidth' section, make sure to increase the amount of Global Connections at the bottom (all 3 options).
What amounts do you use? I have been fiddling with this for a while but is there a recommended best ratio of global connections : Maximum connected peers?

Under the 'connection' section on the left, feel free to randomize the port u are using anytime u are downloading a torrent.
I tried a bunch of different ports I saw recommended on different sites but nothing ever really worked. What this randomization of the ports have to do with the speed it downloads at?

Re: Low bandwidth on P2P programs.

Postby stev » April 24th, 2013, 11:04 pm

Soul Collector wrote:
stev wrote:OP, flow throttles ur bandwidth when using P2P software but there is an easy way around it with i little disadvantage.

first of all, u wont get max download speed in an instant whether flow throttling or not. A well seeded torrent could take 5 - 10 mins to get up to speed.

if u are using utorrent, open the options window and click on 'BitTorrent' from the list on the left. under the section 'protocol encryption', make sure u choose the option 'forced' and check the box 'allow incoming legacy connections'....a well seeded torrent may take up to 10 - 15 mins to get up to speed.

under the 'bandwidth' section, make sure to increase the amount of Global Connections at the bottom (all 3 options).
What amounts do you use? I have been fiddling with this for a while but is there a recommended best ratio of global connections : Maximum connected peers?

i dont think there is a recommended amount....i just use a very large number like 10000. lol i connect to a larger pool of seeds depending on the torrent popularity.

Under the 'connection' section on the left, feel free to randomize the port u are using anytime u are downloading a torrent.
I tried a bunch of different ports I saw recommended on different sites but nothing ever really worked. What this randomization of the ports have to do with the speed it downloads at?

Flow can recognize bittorent traffic i believe. its easy to temporarily block a port from the ISP side if it has the same traffic patterns as bittorent traffic....just a precaution...im not sure to what extent they monitor bittorent traffic.

Postby stev » April 24th, 2013, 11:07 pm

but i rarely use uTorrent again. just use filestream.me.......they download your torrent for u almost instantly if its a new torrent....then u can download it from them at your max speed.

every sunday i get game of thrones in a matter of 10 minutes from the minute its released. :lol:

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 24th, 2013, 11:58 pm

stev wrote:but i rarely use uTorrent again. just use filestream.me.......they download your torrent for u almost instantly if its a new torrent....then u can download it from them at your max speed.

every sunday i get game of thrones in a matter of 10 minutes from the minute its released. :lol:

That sounds like....sorcery. I'm going to that site now :shock:

edit - Ok i made an account. Says i have 29 days remaining. Did you purchase membership?

And i uploaded the latest supernatural torrent from my PC and it says queued. What do i have to do now?

edit 2 - ok nvm its started. if this works good i owe you a beer. you have no idea the frustration this will lessen lol

Postby stev » April 25th, 2013, 12:13 am

yeh i have 17 days remaining....but ti was like that for the past 2 months. lol

u can refresh the page....it will show u its progress....or u can close the borwser, u wud get an email when its finished.

to download at max speed......click on download (next to the single file u want to download, dont zip it) then choose to copy the link to your clipboard.....paste the link in your download manager.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 25th, 2013, 12:24 am

Ahh ok I stopped the zip download and went and installed a download manager and did what you said. With the 5mb connection I USED to get speeds of around 600kbs+ but I cant remember the last time I ever saw those speeds tbh.

In the download manager right now its maxing out at 300kbs and hovering just above or under that. Thought I would have gotten closer to 600kbs tho..... :?

Postby Trini Hookah » April 25th, 2013, 12:37 am

Soul Collector wrote:Ahh ok I stopped the zip download and went and installed a download manager and did what you said. With the 5mb connection I USED to get speeds of around 600kbs+ but I cant remember the last time I ever saw those speeds tbh.

In the download manager right now its maxing out at 300kbs and hovering just above or under that. Thought I would have gotten closer to 600kbs tho..... :?

I get max 590kb almost always with torrents

Postby stev » April 25th, 2013, 12:38 am

Soul Collector wrote:Ahh ok I stopped the zip download and went and installed a download manager and did what you said. With the 5mb connection I USED to get speeds of around 600kbs+ but I cant remember the last time I ever saw those speeds tbh.

which download manager are u using? how many connections does the download manager open? and is there a default transfer limit (transfer cap)?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 25th, 2013, 12:43 am

I just downloaded Internet Download Manage 6.15 from CNET (link below)
http://download.cnet.com/Internet-Downl ... 71618.html

While it was downloading I looked around and saw an option to use a transfer cap but it was disabled. As for how many connections it opens im not sure really. A window just pops up displaying the speed/progress. Its WAY faster than the usual way but if I could double that 300kbs I'll be in heaven lol

Postby stev » April 25th, 2013, 12:43 am

the download speed u see when downloading a torrent is never exact...its the average download speed.....average of 5 - 10 values,

i get 2.7MBps on utorrent and 3.1MBps on internet download manager :cool:

but some of the things i usually try to download never has seeds :(
Last edited by stev on April 25th, 2013, 12:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby stev » April 25th, 2013, 12:46 am

Soul Collector wrote:I just downloaded Internet Download Manage 6.15 from CNET (link below)
http://download.cnet.com/Internet-Downl ... 71618.html

While it was downloading I looked around and saw an option to use a transfer cap but it was disabled. As for how many connections it opens im not sure really. A window just pops up displaying the speed/progress. Its WAY faster than the usual way but if I could double that 300kbs I'll be in heaven lol

Downloads -> Options -> Connection -> Default max con number.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 25th, 2013, 1:30 am

Ok got it. It was set at 8. In the drop down it had an option for 16 as highest so I put that. I not downloading anything else right now I gona sleep, will try it back 2mrw and see what speeds I get.

Thanks a mil, appreciate it :D

Postby M_2NR » April 25th, 2013, 6:32 am

Also turn on encryption. Last night speeds were fluctuating but I'm not sure if its the host or me because my speedtests were Normal. YouTube still sucking though. I have to use a proxy to watch it.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 25th, 2013, 6:56 am

A friend of mines get about. 15-16 MB/S with his 100 MB connection I get about 9-10 MB/s on a 50 MB connection but don't really do much downloading .

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 25th, 2013, 9:01 am

Same here, speed tests all come back normal but YouTube exceptionally slow these days.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 25th, 2013, 10:08 am

mojosodope wrote:Same here, speed tests all come back normal but YouTube exceptionally slow these days.

maybe alot of trini streaming ipl?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 25th, 2013, 10:52 am

filestream sweeeeeeet.
looking into the payment plan an all

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 25th, 2013, 1:32 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:filestream sweeeeeeet.

Will Che k that out later.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 25th, 2013, 2:15 pm

firstchoicett wrote:

Will Che k that out later.[/quote ]

Good if flow throttle your speed down under 100kbps

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby stev » April 25th, 2013, 2:24 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:

Will Che k that out later.[/quote ]

how is that a good thing?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 25th, 2013, 2:53 pm

stev wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:

Will Check that out later.[/quote ]

Well with flow throttling your torrent download to under 100 kbps, this allows you to pull the torrents in zip format using a download manager at regular 400 kbps to 1000kbps. At least this has been my experience.

Postby stev » April 25th, 2013, 3:15 pm

there are many other sites similar to filestream, like put.io (only 1GB storage but fast) zbigz...not sure how fast they are or how much storage.

there is a large / active tracker list circulating on piratebay..i usually copy all the trackers into the low seeded torrent im downloading.

since demonoid went down i tryin all how to get a leecherslair invite :(

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 25th, 2013, 3:15 pm

stev wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:

Will Check that out later.[/quote ]

Well with flow throttling your torrent download to under 100 kbps, this allows you to pull the torrents in zip format using a download manager at regular 400 kbps to 1000kbps. At least this has been my experience.

Ok. Will see what happens later.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 25th, 2013, 3:17 pm

stev wrote:there are many other sites similar to filestream, like put.io (only 1GB storage but fast) zbigz...not sure how fast they are or how much storage.

there is a large / active tracker list circulating on piratebay..i usually copy all the trackers into the low seeded torrent im downloading.

since demonoid went down i tryin all how to get a leecherslair invite :(

Me too dread.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 29th, 2013, 12:33 am

stev I love you man :oops: Now my friend loves me too lol. Im getting up to 720kbs with the 5mb download, never seen it reach that high before!