Business's that are not paying VAT or Duties

Daran

Business's that are not paying VAT or Duties

Postby Daran » April 16th, 2013, 1:15 pm

For a while now I've suspected (inb4 obvious) that a number of local sellers even on 2nr, are bringing down goods and are paying less or no VAT or Import Duties.

To me this is a serious offense, worthy of serious jail time.

This suspicion arose a couple years ago when my company put in a bid for a semi large Government project involving services and equipment. Our price for the exact same equipment was quoted in our proposal with 0 markup. Not even warehouse or transport fees since we have storage and vehicles inhouse for that. All we included after inquiring from some customs officers to be sure, included the VAT and Import Duties.

Our competitor quoted more for the services, but significantly less for the equipment. Overall their price was lower and after reviewing the evaluation, we would have won the bid.

At that time, I requested a meeting with the Department, they said they would have investigated it. Doubt that was done, however the project never appeared to materialize so it was no loss to me.

BUT

I decided to do some investigating on my own, and discovered numerous companies from super large (hundred+ million $ TTD net worth) to 3ne2nr Power Sellers who partake in this.

The typical racket involved either paying off a customs official to classify the goods under something with no taxes. Customs officer is paid a fixed sum or 10% of items cost.

I will admit, after researching this I wanted to try it out. I brought down a 5D Mark III last year, paying only 10% of the cost to the customs officer....via a very well known Sky Box company.

I'd like to know, what is being down by the government (if anything), would these same customs officers ever be charged? What legal action can I take to report my competitors for this tax evasion? Will I ever be compensated for government contracts I've lost due to the 'cheating' of competitors?

Cliffs:
1. Lots of businesses don't pay tax on their imports
2. Large custom racket which I have uncovered and tested
3. Makes my business noncompetitive since some of my competitors are evading tax and offering low prices
Last edited by Daran on April 16th, 2013, 1:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Business's that are not paying VAT or Duties

Postby rfari » April 16th, 2013, 1:18 pm

Call powerseller names. Doh fraid

Postby nemisis » April 16th, 2013, 1:19 pm

Need a syrian business partner

r_4sr

Postby r_4sr » April 16th, 2013, 1:19 pm

You are a fool

r_4sr

Postby r_4sr » April 16th, 2013, 1:20 pm

You are a fool

Postby X2 » April 16th, 2013, 1:24 pm

Corruption is rampant in the government and customs for some people... and yes, I'm sure there is some 'mis classificiation' of dutiable items... but at the end of the day, Gov't cannot buy from companies that aren't vat registered... they have to pay vat on the product so I don't see how you claiming others aren't ?

Daran wrote:and discovered numerous companies from super large (hundred+ million $ TTD net work)

This made me LOL hard...
Last edited by X2 on April 16th, 2013, 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby noshownogo » April 16th, 2013, 1:26 pm

:popcorn: oh boy

Postby pioneer » April 16th, 2013, 1:26 pm

Urine idiot

This is how the system is worldwide, welcome to real life OPIE.

Postby pioneer » April 16th, 2013, 1:28 pm

Also whoever leaked details of the other company's bid has breached the tender process btw.

That's also illegal

Daran

Postby Daran » April 16th, 2013, 1:30 pm

pioneer wrote:Also whoever leaked details of the other company's bid has breached the tender process btw.

That's also illegal

Freedom of Information Act Pioneer.

And I'm fully aware of how common this practice is worldwide. But what does it mean for me? Resist or join?
Last edited by Daran on April 16th, 2013, 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » April 16th, 2013, 1:36 pm

Cya beat de system

Thaz jus how it is, better look for ah link up

Customs officers wha jive audi too

Daran

Postby Daran » April 16th, 2013, 1:37 pm

X2 wrote:Corruption is rampant in the government and customs for some people... and yes, I'm sure there is some 'mis classificiation' of dutiable items... but at the end of the day, Gov't cannot buy from companies that aren't vat registered... they have to pay vat on the product so I don't see how you claiming others aren't ?

[quote"Daran"]and discovered numerous companies from super large (hundred+ million $ TTD net work)

This made me LOL hard...[/quote]

Not talking about being VAT registered and of course the government can buy from those who are not VAT registered (once their net annual income is below a specific amount).

Talking about a simple scenario of a large company selling say Plasma TVs to government, but paying a customs officer to classify them as computer monitors....thereby being able to sell the same product to the government at reduced cost compare to competitors who are doing the legal thing.

Daran

Postby Daran » April 16th, 2013, 1:40 pm

pioneer wrote:Cya beat de system

Thaz jus how it is, better look for ah link up

Customs officers wha jive audi too

Found quite a few link ups....PM me for details.

Postby pioneer » April 16th, 2013, 1:41 pm

That's another way to wash money you see

I lol@ that you now "discover" this

Postby r3iXmann » April 16th, 2013, 1:44 pm

how is this OP's business tho? :|

when people go missing etc, now you know why :|

Postby pioneer » April 16th, 2013, 1:45 pm

Brb forging invoice for customs

Postby nemisis » April 16th, 2013, 1:45 pm

pioneer wrote:That's another way to wash money you see

common knowledge is common

guess_wh0

Postby guess_wh0 » April 16th, 2013, 1:47 pm

power sellers you say ,is it <name removed> you talkin bout :?:
call name
:popcorn:

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 16th, 2013, 1:49 pm

theres sheit loads of car audio that coming in this way right now in this country

Postby Sky » April 16th, 2013, 1:51 pm

Daran wrote:
pioneer wrote:Also whoever leaked details of the other company's bid has breached the tender process btw.

That's also illegal

And I'm fully aware of how common this practice is worldwide. But what does it mean for me? Resist or join?

Wut?
Elaborate on this, and how YOU got the competitor's bid.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » April 16th, 2013, 1:52 pm

Nothing new... nothing strange!! It's called competition and it is ruthless!!

Daran

Postby Daran » April 16th, 2013, 1:53 pm

Sky wrote:
Daran wrote:

That's also illegal

Wut?
Elaborate on this, and how YOU got the competitor's bid.

Query the evaluation. You get to see the evaluation document that was completed. This may not have the competitors bid, but you get to see the tables of price breakdown comparison etc.

Daran

Postby Daran » April 16th, 2013, 1:54 pm

nemisis wrote:
pioneer wrote:That's another way to wash money you see

common knowledge is common

Knew this for a while to be honest.

But not for large government projects, thought it was just small scale thing going on. Typically for large gov. projects, you quote the hardware EX-Works and let them handle it.

However, for my project they specially requested landed cost (turn key operation).

krisjoseph_2000

Postby krisjoseph_2000 » April 16th, 2013, 1:56 pm

This is business not playing with children. It's not fair? Deal with it because this will never stop. But as furious as you are please edit your post before they backtrace ur arse and charge you with tax evasion or fraud or whatever the charge is that u admitted to

Sent from my A1_07 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby sharkman121 » April 16th, 2013, 1:56 pm

yuh issa informah orrr dan

Postby DVSTT » April 16th, 2013, 1:57 pm

How much did the 5dMKIII run you? Wanna get one myself.

krisjoseph_2000

Postby krisjoseph_2000 » April 16th, 2013, 1:59 pm

sharkman121 wrote:yuh issa informah orrr dan
informer? D man confess to a crime it eh have nothing to inform dey

Sent from my A1_07 using TriniTuner mobile app

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 16th, 2013, 2:01 pm

some RFQ's end up going for tender. Most times the lowest of the 3 quotes will win. All documents must be in order like NIB compliance certificate, vat clearance certificate, income tax regulations certificate, audited company financials for 2 years, 6 references, scope of past projects and resumes of workers involved in execution of said projects.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 16th, 2013, 2:03 pm

r3iXmann wrote:how is this OP's business tho? :|

same thing i'm wondering :roll: :roll:

white knight investigator ftw!

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » April 16th, 2013, 2:16 pm

ru$$ell wrote: