The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby pete » April 3rd, 2013, 2:04 pm

I have a 2500mah battery and it only lasts 1/2 day (12 hours) with moderate usage. Big screens love to eat battery..

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 3rd, 2013, 2:18 pm

pete wrote:I have a 2500mah battery and it only lasts 1/2 day (12 hours) with moderate usage. Big screens love to eat battery..

that too. ive got a 4inch screen but 1/2 day really is horrible on a 2500mah. i would lean on screen draining the power more than jb being the culprit. it seems only certain model devices are complaining about ithe battery life.. big screen models.

and remember my droid 4 has an illuminated hardware keyboard which i also use all day cuz i hate touchscreen typing. 1870mah battery. but i think they used better cells since it's non removable. has high speed charging feature with the original moto charger etc.

also i have my extended controls panel setup for custom steps. so depending on my lighting conditions is how bright i set my screen from 20 - 75% brightness.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 3rd, 2013, 2:47 pm

about chargers dying repeatedly. power fluctuations may be to blame for that. run them on a surge strip.. especially if u leave them plugged in all day and night untill u need a charge. ive got one surge strip with all my chargers plugged and just flick the switch to turn it off when im not using it.

Postby S_2NR » April 3rd, 2013, 3:04 pm

turbotusty wrote:im only going to monitor my battery today to see when i need a charge and report back. ive never felt the need to, dont see y ppl are complaining about jb and battery usage. u cant expect to run for a week like a metoo while powering all this hardware. i think a day/day and a half between charges is really acceptable. at least in my case i have nothing to complain about. plus if things get heavy i have my portable 5000mah charger. so really dont worry about battery at all. just charge in the night.

all my forumming is done on my droid its just easier with tapatalk to keep track of threads etc. this device is my right hand right now and i not complaining bout battery with jb. leads me to believe if there's any complaints it must be coming from improperly configured devices, or ppl that want metoo level times before charge. which will come. but once a day is fine for me for now. from later this year we'll be seeing phones coming with 4000mah batteries as a standard for motorola devices. im stoked hoping one of those will be the droid 5.

Tl;dr

It is a known fact jellybean is more power hungry than ics. Don't understand what all this long talk is about.

Postby ismithx » April 3rd, 2013, 3:05 pm

note to all the ppl here... if you want more battery life get a custom kernel or rom that has one, and tweak the cpu governor settings....

Postby Ted_v2 » April 3rd, 2013, 3:07 pm

I'd buy a extra battery but that's me :oops:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 3rd, 2013, 3:12 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:I'd buy a extra battery but that's me :oops:

I have 3 extra batteries for my s3. Cost me 20usd.
The best 20usd I ever spent

Postby nemisis » April 3rd, 2013, 3:12 pm

^^^ you would buy an ace......but thats also just you

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 3rd, 2013, 3:24 pm

Why the fcuk would I pay a premium for a phone and then have to buy extra batteries?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 3rd, 2013, 3:31 pm

S_2NR wrote:
turbotusty wrote:im only going to monitor my battery today to see when i need a charge and report back. ive never felt the need to, dont see y ppl are complaining about jb and battery usage. u cant expect to run for a week like a metoo while powering all this hardware. i think a day/day and a half between charges is really acceptable. at least in my case i have nothing to complain about. plus if things get heavy i have my portable 5000mah charger. so really dont worry about battery at all. just charge in the night.

all my forumming is done on my droid its just easier with tapatalk to keep track of threads etc. this device is my right hand right now and i not complaining bout battery with jb. leads me to believe if there's any complaints it must be coming from improperly configured devices, or ppl that want metoo level times before charge. which will come. but once a day is fine for me for now. from later this year we'll be seeing phones coming with 4000mah batteries as a standard for motorola devices. im stoked hoping one of those will be the droid 5.

Tl;dr

It is a known fact jellybean is more power hungry than ics. Don't understand what all this long talk is about.

it is no known fact. there is just alot of ppl complaining because they did updates. but there are alot of ppl not complaining either and saying just what i said. as with me.. they noticed a small increase in battery life since upgrading from ics. maybe about 5%, 10% at the most. maybe u all talking about those crappy cm roms etc. or maybe the manufacturer's version sucks.

a couple ppl complained about poor batter when we got the jb update but as advised. they factory reset and the battery problems were gone. again.. it is a phone configuration issue, background apps and bloatware. jb has been an all round upgrade and increase in performance. clean up ur fone and it will perform better.

Postby S_2NR » April 3rd, 2013, 3:47 pm

Tried all that. Ics with similar configuration and apps is more battery efficient than jb with the same.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 3rd, 2013, 3:49 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Why the fcuk would I pay a premium for a phone and then have to buy extra batteries?

Simple... I get to use 4g all day. I make lots of phone calls, I use Skype, I surf online, play games heavy use and I do all of this during the day without having to be tethered to a charger. . When the evening comes I can pop in a new battery and be back to 100. Not sure of any smart phone that can do that on one charge.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 3rd, 2013, 3:51 pm

ok.. is ur google maps and play store running all day in the apps list? those are apps u dont need until specified times. u can stop them from starting on boot and only launch when called. for starters..

then what is ur power savings plan like? and do u have a process limit set?

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 3rd, 2013, 5:16 pm

S_2NR wrote:I love how men does bawl "oh that doh affect me!" and that automatically means there isn't a problem. Let me be more specific: s2 and s3

I don't think it wise to blame the ROM without proper evidence though.

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 3rd, 2013, 5:24 pm

S_2NR wrote:Tried all that. Ics with similar configuration and apps is more battery efficient than jb with the same.
I think your are confusing JB on a Nexus and JB on a Samsung device

This cpuidle driver in JB has been greatly improved, Samsung may not be programming their software properly and yet I am sure I can find evidence of people with Nexus devices and Samsung devices on JB with great battery life

Your personal experience is only a representation of one

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 3rd, 2013, 5:35 pm

If anyone feels like they aren't getting proper batter life, this is usually due to apps holding a wakelock, leading to your device doing a lot of work while the screen is off and the device should be in deep sleep.

This is a free app that would show you those misbehaving apps, and help you configure your device properly

Wakelock Detector

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 3rd, 2013, 5:50 pm

^nice recommend. ill check it out. ive tried to stop those by denying permission on some apps to any hardware that can drain the battery and my data plan. clear my caches if anything finnicky starts happening and manually assess my running and cached apps.

Postby S_2NR » April 3rd, 2013, 6:44 pm

BrandoHD wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Tried all that. Ics with similar configuration and apps is more battery efficient than jb with the same.

This cpuidle driver in JB has been greatly improved, Samsung may not be programming their software properly and yet I am sure I can find evidence of people with Nexus devices and Samsung devices on JB with great battery life

I'm not on stock tho. Umm.. Jus search xda and you'll see ppl complaining

Postby M_2NR » April 3rd, 2013, 7:02 pm

S_2NR wrote:
BrandoHD wrote:

wasn't Trini Hookah (almost say vramps :oops:) saying the same thing about JB on his S2. Come on guys, stop being oblivious :roll:

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 3rd, 2013, 7:04 pm

Searching XDA would reveal some people complaining about poor battery life, and show you others with 6, 7 and sometimes 8 hours 'screen on time' over the course of a day off of the charger

What's the cause of such a huge discrepancy when they all use the same device?

Postby S_2NR » April 3rd, 2013, 7:09 pm

M_2NR wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
BrandoHD wrote:

wasn't Trini Hookah (almost say vramps :oops:) saying the same thing about JB on his S2. Come on guys, stop being oblivious :roll:

Ent.

Apparently it is expected I tweak the living daylight out of my phone to get to conclude jb uses more battery than ics :lol:

Postby stev » April 3rd, 2013, 7:48 pm

I have indeed seen many users on various devices complain about battery life when they got Jelly Bean.

one fix is to turn off Google+ sync (for those who use G+)

apparently that works well....maybe one of u should manually syncing G+ when u need it and let us know.

edit: facebook sync as well

only sync when u open the app

...i would...but i still on freakin gingerbread....fml

Postby Trini Hookah » April 3rd, 2013, 7:49 pm

stev wrote:I have indeed seen many users on various devices complain about battery life when they got Jelly Bean.

apparently that works well....maybe one of u should manually syncing G+ when u need it and let us know.

count your blessings

Postby Ted_v2 » April 3rd, 2013, 8:07 pm

I'm getting a defy for trade for my lg. I should make that trade right? I saw it has 5mp camera with flash , vga front and all that other cool stuff.

The defy makes Sense?

Postby stev » April 3rd, 2013, 8:19 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:I'm getting a defy for trade for my lg. I should make that trade right? I saw it has 5mp camera with flash , vga front and all that other cool stuff.

The defy makes Sense?

the Defy Mini?

here's a comparison...

the defy has a slower processor but a bit more ram.

seems like an alright trade to me but i'm not familiar with LG phones.

what u other guys think?

Postby Ted_v2 » April 3rd, 2013, 8:21 pm

Not the mini. The 3.7 or 3.9" model. I can't recall at the moment

Postby S_2NR » April 3rd, 2013, 8:26 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
stev wrote:I have indeed seen many users on various devices complain about battery life when they got Jelly Bean.

count your blessings

Ics better than gb tho.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 3rd, 2013, 8:31 pm

I new to all this smartphone business. I good with my lil nokia but it deadin on meh. Was doing some research and all roads lead me to the Google/LG Nexus 4.

Good price, unlocked, great features for USD$300.

Now duty and vat alone gona cost around TT$900 to bring it which is a kinda bummer for me. Anyone have experience with it though? Leme see if it maybe worth it.

Postby M_2NR » April 3rd, 2013, 8:54 pm

Soul Collector wrote:I new to all this smartphone business. I good with my lil nokia but it deadin on meh. Was doing some research and all roads lead me to the Google/LG Nexus 4.

Good price, unlocked, great features for USD$300.

Now duty and vat alone gona cost around TT$900 to bring it which is a kinda bummer for me. Anyone have experience with it though? Leme see if it maybe worth it.

discussed before, do a search. There are a few users here i think honda hoe and a few others. Few of my friends have it and it works well. Battery life is a bit iffy and I'm seeing that one of my friend is complaining about heat (May be he was running something CPU intensive) and simcard seating issues but he's overall happy with the buy.
Here's how to buy it (outside of the US):
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1978281

My advice is get someone to bring it in for you.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 3rd, 2013, 9:00 pm

Ah thanks a mil M_2NR. I read about the iffy battery life. I didnt like a few other things too but for the price it isnt bad. Was gona wait to get some relative to bring me it to just save the $900 but I still not 100% sure yet. But thats a helpful link if I wanna go ahead and buy it right now, thanks again.