turbotusty wrote:have u guys heard of catfiz? its the android version of bbm. u get a unique pin and bbm level messaging encryption and it works over wifi. u cant chat with blackberry bbm users tho unless they install catfiz on their bb.
allyuh check it out on playstore for free
catfiz
stev wrote:turbotusty wrote:have u guys heard of catfiz? its the android version of bbm. u get a unique pin and bbm level messaging encryption and it works over wifi. u cant chat with blackberry bbm users tho unless they install catfiz on their bb.
allyuh check it out on playstore for free
catfiz
heard about it...its nice there are better messaging apps out there though...BBM is highly overrated IMO --> its popularity is not based on its features and capabilities....kinda hard to explain
edit: before anyone with a BB try to kill me..im not bashing blackberry i have one and use BBM occasionally.
the amount of different ways it have to message someone these days....i think people forget that they can just call the person instead. lol
stev wrote:what privacy issues whatsapp have?
kurpal_v2 wrote:stev wrote:what privacy issues whatsapp have?
I think the encryption of accounts is easily bypassed and hacked which exposes your entire address book/contacts on phone.
That's why apple pulled the app and developers had to rework it so that for the ios6 update you had to manually load contacts. Well that's why it's rumored.
M_2NR wrote:In iOS you can turn off last seen time stamp. And I agree. There are privacy issues in terms of what rooki3 described.
What kurps described no longer exists I believe. It was patched.
kurpal_v2 wrote:M_2NR wrote:In iOS you can turn off last seen time stamp. And I agree. There are privacy issues in terms of what rooki3 described.
Last I read about it, earlier this year, it was "partially" solved.
Dunno if a fix was released after that.
casper wrote:any nexus 7 users in here wanna leave a lil review???
thinking bout getting one sometime a few mths from now
M_2NR wrote:kurpal_v2 wrote:M_2NR wrote:In iOS you can turn off last seen time stamp. And I agree. There are privacy issues in terms of what rooki3 described.
Last I read about it, earlier this year, it was "partially" solved.
Dunno if a fix was released after that.
Oh wait. I know the one you talking about. Where once you're on the same network it can steal the users info? Wasn't that android and blackberry alone? I know iOS apps are pretty locked down Sans jailbreak.
stev wrote:technically there is a way u can have bbm on your android device...there is a free blackberry simulator for windows available online.
there are ways to install a windows application on the android operating system....
so basically its a virtual blackberry running on a virtual windows app running on android.
talk bout resource hog and battery killer. lol
stev wrote:^^^im trying it out right now. the BBM not working at the moment (saying no network). lol
im trying to turn it into a virtual version of my blackberry (using my PIN).
rel buggy / laggy though. have to do some more digging 2mrw.
im also trying out bluestacks....its more or less an android emulator for PC. so far so good...impressively smooth compared to the eclipse emulator.
edit: yes i've seen it work b4. a co-worker had it running on his PC some time ago.
stev wrote:technically there is a way u can have bbm on your android device...there is a free blackberry simulator for windows available online.
there are ways to install a windows application on the android operating system....
so basically its a virtual blackberry running on a virtual windows app running on android.
S_2NR wrote:stev wrote:technically there is a way u can have bbm on your android device...there is a free blackberry simulator for windows available online.
this wont work anyway. pins are assigned to hardware
idk wa kinda chain up u take
stev wrote:putting the windows emulator on an android OS then putting bbm emulator on that emulator would work but not practical....too much resources and memory wud be eaten up just for that to work...also when u get a message on BBM it wont be the same as getting a normal message.
the windows emulator for android is open source but the blackberry emulator is not. tryin to intertwine the two but not going so well
wud dig a bit more later.
Jonathan_337 wrote:stev wrote:putting the windows emulator on an android OS then putting bbm emulator on that emulator would work but not practical....too much resources and memory wud be eaten up just for that to work...also when u get a message on BBM it wont be the same as getting a normal message.
the windows emulator for android is open source but the blackberry emulator is not. tryin to intertwine the two but not going so well
Do you need a BIS connection for BBM to run though?
stev wrote:Jonathan_337 wrote:stev wrote:putting the windows emulator on an android OS then putting bbm emulator on that emulator would work but not practical....too much resources and memory wud be eaten up just for that to work...also when u get a message on BBM it wont be the same as getting a normal message.
Do you need a BIS connection for BBM to run though?
yes u do.
so after a lot of digging and experimenting here's my conclusion.
it IS possible to run a virtual blackberry on an android device....but its not easy at all to get the bbm working. lol
u can get get BBM working on a PC though:
u need to be paying for BIS and virtually spoof your IMEI and Pin (u have to change it to the device ur using in the simulator) - so basically its a virtual version of your blackberry....everything else sets up automatically as it asks u to log into your blackberry account.
within the simulator, u have to add a new connection (under network options) and bridge it with your actual internet connection.
BBM and other BIS dependent apps wud work....it wud just be ur blackberry on your PC. phone calls and sms wud obviously not work.
so at the end of the day, if u want BBM on your android device, u can do the following:
1. purchase blackberry from Bmobile / Digicel and pay for BIS
2. download Wine for android (still in beta by the way...i think)
3. download blackberry simulator for the blackberry u just purchased...available free
4. emulate it on wine within android
5. set up the virtual blackberry as i described above
6. figure out how to bridge the BIS back to your android's 4G
of course this is providing that your android device is fast enough to emulate using Wine and the blackberry simulation.
that BBM thing is too much headache...i need something new to experiment with. lol
honda hoe wrote:All dat for sh!t bbm? Come nah man