The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby stev » March 21st, 2013, 8:27 pm

turbotusty wrote:have u guys heard of catfiz? its the android version of bbm. u get a unique pin and bbm level messaging encryption and it works over wifi. u cant chat with blackberry bbm users tho unless they install catfiz on their bb.

allyuh check it out on playstore for free

catfiz

heard about it...its nice there are better messaging apps out there though...BBM is highly overrated IMO --> its popularity is not based on its features and capabilities....kinda hard to explain :|

edit: before anyone with a BB try to kill me..im not bashing blackberry i have one and use BBM occasionally.

the amount of different ways it have to message someone these days....i think people forget that they can just call the person instead. lol

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 21st, 2013, 10:30 pm

stev wrote:
turbotusty wrote:have u guys heard of catfiz? its the android version of bbm. u get a unique pin and bbm level messaging encryption and it works over wifi. u cant chat with blackberry bbm users tho unless they install catfiz on their bb.

allyuh check it out on playstore for free

catfiz

heard about it...its nice there are better messaging apps out there though...BBM is highly overrated IMO --> its popularity is not based on its features and capabilities....kinda hard to explain :|

edit: before anyone with a BB try to kill me..im not bashing blackberry i have one and use BBM occasionally.

the amount of different ways it have to message someone these days....i think people forget that they can just call the person instead. lol

It's popular beacuse it's user friendly and economical, no big explanation behind it.

Postby Trini Hookah » March 21st, 2013, 10:42 pm

All that to ask we pin stev? OGOAR

I only use the new, improved whatsapp :D

Haven't used Skype, Viber and whatever other messengers I have collecting dust there.

Postby Rooki3 » March 21st, 2013, 11:07 pm

nah stev, i hadda give jack he jacket bbm is alot better than all the other IM out there, even whatsapp, whatsapp hadda sort out its privacy issues

Postby stev » March 21st, 2013, 11:34 pm

what privacy issues whatsapp have?

edit: agreed that it works well (never had a BBM Issue), just saying that there is a lot more IM apps out there that are just as good some even better.
Last edited by stev on March 21st, 2013, 11:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 21st, 2013, 11:42 pm

stev wrote:what privacy issues whatsapp have?

I think the encryption of accounts is easily bypassed and hacked which exposes your entire address book/contacts on phone.

That's why apple pulled the app and developers had to rework it so that for the ios6 update you had to manually load contacts. Well that's why it's rumored.

Postby stev » March 21st, 2013, 11:47 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
stev wrote:what privacy issues whatsapp have?

I think the encryption of accounts is easily bypassed and hacked which exposes your entire address book/contacts on phone.

That's why apple pulled the app and developers had to rework it so that for the ios6 update you had to manually load contacts. Well that's why it's rumored.

:shock: gonna look into this. thanks Kurps

*burns down house and changes name*

Postby Rooki3 » March 21st, 2013, 11:56 pm

not in all dem technical terms i was referring to tho.

i have ppls # on my phone i saved from years bk for whatever reason & i cud see all their whatsapp pics & updates, i'm pretty sure they dont have me on theirs, also their "last seen" feature is real sheit, imagine u tell yuh bish u goin to sleep & a few hrs after she go on whatsapp & see u was active for d last 5mins :shock:

Postby M_2NR » March 22nd, 2013, 12:18 am

In iOS you can turn off last seen time stamp. And I agree. There are privacy issues in terms of what rooki3 described.
What kurps described no longer exists I believe. It was patched.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 22nd, 2013, 12:33 am

M_2NR wrote:In iOS you can turn off last seen time stamp. And I agree. There are privacy issues in terms of what rooki3 described.

Last I read about it, earlier this year, it was "partially" solved.

Dunno if a fix was released after that.

Postby M_2NR » March 22nd, 2013, 12:36 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:In iOS you can turn off last seen time stamp. And I agree. There are privacy issues in terms of what rooki3 described.

Oh wait. I know the one you talking about. Where once you're on the same network it can steal the users info? Wasn't that android and blackberry alone? I know iOS apps are pretty locked down Sans jailbreak.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 22nd, 2013, 12:41 am

casper wrote:any nexus 7 users in here wanna leave a lil review???

thinking bout getting one sometime a few mths from now

Amazing little device at its price point.. VERY smooth, runs anything. Battery life is pretty good.

My annoyances:

-No gorilla glass, so I just put a screen protector like the first minute I bought it

-No rear camera

-Power button is too close to the volume rocker and the power button is difficult to press in the case I have it in

All in all, nothing big. It's an amazing device for $200 US and well worth it.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 22nd, 2013, 12:51 am

M_2NR wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

Oh wait. I know the one you talking about. Where once you're on the same network it can steal the users info? Wasn't that android and blackberry alone? I know iOS apps are pretty locked down Sans jailbreak.

Yep, then there is the issue what you and rookie was describing, I think there are cases pending with that?

Only on iOS whatsapp "fixed" the issue because [rumored] apple store threatened to pull the app for security concerns and did for a few days while whatsapi closed up ends[/rumored] Surprised same hasn't been done for other platforms.

Postby stev » March 22nd, 2013, 12:52 am

technically there is a way u can have bbm on your android device...there is a free blackberry simulator for windows available online.

there are ways to install a windows application on the android operating system....

so basically its a virtual blackberry running on a virtual windows app running on android. :|

talk bout resource hog and battery killer. lol

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 22nd, 2013, 3:55 am

stev wrote:technically there is a way u can have bbm on your android device...there is a free blackberry simulator for windows available online.

there are ways to install a windows application on the android operating system....

so basically its a virtual blackberry running on a virtual windows app running on android. :|

how would u get a real bbm pin tho? have u seen this working before?

Postby stev » March 22nd, 2013, 4:14 am

^^^im trying it out right now. the BBM not working at the moment (saying no network). lol
im trying to turn it into a virtual version of my blackberry (using my PIN).

rel buggy / laggy though. have to do some more digging 2mrw.

im also trying out bluestacks....its more or less an android emulator for PC. so far so good...impressively smooth compared to the eclipse emulator.

edit: yes i've seen it work b4. a co-worker had it running on his PC some time ago.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » March 22nd, 2013, 5:09 am

stev wrote:^^^im trying it out right now. the BBM not working at the moment (saying no network). lol
im trying to turn it into a virtual version of my blackberry (using my PIN).

rel buggy / laggy though. have to do some more digging 2mrw.

im also trying out bluestacks....its more or less an android emulator for PC. so far so good...impressively smooth compared to the eclipse emulator.

edit: yes i've seen it work b4. a co-worker had it running on his PC some time ago.

Well done thinking about running a windows emulator on the phone and putting the bbm emulator into said windows emulator did not think about that before good luck man and post if y get thru this would be great for android users....I heard of some guys also working on a patch for whatsapp where they encoded something into the original coding and allows u to send /receive bbm messages using part of your phone number as a pin

Postby stev » March 22nd, 2013, 1:11 pm

putting the windows emulator on an android OS then putting bbm emulator on that emulator would work but not practical....too much resources and memory wud be eaten up just for that to work...also when u get a message on BBM it wont be the same as getting a normal message.

the windows emulator for android is open source but the blackberry emulator is not. tryin to intertwine the two but not going so well :(

wud dig a bit more later.

Postby Rooki3 » March 22nd, 2013, 1:13 pm

windows emulator on android is like sawppin a SR20 in yur R35 :roll:

Postby ismithx » March 22nd, 2013, 1:37 pm

^^ ahahahhahaah

Postby Ted_v2 » March 22nd, 2013, 1:37 pm

and?

srtwennny duz give rell fyahz fadda

Postby S_2NR » March 22nd, 2013, 2:05 pm

stev wrote:technically there is a way u can have bbm on your android device...there is a free blackberry simulator for windows available online.

this wont work anyway. pins are assigned to hardware

idk wa kinda chain up u take

Postby stev » March 22nd, 2013, 2:46 pm

S_2NR wrote:

this wont work anyway. pins are assigned to hardware

idk wa kinda chain up u take

u can simulate hardware addresses and pins. u never hear about MAC address spoofing? :|

anyway....been checking out some of the libraries RIM offers for eclipse....seems very useful. will take a further look when i get home.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 22nd, 2013, 7:13 pm

stev wrote:putting the windows emulator on an android OS then putting bbm emulator on that emulator would work but not practical....too much resources and memory wud be eaten up just for that to work...also when u get a message on BBM it wont be the same as getting a normal message.

the windows emulator for android is open source but the blackberry emulator is not. tryin to intertwine the two but not going so well :(

Do you need a BIS connection for BBM to run though?

Postby stev » March 22nd, 2013, 10:22 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
stev wrote:putting the windows emulator on an android OS then putting bbm emulator on that emulator would work but not practical....too much resources and memory wud be eaten up just for that to work...also when u get a message on BBM it wont be the same as getting a normal message.

yes u do.

so after a lot of digging and experimenting here's my conclusion.

it IS possible to run a virtual blackberry on an android device....but its not easy at all to get the bbm working. lol

u can get get BBM working on a PC though:

u need to be paying for BIS and virtually spoof your IMEI and Pin (u have to change it to the device ur using in the simulator) - so basically its a virtual version of your blackberry....everything else sets up automatically as it asks u to log into your blackberry account.

within the simulator, u have to add a new connection (under network options) and bridge it with your actual internet connection.

BBM and other BIS dependent apps wud work....it wud just be ur blackberry on your PC. phone calls and sms wud obviously not work.

so at the end of the day, if u want BBM on your android device, u can do the following:

1. purchase blackberry from Bmobile / Digicel and pay for BIS

2. download Wine for android (still in beta by the way...i think)

3. download blackberry simulator for the blackberry u just purchased...available free

4. emulate it on wine within android

5. set up the virtual blackberry as i described above

6. figure out how to bridge the BIS back to your android's 4G

of course this is providing that your android device is fast enough to emulate using Wine and the blackberry simulation.

that BBM thing is too much headache...i need something new to experiment with. lol

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 22nd, 2013, 10:47 pm

stev wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:

yes u do.

so after a lot of digging and experimenting here's my conclusion.

it IS possible to run a virtual blackberry on an android device....but its not easy at all to get the bbm working. lol

u can get get BBM working on a PC though:

u need to be paying for BIS and virtually spoof your IMEI and Pin (u have to change it to the device ur using in the simulator) - so basically its a virtual version of your blackberry....everything else sets up automatically as it asks u to log into your blackberry account.

within the simulator, u have to add a new connection (under network options) and bridge it with your actual internet connection.

BBM and other BIS dependent apps wud work....it wud just be ur blackberry on your PC. phone calls and sms wud obviously not work.

so at the end of the day, if u want BBM on your android device, u can do the following:

1. purchase blackberry from Bmobile / Digicel and pay for BIS

2. download Wine for android (still in beta by the way...i think)

3. download blackberry simulator for the blackberry u just purchased...available free

4. emulate it on wine within android

5. set up the virtual blackberry as i described above

6. figure out how to bridge the BIS back to your android's 4G

of course this is providing that your android device is fast enough to emulate using Wine and the blackberry simulation.

that BBM thing is too much headache...i need something new to experiment with. lol

I miss having BBM but it's not a service I'd pay for having WhatsApp now. My dad however has a BlackBerry plan but doesn't using BBM at all. If I attempt to do this on my laptop and uninstall BBM from his phone, everything should still work? And also does the BlackBerry need to be connected to the same network as the laptop?

Postby stev » March 22nd, 2013, 10:56 pm

u wud have to log into your dad's blackberry account on the virtual blackberry. everything u do virtually would sync with the actual blackberry via the account logged in.....at least i think so....it synced when i created a fake contact on the virtual blackberry...dont know if messages wud sync as well.

and actual blackberry does not need to be connected to the same network as the laptop. it just needs to be on and connected to BIS.

Postby honda hoe » March 23rd, 2013, 7:22 am

All dat for sh!t bbm? Come nah man :?

Postby Trini Hookah » March 23rd, 2013, 7:25 am

honda hoe wrote:All dat for sh!t bbm? Come nah man :?

Buh Lawshawnda and Shanaynay aint gonna get my whatsapps till they connect to wifi in Rituals.

Postby S_2NR » March 23rd, 2013, 10:15 am

honda hoe wrote:All dat for sh!t bbm? Come nah man :?