Sharma serves notice on "souped-up" cars

nismo_demon

modified cars will be seized and off d streets

Postby nismo_demon » March 13th, 2013, 9:46 pm

so what alyuh think bout this news tuners? what proceedures are they goin to follow to determine whether or not a vehicle is "legal" for the roads? are they goin to leave the judgement up to officers just like they did with the dark tint issue? because what is "see tru" to one policeman does be "dark" for another, police just gonna look at a vehicle and say it too fast for d streets? and also what about engine changes that was legally done and proof of engine change passed by licensing office, what they gonna do there?

ztune

Re: Finally, for the drop low men to take note :D

Postby ztune » March 13th, 2013, 9:47 pm

Sky wrote:Car with fast engine and stock everything else is more of a danger than joplow cars.

^^ To the wannabe skylines and supras etc etc..

Stanced and lowered vehicles is what the minister is referring to, there speedmelter? I am not seeing it documented anywhere in his statement. You pose a strong argument and inputs that it's stanced vehicles he is referring to. Do you have any supporting facts from the minister himself to validate your assumption?

Good notion by the minister.

SweeP

Postby SweeP » March 13th, 2013, 9:53 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:I agree this makes nooo sense... So u saying only modified vehicles cause accident?? Stuepz so what if the car drop low it nuh doing yuh anything yuh jess hadda drive with a little more awareness.... Sharma talking bs, when ah fleckin tiida come and ram he arsee I hope he wouldn't say nun!!

they wud claim that is was de supercharged impul tiida

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 13th, 2013, 10:06 pm

ztune wrote:
Sky wrote:Car with fast engine and stock everything else is more of a danger than joplow cars.

^^ To the wannabe skylines and supras etc etc..

Stanced and lowered vehicles is what the minister is referring to, there speedmelter? I am not seeing it documented anywhere in his statement. You pose a strong argument and inputs that it's stanced vehicles he is referring to. Do you have any supporting facts from the minister himself to validate your assumption?

Good notion by the minister.

I have no idea where the OP got his info from, all articles referenced speed, nothing about stance

marc.27

Postby marc.27 » March 13th, 2013, 10:09 pm

speedmelter you not making any sense at all.. You quoted a vague statement then just labeled it as you please, blaming stanced men (my car is not stanced btw). To me those van drivers who pelting down the highway is a more common treat we face on the road lately,and the usual drunk driving which they never made an impact on to this date. :s

Postby shogun » March 13th, 2013, 10:17 pm

Tote has to be emanating from somewhere near the minister.

I'm sure if the data is checked, they'd find most of the accidents are due to asswhole driving, rather than modification. ANY vehicle could be a weapon on our roads. They just looking for scapegoats.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » March 13th, 2013, 10:31 pm

aite let me get something a bit clear. i dont think the ministers know much about the stance movements etc. but the stir is about the trend nowadays to drop cars so low that their wheels are sidewards (so to them they prob thinking of stance men and ricers as one). its becoming too popular and and i have said before that its not just me who is annoyed by these guys driving slowly and dangerously on the roads. i have been to little functions n limes at important people's places and if they cud old talk about that being an annoyance then it must be something. what i really believe is happening, is that they have now given serious thought to the fact that modifications to street vehicles need to be outlined. its a good thing, the roads would be much safer. and i am sure they wont ban folks from doing a lil performance mod. when something becomes an annoyance, thats when the government would act... logic

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » March 13th, 2013, 10:37 pm

but like speedmelter eh know what stance is either plus you need to stop liming in old people place it annoying my ass steups

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2013, 10:39 pm

dante1986 wrote:but like speedmelter eh know what stance is either plus you need to stop liming in old people place it annoying my ass steups

Sounds like your chess ignited? You drop low nuh?

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » March 13th, 2013, 10:39 pm

fine.. its not due to those guys... just wait and see what ministry of transport has in store aite.. even im a bit worried.

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2013, 10:42 pm

speedmelter wrote:fine.. its not due to those guys... just wait and see what ministry of transport has in store aite.. even im a bit worried.

Jink plenty coffee, play moozik loud and drive. I inna gear, they on my side. meem know bout de rest of ollur

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » March 13th, 2013, 10:43 pm

if the ministers bouncing down people with dey porsche an prado smh, na ma chess eh bunnin lol crime rate at a all time high now an it so bad they hv d army out thinking it might hv a coup, police beating man an they wanna talk bout drop low cars be real lol

Postby sliderz1 » March 13th, 2013, 10:52 pm

ever had that experience where the guy with the drop low car infront of you is crawling over those humps and refuse to let you pass

its annoying as fcuk

Postby sliderz1 » March 13th, 2013, 10:53 pm

that supercharged Tiida has my attention tho

Postby Trini Hookah » March 13th, 2013, 10:56 pm

sliderz1 wrote:that supercharged Tiida has my attention tho

There was one Fs on tuner befo. Look out for it on the roads, really sweet.

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » March 13th, 2013, 10:57 pm

gonna drop my car low soon *jumps in excitement*

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2013, 11:00 pm

sliderz1 wrote:ever had that experience where the guy with the drop low car infront of you is crawling over those humps and refuse to let you pass

its annoying as fcuk

doh vex dem nuh bro, see it from their point of view. offset tyres and drop low make dem qualified drift cars just like how b14 and ad wagons does put led strips as drl in the headlights with 2 halos and tun high end euros. Worst yet, drop low with some big rims, a few stickers and a pair of civic lights in the back....now they customized and car show ready.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » March 13th, 2013, 11:03 pm

So before they build a proper MC track and have a proper MC board to deal with that, they rather just fack way with everyone who have whatever mods they disapprove of and deem not road worthy cuz its a safety risk when all the accident you seeing is dohtish honda civic or expensive new cars with some fyas.

As for the "stance" movement, how is that in any way dangerous? Sure, they may drive slow or whatever, but I doubt them blazin going down the highway driving like clowns. Those cars more for show, if its really this "stance" business they on.
Last edited by Soul Collector on March 13th, 2013, 11:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2013, 11:06 pm

giiii dem ah walkove....ummmm....oh, wait, they cant drif dey?

Postby sliderz1 » March 13th, 2013, 11:11 pm

drif? Civic is front wheel dri....ohwaitnvrmind

eitech

Postby eitech » March 13th, 2013, 11:16 pm

Steups. Them does jus start hot and sweaty and blow ah set ah hot air. Not one sheit gonna be done.

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2013, 11:19 pm

I dont see the problem with the drop low stanced cars yunno, the lower they are the harder it is to get up on a pavement and clear away innocent sea lots people. They should be encouraging people to lower cars if anything....meem unnerstand these people yunno. If de pulice man car was stance-up he woulda never reach up on the pavement and jostiss woulda never be called for

Postby Trini Hookah » March 13th, 2013, 11:21 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I dont see the problem with the drop low stanced cars yunno, the lower they are the harder it is to get up on a pavement and clear away innocent sea lots people. They should be encouraging people to lower cars if anything....meem unnerstand these people yunno. If de pulice man car was stance-up he woulda never reach up on the pavement and jostiss woulda never be called for

Did you have a bowl of manure for dinner?

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2013, 11:23 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:I dont see the problem with the drop low stanced cars yunno, the lower they are the harder it is to get up on a pavement and clear away innocent sea lots people. They should be encouraging people to lower cars if anything....meem unnerstand these people yunno. If de pulice man car was stance-up he woulda never reach up on the pavement and jostiss woulda never be called for

Did you have a bowl of manure for dinner?

Did you see me by your dining room table?

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » March 13th, 2013, 11:32 pm

I personally don't see anything wrong with vehicle mods and drop low cars after all its your car but it have some men boy... allyuh know who I talking bout jus ridiculous jred.. Like the green civic from the video posted here, the car cant even get wrecked properly..

Postby Sky » March 13th, 2013, 11:34 pm

I'm sorry eh, but is WTN.
The last thing to be outlawed is fyahs.

Postby shogun » March 13th, 2013, 11:40 pm

As with every new MOT initiative.

Just give it a few weeks for them to figure out how misplaced this policy is/was. This will soon be on the MOT initiative scrap-heap.

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » March 14th, 2013, 1:11 am

The minister say he go be crackin down on d "souped up cars''. I personally think this is stupid, as any car could be a weapon in the hands of the wrong person. Clearly he tryna say that modified cars are more likely to cause an accident.

like modified cars does drive by themselves

Postby X2 » March 14th, 2013, 1:21 am

Fkg fgts... this country going to hell in a waste-basket.

People driving up shoulders at 80k and others running across busy highways without so much as a care of penalty while police issuing tickets for tinted glass and the politicians studying stance.

They grow these fools in a dumb foundry ?

neoise

'Souped up cars'

Postby neoise » March 14th, 2013, 5:50 am

I hope they don't use the same method they use to determine illegal tint

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-03- ... ouped-cars

Drivers whose cars are modified or are in poor working condition will have them seized by licensing officers soon. This, as Transport Minister Chandresh Sharma announced a crackdown on the nation’s roads. Sharma said cars unsuitable for the road were contributing to the high accident rate, which at the end of 2012 saw 35,000 collisions, with close to 200 people being killed. He said reckless driving and lack of respect for the law were alarming for such a small country as T&T.

Speaking at yesterday’s launch of the National Road Safety Awareness Campaign at Petrotrin Staff Club, Pointe-a-Pierre, Sharma said if further legislation was required to increase road safety, the Government would act accordingly. He said under the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act, Transport Commissioner Reuben Cato can impound vehicles that were defective or did not conform to legal specifications.

“The transport commissioner already has the power under the act to seize motor vehicles when people soup up their vehicles. That is illegal. They have to get approval and we will be taking those cars off the road,” he said. He added that the courts had the power to suspend driver’s permits, and the transport commissioner also had the authority to do the same.

Providing more statistics, Sharma said the total amount of fines received by the judiciary in 2012 for traffic violations was $3 million, which he said was an indicator that too many people were not adhering to the law. He said: “We have to take steps to make sure that we bring to the attention of the national community that the Government, while it is going about educating, while we’re having these meetings and while we are trying to engage everyone, that if further legislation is required, we will do it.”

Sharma said there must be a proper approach and notice will be given first. “To take the vehicles off the road there must be some scientific approach...We just can’t go and tell drivers this is it,” he said. “We will tell them that it has come to our attention that this car has been souped up. “Or we may see a particular car speeding down the highway and on inspection we may realise this is not how it was when they bought it from the firm.

“We don’t want to take people by surprise. We don’t want to punish the national community, so we are saying co-operate with us. “It is illegal. Don’t do it. You are causing injury to yourself and you are causing injuries and pain to others.” Sharma said alcohol and cellphones were road-safety hazards.

He said: “We consume the most amount of Scotch in this country for our size. We drink the most beers, we have the most cellphones in the world for a small country. The statistics have shown that most people have more than two cell phones. “We don’t have the legislation just yet, but it’s coming,” Sharma warned.