Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

greenlime100

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby greenlime100 » February 21st, 2013, 8:06 pm

Dont just do water changes... Try to vacuum your sand bad and find what they feeding on,
eliminating the source = eliminating the problem.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 21st, 2013, 8:20 pm

Thanks! Will do.

wireless

Postby wireless » February 22nd, 2013, 12:11 pm

i hav a 5 year old 4ft planted tank that broke 4 months ago.. just go it repaired. had the gravel in a pigtail bucket for the four months, didn't wash it out. when i took 3/4 of the gravel out of the bucket it had some water and a piece of java fern root which survived and was shooting out new roots.. :shock:

i threw all the gravel including the java fern root in the tank flled it wit water and added some azoo pathogen preventer, and have my power filter running. no fishes yet. noticed some hairy algae on some of the gravel that are still alive :shock:

my questions to you guys.
Do you all think the beneficial bacteria survived that long in the gravel?
can i add some hardy fish in before i get the "exotics" to monitor for any diseases?

wireless

Postby wireless » February 22nd, 2013, 12:17 pm

i hav a 5 year old 4ft planted tank that broke 4 months ago.. just go it repaired. had the gravel in a pigtail bucket for the four months, didn't wash it out. when i took 3/4 of the gravel out of the bucket it had some water and a piece of java fern root which survived and was shooting out new roots.. :shock:

i threw all the gravel including the java fern root in the tank flled it wit water and added some azoo pathogen preventer, and have my power filter running. no fishes yet. noticed some hairy algae on some of the gravel that are still alive :shock:

my questions to you guys.
Do you all think the beneficial bacteria survived that long in the gravel?
can i add some hardy fish in before i get the "exotics" to monitor for any diseases?

mojosodope

Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby mojosodope » February 22nd, 2013, 1:40 pm

I doubt any survived, do a fishless cycle and reestablish your bio from start to avoid any problems, spare the fish.

link

Postby link » February 22nd, 2013, 3:22 pm

mojosodope wrote:I doubt any survived, do a fishless cycle and reestablish your bio from start to avoid any problems, spare the fish.

ditto...but u already hve algae growth...toss in a couple 'never-die' local tata...u'll restart w/o an algae attack
rgds

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 22nd, 2013, 3:47 pm

Question.....
I have also koi pond, its indoors and doesnt have much light beside three 35w bulbs that are in the water. Are there any plants you know of that would grow there? Just a name would be fine ill do the necessary research after.

wireless

Postby wireless » February 22nd, 2013, 5:13 pm

link wrote:
mojosodope wrote:I doubt any survived, do a fishless cycle and reestablish your bio from start to avoid any problems, spare the fish.

ditto...but u already hve algae growth...toss in a couple 'never-die' local tata...u'll restart w/o an algae attack
rgds

algae was on the gravel even before i put it in the tank, it came out of the bottom of the bucket that had ' "aquarium water" since the tank broke. in other words not all of the stone was in water.

This is the third day the tank is running btw

Fishman

Postby Fishman » February 22nd, 2013, 8:04 pm

mojosodope wrote:Contemplating buying an Apex Lite from neptune systems, anyone have any experience with their products?

I run the full Apex as it has the variable speed ports that I use for light dimming and has two pH ports. I use one to control my calcium reactor, and the other to monitor my aquarium. As far as I am concerned it is the best investment I have made on my reef. It's saved me a couple of times by emailing me when parameters were off. One time my chiller had tripped its GFCI and so never turned on, when my temp got too high the Apex shut down my lights and saved it from going higher. Also there are apps for iOS and Android, so you can turn on and off anything plugged into it right from your phone.

thetriniman

Postby thetriniman » February 22nd, 2013, 9:20 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Question.....
I have also koi pond, its indoors and doesnt have much light beside three 35w bulbs that are in the water. Are there any plants you know of that would grow there? Just a name would be fine ill do the necessary research after.

The kois may eat the plants and depending on the type of plants used, your pump intakes could get damaged over time with falling debris

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 22nd, 2013, 10:36 pm

Fishman wrote:
mojosodope wrote:Contemplating buying an Apex Lite from neptune systems, anyone have any experience with their products?

I run the full Apex as it has the variable speed ports that I use for light dimming and has two pH ports. I use one to control my calcium reactor, and the other to monitor my aquarium. As far as I am concerned it is the best investment I have made on my reef. It's saved me a couple of times by emailing me when parameters were off. One time my chiller had tripped its GFCI and so never turned on, when my temp got too high the Apex shut down my lights and saved it from going higher. Also there are apps for iOS and Android, so you can turn on and off anything plugged into it right from your phone.

I looking to get an apex in due time... Prob closer to years end, by then I should have my tank somewhat where I want it. I like the apex because of the notifications function, will come in handy when I have to travel or when I have a hectic week and didnt get the time to look after the tank

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » February 23rd, 2013, 12:28 am

Thanks for the feedback on the Apex guys, from what I've seen online it's probably the one of if not the best choices out there.

@greenlime100, you're really limited with the plants there but anubias should grow fine, they're some taller variations like lancelotta that may work for you.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 23rd, 2013, 1:03 pm

Boy I had anubias with some koi, and they eat em all out yes!!! Didnt think they would have eaten them, but they did!! And those are considered the hardest, worst tasting plants for fish to eat. Thats why 'most' fish do not eat them..............but mine did. Greedy MOFOS.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 23rd, 2013, 3:13 pm

^lol nah not eager to add plants in the pond, was just wondering if it was possible then I would, aint beating up over them lol

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 24th, 2013, 11:22 am

Talking about Koi, I dont know how many of you watch Tanked on Animal Planet but saw this last night :

The pond is about 5000gal and done for a Jets player.... impressive...

cichlidboi

Postby cichlidboi » February 24th, 2013, 6:02 pm

Fishman wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:
Fishman wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:arite cool thanks again fishman, another thing u know where i could buy lld meanwell drivers the wired ones preferably but i dont mine the other one either. what about timers, lld pwm i believe i hadda use a controller if i wanna dim or it has another way?

I haven't bought as yet as I am still in the planning stages of my new LED build so I am not sure. Also don't use timers, look into a controller. My plan is to use my Apex with these drivers. The problem is that the Apex puts out a 0-10V signal and the LDD uses a PWM signal. The plan is to get a PWM harness from SteveLED's which converts 0-10V to PWM.

Look into an Arduino build, you can do some really cool things with them.

ok cool well i looking into an arduino build but i hoping i could find some sample code cause while i know a bit of code it might suck to right from scratch.

Check out the Typhon controller from BoostLed, its an arduino led controller with a screen and is already programed for $55.00
http://www.boostled.com/product_p/typhon.htm

ok so i check out the controller it cool but it only have 4 channels, wish it had atleast 5 but good controller nonetheless ill keep it in mind when considering my options.

That's why I will be sticking with the Apex and converting the signal with a harness. The Apex comes with 4 channels but can be expanded by adding modules. Each module adds 4 more. Steve's conversion harness can handle 4 channels each. I am planning 6-8 channels depending on my final design.

hmm apex i like it would have probably gone with it if my budget wasnt a bit tight think i might end up going with typhoon and figure some thing out

kl122

Postby kl122 » February 24th, 2013, 7:20 pm

Any one else knew we have silver hatchet fish in the swamps down here? Caught two down plum mitan display week while fishing for cascadoo

kl122

Postby kl122 » February 24th, 2013, 7:25 pm

Any one else knew we have silver hatchet fish in the swamps down here? Caught two down plum mitan display week while fishing for cascadoo

kl122

Postby kl122 » February 24th, 2013, 7:26 pm

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 24th, 2013, 8:44 pm

kl122 wrote:Any one else knew we have silver hatchet fish in the swamps down here? Caught two down plum mitan display week while fishing for cascadoo

cool. Can u catch one for me? :D

Postby Rooki3 » February 24th, 2013, 8:51 pm

dem big orglee fish in club aquarios is wah kind?

Postby DFC » February 25th, 2013, 9:51 am

I still think having fish as pets is gay and sad.

But this is kinda cool.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 25th, 2013, 4:01 pm

DFC wrote:I still think having fish as pets is gay and sad.

I have had alot of fish since I was small and enjoyed taking care of every one of them.... even the fighter fish that use to last a two weeks :roll: but having fish isnt just a pet IMO... it more like a hobby. But like I always say if you dont like fish and its not in your personality you will remain with that mentality till yuh dead.
Still hadda get back a dog tho... :|

link

Postby link » February 25th, 2013, 5:39 pm

Rooki3 wrote:dem big orglee fish in club aquarios is wah kind?

u said it :-
"big orglee"

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 25th, 2013, 9:27 pm

DFC wrote:I still think having fish as pets is gay and sad.

But this is kinda cool.

you waste your time just to come on this thread just to type that? Wow, really makes me wonder what DFC stands for......

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 2nd, 2013, 6:32 pm

Where all the fresh water guys ? post some pics or your tanks, ponds, fish bowl...

fanbelt

Postby fanbelt » March 2nd, 2013, 9:15 pm

Trying to get back into the hobby after about 10 years. First tank I did since.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » March 2nd, 2013, 9:21 pm

^ looks good but is that a juvenile arowanna?

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 2nd, 2013, 10:09 pm

Yep looks like one.

Them thing does crawl my blood :urk:

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 2nd, 2013, 11:09 pm

Tank looking good fanbelt... always said if I doing a freshwater tank I going planted for sure.