Daran wrote:I convinced most IT guys are idiots, in my experience 90% are game piong losers who don't understand the basics of computer hardware and software.
abbow wrote:i would say 90% of IT personnel relies on the internet to determine what the problems are and how to fix them. i call them google techs....
r3iXmann wrote:abbow wrote:i would say 90% of IT personnel relies on the internet to determine what the problems are and how to fix them. i call them google techs....
so you know everything?![]()
classic case of arrogance
even when dealing with enterprise level issues, google and vendor kb's are used to minimize time when troubleshooting
good to see the myopia in this thread..everybody's concept of "IT" = some nerdy gamer working helpdesk, fixing PCs or doing some lowly sys admin task (especially what you described that you 'hired' this girl to do)
what company you work for abbow? want to know to NOT send a CV/attend any interview there![]()
AllTrac wrote:so wham? i cant do sales with a position of "accounts manager" on meh business card to?
AllTrac wrote:i wah work for ah multiinternational billion dollar company like fujitsu![]()
stev wrote:AllTrac wrote:i wah work for ah multiinternational billion dollar company like fujitsu![]()
come Infotech if u like sex...... guaranteed to get f***ed every friday...
dougla_boy wrote:stev wrote:AllTrac wrote:i wah work for ah multiinternational billion dollar company like fujitsu![]()
gettin dat bull from u awa?
stev wrote:dougla_boy wrote:stev wrote:AllTrac wrote:i wah work for ah multiinternational billion dollar company like fujitsu![]()
gettin dat bull from u awa?
cud be arranged but normally the CEO f**ks everyone.
AllTrac wrote:Id say that we have a shortage of REAL IT Managers, System Admins, Network Admins and Systems Analyst. I know my opinions might not be the same as others.
AllTrac wrote:dougla_boy wrote:cinco wrote:Trac and R3ix have it about right
you dont get squat with those quals a degree will get you around 4 a month with no experience
and on top of that, u need to be real good at it also. market getting saturated.
i hear alot of people saying this, but i beg to differ, I wont say saturated, just that companies throwing around these positions and people are not suitably qualified and experienced enough for it, hence there would always have IT vacancies and thousands of "system administrators" according to the title the employer gives them but they dont know the first thing in actually managing a system.
How many IT managers you know that can actually MANAGE an IT department, write and implement policies, budget etc and understand the workings of the IT department to keep it running ?
How many "System Administrators" you know can actually keep downtime to a minimum and bring a domain back live from catastrophic failure, troubleshoot exchange issues with out calling iiluminat and fujitsu all the time?
How many "Network Administrators" you know that can do basic stuff like packet sniff?
There is a guy in my IT department with the title of "IT Professional" i handed over a project to him and he didnt know what is meant by software life cycle
Id say that we have a shortage of REAL IT Managers, System Admins, Network Admins and Systems Analyst. I know my opinions might not be the same as others.
abbow wrote:i would say 90% of IT personnel relies on the internet to determine what the problems are and how to fix them. i call them google techs....
I work in IT and the company i work for implemented a assessment policy...you are assessed on different areas ensuring that you are not a fake or you dont know sheit and pretending to know and then googling everything....not in IT alone...all areas of the company...and this is a company with HQ in the US, implementing the HQ policies...
good work performance ensures you keep your job....most ppl in IT these days believe that because they can utilize the internet for research, it makes them the best IT person and the smartest...
i have interviewed quite a few and most dont know sheit and totally reliant on the internet mainly google....
one girl that was hired some time ago...didnt know what to do to join a domain...A+, NET+, degree etc. i dc the internet connection temporarily to test her and eventually i had to show her....i dont mind you say you dont know....i'll share my knowledge and experience....i still dont know everything and would never know everything....BUT DONT PRETEND TO KNOW....you fack yourself that way....
r3iXmann wrote:With no experience and only those certs, you can only expect a salary of about 2500-3000
rfari wrote:I sure OP geh sick reading this ched
Sky wrote:While everyone argue about the merits of the "IT man" and claim they know all this n that.
OP, you're 17, wtf?
Go to costaatt and do ism/osm wtf ever. Do CCNA while you're in there. They'll sponsor it.
Forget the security + . If you're going CCNA, do CCSP after.
If you don't wanna do a degree, rough it with the CCNA, CCSP and as much MCITP you can handle. I'd say to try and land a job in a service company so you won't stay still. You learn much quicker that way, being exposed to different situations.
stev wrote:Sky wrote:While everyone argue about the merits of the "IT man" and claim they know all this n that.
OP, you're 17, wtf?
Go to costaatt and do ism/osm wtf ever. Do CCNA while you're in there. They'll sponsor it.
Forget the security + . If you're going CCNA, do CCSP after.
If you don't wanna do a degree, rough it with the CCNA, CCSP and as much MCITP you can handle. I'd say to try and land a job in a service company so you won't stay still. You learn much quicker that way, being exposed to different situations.
Very good advice here.
OP i have a lot of training material if u are interested.....most of which are training videos so u wont get bored reading all the time.....cant put it up online, its over 60GB.
CCNA - ICND1 and 2
MCITP
SQL Training
Exchange Training
Network Penetration Testing
etc...