Salary for A+ and Network+ certifications

Re: Salary for A+ and Network+ certifications

Postby stev » February 21st, 2013, 12:56 pm

Daran wrote:I convinced most IT guys are idiots, in my experience 90% are game piong losers who don't understand the basics of computer hardware and software.

:lol: sadly nowadays anyone with an internet connection and very little understanding of windows can call themselves an IT technician.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 21st, 2013, 2:34 pm

This question AGAAAAAAAAAAAIN.

CFSI

Postby CFSI » February 21st, 2013, 4:18 pm

Try to get a job that will give you experience instead of only looking at a salary. A+ and Net+ with no experience might get you around $2500 - $3000.

Focus on the CCNA. The Security+ is a good entry level security cert but you"ll want aim for CEH, CISA and CISSP in particular which is where the money is at.

In the mean time, pay your dues, get the experience and make sure you understand the OSI model and TCP/IP inside out as they'll always be the basis for anything tech that comes your way.

Good luck :)

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » February 21st, 2013, 8:28 pm

SBCS in san fernando has a vacancy for IT Tech. Requirements are net+ and A+. Give it a shot.

Salary shouldn't be less than $3000. You may get $4000...

abbow

Postby abbow » February 21st, 2013, 9:54 pm

i would say 90% of IT personnel relies on the internet to determine what the problems are and how to fix them. i call them google techs....

I work in IT and the company i work for implemented a assessment policy...you are assessed on different areas ensuring that you are not a fake or you dont know sheit and pretending to know and then googling everything....not in IT alone...all areas of the company...and this is a company with HQ in the US, implementing the HQ policies...

good work performance ensures you keep your job....most ppl in IT these days believe that because they can utilize the internet for research, it makes them the best IT person and the smartest...

i have interviewed quite a few and most dont know sheit and totally reliant on the internet mainly google....

one girl that was hired some time ago...didnt know what to do to join a domain...A+, NET+, degree etc. i dc the internet connection temporarily to test her and eventually i had to show her....i dont mind you say you dont know....i'll share my knowledge and experience....i still dont know everything and would never know everything....BUT DONT PRETEND TO KNOW....you fack yourself that way....

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 21st, 2013, 10:20 pm

In IT unlike a couple other fields, experience beats paper (certs).
I doing my BSc in ISM and fellaz in my classes have all that certs and doing normal accounting jobs. really and truly one of my courses was identical to A+ and Network+, and there are still issues I encounter when debugging a network problem.

Since you using A+ and so fort as a foundation to ccna you have your head on, Expect around 3500 a month and of course you'll just be an assistant to a senior tech.

And ccna aint easy bro...ive done some practice tests, networking is a well paid and demanded job but it can be very challenging and in more than one ways like programming.

Postby r3iXmann » February 22nd, 2013, 7:27 am

abbow wrote:i would say 90% of IT personnel relies on the internet to determine what the problems are and how to fix them. i call them google techs....

so you know everything? :lol: :lol: classic case of arrogance

even when dealing with enterprise level issues, google and vendor kb's are used to minimize time when troubleshooting

good to see the myopia in this thread..everybody's concept of "IT" = some nerdy gamer working helpdesk, fixing PCs or doing some lowly sys admin task (especially what you described that you 'hired' this girl to do)

what company you work for abbow? want to know to NOT send a CV/attend any interview there :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby AllTrac » February 22nd, 2013, 8:26 am

i wah work for ah multiinternational billion dollar company like fujitsu :oops: :oops:

Postby r3iXmann » February 22nd, 2013, 8:37 am

steupse.

Postby AllTrac » February 22nd, 2013, 8:41 am

so wham? i cant do sales with a position of "accounts manager" on meh business card to? :lol:

Daran

Postby Daran » February 22nd, 2013, 11:07 am

r3iXmann wrote:
abbow wrote:i would say 90% of IT personnel relies on the internet to determine what the problems are and how to fix them. i call them google techs....

so you know everything? :lol: :lol: classic case of arrogance

even when dealing with enterprise level issues, google and vendor kb's are used to minimize time when troubleshooting

good to see the myopia in this thread..everybody's concept of "IT" = some nerdy gamer working helpdesk, fixing PCs or doing some lowly sys admin task (especially what you described that you 'hired' this girl to do)

what company you work for abbow? want to know to NOT send a CV/attend any interview there :lol: :lol: :lol:

LOL I have my own software development engineering company so I may know a ting or two.

I've also worked in some in fairly big engineering companies for a few years so that's what I'm basing my experience on.

The problems I see with IT guys is often they lack understanding of the overall system. Most have a classic case of 'know it all syndrome' when they barely understand the basic concepts. I can't count the number of 'expert' IT guys that I've had to correct.

I will admit though in both past companies, IT used to kick engineer's ass at Team Fortress and Call of Duty.

Postby r3iXmann » February 22nd, 2013, 11:10 am

AllTrac wrote:so wham? i cant do sales with a position of "accounts manager" on meh business card to? :lol:

nah dan. u does cuss ppl when they send christmas card for you :oops: :oops: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby stev » February 22nd, 2013, 1:02 pm

AllTrac wrote:i wah work for ah multiinternational billion dollar company like fujitsu :oops: :oops:

come Infotech if u like sex...... guaranteed to get f***ed every friday...

Postby dougla_boy » February 22nd, 2013, 1:11 pm

stev wrote:
AllTrac wrote:i wah work for ah multiinternational billion dollar company like fujitsu :oops: :oops:

gettin dat bull from u awa?

Postby stev » February 22nd, 2013, 1:30 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
stev wrote:

cud be arranged but normally the CEO f**ks everyone.

Postby dougla_boy » February 22nd, 2013, 1:37 pm

stev wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:
stev wrote:

cud be arranged but normally the CEO f**ks everyone.

he/she have mornee awa?

doesnt matter tho, cud fcuk me for free

pseudorandom

Postby pseudorandom » February 22nd, 2013, 7:00 pm

AllTrac wrote:Id say that we have a shortage of REAL IT Managers, System Admins, Network Admins and Systems Analyst. I know my opinions might not be the same as others.

Exactly. One of my past jobs, the IT Dept was falling apart when I came in. One of their main software packages wasn't working for many months and the vendor couldn't fix it, interfering with Windows settings that had nothing to do with the software function. I fixed it, and the vendor then charged the company for all the site visits. Reports that took hours to run, I reprogrammed so it only took a few minutes. One daily report was done manually by entering numbers from a printout into an Excel spreadsheet, which took an hour to do. I automated it with a macro, and after that all it took was a few seconds. Only stayed there a few months before a better opportunity came along.

As people advising, take any job you get, even with piss poor salary and build up experience and move up. People like me naturally good at this so I was able to move up quickly to a pretty decent salary. Many time I see people do stuff and I have to wonder how the hell they in IT.

As the Wizz came up here, they have the worst people. If you joining them, please make sure you good. I fed up ah them people. I went in once to get hoses and fittings to expand my water cooling system and was told to go by an air condition parts place. I went to buy a 3.5" adaptor bracket for my 2.5" solid state drive (very common item) so it can mount in my PC case, and the guy looking at me as if I mad or something to request something like that. I went to buy a "switch" and the guy showed my a 1 Gb model, but I just wanted the cheapest one they had for a quick thing I working on. When I got back to the work location and opened the bag, instead of a 100 Mb switch, I found a KVM switch. Oh lord them people dotish! Long time ago when I was upgrading my system and using SATA drive for the first time, I went for a SATA cable and was told "we doh give out that jus so." What the hell! Went another store which had a whole set of SATA cables hang up and even got a molex to SATA power adaptor.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 23rd, 2013, 8:12 am

AllTrac wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:
cinco wrote:Trac and R3ix have it about right
you dont get squat with those quals a degree will get you around 4 a month with no experience

and on top of that, u need to be real good at it also. market getting saturated.

i hear alot of people saying this, but i beg to differ, I wont say saturated, just that companies throwing around these positions and people are not suitably qualified and experienced enough for it, hence there would always have IT vacancies and thousands of "system administrators" according to the title the employer gives them but they dont know the first thing in actually managing a system.
How many IT managers you know that can actually MANAGE an IT department, write and implement policies, budget etc and understand the workings of the IT department to keep it running ?
How many "System Administrators" you know can actually keep downtime to a minimum and bring a domain back live from catastrophic failure, troubleshoot exchange issues with out calling iiluminat and fujitsu all the time?
How many "Network Administrators" you know that can do basic stuff like packet sniff?
There is a guy in my IT department with the title of "IT Professional" i handed over a project to him and he didnt know what is meant by software life cycle

Id say that we have a shortage of REAL IT Managers, System Admins, Network Admins and Systems Analyst. I know my opinions might not be the same as others.

i know a few.. including myself. with 15+ years experience and international commercial experience im not satisfied at all with my pay grade. england paid me 10 times what im making now. thinking of moving to europe.. because again.. employers just taking advantage of ppl down here.

the good thing, i not owing the government or trinidad anything for my tertiary study and training because i took care of all that myself. im either going into business or moving.. but im leaning on moving. London Rocks!

ilikedesifem

Postby ilikedesifem » February 23rd, 2013, 8:46 pm

CCNA is a better cert.

I'd say 4500 to 5000 dollars per month wit dat. Moving up to CCNP about 7/8000.

ilikedesifem

Postby ilikedesifem » February 23rd, 2013, 8:49 pm

I work in IT and the company i work for implemented a assessment policy...you are assessed on different areas ensuring that you are not a fake or you dont know sheit and pretending to know and then googling everything....not in IT alone...all areas of the company...and this is a company with HQ in the US, implementing the HQ policies...

good work performance ensures you keep your job....most ppl in IT these days believe that because they can utilize the internet for research, it makes them the best IT person and the smartest...

i have interviewed quite a few and most dont know sheit and totally reliant on the internet mainly google....

one girl that was hired some time ago...didnt know what to do to join a domain...A+, NET+, degree etc. i dc the internet connection temporarily to test her and eventually i had to show her....i dont mind you say you dont know....i'll share my knowledge and experience....i still dont know everything and would never know everything....BUT DONT PRETEND TO KNOW....you fack yourself that way....

yeah.. you have a ccna but you don't know the difference between the Internet and the Web.

I bet you paid a partner for it, don't lie nah....

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » February 24th, 2013, 4:51 pm

Even with CCNA, get some experience as well.
Saw too many people with CCNA and can't configure an SVI and enable it,

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » February 24th, 2013, 9:59 pm

r3iXmann wrote:With no experience and only those certs, you can only expect a salary of about 2500-3000

This is extremely accurate. Get some experience, it will serve you well.

Postby rfari » February 24th, 2013, 10:18 pm

I sure OP geh sick reading this ched

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 24th, 2013, 10:35 pm

rfari wrote:I sure OP geh sick reading this ched

lol nah man.... prob just drop he high hopes close to ground zero lol
once he understan it aint easy out they and puncheon does taste good under stress... he in d game

Postby Sky » February 24th, 2013, 10:42 pm

While everyone argue about the merits of the "IT man" and claim they know all this n that.
OP, you're 17, wtf?
Go to costaatt and do ism/osm wtf ever. Do CCNA while you're in there. They'll sponsor it.
Forget the security + . If you're going CCNA, do CCSP after.
If you don't wanna do a degree, rough it with the CCNA, CCSP and as much MCITP you can handle. I'd say to try and land a job in a service company so you won't stay still. You learn much quicker that way, being exposed to different situations.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 24th, 2013, 11:19 pm

^^ straight advice there !

Postby stev » February 25th, 2013, 1:00 am

Sky wrote:While everyone argue about the merits of the "IT man" and claim they know all this n that.
OP, you're 17, wtf?
Go to costaatt and do ism/osm wtf ever. Do CCNA while you're in there. They'll sponsor it.
If you don't wanna do a degree, rough it with the CCNA, CCSP and as much MCITP you can handle. I'd say to try and land a job in a service company so you won't stay still. You learn much quicker that way, being exposed to different situations.

Very good advice here.

OP i have a lot of training material if u are interested.....most of which are training videos so u wont get bored reading all the time.....cant put it up online, its over 60GB.

CCNA - ICND1 and 2
MCITP
SQL Training
Exchange Training
Network Penetration Testing
etc...

Postby r3iXmann » February 25th, 2013, 7:44 am

stev wrote:
Sky wrote:While everyone argue about the merits of the "IT man" and claim they know all this n that.
OP, you're 17, wtf?

Very good advice here.

OP i have a lot of training material if u are interested.....most of which are training videos so u wont get bored reading all the time.....cant put it up online, its over 60GB.

CCNA - ICND1 and 2
MCITP
SQL Training
Exchange Training
Network Penetration Testing
etc...

all that? yuh mean it have more to IT than fixing pc and dealing with lusers? :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby stev » February 25th, 2013, 3:33 pm

lmao @ lusers.

Postby Sky » February 25th, 2013, 4:17 pm

LOL I now read what these morons spewing on de ppl forums.
So googling an unknown issue is wrong? I enno nah, but I find a good systems admin/helpdesk tech would google an unknown issue for help instead of just sitting there like 'duuhh' tryin to figure it out. Because someone had the same issue before and it was solved. Why go though that all over again when the BOTTOM LINE IS UPTIME!!! Once you dunno why something going wrong and you never encounter it before, googling is mostly faster than figuring out yourself. Plus error codes!! Why not google them? And when it's fixed, you have something else under your belt. So you show a girl how to join a domain? Good! Now she knows and she gained knowledge. Stop b!tchin.

The biggest problem is people calling anyone in the ICT field, "IT guys" Guess what. They don't know everything about computers and they never will. They choose their own subfield and study/practice it. Employers force them to do everything.
And of course most of them are gamers :?
Just like engineers mostly get of on fast cars, "IT guys" mostly get off on fast computers. What's the best and most fun way to experience a fast system? Gaming. Just like racing for cars.

From my experience, usually the people who have the most complaints about "IT people" are the people who dig around in computers and think they know as much, or more. And they actually turn out to be the worst users.