Wade Mark tipped to replace Max Richards as President

Re: Wade Mark tipped to replace Max Richards as President

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2013, 11:42 am

rfari wrote:ZR selling out he family heirloom yes. Shame

Eh no dude, I deal in old TT bank notes,rare coins, Stamps, rare whisky.

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2013, 11:47 am

Hook wrote:He only started posting his political opinions on here in March 2009 anyway.

Subject: VSEP for BIR/ Customs confirmed

zoom rader wrote:The PNM Plan to rid all UNC?indian people in Custom and Excise and Board of Inland Revenue .They master plan is to put PNM square pegs in round holes.

Prior to this post, everything else he posted on 2nr was related to fish, old TT currency and motorsport. It would seem something made the poor lad snap.
So don't get yourself worked up over it when he asks "where were you when...?", because he wasn't there either.

No dude did not snap. On tuner a lot of propaganda, racist and mis-information and was allowed to spread while mods did nothing about it. Any thing anti indo was allowed on tuner.

And Hook , i on tuner before you check my join date, I was here even before this "new tuner web site"

Postby Rooki3 » January 5th, 2013, 12:56 pm

snypaz wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:Former T&T Ambassador to the United Nations in Geneva, Switzerland, Therese Baptiste-Cornelis :D

My Personal friend and she wants NO part of this country.

we wants NO part of her

Postby rfari » January 5th, 2013, 1:04 pm

Ur ancestors prolly rolling in dey grave dan. U sell dem out to eat ah food. Smh

Postby Country_Bookie » January 5th, 2013, 2:06 pm

hydroep wrote:But I believe Timothy Hamil Smith is the best choice for the Government at this time. He's got the political experience and moreover "looks" the part.

How exactly does one look the part of being president? Becos he face pale he "looks" like a president?

Postby pioneer » January 5th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Wade Mark would be an excellent choice, the government needs somebody who they can trust and has their back.

Postby hydroep » January 5th, 2013, 3:16 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:
hydroep wrote:But I believe Timothy Hamil Smith is the best choice for the Government at this time. He's got the political experience and moreover "looks" the part.

How exactly does one look the part of being president? Becos he face pale he "looks" like a president?

Actually, this has nothing to do with being pale faced (or any other kind of face for that matter).

The "look" to which I'm referring is tantamount to referring to an individual as "distinguished". For example Sir Ellis Clarke and His Excellency Noor Hassanali looked distinguished.

A.N.R. Robinson was lesser so (in my humble opinion) and President Richards...well...I'll stop there... :lol:

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2013, 3:20 pm

rfari wrote:

Ur ancestors prolly rolling in dey grave dan. U sell dem out to eat ah food. Smh

Dude try and understand my ancestors have nothing to do with me buying and selling notes. I collect notes and from time to time I sell some, because its a business. Can you get 100% return on an investment at ur bank, What you want to me to beg for a handout?

Postby rfari » January 5th, 2013, 4:23 pm

I dont plan on selling or trading my grandparents' legacy regardless of the hardships i may encounter

Postby pioneer » January 5th, 2013, 4:40 pm

Rfari so dotish he ask ah man which part de electoral college is

Postby tr1ad » January 5th, 2013, 4:48 pm

and the crush rfari has with zoom raider better stop soon, because the spamming up of the threads with the nonsense is getting tired

but nothing a two week trip can't fix......... if it continues

Postby rfari » January 5th, 2013, 5:00 pm

Pffttt. All dat long talk tr1ad?
Touch a button. Meem cater

Postby rfari » January 5th, 2013, 5:02 pm

pioneer wrote:Rfari so dotish he ask ah man which part de electoral college is

Kif kif kif...

Postby pioneer » January 5th, 2013, 6:11 pm

Big short wannabe rasta like u have ah man wid glasses talkin to u so?

Nah man

Not from ah man wid glasses

Postby brams112 » January 5th, 2013, 6:14 pm

pioneer wrote:Wade Mark would be an excellent choice, the government needs somebody who they can trust and has their back.

Buh ent all political parties does choose someone to have their back?

Postby pioneer » January 5th, 2013, 6:19 pm

That's exactly the point, why people beatin up over this? I said it since page 1 that's how it is and always will be until someone decides to change our constitution to allow the people to vote for the president...which will never happen...

I jus had to LOL@ ah oleman gunta this mornin in ah garage cussin talkin how indian this an that an so nasty etc etc an wha put da nastiness spineless puppet as president...

I not sure how he manage to crawl out from under the rock he was livin under but it made for good lulz

Postby brams112 » January 5th, 2013, 6:27 pm

I cud spot a bamsee kissing supporter anytime,they cant handle the truth.But it maybe be hamel smith,he always seemed as a level headed person don't matter who there.Bas is a cnut,if he just shut his trap and accept the cutarse kams put on him he might have a post somewhere,don't think he will make a good president,he will shaft kams the same way robbie shaft him in time to come.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » January 5th, 2013, 9:00 pm

I nominate Patrick Augustus Mervyn Manning 0X

kaylex

Postby kaylex » January 6th, 2013, 10:02 am

pioneer wrote:Wade Mark would be an excellent choice, the government needs somebody who they can trust and has their back.

Jus sayin... Wade Mark may seem to be the choice.. In terms of having the PP's Back However.. their backward thinking and current trend suggests that he ent no INDO.. so chances are he wouldnt be placed at the Presidency..

I really awaiting to see...

I mean .. pioneer the Position of Presidency should ideally be about neutrality and oversight... MARK clearly shows his biases in every sitting of Parliament.. it so clear to see

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » January 6th, 2013, 1:03 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Look at the amount of blunders Max has made as president, his track record speaks for itself under both administrations he oversaw. A President with a legal background would more than likely know his own roles and functions and should be better poised to understand legals issues and implications.

A President with a law degree will necessarily know those things? Really?

The President has legal advisors who are EXPERTS in their own fields of law. The President must be able to listen to advice OBJECTIVELY and make his/her decision based on the legal advice received. The President having a legal background MAY (note the use of the conditional tense) have a biased, and wrong, opinion on a matter because of his/her legal background and MAY not be OBJECTIVE when listening to the advice from the experts at his/her disposal.

Rory Phoulorie for president :D

netsket

Postby netsket » January 31st, 2013, 7:02 pm

The only reason I can see them not choosing Dookeran as President is because he is more valuable winning the Tunapuna seat
Last edited by netsket on January 31st, 2013, 7:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » January 31st, 2013, 7:10 pm

^^^No UML, Dookeran is MP for Tunapuna, and trust me if they call a by-election in Tunapuna, they will lose.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 31st, 2013, 7:11 pm

netsket wrote:The only reason I can see them not choosing Dookeran as President is because he is more valuable winning the St Auguustine seat

But he's the MP for Tunapuna

netsket

Postby netsket » January 31st, 2013, 7:16 pm

Habit7 wrote:^^^No UML, Dookeran is MP for Tunapuna, and trust me if they call a by-election in Tunapuna, they will lose.

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
netsket wrote:The only reason I can see them not choosing Dookeran as President is because he is more valuable winning the St Auguustine seat

But he's the MP for Tunapuna

sorry :oops:

Postby shogun » January 31st, 2013, 7:17 pm

Anyone BUT Wade Mark. Please.

Postby Rooki3 » January 31st, 2013, 7:23 pm

Crackpot wrote:I nominate Patrick Augustus Mervyn Manning 0X

netsket

Postby netsket » January 31st, 2013, 7:33 pm

might very well be Wade Mark or Panday or Volney

What do you think of Timothy Hamel-Smith?
Last edited by netsket on January 31st, 2013, 7:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

howareu

Postby howareu » January 31st, 2013, 7:40 pm

abu baker for sure

netsket

Postby netsket » January 31st, 2013, 9:40 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/letters/ ... 30641.html

Puzzling slant in the president's speeches

Story Created: Jan 30, 2013 at 11:53 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 31, 2013 at 12:11 AM ECT

As a professor in the political sciences department of a New York university with my navel string buried in Trinidad, I often review the events of the political landscape of my homeland.

Recently, I conducted an assignment in my class to analyse the speeches of the Office of the President of Trinidad and Tobago. The work of my students revealed several interesting issues which I want to share with the citizens of my homeland in the hopes of finding solutions for some of these issues.

Firstly, it was revealed that the Office of the President was quasi-ceremonial in nature and that many, but not all, of the roles and functions of his office are enshrined in our Republican Constitution.

Naturally, the speeches made during the last ten years by the incumbent, President George Maxwell Richards, were analysed. For our own elucidation, being a political sciences class, we decided to analyse his speeches according to the political party in power during the time period.

For the period 2003-2010, or during the reign of the People's National Movement (PNM), the themes of His Excellency's speeches reflect a sense of objectivity that seem to be reflective and in keeping with the role and function of his office.

During the period 2010 to present, however, his speeches are heavily weighted with marked political punctuation that condemn the political party currently in office, the People's Partnership Government. Some of the excerpts from his speeches over this period, for example, include, "There is no one coming to the rescue of Trinidad and Tobago."

Most notably and topical was the speech he delivered at the swearing in of the newly elected THA.

His Excellency commented that, "The people of Tobago must be careful to preserve those characteristics which define them as a people and must brook no substitutes for them."

He also said that "The recent Tobago House of Assembly elections have demonstrated that democracy is serving this country well. ...

"I offer congratulations to all those who have been chosen by the people to lead Tobago into the future. This is a historic moment and it is always important that we learn the lessons of history."

He added that while the task was daunting, it was not impossible.

He ended with "carpe diem," which means "seize the day". Seize the day of what exactly? The fact that there is no opposition to the PNM?

My class and I have been having extreme difficulty in comprehending the slant of speeches delivered by His Excellency from 2010 to present day. Most notably, the speech delivered at the swearing in of the newly elected THA with blatant political underpinnings.

I was of the view that as president, he should be more statesman-like and have a reconciliatory rather than celebratory tone. He should not allow himself to be used as a political tool by the PNM party. He showed his true colours as a political PNM pawn when he in effect said that the Partnership Government ignored and neglected Tobago that is why they lost the election.

How do I explain this recurring theme of obvious political bias by an incumbent president that is supposed to exude objectivity?

Prof David Horsham

Brooklyn, New York

Postby shogun » January 31st, 2013, 10:11 pm

Steups.

He's always had politically tinged speeches. Or at least had speeches, which tried to insert some virtue, drawing from something topical, happening in the country.

I remember the same happened under the last administration. I always found it refreshing and showed that he wasn't a "tool" of the party that installed him.

But of course when you look through partisan eyes, eh netskettel?