Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » January 28th, 2013, 6:57 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Growing a strong liking for the branching corals lol.... today I saw my Kenya opening back up... things happening 8-) lol
mixing up a 50gal drum right now... will do that change hopefully on Thursday

Told you it will make a difference............lol.
I still drink hieneken eh.......lol

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 28th, 2013, 7:01 pm

I still drink hieneken eh.......lol

we guh link up a day ! doh fighten lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 28th, 2013, 7:14 pm

^^^lol

cichlidboi

Postby cichlidboi » January 28th, 2013, 7:27 pm

woi woi wazzup salt peoples, i join tuner for this thread :D .Anyhow I upgrading my 33 gallon saltwater to a 65g reef and i wanna use leds(diy) on the new tank. Anybody know how much customs ill have to pay if i bring in one of them diy led kits or just leds. The skybox i using have 20% on light fixtures and lights and 0% on light bulbs wondering wat category leds fall.

CSheppard

Postby CSheppard » January 28th, 2013, 7:32 pm

looking for a 100gph pump and approx price for it. help ?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 28th, 2013, 7:40 pm

CSheppard wrote:looking for a 100gph pump and approx price for it. help ?

Might be around $200 or $300 depending on brand etc.
I bought a 1300GPH from Raj and no complaints thus far.... you could prob check him for good pumps

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 28th, 2013, 7:47 pm

This is my magfloat right now with encrusting coraline.

magnifier.

Koralia

And this is the encrusting gorgonian

I'm very much positive fishmans tank is more loaded in coraline due to the use of his calcium reactor

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 28th, 2013, 8:01 pm

^^^^^ jeez an ages lol and I does feel nice when I see a couple spots on my rock now starting to grow :/ the veterans !! lol

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 28th, 2013, 8:14 pm

cichlidboi wrote:woi woi wazzup salt peoples, i join tuner for this thread :D .Anyhow I upgrading my 33 gallon saltwater to a 65g reef and i wanna use leds(diy) on the new tank. Anybody know how much customs ill have to pay if i bring in one of them diy led kits or just leds. The skybox i using have 20% on light fixtures and lights and 0% on light bulbs wondering wat category leds fall.

The led kits I dont know how much they will charge....
You could try this site for a close estimate:
http://zipxtrinidad.com/how-to-calculate-your-shipment/

If you need a chiller I have a brand new 1/10th HP Corallife chiller....still in box and never used.... PM me if interested

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 28th, 2013, 8:18 pm

greenlime100 wrote:^^^^^ jeez an ages lol and I does feel nice when I see a couple spots on my rock now starting to grow :/ the veterans !! lol

i was the the same way when i started. you swear i win real money........ they always say be careful of what you ask for when it comes to getting coraline

Postby meccalli » January 28th, 2013, 8:35 pm

So guys, I cut my glass, assembling the tank tonight, anyone knows where i can get equipment? Particularly powerheads, lights, pumps, hydrometer. Planning to grow young mangrove plants with small mullet. If someone could recommend lights for the mangroves, that would be good. It's a 24 x 15 x 15. Not sure if I should add liverock as well.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » January 28th, 2013, 9:08 pm

cichlidboi wrote:woi woi wazzup salt peoples, i join tuner for this thread :D .Anyhow I upgrading my 33 gallon saltwater to a 65g reef and i wanna use leds(diy) on the new tank. Anybody know how much customs ill have to pay if i bring in one of them diy led kits or just leds. The skybox i using have 20% on light fixtures and lights and 0% on light bulbs wondering wat category leds fall.

They charge about 20% duties for the led kits.

Honda I should be finished with your leds this week, was rell busy for the past few weeks.
Your tank looking amazing as usual...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 28th, 2013, 9:24 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:

Honda I should be finished with your leds this week, was rell busy for the past few weeks.

LOL.......thanks.
Ok no scene. Take your time. Was getting some lil issues with my Alk the last few wks when it went just below 7dKH. Its back up now and stable @ 8+

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » January 29th, 2013, 6:06 pm

Anyone know where I can get Electric Blue Jack Dempseys?

cichlidboi

Postby cichlidboi » January 29th, 2013, 6:08 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:

arite cool what about heatsink ill have to order that or i could get it here in trinidad

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 29th, 2013, 8:52 pm

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » January 30th, 2013, 11:43 am

meccalli wrote:So guys, I cut my glass, assembling the tank tonight, anyone knows where i can get equipment? Particularly powerheads, lights, pumps, hydrometer. Planning to grow young mangrove plants with small mullet. If someone could recommend lights for the mangroves, that would be good. It's a 24 x 15 x 15. Not sure if I should add liverock as well.

Dude, how much mullet you plan to put in this tank ??
I saw you wanted to keep bait fish but this tank would only support about 3 mullet.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » January 30th, 2013, 12:04 pm

cichlidboi wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:

arite cool what about heatsink ill have to order that or i could get it here in trinidad

You can get complete led kits from Rapid Led or if you want to save a bit you can customize an buy from different suppliers:

Led's (I don't recommend using anything other than Cree or Philips Luxeon) - Get Cree from Rapid led or Luxeon from Steves leds.

Heatsink - Rapid led has the best looking heat sinks (black anodize aluminum with integrated splash guard)

Driver - Meanwell seem to be the best and easiest to use and you can find them cheaper on electronics wholesale websites such as trcelectronics.com and jameco.com, just use the part number form Rapid led.

Hope the helps.

cichlidboi

Postby cichlidboi » January 30th, 2013, 2:44 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:

You can get complete led kits from Rapid Led or if you want to save a bit you can customize an buy from different suppliers:

Led's (I don't recommend using anything other than Cree or Philips Luxeon) - Get Cree from Rapid led or Luxeon from Steves leds.

Heatsink - Rapid led has the best looking heat sinks (black anodize aluminum with integrated splash guard)

Driver - Meanwell seem to be the best and easiest to use and you can find them cheaper on electronics wholesale websites such as trcelectronics.com and jameco.com, just use the part number form Rapid led.

Hope the helps.

yeah i do rel research and either going with cree or luxeons. Wanna do a full spectrum with 10 cree 2:1 royal blue to neutral white 3ups, about 4 ocw and 8 violet from led group buy, or go with steves and mimic the guy in this nano reef thread :D http://www.nano-reef.com/topic/312669-p ... ?p=4175669 6 x royal blue:neutral white:cool blue 3ups 12 x luxeon es royal blue, 6 x neutral:turquiose:red 3up,8 X violet.

For heatsink i was hoping it have in trinidad so i could cut some money on shipping cost but if not was gonna get from heatsinkusa.com or from ledgroupbuy.com.

for the drivers i planning to buy 5 meanwell 60-48D drivers from http://store.bravoelectro.com/ledpowers ... p-228.html price seem good :D

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 30th, 2013, 3:37 pm

greenlime100 wrote:^^^^^ jeez an ages lol and I does feel nice when I see a couple spots on my rock now starting to grow :/ the veterans !! lol

Yuh know.... I see spots on my glass growin and I real excited and thing and coraline becoming a pest for u :( lucky....

Anybody have covers or automatic topoff cause this every 2days filling tank thing real annoying now.

Another thing ... Something stinging my clowns idk what not aphasia for sure cause I boiled them already lol idk if hydroids could do that but they have burn spots like dark spots on their body.. It seems to be healing but it happened 2 could zoas cause that?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 30th, 2013, 6:27 pm

Had some dark spots on my striped damsel.... he was fine tho... was eating and everything and within a few days he was back to normal

your clownfish behaving normal ?

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 30th, 2013, 8:03 pm

yeah they normal chasing each other bullying each other biting me everytime i put my hand in the tank...yeah i guess they normal just the dark spots, they seem to be clearing up but it happened twice so i want to know what stinging them

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 30th, 2013, 8:21 pm

Reefplanet wrote:

Yuh know.... I see spots on my glass growin and I real excited and thing and coraline becoming a pest for u :( lucky....

Anybody have covers or automatic topoff cause this every 2days filling tank thing real annoying now.

Another thing ... Something stinging my clowns idk what not aphasia for sure cause I boiled them already lol idk if hydroids could do that but they have burn spots like dark spots on their body.. It seems to be healing but it happened 2 could zoas cause that?

how much water you talking about thats evaporating.............
I have an open top tank and i only get about 1/2gal evaporation daily, which is allot less than some guys i've spoken to. They talking all kinda 2-3gal. Early on in the build, i calculated how much water i was loosing daily, then I built a 6.5 gal fresh water storage which doses approx 1/2gal RODI water every lunchtime. So technically, that could run for 13 days before i need to top off. Works real good when i'm not home for a few days.
you have to monitor your salinity because of the small volume of your tank. you will have a bigger salinity fluctuation. Guys with a bigger water volume dont get that big swing. Corals are more prone to the salinity swings in the long run. Temp is another.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 30th, 2013, 9:45 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:

how much water you talking about thats evaporating.............
I have an open top tank and i only get about 1/2gal evaporation daily, which is allot less than some guys i've spoken to. They talking all kinda 2-3gal. Early on in the build, i calculated how much water i was loosing daily, then I built a 6.5 gal fresh water storage which doses approx 1/2gal RODI water every lunchtime. So technically, that could run for 13 days before i need to top off. Works real good when i'm not home for a few days.
you have to monitor your salinity because of the small volume of your tank. you will have a bigger salinity fluctuation. Guys with a bigger water volume dont get that big swing. Corals are more prone to the salinity swings in the long run. Temp is another.

well within about 4 days my salinity goes up..like say if its 1.025 it will go up to 1.026 so every 2 days i add just about 2-4 liters and that keeps my salinity at 1.025

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 30th, 2013, 9:53 pm

Yea likewise I get 1gal evaporating every 2 to 3 days

Postby meccalli » January 31st, 2013, 12:00 am

ziggy_dappa wrote:
meccalli wrote:So guys, I cut my glass, assembling the tank tonight, anyone knows where i can get equipment? Particularly powerheads, lights, pumps, hydrometer. Planning to grow young mangrove plants with small mullet. If someone could recommend lights for the mangroves, that would be good. It's a 24 x 15 x 15. Not sure if I should add liverock as well.

I saw you wanted to keep bait fish but this tank would only support about 3 mullet.

I'm talking young mullet though. Average length is around 2-3 inches max. I was expecting a school of 8-10 at a time.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 31st, 2013, 12:40 am

greenlime100 wrote:Yea likewise I get 1gal evaporating every 2 to 3 days

yeah thats normal, remember you running a chiller so thats why it low also.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 31st, 2013, 12:50 am

meccalli wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:

I'm talking young mullet though. Average length is around 2-3 inches max. I was expecting a school of 8-10 at a time.

A 24 x 15 x 15 tank only works out to 23.3 gal. Thats way too small for 8-10 mullet. Mullet grow pretty fast. In a tank that size you lucky if you get 2-4 to survive. When i heard you say you going to keep mullet in a tank, i thought you were building a tank about 2-300 gal. What sort of filtration you planning to run

Postby meccalli » January 31st, 2013, 9:13 am

10 gallon sump, the purpose being to keep em alive for 2 weeks at the most. The idea being when you need bait in a jiffy, I have them on hand. Well that was the idea. Not sure if still feasible.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 31st, 2013, 11:29 am

Some real nice SPS in this vid... watch in 720p

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gCMwseoP5gY