M_2NR wrote:What exactly you want to use it for though? and budget? yuh eh say anything about that eh.
And fanboyism aside, if I were to buy a tablet right now, I'd get an iPad Mini. Lightweight, killer battery life and all the apps I'd ever need.
I really like where the Surface is heading, the Plug in anything and it works, and throw any office file and you can edit, etc. but the serious lack of apps (since it's RT and you can't sideload Desktop apps yet) and the "metro" side apparently doesn't "talk" to the desktop mode, for instance if I take a picture and it shows up in photos, it wont be easily found in photos on desktop mode, stuff like that really is a drag on it. Future wise those WinRT has A LOT of potential.
And reason why I eh bother PM'n (in case others wondering) is that everyone can chip in.
Sky wrote:I have a simple question that may have been answered before. Can't rummage through.
Does the win 7.5 join a homegroup well?
Looking at a Lumia 800 (ahainst the HTC one x).
Used one over the weekend at home and I love how it can use my one note stuff off skydrive (was problematic though). I love that phone and the homegroup abilities could be the deciding factor.
Microsoft's Surface tablet may not have rung in much holiday cheer last quarter, at least according to one analyst.
Microsoft sold just 1 million Surface RT tablets in the fourth quarter, projects UBS analyst Brent Thill, down from a prior forecast of 2 million. In an investors note out today, the analyst cited two reasons for his dour projection in a single sentence:
"Surface RT is a consumer device with [fourth-quarter] sales suffering from the difficult iPad compare and narrow distribution."
Early last month, IHS iSuppli analyst Rhoda Alexander told CNET that she expected Surface sales of 1.3 million for the quarter, adding that "I would be surprised to see it much above that."
Last July, CEO Steve Ballmer said that Microsoft's goal was to sell a few million Surface tablets in the coming year. But the company has been mum about recent sales of Surface, which debuted at the end of October.
Thill has higher expectations for Microsoft's Surface Pro tablet, which is slated to hit the market later this month.
Unlike its RT counterpart, Surface Pro will be a full Windows 8 tablet capable of running all desktop applications and offering more power and features.
Calling the Surface Pro "more promising," Thill sees it as an alternative to the iPad among enterprises users. For Microsoft's fiscal 2013, which ends this June, the analyst estimates Surface sales of 2.5 million units. For fiscal 2014, he's eyeing sales as high 8 million.
Microsoft declined CNET's request for comment on Thill's forecast. The company will release its earnings report for last quarter on January 24.
Swisha wrote:wonder what the Windows Phone 8 numbers looking like
While AT&T is seeing success with Windows Phone sales, Microsoft isn't doing to bad with Windows 8. During the 11th Annual J.P. Morgan Tech Forums at CES 2013, Microsoft announced that they have sold 60 million Windows 8 licenses to date.
According to Windows Chief Marketing Officer and Chief Financial Officer Tami Reller this includes both upgrades and sales to OEMs for new devices. The sales pace is similar to what Microsoft experienced with Windows 7.
As far as Windows 8 apps and games are concerned, growth continues to rise with the number of apps being available quadrupling since launch. As an added bonus, Microsoft recently passed the 100 million app download mark.
Swisha wrote:wonder what the Windows Phone 8 numbers looking like
Just d/l-ed and ran the tool - 1st time - did first update - now on 7740.16
tool crashed after running it again now...
Edit 1: Just ran it again - now on 8107.79
tool crashed after running it again now... lol as long as it keeps moving idc
Edit 2: Just ran it again - now on 8112.7
tool crashed after running it again now... still moving lol
Edit 3: Just ran it again - now on 8773.98
tool crashed after running it again now... still going...
Edit 4: Just ran it again - now on 8779.8
Edit 5: Just ran it again - now on 8783.12
Its' Official! Just got the Blue Startup Screen now on 8858.136
Thanks to the one man army @ WPH!
christopherwilliams2 wrote:Really would like to go to the windows phone platform. Seems like all my apps are there but still find it hard to leave my s3.
trini mk5 wrote:christopherwilliams2 wrote:Really would like to go to the windows phone platform. Seems like all my apps are there but still find it hard to leave my s3.
dont leave your s3 just yet. The s3 is still one of the best smart phones on the market. My suggestion is to wait till microsoft updates or launches a new windows phone with some updates. Especially the app market. I sold my lumia and went to apple, but im still looking to see when or if the changes that need to make the windows OS better has been addressed. My 2 cents.
gastly369 wrote:im jumping WP ship :s
gave them enough of time to develop a decent app market and failed to deliver sorry to say
LG 4X HD here i come