.:The Official Windows Phone 7/8 Thread:.

Re: .:The Official Windows Phone 7/8 Thread:.

Postby M_2NR » November 22nd, 2012, 12:24 am

What exactly you want to use it for though? and budget? yuh eh say anything about that eh.

And fanboyism aside, if I were to buy a tablet right now, I'd get an iPad Mini. Lightweight, killer battery life and all the apps I'd ever need.

I really like where the Surface is heading, the Plug in anything and it works, and throw any office file and you can edit, etc. but the serious lack of apps (since it's RT and you can't sideload Desktop apps yet) and the "metro" side apparently doesn't "talk" to the desktop mode, for instance if I take a picture and it shows up in photos, it wont be easily found in photos on desktop mode, stuff like that really is a drag on it. Future wise those WinRT has A LOT of potential.

And reason why I eh bother PM'n (in case others wondering) is that everyone can chip in.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 22nd, 2012, 4:02 pm

Bill Gates on Windows 8, Windows Phone 8, and Microsoft Surface

Postby foss » November 25th, 2012, 2:25 pm

M_2NR wrote:What exactly you want to use it for though? and budget? yuh eh say anything about that eh.

And fanboyism aside, if I were to buy a tablet right now, I'd get an iPad Mini. Lightweight, killer battery life and all the apps I'd ever need.

I really like where the Surface is heading, the Plug in anything and it works, and throw any office file and you can edit, etc. but the serious lack of apps (since it's RT and you can't sideload Desktop apps yet) and the "metro" side apparently doesn't "talk" to the desktop mode, for instance if I take a picture and it shows up in photos, it wont be easily found in photos on desktop mode, stuff like that really is a drag on it. Future wise those WinRT has A LOT of potential.

And reason why I eh bother PM'n (in case others wondering) is that everyone can chip in.

I bought the Surface. :|

Postby M_2NR » November 25th, 2012, 4:33 pm

LOL let we know how it is eh

Postby foss » November 25th, 2012, 5:44 pm

definitely :mrgreen:

wouldn't have it in my hand till just before xmas though.

trying to save on skybox charges. :lol:

Postby M_2NR » November 25th, 2012, 6:37 pm

U know talking about dat. They not supposed to charge duty/tax on it.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 25th, 2012, 10:16 pm

^ u know customs dotish eh

Postby Sky » January 6th, 2013, 4:38 pm

Sky wrote:I have a simple question that may have been answered before. Can't rummage through.
Does the win 7.5 join a homegroup well?
Looking at a Lumia 800 (ahainst the HTC one x).
Used one over the weekend at home and I love how it can use my one note stuff off skydrive (was problematic though). I love that phone and the homegroup abilities could be the deciding factor.

Ok, the same lumia 800 mentioned above is now running winMo 7.8 and we're having the same issue.
I put a one note file in my skydrive documents account among other files, pictures ect.
When I sign in on skydrive with the lumia I see everything, and i can open the pictures. But when I try to open the one note file, I get an error "there was a problem and we couldn't complete the task. Error code: 802b0011".
The phone has one note explorer on it. I googled and the best answer I got was to sign out and back in again, which didn't work.
So while the phone had 7.5, it didn't work. Now with 7.8 it still doesn't work. And everything else works fine with the phone.
Anyone else uses one note on the winmo phone?
I'll like to get a smart phone to actually run one note mainly. I'm attached to it strongly with work.
My desktop runs 7, my notebook runs 8 and I'd like to have a phone running winmo to keep the office stuff smooth.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 7th, 2013, 4:23 pm

wth...

one notes created on PC will not work on phone?

im not getting that error code tho... just that the file cannot be opened

tarzan

Postby tarzan » January 9th, 2013, 6:28 pm

anyone capable of replacing a screen in a nokia lumia 800...mine fell and cracked today.

Postby Stephon. » January 17th, 2013, 11:04 pm

The numbers are in for the Microsoft Surface.

Microsoft's Surface tablet may not have rung in much holiday cheer last quarter, at least according to one analyst.

Microsoft sold just 1 million Surface RT tablets in the fourth quarter, projects UBS analyst Brent Thill, down from a prior forecast of 2 million. In an investors note out today, the analyst cited two reasons for his dour projection in a single sentence:

"Surface RT is a consumer device with [fourth-quarter] sales suffering from the difficult iPad compare and narrow distribution."

Early last month, IHS iSuppli analyst Rhoda Alexander told CNET that she expected Surface sales of 1.3 million for the quarter, adding that "I would be surprised to see it much above that."
Last July, CEO Steve Ballmer said that Microsoft's goal was to sell a few million Surface tablets in the coming year. But the company has been mum about recent sales of Surface, which debuted at the end of October.

Thill has higher expectations for Microsoft's Surface Pro tablet, which is slated to hit the market later this month.

Unlike its RT counterpart, Surface Pro will be a full Windows 8 tablet capable of running all desktop applications and offering more power and features.

Calling the Surface Pro "more promising," Thill sees it as an alternative to the iPad among enterprises users. For Microsoft's fiscal 2013, which ends this June, the analyst estimates Surface sales of 2.5 million units. For fiscal 2014, he's eyeing sales as high 8 million.

Microsoft declined CNET's request for comment on Thill's forecast. The company will release its earnings report for last quarter on January 24.

Source

I mean ....... you can't introduce a tablet to the public and be priced HIGHER than the iPad. I don't care what they're offering. No one is going to buy a tablet or a tablet/laptop where the tablet part is more pricy than an iPad that you can get a bluetooth keyboard for anyway.
Last edited by Stephon. on January 17th, 2013, 11:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 17th, 2013, 11:13 pm

wonder what the Windows Phone 8 numbers looking like :lol:

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » January 17th, 2013, 11:27 pm

Most news about Surface sales to date aren't telling the entire story. I don't believe that the price of the Surface is the reason for the lower than expected sales.

We need to keep in mind that Microsoft has sold the Surface at their stores only for probably at least 75% of the time that the Surface has been on sale for. Most of the analysts and general public thought that other retailers would've been selling the Surface within weeks of its launch. If I remember that was what Microsoft said/ implied. That didn't happen though. Probably because other windows OEMs for the Windows RT products weren't ready or had much lamer designs. Microsoft most probably were forced to change their strategy in order not to seriously disadvantage and/ or further upset their OEMs
Last edited by tiger balm on January 19th, 2013, 11:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » January 17th, 2013, 11:46 pm

Swisha wrote:wonder what the Windows Phone 8 numbers looking like :lol:

While AT&T is seeing success with Windows Phone sales, Microsoft isn't doing to bad with Windows 8. During the 11th Annual J.P. Morgan Tech Forums at CES 2013, Microsoft announced that they have sold 60 million Windows 8 licenses to date.

According to Windows Chief Marketing Officer and Chief Financial Officer Tami Reller this includes both upgrades and sales to OEMs for new devices. The sales pace is similar to what Microsoft experienced with Windows 7.

As far as Windows 8 apps and games are concerned, growth continues to rise with the number of apps being available quadrupling since launch. As an added bonus, Microsoft recently passed the 100 million app download mark.

Consistency, well done.

Source

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 22nd, 2013, 10:21 am

Swisha wrote:wonder what the Windows Phone 8 numbers looking like :lol:

worldwide growth...

still finding it difficult to gain traction in the US market tho

Postby gastly369 » February 3rd, 2013, 3:33 pm

ok for the people who want 7.8 and stuck on 7.5 heres a great program that does it ( takes time but get the job done)

http://windowsphonehacker.com/articles/ ... l-01-31-13

as always do it at your own risk
few problems i had was as one person stated

Just d/l-ed and ran the tool - 1st time - did first update - now on 7740.16
tool crashed after running it again now...
Edit 1: Just ran it again - now on 8107.79
tool crashed after running it again now... lol as long as it keeps moving idc
Edit 2: Just ran it again - now on 8112.7
tool crashed after running it again now... still moving lol
Edit 3: Just ran it again - now on 8773.98
tool crashed after running it again now... still going...
Edit 4: Just ran it again - now on 8779.8
Edit 5: Just ran it again - now on 8783.12
Its' Official! Just got the Blue Startup Screen now on 8858.136
Thanks to the one man army @ WPH!

after every update i had to restart the phone to prevent any error in updating

done on htc surround

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 3rd, 2013, 9:32 pm

Or just be patient... U will get it

U can try the disconnect as u click update method too

Postby M_2NR » February 6th, 2013, 7:50 pm

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 6th, 2013, 10:07 pm

Some valid points...

Notification center and volume profiles annoy me

The rest is just how the os is built... Buying rapdialer would be lovely tho

VPN... Well... Doh even need to comment about that one

Postby Ted_v2 » February 6th, 2013, 11:17 pm

i recently got a pair of Those htc touchdiamond2
playing around with it and i started liking the whole windows phone scene from the usual bb/android scene

whats the most reasonable windows phone out right now? those lumina 610 are ok?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 7th, 2013, 10:55 am

reasonable re. price/features?

wp7.5/7.8 - lumia 800

wp8 - lumia 620

super best - lumia 920

Postby Ted_v2 » February 7th, 2013, 7:25 pm

prices locally?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 19th, 2013, 7:01 am

Posted on Digicel tt fb page

image.jpg

8-) 8-)

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 1st, 2013, 8:32 pm

Really would like to go to the windows phone platform. Seems like all my apps are there but still find it hard to leave my s3.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » April 1st, 2013, 8:43 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:Really would like to go to the windows phone platform. Seems like all my apps are there but still find it hard to leave my s3.

dont leave your s3 just yet. The s3 is still one of the best smart phones on the market. My suggestion is to wait till microsoft updates or launches a new windows phone with some updates. Especially the app market. I sold my lumia and went to apple, but im still looking to see when or if the changes that need to make the windows OS better has been addressed. My 2 cents.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 1st, 2013, 8:48 pm

trini mk5 wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:Really would like to go to the windows phone platform. Seems like all my apps are there but still find it hard to leave my s3.

dont leave your s3 just yet. The s3 is still one of the best smart phones on the market. My suggestion is to wait till microsoft updates or launches a new windows phone with some updates. Especially the app market. I sold my lumia and went to apple, but im still looking to see when or if the changes that need to make the windows OS better has been addressed. My 2 cents.

Thanks for the advice. I think Samsung did an excellent job with the s3 and I seem to be only interested in going to the s4.i had an iPhone before and the windows phone os looks promising.
I wish they adjusted their prices a bit lower than the flagship iOS or android devices but hey, maybe they're worth it.
Yes I'll hold off for now.... Unless I am doing heavy Microsoft office work on the fly... I have yet to see a proper office application other than office for windows phone.

Postby gastly369 » April 1st, 2013, 10:36 pm

im jumping WP ship :s
gave them enough of time to develop a decent app market and failed to deliver sorry to say

LG 4X HD here i come

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 1st, 2013, 10:37 pm

gastly369 wrote:im jumping WP ship :s
gave them enough of time to develop a decent app market and failed to deliver sorry to say

LG 4X HD here i come

what device did you use and for how long?
what apps were they missing badly?

Postby gastly369 » April 1st, 2013, 10:55 pm

htc surround about a year and something

just to compare to android market alot.. fed up wait for waze, running viber beta since the beginning(cant make calls till this day) no updates, games suck to name a few
+ if you check back on some my post here you see that i have had lots of prob with my phone "htc surround" no problems with OS btw

thing i like about the phone xbox sync , smart glass , great sync with emails and interface
android is a little more how to say umm "for the user".. seems that WP is getting the back seat of a classroom if you know what im saying :\

mabe in the future ill go back to WP who knows

*and duane eh make ah trinituner app for we self*

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » April 1st, 2013, 11:09 pm

hmm who know where i can get a lumia 920 cheap.....love the windows phone os it grows on ur