The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 29th, 2012, 10:06 am

S_2NR wrote:
-Roach- wrote:I Could Jump In This Thread Now... Lol... Anyone Know Where I Could Get An Micro SD 32GB/64GB Card To Buy... I Have A Tf300 With Only 16GB Internal Memory... Thing Fulling Up Fast...

Amazon. bess prices. no taxes. dont buy from third party sellers. ships and sold by amazon only. lots of counterfeits. go sandisk or kingston

Given the price these things selling locally it eh really make sence sky boxing one card tbh

achillies

Postby achillies » December 29th, 2012, 10:38 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:
Kronik wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Getting it for 3000 at Digicel with no contract compared to bmobile wanting to charge me nearly 5000 with no contract, no thanks!

Damn, got mine at bmo for 4k contract free unlocked and for 3k I got another one during a sale. It's maybe better you buy it outside, unlocked. If not an option, you'd have to buy the unlock code somewhere, some sites deliver it instantly. You can Google around. Rooting may be the best and easiest way though.

he can always root it, unlock it, then unroot it

^ dunno why that didn't occur to me but excellent suggestion.

Sometimes when you go the way of rooting to unlock, when a new/updated ROM is flashed, it will be re locked

Don't know if that occurs if you pay a site for the unlock code though

Just something to keep in mind

Postby S_2NR » December 29th, 2012, 11:24 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
-Roach- wrote:I Could Jump In This Thread Now... Lol... Anyone Know Where I Could Get An Micro SD 32GB/64GB Card To Buy... I Have A Tf300 With Only 16GB Internal Memory... Thing Fulling Up Fast...

Amazon. bess prices. no taxes. dont buy from third party sellers. ships and sold by amazon only. lots of counterfeits. go sandisk or kingston

Given the price these things selling locally it eh really make sence sky boxing one card tbh

I order small things like that with other items to offset the price. Get it up to a full pound.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 29th, 2012, 11:30 am

I was trying to not root but these official updates take so dam long, I might reconsider my position

Postby Trini Hookah » December 29th, 2012, 11:49 am

Might jump back on android next year, missing my Xperia, but need one without slide...those flex cables have a really short life.

Postby S_2NR » December 29th, 2012, 11:50 am

The new xperias are nice

achillies

Postby achillies » December 29th, 2012, 12:16 pm

sentraman wrote:I was trying to not root but these official updates take so dam long, I might reconsider my position

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1646610

There is zero advantages of waiting for carrier or region updates

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 29th, 2012, 3:56 pm

Ok I'm gonna do it. Hope I don't fork it up

Postby Stephon. » December 29th, 2012, 3:58 pm

I still don't see the point in rooting, I mean, ok it does have it's benefits but the android phones we have now are all so powerful and can already do so much WITHOUT root, why root it?

I can understanding jailbreaking an iPhone because it turns a paperweight into a smartphone but an Android, I just don't get it.

achillies

Postby achillies » December 29th, 2012, 4:04 pm

Stephon. wrote:I still don't see the point in rooting, I mean, ok it does have it's benefits but the android phones we have now are all so powerful and can already do so much WITHOUT root, why root it?

I can understanding jailbreaking an iPhone because it turns a paperweight into a smartphone but an Android, I just don't get it.

If you have your own PC, don't you want to have the ability to run as Administrator or as a Standard limited user?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=czTkHe7 ... ata_player

Postby Stephon. » December 29th, 2012, 4:07 pm

achillies wrote:
Stephon. wrote:I still don't see the point in rooting, I mean, ok it does have it's benefits but the android phones we have now are all so powerful and can already do so much WITHOUT root, why root it?

If you have your own PC, don't you want to have the ability to run as Administrator or as a Standard limited user?

Yeah but there's not really anything that you can do on a rooted device that's impossible on a non rooted device

achillies

Postby achillies » December 29th, 2012, 4:27 pm

Stephon. wrote:
achillies wrote:

Yeah but there's not really anything that you can do on a rooted device that's impossible on a non rooted device

Actually there is a lot but if you don't explore those options, Root may seem useless to you, but I for one cannot use my phone comfortably without root

The first thing I do on any Android device I own is change the notification bar to black, change the battery icons and text to AOSP blue, get a transparent pull down notification shade and customize my quick toggles and "power button" menu, which is only possible with root.

I also use Titanium Backup to back up and take all app data if need be and the first thing to do on any Samsung phone is make a backup of the EFS folder, not possible without root.

Now these things may seem unnecessary to you but I won't feel comfortable without the mods, hence the true beauty of android.

Take for example the notification toggles on the S3, that was an idea that Samsung copied from a developer that goes by the name of J_Kay on XDA which provided the extended Notification bar, of course you had to have root to install it

Postby Stephon. » December 29th, 2012, 4:40 pm

The only thing I wish I could do to my S3 right now is change the H+ icon to say 4G, not that it matters but my father phone does say 3G and I find it does look "cool" compared to H+ lol

See not everybody know what H+ is so when they ask to borrow your phone they wouldn't know, but if a girl ask to see your phone and she see a 4G icon on top she go think you ballin' :lol:

achillies

Postby achillies » December 29th, 2012, 4:44 pm

Stephon. wrote:The only thing I wish I could do to my S3 right now is change the H+ icon to say 4G, not that it matters but my father phone does say 3G and I find it does look "cool" compared to H+ lol

See not everybody know what H+ is so when they ask to borrow your phone they wouldn't know, but if a girl ask to see your phone and she see a 4G icon on top she go think you ballin' :lol:

With the correct skills, you would have been able to that yourself, or maybe you can ask a themer on XDA to do it for you, it's a weird request but it's what you want, lol

achillies

Postby achillies » December 29th, 2012, 4:48 pm

With my current mod, I have a choice of the 2 posted below

So I know that someone could change the icons to say '4G'
uploadfromtaptalk1356813916152.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1356813916152.jpg (3.42 KiB) Viewed 2312 times
uploadfromtaptalk1356813901962.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1356813901962.jpg (3.86 KiB) Viewed 2312 times

Postby nervewrecker » December 29th, 2012, 7:03 pm

achillies wrote:
Stephon. wrote:
achillies wrote:

Actually there is a lot but if you don't explore those options, Root may seem useless to you, but I for one cannot use my phone comfortably without root

The first thing I do on any Android device I own is change the notification bar to black, change the battery icons and text to AOSP blue, get a transparent pull down notification shade and customize my quick toggles and "power button" menu, which is only possible with root.

I also use Titanium Backup to back up and take all app data if need be and the first thing to do on any Samsung phone is make a backup of the EFS folder, not possible without root.

Now these things may seem unnecessary to you but I won't feel comfortable without the mods, hence the true beauty of android.

Take for example the notification toggles on the S3, that was an idea that Samsung copied from a developer that goes by the name of J_Kay on XDA which provided the extended Notification bar, of course you had to have root to install it

where you got those?

achillies

Postby achillies » December 29th, 2012, 7:17 pm

@ Nervewrecker

I'm using the mod located here, it gives a lot of control over a lot of aspects, but if all you want is a specific mod, then it might not suit you

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1807819

Postby nervewrecker » December 29th, 2012, 7:34 pm

ou, thanks man. I will check it out.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 29th, 2012, 8:13 pm

Rooted and it bess.ah love it

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 30th, 2012, 2:53 am

Stephon. wrote:The only thing I wish I could do to my S3 right now is change the H+ icon to say 4G, not that it matters but my father phone does say 3G and I find it does look "cool" compared to H+ lol

The stock JB 4.1.1 rom shows 4G or E with the arrows

Postby S_2NR » December 30th, 2012, 3:17 am

:-|:-|:-|:-|:-|:-|:-|:-|

Postby Stephon. » December 30th, 2012, 5:45 am

Nah 4.1.1 says H+

What's wrong S_2NR? My reasoning is legit :lol:

Postby honda hoe » December 30th, 2012, 8:48 am

Kronik wrote:

4.1.1 isn't JB

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 30th, 2012, 9:01 am

honda hoe wrote:
Kronik wrote:

4.1.1 isn't JB

Am yes it is

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 30th, 2012, 9:03 am

honda hoe wrote:
Kronik wrote:

4.1.1 isn't JB

Am yes it is

achillies

Postby achillies » December 30th, 2012, 9:03 am

Most devices will say 4G once they detect that network, but the i9300 doesn't have 4G radios the i9305 does, so I don't even know if the icons are there, if they are, it won't ever show up in Trinidad, but what Stephon wants is to replace the H+ icon with a 4G icon to impress the girls

:-|

Edit: I talking about true 4G/LTE eh

Postby Rooki3 » December 30th, 2012, 1:41 pm

4g wud show when d phone detect 4g, it shows 3g ever so often, heard that the "4g" we gettin aint 4g

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 30th, 2012, 2:11 pm

Well I guess my at&t version have more pips than stephon one lol
uploadfromtaptalk1356890886481.jpg

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 30th, 2012, 2:15 pm

Ent that is the dual core 4G version as opposed to the quad core hspa+ that Bmobile have

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 30th, 2012, 2:19 pm

sentraman wrote:Ent that is the dual core 4G version as opposed to the quad core hspa+ that Bmobile have

That is correct. Also 2GB ram vs 1GB of the i9300