nemisis wrote:The Jamaica Observer newspaper has accused the Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar-led government of “ethnic stocking” and says this country is deluding itself about racial harmony. In an editorial yesterday, titled “The more important issue is abuse of substance,” the paper charged this country’s government not only with the ethnic stocking of public offices to consolidate its grip on political power, but also of the perception of widespread corruption.
“The real problem in the energy-rich republic is not substance abuse, but the abuse of substance. By that we mean the abuse of the substance of government business because of the ethnic stocking of public offices and the widespread perception of corruption.
“This year, on Transparency International’s Corruption Perception Index, T&T was ranked 80 out of 176 countries, down from 71 in 2011. In fact, Trinidad and Tobago scored 39 on a scale of 100, on par with Jamaica and behind the rest of the Caribbean islands.
“One of the egregious aspects of corruption is what is known as ‘ethnic stocking’—the appointment to public office, including overseas posts, on the basis of ethnicity to ensure ethnic monopoly of political power. “Notwithstanding Minister Jack Warner, the current Government of T&T has systematically practised ethnic stocking; rewarding individuals with positions even though they are not qualified, either by professional training or by pertinent transferable work experience.
“The instances of local appointments are too numerous to discuss, but the embarrassment associated with overseas appointees poses reputational damage. Ms Therese Baptiste-Cornelis was fired as ambassador to the United Nations, Geneva, after some inappropriate remarks. There was even a case of a diplomat assigned to the T&T High Commission in London being charged with conspiracy to traffic cocaine.
“Many people in T&T do not want to tackle ethnic stocking because persons who raise the issue are accused of being racist in a society guilty of self-delusion about racial harmony. “There needs to be a parliamentary review of appointees to local and overseas posts to ensure that they possess the necessary qualifications and years of pertinent experience, and to establish a transparent selection process free of ethnic bias.”
When the T&T Guardian contacted the Observer by telephone yesterday, the Jamaican newspaper’s executive editor of publication Vernon Davidson said he could not comment fully on the opinion, as he did not write it.
Davidson refused to divulge the identity of the editorial writer. Up to press time, Jamaican High Commissioner to T&T Sharon Saunders was out of office when the T&T Guardian called her for a comment.
zoom rader wrote:^^^ Doctors killing people statement is useless, are there any reports on this? Were these doctors named?
rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:^^^ Doctors killing people statement is useless, are there any reports on this? Were these doctors named?
that like saying
"gang members killing gang members statement is useless, are there any reports on this? Were these gang members named?"
dont think because no names were given or because nothing came out of the reports means that it never happened.
netsket wrote:nemisis wrote:The Jamaica Observer newspaper has accused the Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar-led government of “ethnic stocking” and says this country is deluding itself about racial harmony. In an editorial yesterday, titled “The more important issue is abuse of substance,” the paper charged this country’s government not only with the ethnic stocking of public offices to consolidate its grip on political power, but also of the perception of widespread corruption.
“The real problem in the energy-rich republic is not substance abuse, but the abuse of substance. By that we mean the abuse of the substance of government business because of the ethnic stocking of public offices and the widespread perception of corruption.
“This year, on Transparency International’s Corruption Perception Index, T&T was ranked 80 out of 176 countries, down from 71 in 2011. In fact, Trinidad and Tobago scored 39 on a scale of 100, on par with Jamaica and behind the rest of the Caribbean islands.
“One of the egregious aspects of corruption is what is known as ‘ethnic stocking’—the appointment to public office, including overseas posts, on the basis of ethnicity to ensure ethnic monopoly of political power. “Notwithstanding Minister Jack Warner, the current Government of T&T has systematically practised ethnic stocking; rewarding individuals with positions even though they are not qualified, either by professional training or by pertinent transferable work experience.
“The instances of local appointments are too numerous to discuss, but the embarrassment associated with overseas appointees poses reputational damage. Ms Therese Baptiste-Cornelis was fired as ambassador to the United Nations, Geneva, after some inappropriate remarks. There was even a case of a diplomat assigned to the T&T High Commission in London being charged with conspiracy to traffic cocaine.
“Many people in T&T do not want to tackle ethnic stocking because persons who raise the issue are accused of being racist in a society guilty of self-delusion about racial harmony. “There needs to be a parliamentary review of appointees to local and overseas posts to ensure that they possess the necessary qualifications and years of pertinent experience, and to establish a transparent selection process free of ethnic bias.”
When the T&T Guardian contacted the Observer by telephone yesterday, the Jamaican newspaper’s executive editor of publication Vernon Davidson said he could not comment fully on the opinion, as he did not write it.
Davidson refused to divulge the identity of the editorial writer. Up to press time, Jamaican High Commissioner to T&T Sharon Saunders was out of office when the T&T Guardian called her for a comment.
This article wreaks of racialism and division. We dont get involved in their business, we barely know who their PM is. This must have PNM involvement wrt to details. Why wasnt it an issue when PNM was in power. The editor passing the buck and avoiding blame which is squarely his because he has to approve every article before being printed. Cockroach have no business in fowl party.
>>>>>MOST IMPORTANT JAMAICA IS RANKED 83 on Transparency International’s Corruption Perception Index, T&T was ranked 80
zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:^^^ Doctors killing people statement is useless, are there any reports on this? Were these doctors named?
that like saying
"gang members killing gang members statement is useless, are there any reports on this? Were these gang members named?"
dont think because no names were given or because nothing came out of the reports means that it never happened.
Yes the gang members was named, they all had a serect meeting with Manning and all but one was killed
zoom rader wrote:netsket wrote:This article wreaks of racialism and division. We dont get involved in their business, we barely know who their PM is. This must have PNM involvement wrt to details. Why wasnt it an issue when PNM was in power. The editor passing the buck and avoiding blame which is squarely his because he has to approve every article before being printed. Cockroach have no business in fowl party.
>>>>>MOST IMPORTANT JAMAICA IS RANKED 83 on Transparency International’s Corruption Perception Index, T&T was ranked 80
This is work of PNM abroad
Minister Jack Warner, the current Government of T&T has systematically practised ethnic stocking;
There was even a case of a diplomat assigned to the T&T High Commission in London being charged with conspiracy to traffic cocaine.
zoom rader wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:I wonder if that person went and saw each person in each company, because from experience and from personal interactions the ethnicity of a person cannot be determined by name..........
This is why under the PNM you had to provide a Photo when applying for a HDC house
Dizzy28 wrote:PNM does install mostly Negros in Positions
UNC does install mostly Indians in positions.
Is Trinidad alluh living no surprises there.
zoom rader wrote:nemisis wrote:Cool so the statistics indicate the last gov did it so what was needed was to review these supposed high positions and see if the individuals holding them were placed ahead of more suitably merited individuals. Instead what was done? They were supposedly replaced by equivalent waste of time individuals using the same method of the last admin "ethnicity".
Would you expect a PNM goverment to leave an appointed pp/unc head employee to carry out the duties and policies of the PNM goverment.
nemisis wrote:zoom rader wrote:nemisis wrote:Cool so the statistics indicate the last gov did it so what was needed was to review these supposed high positions and see if the individuals holding them were placed ahead of more suitably merited individuals. Instead what was done? They were supposedly replaced by equivalent waste of time individuals using the same method of the last admin "ethnicity".
Would you expect a PNM goverment to leave an appointed pp/unc head employee to carry out the duties and policies of the PNM goverment.
so replacing them with unqualified individuals is the solution zoom? You figure anyone would beat up if a ethnic appointee was made but the individual was over qualified for the position???
Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:netsket wrote:This article wreaks of racialism and division. We dont get involved in their business, we barely know who their PM is. This must have PNM involvement wrt to details. Why wasnt it an issue when PNM was in power. The editor passing the buck and avoiding blame which is squarely his because he has to approve every article before being printed. Cockroach have no business in fowl party.
rfari wrote:I feel zr does live in the bush.
zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:I feel zr does live in the bush.
Bush is better that Beetham anyday
zoom rader wrote:nemisis wrote:zoom rader wrote:nemisis wrote:Cool so the statistics indicate the last gov did it so what was needed was to review these supposed high positions and see if the individuals holding them were placed ahead of more suitably merited individuals. Instead what was done? They were supposedly replaced by equivalent waste of time individuals using the same method of the last admin "ethnicity".
so replacing them with unqualified individuals is the solution zoom? You figure anyone would beat up if a ethnic appointee was made but the individual was over qualified for the position???
Dude I never said anything being unqualified.
I am just repeating what a PNM minster said on i95.5 when he was question on the firing of UNC appointed state board members
Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:netsket wrote:This article wreaks of racialism and division. We dont get involved in their business, we barely know who their PM is. This must have PNM involvement wrt to details. Why wasnt it an issue when PNM was in power. The editor passing the buck and avoiding blame which is squarely his because he has to approve every article before being printed. Cockroach have no business in fowl party.
rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:I feel zr does live in the bush.
Only slight. Like 80 compared to 83 in a corruption perception index
rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:nemisis wrote:zoom rader wrote:nemisis wrote:Cool so the statistics indicate the last gov did it so what was needed was to review these supposed high positions and see if the individuals holding them were placed ahead of more suitably merited individuals. Instead what was done? They were supposedly replaced by equivalent waste of time individuals using the same method of the last admin "ethnicity".
Dude I never said anything being unqualified.
I am just repeating what a PNM minster said on i95.5 when he was question on the firing of UNC appointed state board members
Call name. Doh fraid.
In anycase, this is one of the reasons i didn't vote for pnm last elections. Nepotism. But it seems like its the same way with this unc government.
netsket wrote:rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:I feel zr does live in the bush.
Only slight. Like 80 compared to 83 in a corruption perception index
u really stupid if u defending jamaica rather than ur own country. i guess u go defend africa next![]()
netsket wrote:looks like u dont understand cause u comparing 80 with 83....u know what is required to drop one place on the index?
rfari wrote:netsket wrote:looks like u dont understand cause u comparing 80 with 83....u know what is required to drop one place on the index?
Yeah u look for it man. U look for
Meantime compare the positions with the rest of the caribbean
pioneer wrote:honestly though...who is jamaica to be talking about our politics?
they have their own serious issues to deal with
brb murder stats for jamaica?
brb garrison violence