Need Help To Tune

CasperBrown

Need Help To Tune

Postby CasperBrown » December 10th, 2012, 3:28 pm

delete
Last edited by CasperBrown on April 24th, 2013, 9:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Need Help To Tune

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 10th, 2012, 4:47 pm

some weird choice of products dey mamoo.

CasperBrown

Postby CasperBrown » December 10th, 2012, 5:03 pm

Wats recommended??

wanted

Postby wanted » December 11th, 2012, 12:09 am

First of all,install everything except the boss tweeters.Put the soundstream bullets with the 8's and put power acoustic tweeters- nb 1's or nb 2's on the 6's use the appropriate resistor and condenser. I assume it's a 4 channel amp so you should wire the amp bridged stereo(if you need help send pm or call 718-1866) or one more thing,your pre amp is not 7 bands it's 4 bands front and 3 bands rear. Your next upgrade should be to get a powerfull amp for mids and use the power acoustic for the tweeters and change yuh pre amp to a clarion to go with yuh crossover.Lastly bass, well yuh options unlimited,plenty sub and amp combo on Tuner!

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 11th, 2012, 8:21 am

Changing from the boss tweeters to nb1s is really not making a difference IMO.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 11th, 2012, 9:56 am

forget the eminence on the doors

get some components or coaxials that will go as low as where ur sub stops playing, so around 60Hz-90Hz , just a guestimate

Need midbass on the doors mane, and put the tweeters as close to it as possible, if u can't, put it on the pillars

CasperBrown

Postby CasperBrown » December 11th, 2012, 10:44 am

The eminators are mid bass.... serious problems with my tweeters..... toooooo much vocals coming through them so i cant raise the volume on them to match the mids.... connected my soundstream bullet tweeter and even that still have to much vocals coming through it...

Postby Ted_v2 » December 11th, 2012, 6:53 pm

why you have a deck pre amp and a cross?

change that to a deck to the cross.L ess equipment,also less things to tune

also use the the 6" bridged on the front two channels to get 4 ohms
same thing with the back to get 8ohms

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 11th, 2012, 6:59 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:why you have a deck pre amp and a cross?

change that to a deck to the cross.L ess equipment,also less things to tune

also use the the 6" bridged on the front two channels to get 4 ohms
same thing with the back to get 8ohms

Na I'd suggest keep the pre because iirc that deck lacks any kind of tuning capabilities.

Postby nervewrecker » December 11th, 2012, 7:00 pm

wanted wrote:First of all,install everything except the boss tweeters.Put the soundstream bullets with the 8's and put power acoustic tweeters- nb 1's or nb 2's on the 6's use the appropriate resistor and condenser. I assume it's a 4 channel amp so you should wire the amp bridged stereo(if you need help send pm or call 718-1866) or one more thing,your pre amp is not 7 bands it's 4 bands front and 3 bands rear. Your next upgrade should be to get a powerfull amp for mids and use the power acoustic for the tweeters and change yuh pre amp to a clarion to go with yuh crossover.Lastly bass, well yuh options unlimited,plenty sub and amp combo on Tuner!

Aren't you the same person that said you in this business about 20 years now? So tell me why in gods name you telling people to put a resistor on a speaker (tweeter) for?

While you at it tell me why in gods name he also need a whole separate amplifier for the tweeters?

Postby Ted_v2 » December 11th, 2012, 7:04 pm

^and a 2400w 4 channel amp thats pushing closer to 600rms im guessing

CasperBrown

Postby CasperBrown » December 11th, 2012, 11:50 pm

Yo, thanks to you all... I'm sounding great and nothing has blow (knock on wood) lol.....
The deck has some good tuning features (to me)...

What can i used to go louder and keep clarity? I'm thinking of an audio control EQX and a 6SX

Postby nervewrecker » December 11th, 2012, 11:52 pm

you went by mr wanted (with his 20 years experience) and got tuned? he put resistors on your tweeters? :lol:

Postby rollingstock » December 12th, 2012, 12:21 am

What's wrong with resistors on teh tweets?

Condensers to cut off the unwanted frequencies and seeing the tweets are directly connected to the mids it will save the tweets from being overpowered and blowing.

Just askin eh, long time me eh do a ghetto install

Postby nervewrecker » December 12th, 2012, 12:33 am

Simply increases the thd, wastes power as heat, if done incorrectly can change xover frequently (if the condenser sized for a 4 ohm tweet and you now have a 16 ohm load) or can change impedance of the entire circuit on that amp channel and cause problems.

If crossed right a pair of tweeters can work well together with one good dj speaker....but danraj want to put thousand watt on 300 watt speaker and then put resistor to allow less power to go to tweeter.

Long story short, plenty thing can go wrong if not done right. Had a guy who came in here for advice and plenty "installers" telling him about using resistors on his tweeters. I advised otherwise....no problems till this date and he is a happy camper since.

Postby rollingstock » December 12th, 2012, 12:37 am

scn, i always use them on my installs albeit done properly. No complaints here, works well for systems with high power amps pushing both mids and highs and an owner who likes to hear a lil distortion now and again :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » December 12th, 2012, 12:49 am

If I had to do such, I'd pick up a set of audiopipe passives and use them. That way I can lpf the mid and get a steeper cutoff for the tweeters than what the condensers give.

Postby rollingstock » December 12th, 2012, 12:52 am

^ Yeah but there's nothing ghetto about that. Plus price of passives? Compare to passing by R&N picking up some condensers and resistors and doing it properly. Good components are always better but sometimes the cheap easy fixes work just fine.

wanted

Postby wanted » December 12th, 2012, 1:08 am

Nervewrecker,you always online commenting and didn't stop for a moment and think...I wonder if this person is a novice or if this person has limited budget or anything else.Your solution to everyone's system is components or coax.You are not an installer,you just work on your own car.I deal with people everyday,I'm an installer by profession and most people come to do an install with their own equipment.From a business point of view,you have to make their stuff work with the least amount of money.By the way you don't know me but I know you and I've heard your car...nuff said.

Postby rollingstock » December 12th, 2012, 1:11 am

Yeah!!!!!!!! His car is tooz, can't even shake a bad feeling :roll:

Postby nervewrecker » December 12th, 2012, 10:03 am

wanted wrote:Nervewrecker,you always online commenting and didn't stop for a moment and think...I wonder if this person is a novice or if this person has limited budget or anything else.Your solution to everyone's system is components or coax.You are not an installer,you just work on your own car.I deal with people everyday,I'm an installer by profession and most people come to do an install with their own equipment.From a business point of view,you have to make their stuff work with the least amount of money.By the way you don't know me but I know you and I've heard your car...nuff said.

and as a seasoned installer like yourself you should know:

the door is not the proper place for the pro audio mid

changing from one pre amp to another because of brand makes no sense

at those sound levels you cant tell the difference between boss, PA, pyle, nippon america tweeters
You telling the man add nb1's

you even ask what drivers and / or amp? (model)

The amount of buy and sell you advice you give him to buy and sell there he could focus on installing the equipment better.
If the eminator can play midbass swap them with the 18 sound 8 ohm drivers so they can be wired per bridged channel on the amp (provided it is a 4 channel [which I am assuming it is]).

If he looking to buy and sell he should get rid of the deck, preamp and xover and get a head unit with all that built in. Save $$$, save time and make it simple to install and tune.

Nothing wrong with the amp really, its just that it can really power all those drivers.

May I ask what value condersers you recommended for the tweeters? (your time to shine).

IMO, if someone wants power and cant match tweeters without blowing them the answer is not resisitors to increase the impedance in order to reduce the power goin to them, the answer is to add another tweeter to increase the power handling (share it) and increase the output.
Too little power to the tweeter, add another one and change the overall load.
You do know how a cap as a hpf works in a circuit in parallel with a mid btw? Explain nuh?

Didnt realise you had another account since only 2 people demo my car so far. :roll:

but anyways cool story time:

Bought a set of components a time, had no passives. Got a pair of cadence bullets (equiv to the nb1's) and bought appropriate caps to hpf them at 5khz. Boy were those noisy.
later on I swapped out the condensers and put them on a -12db hpf at same 5khz from a clarion mcd360 and it sounded better. I will love to try out a set at various xover points all now and see how they sound.....in fact, I experiment a lot with different slopes on my silk domes. Big differences.

Same comps and silk domes, had them at 50 watt per driver per channel from a 4 channel. Each are 4 ohms.
Connected them via a passive bridged on the amp. Same amp, same speakers, different configuration....150watts per set. No resisitor, no nutting etc.

TEAM ADT

Postby TEAM ADT » December 12th, 2012, 10:35 am

I honestly dont think this post is serving its purpose anymore.The OP might be lost with all that resistor and condensor talk..lol...

And in no way in this thread I see what amp he is using(which one of the demon series) or how he has wired it to get the distrotion/noise he was talking about with the tweeters. OP you shoud give a little more information before you get more help.State clearly exactly what you have done and how you have wired each driver to the amplifier. eg . 18sound 8's with what tweeters on which part of the amp bridged/stereo?????Same for the 6" on the doors how was is wired?

CasperBrown

Postby CasperBrown » December 13th, 2012, 2:26 am

I reconfigured the setup...(equipment)
Deck > bass processor > preamp > xover > amp

The sound is much cleaner and louder but I need something to clean me up more, thats why I'm thinking of something from audio control. Right now i've heard that a 6XS will give me what I'm looking for due to the line driver, but I will den also need a EQX to help with the fine tuning.

Again.... thanks everyone and can somebody explain how do i tell the correct rating for resistor and condensor for my tweeters? when i brought them i asked for the correct rating but i dont know if i buy cat in bag :/

btw, the pioneer deck in put back in has some ok tuning features... I actually did most of the tuning at the deck and set the xover to around the same.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » December 13th, 2012, 11:07 am

CasperBrown wrote:Again.... thanks everyone and can somebody explain how do i tell the correct rating for resistor and condensor for my tweeters?

Those types of tweeters can be difficult to tame. Not only are they very sensitive (I've seen some rated at 100dB and above, which is 8~12dB more than your typical car audio driver), but their impedance is usually quite a bit higher than 4 or 8 ohms, so crossovers designed for 4 or 8 ohm drivers will not work well.

What's the sensitivity of those midrange drivers that you're using?

CasperBrown

Postby CasperBrown » December 14th, 2012, 7:48 am

I'm going to install an audio control 6XS today or maybe an EQX

Postby Ted_v2 » December 14th, 2012, 8:42 am

So much of processing equipment? buy a good deck first na

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 14th, 2012, 9:02 am

CasperBrown wrote:I'm going to install an audio control 6XS today or maybe an EQX

For what?

You wasting yuh money.

CasperBrown

Postby CasperBrown » December 14th, 2012, 9:29 pm

needed the output from the 6XS, next i"l be buying the 80PRS deck.... and then all problems solved :)
I threw out the clarion xover... anyone want it to buy?

Postby nervewrecker » December 14th, 2012, 9:45 pm

I thought you was listening to what wanted had to say? :lol:

get the 80prs and no other piece of processing.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 14th, 2012, 9:55 pm

casper brown u say u wanted the line drive from the audio control ... how did u set ur gains ? did you use a digital multimeter or an osciliscope???
you may have beeen setting your music by ear and listening to distortion or worse yet tuning the wrong way .
rember a proper install is only 20% equipment and 80% install .