3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby mitsu_chick941 » December 3rd, 2012, 1:38 pm

COCA COLAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby DVSTT » December 3rd, 2012, 3:48 pm

BOKEH!

Bokeh! by DHARIN, on Flickr

Taken with 50mm F1.8 @f1.8

Postby Trini Hookah » December 3rd, 2012, 4:04 pm

There was a bokeh competition recently I saw posted on Phototrini, you NEED to enter that shot if you saw the post! :)

Good job man

Postby DVSTT » December 3rd, 2012, 4:17 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:There was a bokeh competition recently I saw posted on Phototrini, you NEED to enter that shot if you saw the post! :)

Good job man

Thanks! I will head over and enter it.

Postby DVSTT » December 3rd, 2012, 4:29 pm

I dont see a bokeh competition, can you link it please?

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » December 4th, 2012, 12:08 am

i used a 75-300mm canon lens non usm non is lens

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » December 4th, 2012, 12:10 am

i find d longer lens sharper.... it may not be as fast

Postby RBphoto » December 4th, 2012, 7:30 am

DVSTT wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:Well if you don't find it sharp... well daiz you. I find what is in focus is quite sharp in the rum picture. I rather use a long lens to blurr backgrounds than wide appatures.

It's sharp just not at f1.8. My long lens only goes to f5.6 :/. But the your thoughts on the 85mm f1.8?

Have not used it, but it should be great on a tripod.. I usually shoot around f/4-f/5.6 to get good DOF in portraits, and 85mm without IS/VR would be too long for me to hand hold in low light. Not my cup of tea. FYI, On full frame, it is almost the same FOV as a 50mm on a crop body. That mild tele look is what made it popular on 35mm. A 50mm on a crop sensor is essentially the same thing.

Postby DVSTT » December 4th, 2012, 8:05 am

crossdrilled wrote:
DVSTT wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:Well if you don't find it sharp... well daiz you. I find what is in focus is quite sharp in the rum picture. I rather use a long lens to blurr backgrounds than wide appatures.

It's sharp just not at f1.8. My long lens only goes to f5.6 :/. But the your thoughts on the 85mm f1.8?

Have not used it, but it should be great on a tripod.. I usually shoot around f/4-f/5.6 to get good DOF in portraits, and 85mm without IS/VR would be too long for me to hand hold in low light. Not my cup of tea. FYI, On full frame, it is almost the same FOV as a 50mm on a crop body. That mild tele look is what made it popular on 35mm. A 50mm on a crop sensor is essentially the same thing.

Looking at the sigma 50mm F1.4 but it's really expensive, almost $100.00 more :?

Postby DVSTT » December 4th, 2012, 8:15 am

Christmas Ball by DHARIN, on Flickr

Postby S_2NR » December 4th, 2012, 8:19 am

Dharin, u really talented man.
Any relation to Zara Sawh?

Postby RBphoto » December 4th, 2012, 8:23 am

^^^start pumping iron... that lens heavy for what it does!! The canon 50mm f/1.4 would be my choice because of it's size.

Postby DVSTT » December 4th, 2012, 12:28 pm

S_2NR wrote:Dharin, u really talented man.
Any relation to Zara Sawh?

Yea, that's my cousin. She does pics too.

Postby DVSTT » December 4th, 2012, 12:29 pm

crossdrilled wrote:^^^start pumping iron... that lens heavy for what it does!! The canon 50mm f/1.4 would be my choice because of it's size.

The sigma way better optically plus that micro USM motor in the canon 50 f1.4 turn me off from it

Postby Trini Hookah » December 4th, 2012, 12:41 pm

DVSTT really learnt his way around his cam and it shows in his shots, I still haven't explored half of the things mine can do.

But I still think I see a depth in the Canon & Nikon images than I don't seem to see in my Alpha's shots...dunno if it's post-processing or what, I was discussing this with another tuner and he said it was the lenses i'm using.

Postby RBphoto » December 4th, 2012, 12:43 pm

The micro usm motor doh take the picture yunno.... I suggest you rent it and try it first and see what you would like more. All I can say is that I like it more despite it's weaker points.

Postby DVSTT » December 4th, 2012, 1:55 pm

crossdrilled wrote:The micro usm motor doh take the picture yunno.... I suggest you rent it and try it first and see what you would like more. All I can say is that I like it more despite it's weaker points.

Is not that, it's the life of the lens, reviews on the micro USM say that it dies soon after the warranty up so I'm a bit skeptical of it. Sigma 50 f1.4 seems like it will last longer to me plus I can just sell my 50mm f1.8 after :)

Terran

Postby Terran » December 4th, 2012, 2:02 pm

Those Christmas lights... really sweet shot, Dharin!

Postby DVSTT » December 4th, 2012, 2:02 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:DVSTT really learnt his way around his cam and it shows in his shots, I still haven't explored half of the things mine can do.

But I still think I see a depth in the Canon & Nikon images than I don't seem to see in my Alpha's shots...dunno if it's post-processing or what, I was discussing this with another tuner and he said it was the lenses i'm using.

Thanks.
Could be sensor size, I kno some of the olympus DSLR were smaller than the sensors in the t2i and well smaller sensor usually means lesser image quality.

BTW, anyone know about light painting? How did this guy do this?

DSC_1576.jpg by FDU4, on Flickr

Im thinking maybe led lights inside a short lenght of wide PVC and place it around the camera lens, start the exposure and move it forward prolly using a few lines of nylon stretched on the inside of the pvc to keep it level.

Terran

Postby Terran » December 4th, 2012, 2:05 pm

Which lens? Smells like the 50mm f/1.8. Is it?

Postby RBphoto » December 4th, 2012, 2:50 pm

DVSTT wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:DVSTT really learnt his way around his cam and it shows in his shots, I still haven't explored half of the things mine can do.

Thanks.
Could be sensor size, I kno some of the olympus DSLR were smaller than the sensors in the t2i and well smaller sensor usually means lesser image quality.

1) UML, the drabber colors is due to 2 factors, sony kit lenses not that good, and their color management not as mature as canon and Nikon. Shoot in raw and adjust to boost/ correct colors, contrast, sharpening etc. (I actually like canon digital more, but that is a story for a different day)

2) The CCD in Olympus DSLR's was more square (yes it had less pixels, but less on the horizontal which would have been cropped out for 8X10 portraits anyway), so portraits did not have to have the too long 35mm aspect ratio, and portraits would fit better on a 8X10 print without cropping. Many commercial photographers prefered olympus in the early days of digital for this reason. Saw many olympi being used when I went on a cruise.

Anyway, I realize that I ain't post a picture for nearly the whole year since baby born... will post up some paid portrait work soon.

Postby DVSTT » December 4th, 2012, 3:23 pm

Terran wrote:Those Christmas lights... really sweet shot, Dharin!

Thanks man, and yea it's 50 f1.8 @ f1.8

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » December 4th, 2012, 5:08 pm

where rents lenses

Postby DVSTT » December 4th, 2012, 5:49 pm

Postby DVSTT » December 5th, 2012, 1:05 pm

Anyone got 15K USD lying around? How about a noctilux f0.95?

Behind the Scene #24 by chachahavana, on Flickr

BOKEHLICIOUS!

Postby TRAE » December 6th, 2012, 9:16 am

Sivic Distributors

Postby Sivic Distributors » December 7th, 2012, 8:06 am

New Stock $15.00 per square foot

Postby TRAE » December 7th, 2012, 8:45 am

ummm yuh in the wrong ched soulya

Postby mitsu_chick941 » December 7th, 2012, 8:50 am

Postby Trini Hookah » December 7th, 2012, 9:09 am

haaahahahaha wtf?? :lol: