what simple mods to do on a stock d15b non vtec civic

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

RAJIE

what simple mods to do on a stock d15b non vtec civic

Postby RAJIE » November 11th, 2012, 8:02 pm

aite well i got a 1998 ek3 civic

its very stock but shockingly this car does really perform for a stock d15b non vtec engine.

anyways i would like to do some simple modification that could make the car perform better

dont have a budget so you all can recommend but only simple as in like suspension, brakes, air intakes, simple mods to the engine, exhaust and those kind of stuff,

anyone know what it would cost to put a complete turbo kit on this engine. not really for boost but for the blow of valve sound :D LOL

hoping to get some replies so thank in advance

Re: what simple mods to do on a stock d15b non vtec civic

Postby S_2NR » November 11th, 2012, 10:17 pm

engine swap.
simple mods wouldnt make any remarkable improvement. ull just make more noise.

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » November 13th, 2012, 12:29 pm

what engine would u recommend ?

Postby S_2NR » November 14th, 2012, 1:22 am

What is your budget?

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » November 14th, 2012, 1:58 am

NOS... 50 shot, and a plug change.. done 8-)

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » November 14th, 2012, 8:19 am

honestly i dont want to do a engine swap,

i just want t0 upgrade my suspension, upgrade brakes, and add a lil exhaust, intake and a turbo kit.
just some simple thing to make the work better not to make it go like a racing car

so since allyuh see i dont want to really change engine what can you recommend from what i want?

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » November 14th, 2012, 10:31 am

RAJIE wrote: i just want t0 upgrade my suspension, upgrade brakes, and add a lil exhaust, intake and a turbo kit. just some simple thing to make the work better not to make it go like a racing car

sounds like a racing car to me .lol.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » November 14th, 2012, 11:06 am

Is your car auto or manual ? auto and boost is a no
Mileage and condition of the engine ?

do u have a budget for all these items?
suspension ? front and rear sway bars , bushings , ( shock and spring would depend on your budget)
brakes ?cheapest = SIR front and rear with VG pads
turbo kit , exhaust ,intake ?

Postby Sky » November 14th, 2012, 2:13 pm

RAJIE wrote:honestly i dont want to do a engine swap,

i just want t0 upgrade my suspension, upgrade brakes, and add a lil exhaust, intake and a turbo kit.
just some simple thing to make the work better not to make it go like a racing car

so since allyuh see i dont want to really change engine what can you recommend from what i want?

Sorry, but if you don't want a racing car type, then you need to swap.
Throw a B18 in there, upgrade brake and suspension and you're done.
When you want to go fast, you can. When you want to chill out, you can.
And this engine will be stock, while doing what a mild turbo D does.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 14th, 2012, 7:06 pm

start with brakes... Everything else will come after

Postby X2 » November 15th, 2012, 1:41 am

What r u guys on about ? Since you're not looking to make any big power, a basic turbo kit, 6-8 psi on a stock motor with auto tranny is not a big deal at all ! It will give you a small bump in power and be fairly reliable if it's installed by a pro and given a safe tune... Might even be able to keep it running on super !

Upgrade in the correct order... new pads... something with good bite, like Hawk HPS or EBC greenstuff... stainless steel lines (not necessary tho)... and some good tires. Check out the health of the engine with a compression and then a leak down test, new (colder heat range) plugs, wires, oil/filter, check out the timing belt and replace as necessary.... make sure your cooling system is in good condition also.

No need for an intake with a turbo kit, just a 2" crush bent exhaust to help out the flow.... hell, with a small turbo and low boost, you can even go ghetto managment and run an FMU on stock injectors. Best thing to do is find a good mechanic... you prolly don't want to experiment on your car if you're not a DIY'er.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 15th, 2012, 10:23 am

X2, if you can find a leakdown test ANYWHERE in T+T let me know... I looked for about 6 months for one place that could do it and all the leads I had came to nothing...

Concerning the pads, I had Hawk HPS and I find it entirely overrated.. I much prefer stop-tech street performance or even the regular mintex you see selling around the country to the hawk hps..

Postby Ted_v2 » November 16th, 2012, 8:35 am

how much should a d15 manual conversion cost?
personally id go with the manual swap and then the turbo kit

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » November 16th, 2012, 2:32 pm

aite thanks for all the advise. i have a rel good mechanics so i would let him check out everyting for me
i am looking to upgrade my brakes 1st since that is the most important.
i might buy some tein suspension- shocks and lowering kit
and who can get a simple turbo for me for this motor ???? 5psi go work. lol cuz i not going for speed. i jus like the sound thats all
and might buy a hks exhaust :D

car got in accident yesterday so let me just fix back the doors that got hit and i would start with modding

can anyone recommend brakes upgrades and like what prices i looking at
same for the turbo :D
car is auto btw. in trinidad with all the traffic i must be looking mad to convert to manual

and do yall thnk this turbo on ebay would work ??? or someone can get something better for me

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Civic-EF-EG-EK- ... 5e&vxp=mtr

Postby Ted_v2 » November 16th, 2012, 5:45 pm

looks like it has everything you need besides a better fuel system,and well a good tune

would rather build a kit locally IMO

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » November 16th, 2012, 6:04 pm

:drinking:
sound boy 64 wrote:looks like it has everything you need besides a better fuel system,and well a good tune

great :D

what would be needed for the fuel system and where could tuning be done for a reasonable price
i know there is peak performance in monroe road but not sure what price they does charge

Postby Ted_v2 » November 16th, 2012, 6:18 pm

RAJIE wrote::drinking:
sound boy 64 wrote:looks like it has everything you need besides a better fuel system,and well a good tune

great :D

what would be needed for the fuel system and where could tuning be done for a reasonable price
i know there is peak performance in monroe road but not sure what price they does charge

bigger injectors and a upgraded fuel pump

Postby X2 » November 16th, 2012, 9:10 pm

CD4Accord wrote:X2, if you can find a leakdown test ANYWHERE in T+T let me know... I looked for about 6 months for one place that could do it and all the leads I had came to nothing...

You can build one with some parts from Trinidad hose eh ! If you don't want to build one, it can ordered online for under $100usd. Check ebay or harbor freight...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-CYLINDER-LEAK-DOWN-TESTER-TEST-DIAGNOSTIC-AUTO-TOOL-/130258381644?pt=Motors_Automotive_Tools&hash=item1e54012b4c&vxp=mtr

Concerning the pads, I had Hawk HPS and I find it entirely overrated.. I much prefer stop-tech street performance or even the regular mintex you see selling around the country to the hawk hps..

HPS is a normal pad... slightly better than an oem pad... I dunno if I would qualify them with Mintex tho... :shock:

For the OP... you can get a full turbo kit online also... from a local or trinituner powerseller OR if you have a good, patient mechanic... he can put together the parts right here in Trinidad....just don't expect to get it put together and installed overnight... you WILL have considerable downtime...plan for at least 1 week without your car.

wishmaster

Postby wishmaster » November 16th, 2012, 11:11 pm

On the various honda forums they normally frown on ebay kits tho. They say they're not so good

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » November 17th, 2012, 1:06 am

wishmaster wrote:On the various honda forums they normally frown on ebay kits tho. They say they're not so good

thanks for the advise.. aite so ebay turbo kit outtt :( LOL

who wiling to help me make a parts list for a complete turbo kit that would work with the d15b motor???

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » November 17th, 2012, 7:51 am

all the info you need to know on your turbo build is here : http://civic-eg.com/viewtopic.php?t=11082&highlight=

Postby Ted_v2 » November 17th, 2012, 7:57 am

sr20 t25 turbo works well up (saw them working till 14psi)
Manifold will need to be made
Wastegate
High Pressure/High Volume Inline Fuel Pump
440 rc injectors
a tuning system
Air Filter setup
Front Mount Intercooler +need piping
Blow-Off Valve
Exhaust system 2.5
Lines w/ Fittings
Blue Silicone Couplers and Clamps
also boost gauge
air fuel ratio gauge
oil plugs tranny oil cooler
maybe a bigger/better rad

maybe a couple more things that i forgot out

*edit that build that corolla kid posted is awesome

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » November 18th, 2012, 7:33 am

aite got the parts for my car to be repaired yesterday :D

so ready to start my simple mods.

aite well i am relying on your options here since i know yall would have experiences

1st to do is the most important. BRAKES

what Brakes do you guys thing i should buy to fit my 1998 ek3 civic
looking for brand.. whats the pros about it. and price

i was looking at the stoptech brakes pad. not sure what simple brake mod i can do. so all help would be appreciated. thanks

Postby X2 » November 18th, 2012, 9:43 am

Best 'simple' brake mod is good brake pads. Forget all that fancy slotted and crossdrilled rotor BS... resurfaced rotors and good brake pads with a proper bed-in procedure performed will get you some very good braking performance.

Not going to quote any brand names as it may start a war.... just know that any brake pad set that is not properly 'broken-in' will perform like absolute crap...regardless of brand or type. Another thing worthy of note regarding braking is that the quality of your tires have significant effects on how quickly you can stop... the tire is the ONLY thing holding you to the road and thereby has the greatest effect on acceleration, braking and handling.

You should do some more reading online as there are endless resources available for simple honda mods and info.. tuner is just one source... do searches and read up some !

Zim

Postby Zim » November 18th, 2012, 10:24 am

installed by a pro and given a safe tune
Suggestions?

fass4drs

Postby fass4drs » November 18th, 2012, 10:45 am

Zim wrote:
Suggestions?

you have a management?

if youre going crome or hondata or neptune i'll say kesvtec.cant beat him for price or experience with these .

Postby X2 » November 18th, 2012, 10:47 am

Zim wrote:
Suggestions?

Nope... i should be asking you that.... :D

It's a forum... the info is free... recommendations aren't....

wishmaster

Postby wishmaster » November 18th, 2012, 2:57 pm

There are a couple guys on the forum selling full d series turbo kits (used) for like 4-5k. You could check them out if you want. I honestly dont know if thats a good price or not

Zim

Postby Zim » November 18th, 2012, 6:55 pm

lol @ X2

Hmm, daz y I afraid 2 go boost, I eh trust ppl here 2 tune n no one seems to know any good reliable tuners :(

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » November 18th, 2012, 8:33 pm

wishmaster wrote:There are a couple guys on the forum selling full d series turbo kits (used) for like 4-5k. You could check them out if you want. I honestly dont know if thats a good price or not

i didnt see any1
pm me with more info plz

Return to “HONDA”