isn't that exactly what he was asked in the guardian? 4th question on the left.Team Loco wrote:hell nobody recognises great motorsports here. if even he does make it to the local dailies, it may say "local drag racer drag racing in Spain"
rcadiz wrote:Yes folks,
It's been an incredible day of some of the best sights in Rally that i've ever been lucky enough to see. Meeting the drivers in person is one thing, but standing up 20ft away from the stage with the best men in the world pelting a car at full tilt around a corner...hmm. It's been a treat, and i have to say the memories will last a lifetime especially seeing the Trinidad and Tobago and the Caribbean vibe present amongst the pack.
So this morning we started bright and early - 6:30am breakfast and then head out by 7:15, it was about 10 degrees and windy. The practice stage was about 15min away from the hotel. This was also the qualifying stage. So basically 2 practice and 1 qualifying - 3 stages total. The WRC cars were the only ones in this leg. Watching it start was like me going to my first rally ever asking what anti-lag was. The top guys Latvala, Hirvonen, Loeb, Solberg, etc etc are a treat to watch, they are very quick. Powell came through and we hoped it would be close to them. To be fair he was clean, and looked a little hesitant on the first one, but this has to be expected due to his complete inexperience at this level. 17 secs down to Loeb in the first one, we figured he would be down about 5sec per km so this was about correct. But to see the Red, White, and Black out there made the time difference seem unimportant.
Second practice run was quicker obviously as all the teams turned it up a notch. The Minis were very wide on the corners i thought, with the top guys (Ford-Citroen) rarely stepping off the tightest of lines. Powell again looked not his usual flamboyant self, but cleaner is obviously faster and he took 2 seconds back off the difference from Loeb. The major difference looked to be the commitment in the corners. Where Powell was showing obvious attempts at clean lines and smooth through the tight turns, Loeb and the others were doing the same but on the limit kissing the bumpers on the apex and the mounds on the outside.
Qualifying stage came and went with much of the same driving, but this time Powell being a little bit more comfortable in the car managed another 3 seconds better on the gap with Loeb. He eventually qualified 12 sec behind Loeb who was in led practice and qualifying.
Thursday Wrap Up - John could not have been expected to do much to challenge the top guys today or any first day in the WRC, however on his maiden attempt, and against guys in the last event of the season after tons of mileage, he surely held his own. Ford/M-Sport management were pleased and some actually said pleasantly surprised as Powell was able to beat one of the Mini drivers - again remember that these are career WRC drivers and not weekend warriors like Powell. Also keep in mind that he is almost twice some of these guys age, and less than half of their fitness.
We headed to the ceremonial start over an hour away in Barcelona. All i have to say is DAMN! great city, fantastic organization, thousands of people, and of course the most scenic backdrop for any event of this nature. The cars came over the large start ramp to huge applause before driving through the streets lined with spectators. Many ideas come to mind to blow people away for Rally Trinidad 2013.
We are back at the hotel now and planning our route tomorrow, promise i will send some pics soon, the internet seems to be getting a bit faster. But it's 1am and we have to be up at 6, so it's good night for me from Rally Spain.
Keep reading and follow it on http://www.wrc.com
logic246 wrote:Powell is 49th , being beaten by R2 Fiestas
logic246 wrote:Do you know what an R2 car is?
sio wrote:Keep in mind John is racing against the best in the world for the first time. In a car he has not run on stages, and the stages are 4 times long than the what we run here in the caribbean.
tr1ad wrote:this isn't some caribbean rally, this is the best in the world, that has been on the stages before
djaggs wrote:^^^ LOL....oh gorsh ease up de man nah....yuh dont know what goin on up there.