logic246

Re: Powell will drive for Ford M-Sport at Rally Spain 2012

Postby logic246 » November 8th, 2012, 6:07 pm

Postby wagonrunner » November 8th, 2012, 6:42 pm

Team Loco wrote:hell nobody recognises great motorsports here. if even he does make it to the local dailies, it may say "local drag racer drag racing in Spain"
isn't that exactly what he was asked in the guardian? 4th question on the left.

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » November 8th, 2012, 7:51 pm

Yes folks,

It's been an incredible day of some of the best sights in Rally that i've ever been lucky enough to see. Meeting the drivers in person is one thing, but standing up 20ft away from the stage with the best men in the world pelting a car at full tilt around a corner...hmm. It's been a treat, and i have to say the memories will last a lifetime especially seeing the Trinidad and Tobago and the Caribbean vibe present amongst the pack.

So this morning we started bright and early - 6:30am breakfast and then head out by 7:15, it was about 10 degrees and windy. The practice stage was about 15min away from the hotel. This was also the qualifying stage. So basically 2 practice and 1 qualifying - 3 stages total. The WRC cars were the only ones in this leg. Watching it start was like me going to my first rally ever asking what anti-lag was. The top guys Latvala, Hirvonen, Loeb, Solberg, etc etc are a treat to watch, they are very quick. Powell came through and we hoped it would be close to them. To be fair he was clean, and looked a little hesitant on the first one, but this has to be expected due to his complete inexperience at this level. 17 secs down to Loeb in the first one, we figured he would be down about 5sec per km so this was about correct. But to see the Red, White, and Black out there made the time difference seem unimportant.

Second practice run was quicker obviously as all the teams turned it up a notch. The Minis were very wide on the corners i thought, with the top guys (Ford-Citroen) rarely stepping off the tightest of lines. Powell again looked not his usual flamboyant self, but cleaner is obviously faster and he took 2 seconds back off the difference from Loeb. The major difference looked to be the commitment in the corners. Where Powell was showing obvious attempts at clean lines and smooth through the tight turns, Loeb and the others were doing the same but on the limit kissing the bumpers on the apex and the mounds on the outside.

Qualifying stage came and went with much of the same driving, but this time Powell being a little bit more comfortable in the car managed another 3 seconds better on the gap with Loeb. He eventually qualified 12 sec behind Loeb who was in led practice and qualifying.

Thursday Wrap Up - John could not have been expected to do much to challenge the top guys today or any first day in the WRC, however on his maiden attempt, and against guys in the last event of the season after tons of mileage, he surely held his own. Ford/M-Sport management were pleased and some actually said pleasantly surprised as Powell was able to beat one of the Mini drivers - again remember that these are career WRC drivers and not weekend warriors like Powell. Also keep in mind that he is almost twice some of these guys age, and less than half of their fitness.

We headed to the ceremonial start over an hour away in Barcelona. All i have to say is DAMN! great city, fantastic organization, thousands of people, and of course the most scenic backdrop for any event of this nature. The cars came over the large start ramp to huge applause before driving through the streets lined with spectators. Many ideas come to mind to blow people away for Rally Trinidad 2013.

We are back at the hotel now and planning our route tomorrow, promise i will send some pics soon, the internet seems to be getting a bit faster. But it's 1am and we have to be up at 6, so it's good night for me from Rally Spain.

Keep reading and follow it on www.wrc.com

Postby tr1ad » November 8th, 2012, 8:03 pm

i only got 3 pics from jackie rob, placed accordingly

Postby Team Loco » November 8th, 2012, 9:34 pm

rcadiz wrote:Yes folks,

It's been an incredible day of some of the best sights in Rally that i've ever been lucky enough to see. Meeting the drivers in person is one thing, but standing up 20ft away from the stage with the best men in the world pelting a car at full tilt around a corner...hmm. It's been a treat, and i have to say the memories will last a lifetime especially seeing the Trinidad and Tobago and the Caribbean vibe present amongst the pack.

So this morning we started bright and early - 6:30am breakfast and then head out by 7:15, it was about 10 degrees and windy. The practice stage was about 15min away from the hotel. This was also the qualifying stage. So basically 2 practice and 1 qualifying - 3 stages total. The WRC cars were the only ones in this leg. Watching it start was like me going to my first rally ever asking what anti-lag was. The top guys Latvala, Hirvonen, Loeb, Solberg, etc etc are a treat to watch, they are very quick. Powell came through and we hoped it would be close to them. To be fair he was clean, and looked a little hesitant on the first one, but this has to be expected due to his complete inexperience at this level. 17 secs down to Loeb in the first one, we figured he would be down about 5sec per km so this was about correct. But to see the Red, White, and Black out there made the time difference seem unimportant.

Second practice run was quicker obviously as all the teams turned it up a notch. The Minis were very wide on the corners i thought, with the top guys (Ford-Citroen) rarely stepping off the tightest of lines. Powell again looked not his usual flamboyant self, but cleaner is obviously faster and he took 2 seconds back off the difference from Loeb. The major difference looked to be the commitment in the corners. Where Powell was showing obvious attempts at clean lines and smooth through the tight turns, Loeb and the others were doing the same but on the limit kissing the bumpers on the apex and the mounds on the outside.

Qualifying stage came and went with much of the same driving, but this time Powell being a little bit more comfortable in the car managed another 3 seconds better on the gap with Loeb. He eventually qualified 12 sec behind Loeb who was in led practice and qualifying.

Thursday Wrap Up - John could not have been expected to do much to challenge the top guys today or any first day in the WRC, however on his maiden attempt, and against guys in the last event of the season after tons of mileage, he surely held his own. Ford/M-Sport management were pleased and some actually said pleasantly surprised as Powell was able to beat one of the Mini drivers - again remember that these are career WRC drivers and not weekend warriors like Powell. Also keep in mind that he is almost twice some of these guys age, and less than half of their fitness.

We headed to the ceremonial start over an hour away in Barcelona. All i have to say is DAMN! great city, fantastic organization, thousands of people, and of course the most scenic backdrop for any event of this nature. The cars came over the large start ramp to huge applause before driving through the streets lined with spectators. Many ideas come to mind to blow people away for Rally Trinidad 2013.

We are back at the hotel now and planning our route tomorrow, promise i will send some pics soon, the internet seems to be getting a bit faster. But it's 1am and we have to be up at 6, so it's good night for me from Rally Spain.

Keep reading and follow it on http://www.wrc.com

thanks alot. great read

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 9th, 2012, 6:11 am

stage 1
Untitled.tiff

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 6:37 am

John is 27th overall with a time of 1:04:12.4

The Overall Leader is Ostberg with a time of 51:18.8

He is currently 12th in the WRC Class

logic246

Postby logic246 » November 9th, 2012, 7:26 am

Powell is 49th , being beaten by R2 Fiestas

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 7:28 am

with all the times being confirmed now

JP is now 49th - overall - 1:04:12.4 his fellow Nacam competitor Trivino is 47th overall - 1:03:31.3

lot of heavy showers at the rally, Martin Prokop, Thierry Neuville, Petter Solberg, Daniel Oliveira and Dani Sordo are out of the running

Ostberg is still the leader

The Mid Day Break is ongoing, SS4 due to start at 1330 (930 am) Local time

Postby MG Man » November 9th, 2012, 7:38 am

logic246 wrote:Powell is 49th , being beaten by R2 Fiestas

feeling proud of yerself?

logic246

Postby logic246 » November 9th, 2012, 7:39 am

Yes actually , i pointed out the obvious YEY

sio

Postby sio » November 9th, 2012, 7:51 am

Keep in mind John is racing against the best in the world for the first time. In a car he has not run on stages, and the stages are 4 times long than the what we run here in the caribbean.
Its early still, gooo team

logic246

Postby logic246 » November 9th, 2012, 7:54 am

Do you know what an R2 car is?

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 7:54 am

personally i am confident in a finish, no matter the position

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 7:57 am

logic246 wrote:Do you know what an R2 car is?

you need to chill

this isn't some caribbean rally, this is the best in the world, that has been on the stages before

all that follow rally and this thread know what is a R2

logic246

Postby logic246 » November 9th, 2012, 8:00 am

Why do i need to chill? The fact remains he is being beaten by R2 cars and he is driving a WRC car.

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 8:05 am

sio wrote:Keep in mind John is racing against the best in the world for the first time. In a car he has not run on stages, and the stages are 4 times long than the what we run here in the caribbean.

tr1ad wrote:this isn't some caribbean rally, this is the best in the world, that has been on the stages before

logic seems to elude you, with no regard for your user name

logic246

Postby logic246 » November 9th, 2012, 8:06 am

Seems like the logic is not eluding me , you should check your self first. Stop looking through the rosey glasses.

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 8:17 am

my logic is here, within the two quotes on the last post

seems because he has a WRC class automatically makes him king of the course, granted it's a baptism by fire (as JP himself put it) because he has never ran on that course, or come up against the best in wrc

logic246

Postby logic246 » November 9th, 2012, 8:21 am

No one is thinking he is king because he is ding a world championship round in a wrc car , the fact is he is being beaten by R2 cars , if you know the difference in both cars you would not have responded.

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 8:24 am

i'll just leave you there with your opinion on the matter

clearly your outcome has different expectations

nobre in his wrc mini should be way higher as well not so?

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 9th, 2012, 9:06 am

I dont know why folks expecting so much from John so fast.

I dont know if you recall when Mark Higgins came here he was posting fastest times in a GP N car beating all the WRC cars in the Caribbean.

Those guys are on a different level. Race drivers in the Caribbean dont know much about physical fitness and the role it can play in your driving because our stages are so short.

Its like playing local club cricket and then going to play against a team like Australia.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 9th, 2012, 9:09 am

lawd say it better nah

is like doing solodex and then expecting to win le mans

is a car site not a cricket site.. jeez :) lol

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 9:12 am

djaggs wam to you hoss? the man have a wrc car

an a r2 beating him

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 9th, 2012, 9:17 am

^^^ LOL....oh gorsh ease up de man nah....yuh dont know what goin on up there.

Postby sliderz1 » November 9th, 2012, 9:18 am

keep those updates coming!

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 9th, 2012, 9:19 am

i find the stages to far apart
I want updates NOW!! triad call them and tell them to start the stage 4 early nah

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 9:20 am

djaggs wrote:^^^ LOL....oh gorsh ease up de man nah....yuh dont know what goin on up there.

i know exactly what going on up there...........it's a total different level of rallying

Crix

Stage live,

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 9:27 am

SS4 thus far

NOVIKOV - 16:03.9
LATVALA - 16:05.0
OSTBERG - 16:05.5
HIRVONEN - 16:23.0