WTK: High electric bill

Postby sharkman121 » October 31st, 2012, 7:27 pm

Guys ive been having an unusually high electricity bill for a while now, when the bill came last month it was just under $1100. This was the last straw for me seeing that i was out of the country for 3 weeks in that 2 month billing cycle.

We dont use alot of appliances that drain alot of power even though there are two ac units but rarely on at the same time. Could this be a case of a particular appliance draining resources or maybe the electrical wiring in the house needs to be checked (because its quite old)?

If you guys know any recommended electricians in the arima area that may make house calls to check wiring etc id be grateful.

Russellgold

Re: WTK: High electric bill

Postby Russellgold » October 31st, 2012, 7:32 pm

no i have d same problem but i bouth a genarater ...
boi dem sendin my bill 4 like 1200 an i have 1 ac 2 tv 53'' &16'' wich dont be on all d time
as i say dem rubbin....

Postby rfari » October 31st, 2012, 7:37 pm

for ur last bill what was ur kwh usage sharkman? and what is ur typical usage before?

Postby sharkman121 » October 31st, 2012, 7:38 pm

i think electric rates were raised earlier in the year but this is ridiculous. Talking to some guys here who bill is usually 200-300 per cycle with houses bigger than mine.

Postby sharkman121 » October 31st, 2012, 7:39 pm

rfari wrote:for ur last bill what was ur kwh usage sharkman? and what is ur typical usage before?

have to check that and see later when i get home

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 31st, 2012, 7:48 pm

somebody maybe piggybacking off your connection, or is racket they hitting you, monitor you meter bro

Postby shogun » October 31st, 2012, 7:50 pm

Do you own an electric grill sharky?

Postby eliteauto » October 31st, 2012, 7:52 pm

that's high unless you have something really using electricity, I have a 12000 and 24000 btu a/c units, hot water heater, water pump, 2 large fridges and a deep freeze and my bill is 500-600 per cycle, it's a new house (2 years old) but I doubt wiring can cause such a drain, does T&TEC read your meter regularly?

Postby sharkman121 » October 31st, 2012, 7:53 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:somebody maybe piggybacking off your connection, or is racket they hitting you, monitor you meter bro

i was studying this..

shogun wrote:Do you own an electric grill sharky?

yeh a mini George Foreman, but i dont use it that much, prolly once erry 2 days for 7 mins

Postby sharkman121 » October 31st, 2012, 7:56 pm

eliteauto wrote:that's high unless you have something really using electricity, I have a 12000 and 24000 btu a/c units, hot water heater, water pump, 2 large fridges and a deep freeze and my bill is 500-600 per cycle, it's a new house (2 years old) but I doubt wiring can cause such a drain, does T&TEC read your meter regularly?

im not sure how often they do TBH.

i know electric stuff with elements pull the most current, so like my grill, water heater, electric stove, iron.. plus the 2 AC units would pull. But i always had them and the bill wasnt so high.

But honestly i doh really pay attention to my meter much, i need to monitor it closer from now.

Postby shogun » October 31st, 2012, 7:57 pm

Few people who were having unexplained increases in their electricity bills, were told this was the culprit, by T&TEC.

But only a a few mins every couple days, it shouldn't be a prob.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 31st, 2012, 7:58 pm

eliteauto wrote:that's high unless you have something really using electricity, I have a 12000 and 24000 btu a/c units, hot water heater, water pump, 2 large fridges and a deep freeze and my bill is 500-600 per cycle, it's a new house (2 years old) but I doubt wiring can cause such a drain, does T&TEC read your meter regularly?

W T F. Thats ALL you pay?

We have one lousy window unit and nothing else major. Our bill is $1100. We paid to have them come check it out. They said everything good, we may have to re wire cuz the house build long ago. We spend a whote setta money change out every single thing, new wires, new breaker, new outlets and the bill is the facking same. T&TEC dont wanna do anything about it, is madness.

Edit - Forgot we got a water pump and a lil $100 water heater shower head.
Last edited by Soul Collector on October 31st, 2012, 8:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » October 31st, 2012, 7:59 pm

that bill sounds really high for home usage.
someone growing hydroponic weed in a room ah wha?

i pay 1100 a month with 2 5 ton AC's running 6 hours a day 6 days a week,dental chair,xray machine,compressor, 6-7 computers, lots of lights...etc

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2012, 8:01 pm

water heaters burn a lot of current
is the water pump in use all the time ?
could there be a leak eg in a toilet tank which is causing the pressure to drop and switch on the pump regularly ?

we replaced a 50gal water heater with stiebel tankless and the bill dropped by over $120 or so for use by 3 people.

your refridgerators could also have the compressors cycling on too much,
get someone to check that.

Postby rfari » October 31st, 2012, 8:05 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:somebody maybe piggybacking off your connection, or is racket they hitting you, monitor you meter bro

Yup. Very possible. Sharkman i had a case like this with my in-laws living in ur neighbourhood. Exorbitant bills started to come and is only when the mark buss the neighbour had a cable connected directly to the busbar years ago when the house was unoccupied and had recently picked up a fabricating gig. If i had the time i woulda vibes u eh but is pace immc till mid december

Postby sharkman121 » October 31st, 2012, 8:10 pm

rfari wrote:

Yup. Very possible. Sharkman i had a case like this with my in-laws living in ur neighbourhood. Exorbitant bills started to come and is only when the mark buss the neighbour had a cable connected directly to the busbar years ago when the house was unoccupied and had recently picked up a fabricating gig. If i had the time i woulda vibes u eh but is pace immc till mid december

hmm will try and get an electrician to come by too check out this...and the wiring. I dunno much bout dem ting

Postby rfari » October 31st, 2012, 8:17 pm

Dont forget to compare ur kwh usage

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 31st, 2012, 8:21 pm

Sharky ent you in lh too, my neighbours used to piggyback off another when ttec cut them donkey years ago....I sure there are much more people stealing current from their neighbours

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » October 31st, 2012, 8:23 pm

stop leffing yuh playstation orn
:D

Postby sharkman121 » October 31st, 2012, 8:26 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Sharky ent you in lh too, my neighbours used to piggyback off another when ttec cut them donkey years ago....I sure there are much more people stealing current from their neighbours

yea dan.. go hadda check out that :idea:

dean_spleen09 wrote:stop leffing yuh playstation orn
:D

fuh real eh..

Postby gastly369 » October 31st, 2012, 8:28 pm

ours does be $1800-2200 :s

3 ac runs at night 24,000s .. during the day 1 24000 and a 3 Ton :\ also electric stove 3+ more times use a day.. stove is ole school GE electric.. 5 PCs running 24/7 and water heater. umm think these are the main thing we may need to cut back on

Postby r3iXmann » October 31st, 2012, 8:35 pm

still cheap compared to jamaica :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 31st, 2012, 8:42 pm

Sleep with the light off bro, makes hella diff

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 31st, 2012, 8:43 pm

Last bill was 2500......4 ac units, 2 freezers and the regular house appliances...

Postby brams112 » October 31st, 2012, 8:47 pm

Read ur meter and check the rates on the bill,i got four 12,000 btus running at least five hours every day,plus two fridges, two freezers,one pump,one water heater and lots of lights on at least another five hours every day,with a dust to dawn,sure my bill not even crossing a grand per billing cycle.Also check to see if ur are being billed as commercial by chance.

Postby 1UZFE » October 31st, 2012, 9:11 pm

go into ttec and inquire about a service they have , where their electricians would inspect your home and tell you wat burning the most electricity, its about $200.00...

Postby sharkman121 » October 31st, 2012, 9:18 pm

1UZFE wrote:go into ttec and inquire about a service they have , where their electricians would inspect your home and tell you wat burning the most electricity, its about $200.00...

hmm buh is how long i go hadda wait for that.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 31st, 2012, 9:19 pm

We have high rates as well and im renting, our bill is like 7-800 and we have next to nothing, not even a/c units....fridge, small 16" tv, one desktop and two fans and energy saving bulbs x 4......Everyone is saying our meter is the highest and something is on our meter that the other tenants dont have. Which im guessing is the water pump and the two night activated lights outside the doors which is useless....and when tenants are home using electricity alot, one of our breaker trips off if we put on the steamer to steam some clothes but when they not home, nothing happens.

Postby brams112 » October 31st, 2012, 9:34 pm

Switch off said breaker 7 when they are home to see if they complain,plus when they are not home test your place by switching off the breakers one by one to see what they are connected to.

Postby 1UZFE » October 31st, 2012, 9:43 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
1UZFE wrote:go into ttec and inquire about a service they have , where their electricians would inspect your home and tell you wat burning the most electricity, its about $200.00...

hmm buh is how long i go hadda wait for that.

it takes bout 2days...
PM me in the morning i will link ah scene...
U in d East right.??