DIVALI 2012

Re: DIVALI 2012

Postby rfari » October 16th, 2012, 10:05 pm

Waz the bess price for a box of scratch bomb now?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 16th, 2012, 10:16 pm

Sabriel wrote:As usual, at the nagar this year and on divali day....there gon be instant idiots, just add rum..

Classic example of how dem dont need rum to tun eeeydots

Postby Dizzy28 » October 16th, 2012, 10:24 pm

I always see lots of alcohol in the Nagar on the last night.

Postby BrotherHood » October 16th, 2012, 11:26 pm

rfari wrote:Waz the bess price for a box of scratch bomb now?

check meh tomorrow na hoss. not beetham, i'll be up pelican extension where u come last time...have boxes in abundance.

an d 14 dat mark up gaza ras on d windscreen, ah fella from over in chinapoo tell meh he interested.

Postby tr1ad » October 16th, 2012, 11:34 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I always see lots of alcohol in the Nagar on the last night.

very wrong tho, for nagar is considered a religious site

Postby Trini Hookah » October 17th, 2012, 12:01 am

tr1ad wrote:

I'm sure he didn't mean on sale King, dem kiddies does walk with dey flask now...nuff cigarette fi smoke too

Postby tr1ad » October 17th, 2012, 12:08 am

i was not referring to alcohol being on sale

i was making note of it actually being brought onto the site

Postby Dizzy28 » October 17th, 2012, 9:17 am

tr1ad wrote:

Yes it is very disrespectful. And it usually is a group of young men who should have more respect than that for the event and location. But these days anything is a lime.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 17th, 2012, 9:21 am

DFC wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:
DFC wrote:i'll be at the nagar everynight until the last.
I got a few booths i'm seeing about.

Oleander if your there any night, pm me, i'll link you up with some free stuff.

And this offer is for her only, tuner trolls plz dont pm me.

Dfc ah didn't get chance to check yuh last year bro, will pass through if time permits.

Sure, pass een nah man.

:D sure thing.

I hope AllTrac is well enough to come too... He looked so lovely in red the last time :cry:

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 17th, 2012, 9:33 am

Ramleela

Ramleela or Ramdilla, an annual re-enactment of the Tulsidas’ Ramayan, is the oldest open air theatre in the Caribbean. The event is held during the Hindu observance of “Nav Raatam - nine nights of the Divine Mothers.”
This 10-day serialised play recounts the journey of the divine king, Rama and his consort, Sita, on earth; and begins with a ceremonial procession of the characters which includes deities, kings, princes, sages, soldiers, monkey troops, forest dwellers and the army of the evil ten-headed king, Ravana. It is the story of Rama’s willing acceptance of 14 years exile in order to uphold His father’s word and eventual victory in war over the evil king.
The open-air performance area is cordoned off and ritualized as sacred “Ramdilla ground” and invested with the names of kingdoms, cities, forests, rivers, mountains and pilgrimage centres associated with the episodes and Rama’s travels.

Bare-footed actors called paatras (vessels) observe ritual disciplines before they enter the ground. Ancient characters in costumes of yellow, red, blue and black dance to the strong rhythms of tassa drums as they enact the episodes which are sung in Hindi and narrated in English from a raised platform situated to the east.

The annual re-enactment is ritual, faith and theatre in four languages; Awadhi, Sanskrit, English and local Trini dialect. It ends on Dashmi, the tenth day, with the burning of a gigantic effigy of Ravan. Rama’s coronation and a festival of lights welcoming his return to Ayodhya marks the eventual victory of good over evil. This Festival of Lights enters contemporary time and local space as a public holiday, Divali, two weeks later on the local calendar.

Last edited by Oleander on October 17th, 2012, 3:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 17th, 2012, 3:20 pm

Ladoo is a very popular Indian sweet (in Trinidad & Tobago), which has a number of variety.

Ingredients
2 lbs split peas powder
2 lbs butter (4 sticks)
2 tsp baking powder
water (for texture)
1-2 drops of yellow coloring
1/2 can condensed milk
oil for frying

Sugar Syrup
3 lbs sugar
6 cups water

Method
Mix split peas powder, coloring, and baking powder. Add water until mixture is soft.
Use a sifter and sift mixture into hot oil.
Fry until light brown. Grind until a powder is formed.
Place into a large mixing bowl. Add condensed milk and butter.
For sugar syrup, combine sugar and boiling water and stir until it forms a thick syrup.
Add sugar syrup and mix together. Using mixture, form into balls.

http://www.whatocook.com/ladoo.html

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » October 17th, 2012, 5:06 pm

i think 80-90 dollars... i get fedup of dem noisey ting now...bought a box 2 years now an it still dey pack down.

Postby eliteauto » October 17th, 2012, 9:35 pm

hoping to get my community to light a couple deyas, we sent out an email last year but only 2-3 houses lit :? anyone here can cut/bend/shape bamboo?

Postby Trini Hookah » October 17th, 2012, 9:38 pm

Who could make a good gulab jamoon? Oleander?? :)

Postby AllTrac » October 17th, 2012, 9:46 pm

Oleander wrote:
DFC wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

Dfc ah didn't get chance to check yuh last year bro, will pass through if time permits.

Sure, pass een nah man.

I hope AllTrac is well enough to come too... He looked so lovely in red the last time :cry:

:lol: :lol: yea ill be there but i not going by dfc tho, broken promises in the past, long story...

Oleander you gonna get your henna on?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 17th, 2012, 9:52 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Who could make a good gulab jamoon? Oleander?? :)

how much u willing to pay ?

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 17th, 2012, 10:42 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Oleander wrote:
DFC wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

Sure, pass een nah man.

:lol: :lol: yea ill be there but i not going by dfc tho, broken promises in the past, long story...

Oleander you gonna get your henna on?

:oops:

Postby BrotherHood » October 18th, 2012, 12:47 am

Jade_Inc. wrote:

i think 80-90 dollars... i get fedup of dem noisey ting now...bought a box 2 years now an it still dey pack down.

send dem my way na...

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 18th, 2012, 1:24 am

GOOLAB JAMOON

3 cups full cream milk powder
1 tsp. ground elychee (cardamom)
1 cup flour
1/2 lb butter
1 cup water ( or 1/2 cup evaporated milk and 1/2 cup water)

For syrup
2 cups sugar
1 tbsp. grated ginger
1/2 cup water

Read more: http://www.simplytrinicooking.com/2009/ ... z29coh6Hxh

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 18th, 2012, 3:59 am

ah boi meh darkie gf makin goolab jamoon and ladoo dis year. she han sweet. tanks oleander

Postby 1UZFE » October 18th, 2012, 7:24 am

BrotherHood wrote:

check meh tomorrow na hoss. not beetham, i'll be up pelican extension where u come last time...have boxes in abundance.

an d 14 dat mark up gaza ras on d windscreen, ah fella from over in chinapoo tell meh he interested.

Hood u rel up in Morvant for a Beetham man... :?
Nuff respect.... If u still have I will want some early nex month I might be outside for a couple of weeks...

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » October 18th, 2012, 10:21 am

my mom made kurma an jamon .. gosh its soooooooo yummy :)

can't wait for curry saheena and bodi with mushrooms !

Postby BrotherHood » October 18th, 2012, 4:07 pm

1UZFE wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:

Hood u rel up in Morvant for a Beetham man... :?
Nuff respect.... If u still have I will want some early nex month I might be outside for a couple of weeks...

My granny living up morvant. i always up in d extension.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 18th, 2012, 7:10 pm

oleander when to passs since u only opening up dat cookbook....

make some nah ....

Postby 1UZFE » October 18th, 2012, 10:09 pm

just got me some Parasad... Yum yum...A prelude of things to come...

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 21st, 2012, 8:55 pm

A lady fren handle me with some Kheer... Gawwd I love that.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 22nd, 2012, 10:35 pm

THE GODDESS LAKSHMI
The Goddess Lakshmi is one of the central figures of Hindu mythology associated with the festival of Divali. Legend states that Lakshmi emerged from the ocean of milk after the churning by the devas (gods) and the daanavas (demons). This event is a source of great joy because Lakshmi is considered to be the embodiment of loveliness, grace and prosperity. Another event associating Lakshmi with Divali is highlighted in the The Puranas (a series of Hindu religious text steeped in allegory). According to these texts, Divali represents the day Lord Vishnu (the Preserver) married Goddess Lakshmi (the Goddess of wealth and prosperity). The marriage of Lord Vishnu to Goddess Lakshmi denotes the connection between preservation and wealth.

THE PHILOSOPHY
Whatever the story, Divali is a very special occasion for Hindus throughout the world. The many ceremonies signify one's journey and the qualities that should be fostered for self-enlightenment. One is reminded to wake up from the slumber of ignorance and to pursue knowledge. As light dispels darkness, so should knowledge dispel ignorance. Through learning, man is expected to advance to the stage of enlightenment in which he realizes that God is the Light of lights, and that God brings warmth, love and illumination to all beings and therefore there can be no light greater than God.

The aim of Divali celebrations is to get man moving on the spiritual path and ultimately attain illumination by becoming one with God. As they light the lamps in their houses, those celebrating Divali are reminded to light the lamps of wisdom, goodness and God-consciousness in themselves. It is through this, that they can attain the “Light of Lights” - God.

http://www2.nalis.gov.tt/Research/Subje ... tentMode=1

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 24th, 2012, 10:01 am

Barfi

Ingredients
500 gm full cream powdered milk
1 6 oz (170 gm) tin Nestle’s table cream
10 oz granulated white sugar
1 tsp finely minced ginger
1 pinch each of ground elaichi (cardamom), cinnamon and clove
1/3 cup water
candy sprinkles to your liking

Method
Mix milk powder and cream just enough to combine. Let stand for 10 minutes.
Rub the cream into the milk powder until it is the consistency of fine breadcrumbs. You can do this with a big fork.
In a big heavy pot, bring sugar, ginger and water to a boil. Add the spices.
Add the milk mixture to the pot and stir. Keep stirring until the mixture comes together in one clump and leaves the side of the pot as you turn. (This may be a little hard on the arms at this point, but it is important for it not to be too soft and crumbly).
Spread mixture into a greased cookie sheet and smooth the top. Add sprinkles.
Cut into squares before it is completely cool.

http://www.ramadan.co.za/2008/recipes/moms-barfi/

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 24th, 2012, 11:29 am

GIFT FOR LIFE FOUNDATION

EVENT : Grand Divali Celebrations

DATE : Sat 3rd Nov 2012

VENUE : Fire Burn Hindu Temple Grounds, Fire Burn : Freeport

TIME : 6:00pm – 11:00 pm

http://www.giftforlifefoundationtt.com/

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 26th, 2012, 11:12 am

Indian Wear for Men

Indo-Western Suits for Men feature a magnificent jacket or blazer with fashionably styled collars or neckline. Ornate embroidery along the collars, neckline, front panel, cuffs, hem and, at times, all over the blazer makes it fitting for an Indian Bridegroom. For a traditional Indian look, make sure you pick an Indo-Western Suit featuring embellishments and embroidery in golden or tarnished gold. Instead of a Churidar, the Indo-Western Suit is coupled with a pair of trousers, which is responsible for the ‘Western’ touch. Designer Indo-Western Suit, definitely, scores over the traditional Sherwani for all the style-conscious Indian Bridegrooms out there.

Jodhpuri: Jodhpuri band gala suit is very much in fashion this season. The overcoat is normally just below the hips and made of a thick fabric. It is worn with trousers. Pointed shoes with heels go best with Jodhpuri suits.

Kurta –Jeans: Kurta -jeans looks smart and fashionable. A luckhnavi chicken kurta with fine embroidery certainly makes a man look hot. Other good option is to pick up a fine handloom kurta and pair it with smart denims. A half jacket or a stole may be worn with this outfit to make it look more festive.