The official tropical weather thread - 2012

White CZ4A

Re: The official tropical weather thread

Postby White CZ4A » October 11th, 2012, 6:23 am

Very dark in sando with a nice cool constant breeze.
No rain yet though.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 11th, 2012, 6:26 am

Nice cool breezes no rain yet Couva

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 11th, 2012, 6:32 am

raining arima

Postby redmanjp » October 11th, 2012, 6:33 am

http://www.metoffice.gov.tt/information-bulletin

Bulletin#3

Date: Thursday 11th of October 2012
ISSUED AT:06:13AM

ACTIVE AND VIGOUROUS TROPICAL WAVE LOCATED 680 KM
EAST OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO.

At 5:00 am this morning an area of low pressure
associated with a very active Tropical Wave was
centred approximately 680 km east-southeast of
the of Windward Islands.

The wave is moving toward the west to
west-northwest at 16 to 24 km/h. Environmental
conditions are favourable at this time for some
further development over the 2 days.

The leading periphery of the wave is forecast to
begin affecting Trinidad and Tobago today
–Thursday 11th October 2012. Showery activity
in varying intensities with resultant
street/flash flooding and gusty winds may
accompany the passage of this Tropical Wave.

All interests in Trinidad and Tobago are asked to
regard the possibility of these adverse weather
conditions seriously and adopt measures which
would safeguard lives and property and pay close
attention to information being issued by the
Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service.

WE STRONGLY UNDERSCORE THAT TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO IS
NOT UNDER ANY TROPICAL STORM THREAT, WATCH OR
WARNING AT THIS TIME.

The Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service is
closely monitoring weather conditions and will
issue another bulletin at 6:00 pm today or sooner
if the situation warrants.

Paula Wellington
Meteorologist

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 11th, 2012, 7:04 am

Grande just overcast with slight drizzle,nuttin big.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 11th, 2012, 7:55 am

this is a crappy pic from inside our lift, of the pretty cloud coming over POS :?

snatman

Postby snatman » October 11th, 2012, 8:33 am

Hook wrote:tomorrow evening? *steups*

Uh? yeah, this evening

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 11th, 2012, 10:05 am

Sun shining in Couva

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 11th, 2012, 10:48 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 11th, 2012, 10:57 am

Not sure what this vehicle is for - looks weather related

Saw it driving down the highway yesterday

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 11th, 2012, 11:07 am

closed isobar and at 1007mB

looks like it is taking more of a turn to the north as it strengthens

Postby Hook » October 11th, 2012, 11:17 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Not sure what this vehicle is for - looks weather related

it not related to us, ah could tell yuh dat....WRA have plenty more money dan we tho, thas why dey have 10 times the rainfall stations we have, so if it's weather related, it's probably them...we cyar buy a box of plasters without cabinet approval, far less buy a vehicle to install cool equipment

Postby cinco » October 11th, 2012, 11:21 am

i see dat a few times in barataria area too
thought it was met office related

xtech

Postby xtech » October 11th, 2012, 11:25 am

So any money in the budget that just pass for the doppler?

Postby Hook » October 11th, 2012, 11:40 am

*shrugs* that's an internal issue that I'm not going to address in public

just know that the ONLY instrument in MET right now that works as it should is an old ass barometer that looks like this

Temperature/humidity are taken/derived from mercury thermometers in a Stevenson screen on the roof and a brand new wind instrument that took 3 years to be installed is off by anywhere between 50 and 90 degrees.

Yet we're expected to produce good, reliable information. And you think YOU have it rough.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » October 11th, 2012, 11:55 am

So we should get some bad weather later then?

Postby Hook » October 11th, 2012, 11:59 am

W2J

Postby W2J » October 11th, 2012, 12:33 pm

Hook wrote:*shrugs* that's an internal issue that I'm not going to address in public

just know that the ONLY instrument in MET right now that works as it should is an old ass barometer that looks like this

Temperature/humidity are taken/derived from mercury thermometers in a Stevenson screen on the roof and a brand new wind instrument that took 3 years to be installed is off by anywhere between 50 and 90 degrees.

Yet we're expected to produce good, reliable information. And you think YOU have it rough.

that is sad hook... just sad

nemram

Postby nemram » October 11th, 2012, 12:59 pm

Hook wrote:

it not related to us, ah could tell yuh dat....WRA have plenty more money dan we tho, thas why dey have 10 times the rainfall stations we have, so if it's weather related, it's probably them...we cyar buy a box of plasters without cabinet approval, far less buy a vehicle to install cool equipment

i think that van belongs to TATT - Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago, which they use to monitor signals and stuff.

Mr. Hook, if alluh cyar buy ah box ah plasters, how long again the radar in brasso go be dong? lol..

Postby Hook » October 11th, 2012, 1:18 pm

*shrugs*

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 11th, 2012, 2:43 pm

Best weather for beach .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 11th, 2012, 3:28 pm

sun hot in Grande.

Postby Hook » October 11th, 2012, 3:29 pm

ah now hear Moka flood out

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 11th, 2012, 4:00 pm

Hook wrote:it not related to us, ah could tell yuh dat....WRA have plenty more money dan we tho, thas why dey have 10 times the rainfall stations we have, so if it's weather related, it's probably them...we cyar buy a box of plasters without cabinet approval, far less buy a vehicle to install cool equipment
What/who is WRA??? serious question...

xtech

Postby xtech » October 11th, 2012, 4:19 pm

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 11th, 2012, 6:37 pm

nemram wrote:
Hook wrote:

i think that van belongs to TATT - Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago, which they use to monitor signals and stuff.

Mr. Hook, if alluh cyar buy ah box ah plasters, how long again the radar in brasso go be dong? lol..
yeah that is TATT's radio surveillance vehicle

Postby rfari » October 11th, 2012, 7:11 pm

Eh hook. Waz the bess price for rainfall data for the last 10 years?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 11th, 2012, 7:20 pm

No bad weather today .

Edit in Couva - California Area.

Postby Hook » October 11th, 2012, 7:37 pm

rfari wrote:Eh hook. Waz the bess price for rainfall data for the last 10 years?

Call 669-5465 and speak to the Climatologist. Be more specific when you ask, since "rainfall data for the last 10 years" could mean a number of things besides what you really want. They'll let you know the procedure for requesting the data and the cost associated with it.

http://www.metoffice.gov.tt

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Trinidad ... 2093113015
IB#4 11-10-2012.jpg

Postby redmanjp » October 11th, 2012, 7:52 pm

^ha- met office website still have the 6 AM bulletin up- imagine if it was a storm by now & hitting us :roll: