not sure if it was mentioned before: gadget and tablet of the year:

http://awards.t3.com/categories/gadget-of-the-year

http://awards.t3.com/categories/tablet-of-the-year

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » October 9th, 2012, 8:30 pm

LG Nexus design shown off in two new pictures

The LG Nexus (LG-E960) just keeps showing up in leaked images, this time over on the XDA forums. These new images give us a much better look at both the back and front of the device. The back plate, now seen in proper lighting, looks very similar to what we've just seen today on Sprint's model of the LG Optimus G over at CTIA MobileCON, and is much more understated than it seemed before. The front of the device continues to look reminiscent of the current Galaxy Nexus, but with a chrome-like bezel and different speaker grille at the top. The home screen and buttons all look as they should for a Nexus device -- stock and on-screen.

As far as specs go, the poster gives the following list:

CPU: quad core ARMv7 1.5GHz
RAM: 2 GB
Memory: 8GB (no SD slot)
GPU: Adreno 320
Android version: JellyBeanMR1
Kernel 3.4.0
Screen: 768x1184 (320 dpi)
Camera: 8 MP

This is all lining up with the previous leaks, including the anemic 8GB of internal, non expandable memory. The seemingly odd vertical resolution of 1184px can be explained by the on-screen buttons taking up some room, while the horizontal resolution of 768px fits previous leaks. With those resolution numbers and the reported DPI, we're looking at a device with about a 4.7-inch display.

The poster also points out that the phone seems to only support HSPA+ data access, not LTE, which fits with what we've found in the FCC filings. To clarify on previous posts, if this device were to be on sale with the same bands tested and confirmed by the FCC filing, it will work on both AT&T's and T-Mobile's HSPA+ networks.

Android Central

casper

Postby casper » October 9th, 2012, 9:46 pm

Postby rfari » October 10th, 2012, 10:37 am

big boy ting. undecided on which to get for the tab
http://www.amazon.com/SMK-Link-Wireless ... 3OLXYJBMLR

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Mini-Con ... +Bluetooth

the logitech would be the choice except for the dweeky flip cover

Postby stev » October 10th, 2012, 2:22 pm

Samsung to unveil 4-inch 'mini' Galaxy S III on October 11th

JK Shin, head of Samsung Mobile Communications, confirmed today that his company will be releasing a four-inch version of the Galaxy S III on October 11th in Germany. Shin announced the news during a meeting with Korean press on Wednesday.

Shin didn't reveal many details about the device, though he said it was spurred by increasing demand for 4-inch devices in Europe. He also noted that it won't be an entry-level handset, telling reporters it will have "full form factor." This would make it an unusual addition to the Android landscape, where high-end devices tend to be 4.5 inches or larger.

"We'll be launching a 4-inch Galaxy S III on the 11th in Germany," Shin said. "There's a lot of demand for a 4-inch screen device in Europe. Some call it an entry-level device, but we call it 'mini.'"

Shin's confirmation comes just ahead of Apple's rumored iPad mini announcement.

casper

Postby casper » October 10th, 2012, 6:37 pm

Has anyone updated to the Poland Jelly Bean as yet via Kies and Odin?

How is it running?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 10th, 2012, 7:20 pm

casper wrote:Has anyone updated to the Poland Jelly Bean as yet via Kies and Odin?

How is it running?

I am tempted to try it. I am waiting patiently though. It's taking long! One reason why I wish the nexus phones were as good as the Samsung ones. I'd take them for sure for the instant updates.

casper

Postby casper » October 10th, 2012, 8:51 pm

I jus did it .... It running rel nice and it's the official Samsung update... Not any ROM business... Super easy to do too... :D

casper

Postby casper » October 10th, 2012, 8:52 pm

I jus did it .... It running rel nice and it's the official Samsung update... Not any ROM business... Super easy to do too... :D

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 10th, 2012, 9:07 pm

casper wrote:I jus did it .... It running rel nice and it's the official Samsung update... Not any ROM business... Super easy to do too... :D

True? Send me the link to do it. What are you using an s3?

Postby S_2NR » October 10th, 2012, 9:12 pm

casper wrote:I jus did it .... It running rel nice and it's the official Samsung update... Not any ROM business... Super easy to do too... :D

That available for s2 yet?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 10th, 2012, 10:52 pm

I just updated too, everything worked out great!
Finally enjoying jelly bean, Google Now is amazing!

casper

Postby casper » October 11th, 2012, 8:37 am

JELLY BEAN IS AWSOME!!!!!!!!!

cant access youtube from work cuz of Websense so i cant post up the link that i used to follow the guy's instructions but its really easy...the longest thing is to download Kies, Odin and the official Poland update...the actual process takes less than 8 minutes though

Postby Greypatch » October 11th, 2012, 8:45 am

enjoy i dan jelly bean is the bomb...(Galaxy Nexus)

In other news LG nexus will be out on the 29th Nov.

quad core, wireless charging

casper

Postby casper » October 11th, 2012, 8:52 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:

u went on youtube and follow the tutorials too??? which youtube vid did u foloow though??? i used one with a fella with a heavy indian accent and a white S3 lolz...

cant believe it was so easy to do nah...i'm happy

reason why i used the Poland update is mainly because with android u not sure exactly when the update is going to reach your region cuz look it have some people with S2 that STILL waiting for ice cream sandwich even though the newest update is now jelly bean....and look how long ice cream sandwich come out...

i dont think i willing to wait so long for the US jelly bean update or whatever other update that Trinidad will get to reach na...cuz my bredren have a S2 on gingerbread and when he searches on his phone for updates the phone saying "no update available" :?

and this Poland update is the official Samsung JB update anyways so this is basically the same one we hadda wait a month again or even 2 just to get when we can just get it now :D

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 11th, 2012, 9:12 am

casper wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:

u went on youtube and follow the tutorials too??? which youtube vid did u foloow though??? i used one with a fella with a heavy indian accent and a white S3 lolz...

cant believe it was so easy to do nah...i'm happy

reason why i used the Poland update is mainly because with android u not sure exactly when the update is going to reach your region cuz look it have some people with S2 that STILL waiting for ice cream sandwich even though the newest update is now jelly bean....and look how long ice cream sandwich come out...

i dont think i willing to wait so long for the US jelly bean update or whatever other update that Trinidad will get to reach na...cuz my bredren have a S2 on gingerbread and when he searches on his phone for updates the phone saying "no update available" :?

and this Poland update is the official Samsung JB update anyways so this is basically the same one we hadda wait a month again or even 2 just to get when we can just get it now :D

Well I could not wait. The process is quite simple. I just downloaded the file a little under eight hundred megabytes. It contains the jelly bean and a program called Odin. You turn off your phone. Plug it in to the usb port. Open the Odin program. Hold down the volume down, home and power keys in the phone . The phone asks you to go into download mode. You say yes. You click on the pda. Button within Odin. Select the rom. Click Start. In about 5 mind the update is done. You lose no data or settings on your phone. Digicel at least. You could back up first though, I didn't lol.

casper

Postby casper » October 11th, 2012, 9:18 am

^^^i backed up cuz i didnt wanna lose anything from my phone and wasnt sure if it woulda carry across the info from ICS to the JB but it did...so i didnt really need to back up the phone neither...

and yea those instructions u just posted is basically all there is to it...it amazingly simple...it takes 3 minutes to root the phone on JB but i dont wanna root right now though..

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 11th, 2012, 9:21 am

odin doesnt read my phone so im stuck. Been trying to download the drivers but cant find a link

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 11th, 2012, 9:38 am

streetlifestyle wrote:odin doesnt read my phone so im stuck. Been trying to download the drivers but cant find a link

What kind of phone?

Postby S_2NR » October 11th, 2012, 9:39 am

streetlifestyle wrote:odin doesnt read my phone so im stuck. Been trying to download the drivers but cant find a link

Installing kies installs all the drivers

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 11th, 2012, 10:05 am

I'm loving the Samsung Galaxy Note 2 .

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » October 11th, 2012, 10:07 am

Ollour making me feel to install jelly... Getting lil fed up waiting...

casper

Postby casper » October 11th, 2012, 10:12 am

^^^install d ting nah bro...u wont regret it!!! :D

Postby Trini Hookah » October 11th, 2012, 10:46 am

Ollour Galaxy men need ollour own forkin ched oui :|

casper

Postby casper » October 11th, 2012, 10:56 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Ollour Galaxy men need ollour own forkin ched oui :|

u JELLYbean bro? :)

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 11th, 2012, 11:20 am

casper wrote:

Ha ha ha

Postby S_2NR » October 11th, 2012, 11:37 am

casper wrote:

S2 OWNERS:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1736726

official jellybean updates and discussion. if theres a leak/release ull hear about it here first.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 11th, 2012, 11:48 am

damn admin rights......... cant download sheit in work

casper

Postby casper » October 11th, 2012, 12:42 pm