The Mazda 3 thread

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Re: The Mazda 3 thread

Postby Stephon. » October 7th, 2012, 7:43 am

marlon333 wrote:$5.75 for premium gas now. Pressure!!! Anybody thinking about switching to Super? I think if I switch to super I might end up with sensor problems.

Super will give you sensor problems. Heard tis yesterday from a Mazda 3 driver who ACCIDENALLY used super last year and he still regretting it today.

Mini

Re: The Mazda 3 thread mazda 3 fuel type

Postby Mini » October 7th, 2012, 11:29 am

static602 wrote:okay i asked a question a few weeks ago and got a great answer from one of the members did my own research also this is for anyone who has the same question about what fuel to use in the mazda 3, the fuel tank has markings which say not to use any fuel less than 95 ron which is the octane requirements of the engine here is what N.P says http://www.np.co.tt/np-article.php?c=21&sc=528&a=139. so sorry guys only premium

Great thread guys.. lots of useful information.

Looking to purchase a local 2007/8 3. I had a 2006 3 while in Canada (the Sport GT with the 2.3) and ran 85 octane no problem.

From what I remember it was around a 50 liter tank. How far can you get with a tank of gas in Trinidad. (my 2.3 ran like 400kms or so).

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 7th, 2012, 4:07 pm

Stephon. wrote:
marlon333 wrote:$5.75 for premium gas now. Pressure!!! Anybody thinking about switching to Super? I think if I switch to super I might end up with sensor problems.

Super will give you sensor problems. Heard tis yesterday from a Mazda 3 driver who ACCIDENALLY used super last year and he still regretting it today.

pump attendant accidentally put super in mine once, never got sensor problems. Car will burn more gas with super and will produce less power. it will eventually cause engine component failure if the ecu cannot adjust timing sufficiently. Beside some loss of performance, not immediate problems will be encountered.

Mini

Postby Mini » October 7th, 2012, 4:59 pm

Do any of you have the owner's manual handy? There should be a page in it with the manufacturer recommended octane.

Can you scan the page and put it up?

Postby S_2NR » October 7th, 2012, 7:04 pm

it depends...........

is your life boring and are u longing for suspense? :lol:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 7th, 2012, 11:24 pm

compression ratio for the 3 is around 10.0, generally around 9.0 is ok for super, best bet if you want run super is to get a management and tune for it. A water meth kit suppose to help as well.

xNeXuSx

Postby xNeXuSx » October 8th, 2012, 9:33 pm

Called Southern Sales today. Yes, somebody actually answer the phone, believe it or not. Ask the guy for the price of a Oil Control Valve aka VVT Solenoid....He don't know what the hell I talkin' about. Dude put me on hold by putting his hand over the phone mic and start asking around the office...come back and say "boy, we doh know wuh dat is nah, yuh would have to bring d part". WTF? These fellas serious?

Anybody know the part number of this valve so I can bypass SS altogether? Here is a pic...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 8th, 2012, 11:35 pm

we need a parts manual for the car man...cant be sure if its the same valve for the 2.0 and 1.6 unless we compare part numbers

snight01

Postby snight01 » October 9th, 2012, 8:53 am

From the mazda 3 2012 Manual. I can use super.
IMG-20121009-00261.jpg

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » October 9th, 2012, 12:04 pm

^^Got 2007 model...the manual got Trinidad and Tobago listed for 95 or above.
They did say the car will perform "best" at such RON

The only warnings came from using 91 ron and lower and cautions for using leaded fuel.

Still got the $4.00 premium been granny driving for the past week..lol

xNeXuSx

Postby xNeXuSx » October 9th, 2012, 11:10 pm

ghostbusters wrote:we need a parts manual for the car man...cant be sure if its the same valve for the 2.0 and 1.6 unless we compare part numbers

True, true. I'll go in when I have some time. I'll find out.

Meanwhile, I found a workshop manual for the 04-09 MZ3. Contains all Mazda specific diagnostic error codes, with explanations and alot more. Helped me find the true problem after getting a generic code. Might be useful.

http://www.mediafire.com/?b5ezxwyd1jbapg6

konartis

Postby konartis » October 10th, 2012, 7:56 pm

always used premium in my mazda 3 all them nissan men laughing at me..lol, ah does hit them back with "when allyuh changing allyuh suspension" lol,

konartis

Postby konartis » October 11th, 2012, 9:18 pm

running super from today, didnt notice anything different, no pinging or ruff idle or anything like that...will see how it goes!

Postby S_2NR » October 12th, 2012, 9:38 am

konartis wrote:running super from today, didnt notice anything different, no pinging or ruff idle or anything like that...will see how it goes!

Postby cinco » October 12th, 2012, 10:47 am

Southern Sales had a release in yesterdays papers
only the Audi vehicles require Premium

Postby S_2NR » October 12th, 2012, 11:05 am

^
Can u upload a pic if possible?

Postby cinco » October 12th, 2012, 1:41 pm

cant seem to find yesterdays papers
it was in the newsday yesterday down to the back

Postby noshownogo » October 12th, 2012, 3:16 pm

I ain't tell allyuh I running Super like 2yrs now...no issues at all.

snight01

Postby snight01 » October 12th, 2012, 10:44 pm

DO NOT put super in the mazda, ur engine is desgined for premium.
super has a different air ratio mixture to premium, it takes more compression to ingnite super, so basically if u put super u are very slightly changing the timing of ur air intake, fuel intake, compressing, spark and combustion, hence over time damaged engine.

and btw fuel treatments are only designed to clean the fuel lines from slug/slush building over time, it does not by any means convert super to premnium.

As said by good friend ocularis.

Its all true. I tried super and it runs absolutely TERRIBLE. The engine feels extremely heavy with super and the car drags when driving like somehow something is holding it back. It also strains when it reaches higher mph and you can hear it in the engine. When idle is the clear example that this gas (super unleaded) is pure poisen. The engine vibrates and trys to stable itself like its having a heart attack. I've only used this once just to experiment on the claims from the manual, but trust me i dont believe our regular gas is 92 unless sent to a lab.

Moral of the story is, Dont use this gas on your car. Not even if its a 2012

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 16th, 2012, 9:02 am

noshownogo wrote:I ain't tell allyuh I running Super like 2yrs now...no issues at all.

in a mazda 3? good luck with that?

snight01

Postby snight01 » October 16th, 2012, 9:27 am

Using back premium. Working great! never looking back.

konartis

Postby konartis » October 17th, 2012, 5:15 pm

cinco wrote:Southern Sales had a release in yesterdays papers

i saw it also...91ron , but looking at the gas in the USA, these mazda runs on the lower gas there, somthing like 86-90ron or somthing

snight01

Postby snight01 » October 17th, 2012, 6:23 pm

Southern sales are only saying that so they can get more sales. The regular gas here (super) will burn up your sensors in your car. Anyone here who feels like experimenting or think they can survive with using super in your engine. Go right ahead...

But after experiments with using super (NP was 1st and Unipet being the worse which i used 2nd) in my car which feels like drving with the handbrake PULLED ALL THE WAY UP.. I'll stick to premium.. which now is excellent!

typeя

Postby typeя » October 17th, 2012, 9:56 pm

I've been using super for over a year and everything is working fine. there is a difference in performance though

Postby Stephon. » October 24th, 2012, 3:41 pm

I just filled my tank and the info said I have 600km on it, normally it says 390 - 450 km.

Driving like a grandma is actually paying off lol

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 24th, 2012, 4:22 pm

^Last fill up d boss one said the same.....normally was like 520 or so....

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 26th, 2012, 10:38 pm

konartis wrote:
cinco wrote:Southern Sales had a release in yesterdays papers

i saw it also...91ron , but looking at the gas in the USA, these mazda runs on the lower gas there, somthing like 86-90ron or somthing

Southern sales is playing the government's game. the car needs higher ron fuel than super can provide. The granny drivers can feel free to use super, ur gonna blow more smog and burn more fuel, but its gonna cost less...have fun polluting...

Postby S_2NR » October 26th, 2012, 11:54 pm

I get 450km per tank. Normally drive conservatively with the random agressive driving when im in d mood. but ac always on at least fan speed 2.

Have to start driving slow. :lol: gas bunnin too fass

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » October 29th, 2012, 4:21 pm

konartis wrote:
konartis wrote:been having this issue with the AC in the mzda3 and decided to do a search, and it worked for me..posting the link so that others will see also, my ac somtimes cut off in 1 and 2, tought that it was the compressor that was giving problems but after close observation saw it was the switch coming on and off and then i will have to press the ac button a few times to get it working again, or have it blast on 3...

http://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showthre ... 2-Or-3-A-c

part two...updated
http://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showthre ... A-C-PART-2

Anyone else having this issue?

The AC light in my car only coming on/off and it affecting meh driving in comfort..:(

Thanks

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 30th, 2012, 12:43 am

only problem i ever had with ac was the clutch dropped out...changed it and problem never recurred.

Return to “MAZDA”