Colm Imbert wrote:Kamla makes the most absurd statements. There is no thought process, or research, just incoherence. If her theory is correct, and one in every 16 car owners use premium, then why are there so many premium pumps in our gas stations? Based on her figures, there should only be one premium pump out of every 16 pumps, but in reality, some stations have more premium pumps than super pumps, while in most gas stations there is a 50/50 split. The true figure is much more than 6%
Soundwave wrote:smelter never stopped...
007_1 wrote:property tax is back too!!
TESTED performance wrote:Hook wrote:CNG technology isn't the pain in the ass it was a decade ago brah
http://www.allaboutcngvehicles.com/cng-vs-gasoline/
Power loss in CNG mode is reduced considerably if the kit has automatic timing advance.
The latest type of CNG/LPG kit is the one with sequential gas injection and gives even better performance. The kit comes with its own ECU and involves least interference with the vehicle's existing fuel supply system. It reduces pollution even further. Remember the recent trips to India? Where do you think the kits gonna come from?
http://www.indiamart.com/skn-bentex/cng-kits.html
they have lighter, stronger tanks for conversions
http://kcrco.en.ec21.com/Ultra_Light_Co ... 49440.html
some cars even come with it built for CNG
http://automobiles.honda.com/civic-natural-gas/
I separated my speculations from my actual experience with CNG for a reason. My actual experience with CNG is from using it on the highway for over a year. I don't know how much has been done within recent times to improve the technology but I don't have anything good to say about it since i've put it to the test enough to know exactly how crappy it is. I think i'm the only person here who has used it extensively so I'm not just talking based on what i've heard.
TESTED performance wrote:
What i'm absolutely sure about is that switching to CNG involves all of the following drawbacks:
1. A decrease in power so noticeable that I equate it to be about the same as driving with 1 less cylinder firing. Maybe even worse actually.
2. A ridiculous reduction in trunk space. at least by 1/3 in even the biggest trunks.
3. Significantly reduced mileage that is so short in many instances you are forced to switch back to gas to finish your journey. Keep in mind the price of all gas will be significantly higher soon so this is a very undesirable outcome.
4. As a result of the aforementioned there is no way CNG will last for longer than 1 day if you face the highway everyday to work so you will have to make time to go to the filling station every single day you drive the car.
5. Prone to cause vehicle stalls at idle and requires constant maintenance to avoid this nuisance.
Habit7 wrote:Colm Imbert wrote:Kamla makes the most absurd statements. There is no thought process, or research, just incoherence. If her theory is correct, and one in every 16 car owners use premium, then why are there so many premium pumps in our gas stations? Based on her figures, there should only be one premium pump out of every 16 pumps, but in reality, some stations have more premium pumps than super pumps, while in most gas stations there is a 50/50 split. The true figure is much more than 6%
pioneer wrote:Actually some ministry vehicle tried to switch to CNG last year and suffered major problems like random cutting off etc
Many are still down and can't seem to be rectified by the company that installed it. The car company is obviously not willing to offer any warranty/support on those vehicles.
Habit7 wrote:Stephon ppl act like its only Audi and Benz use premium, but you and I know every Mazda sold in the last 3-4 years use premium only
kurpal_v2 wrote:You know you just said you don't know about it but you know it eh good right?
And no you aren't the only one who used cng so extensively which is why I asked my previous question. How long ago you used a cng equipt vehicle?
he's not alone. but clearly...........TESTED performance wrote:If you own or drive a CNG powered vehicle that does not exhibit any of these characteristics then thank god for you because you are in a league all by yourself in this country.
whatever you think buddy. don't mind yuh very wrong. sigh.TESTED performance wrote:I think i'm the only person here who has used it extensively so I'm not just talking based on what i've heard.
wagonrunner wrote:he's not alone. but clearly...........TESTED performance wrote:If you own or drive a CNG powered vehicle that does not exhibit any of these characteristics then thank god for you because you are in a league all by yourself in this country.whatever you think buddy. don't mind yuh very wrong. sigh.TESTED performance wrote:I think i'm the only person here who has used it extensively so I'm not just talking based on what i've heard.
But anyway there other CNG threads. from folks who who don't think they know it all. just relating their experiences, some also of their peers at the pump.
so it is youTESTED performance wrote:If this is who I think this is I remember quite clearly that we had a previous difference of opinion and I suggested that we put them to the test just to see who was actually right. That evening I distinctly remember that my opinion was better than yours by at least 5 car lengths. I don't wish to waste anymore time proving you wrong on another topic.
Habit7 wrote:Stephon ppl act like its only Audi and Benz use premium, but you and I know every Mazda sold in the last 3-4 years use premium only
rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:Stephon. wrote:Truth be told, the banks make more money than showrooms do in TT when a new car is purchased so stop.
Yes this is true, because the very same people that own the banks also own the showrooms. Double profit is made and the public is once again duped.
eg ANSA
Well don't buy. Dais all. Pull out huh grandpapi cocobenz and ride where ever u want to go and stop being a beach
*$kїđž!™ wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_Gas_hike_no_big_deal_-172217081.html
'Gas hike no big deal'
By Sue-Ann Wayow sue-ann.wayow@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Oct 1, 2012 at 10:50 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 1, 2012 at 11:10 PM ECT
THE increase in the price of premium unleaded gasoline from today will have no effect on most taxis, maxi taxis or the majority of private vehicles, said Dr Afraz Ali, chairman of service station franchise Unipet.Ali said the price hike would lead to a decrease in the sale of premium unleaded gasoline and increase in the sale of super unleaded gasoline.
A similar thing happened on the last occasion that the price of premium gasoline was increased, he said.
Yesterday, Finance Minister Larry Howai announced an increase in premium gas from $4 per litre to $5.75.
There were no changes to the price of super gas, which stays at $2.80 per litre, and diesel, which will remain at $1.50 per litre.
Ali said less than one per cent of the vehicle population will not be able to switch from the use of premium gas to super gas, because of the engine design. He said "high-end vehicles" included Porsche and some types of Mercedes-Benz.There are an estimated 600,000 vehicles in Trinidad and Tobago.
Krishna Boodram, president of the Siparia/Erin Taxi Drivers Association, said taxi-drivers did not use premium gas because " it is light and burns out fast".
He said if the price of super gasoline went up, only then would taxi fares be increased.