WTK Who allyuh think wrong in this accident

Antiviru$

WTK Who allyuh think wrong in this accident

Postby Antiviru$ » September 24th, 2012, 8:06 pm

ok so i was riding with my bredrin along the taskr road (coming from princes town) heading in a westerly direction, two idiots driving lame infront so he (my padna) proceeded to overtake the first car(car#2) low and behold as soon as he gets up on the side of the car, mr man(car#2) decides to overtake the car infront of him(car#1). Car#2 comes into contact with my padna car, causing damage to Car#2right side rear fender and my padna front bumper and fender........Who is the person that is negligible / wrong in this case??? Police said they cant say unless they measure road and shitz, so c to settle outside insurance...NOTE: the owner of the car (shot gun rider) is a popo...
My opinion is both of them each fix their own.... VIEWS, Personal Experiences Welcomed... thanks..

Re: WTK Who allyuh think wrong in this accident

Postby Bizzare » September 24th, 2012, 8:14 pm

Driver of car#2 was suppose to check his mirrors before attempting to overtake I guess.

Postby Bizzare » September 24th, 2012, 8:18 pm

I just realized the word "rear" fender. I thought yuh padna was already alongside car#2 when they collided. Seems like they both attempted to overtake at fairly the same time.

Postby Rainman » September 24th, 2012, 8:18 pm

Antiviru$ wrote:ok so i was riding with my bredrin along the taskr road (coming from princes town) heading in a westerly direction, two idiots driving lame infront so he (my padna) proceeded to overtake the first car(car#2) low and behold as soon as he gets up on the side of the car, mr man(car#2) decides to overtake the car infront of him(car#1). Car#2 comes into contact with my padna car, causing damage to Car#2right side rear fender and my padna front bumper and fender........Who is the person that is negligible / wrong in this case??? Police said they cant say unless they measure road and shitz, so c to settle outside insurance...NOTE: the owner of the car (shot gun rider) is a popo...
My opinion is both of them each fix their own.... VIEWS, Personal Experiences Welcomed... thanks..

Can you please define the term "lame driving"?

Postby Mark! » September 24th, 2012, 8:18 pm

Antiviru$ the most important thing is if this happened on a public holiday? If it did then you buddy may be facing charges of breaching the Non-Peak Time Overtaking Act.

Postby Bizzare » September 24th, 2012, 8:21 pm

^So would the other fella, right? :lol:
daz ah srs charge

Postby Bizzare » September 24th, 2012, 8:24 pm

But there's a section of the act, that would deem the OP's padna wrong. He initiated the overtaking process. correct me if I'm wrong.

Postby pioneer » September 24th, 2012, 8:29 pm

OP is wrong, face it.

Postby rfari » September 24th, 2012, 8:29 pm

Mark! wrote:Antiviru$ the most important thing is if this happened on a public holiday? If it did then you buddy may be facing charges of breaching the Non-Peak Time Overtaking Act.

That Act was revoke and boboy from by sugars and dem geh fired.
OP, based on the info provided, it seems like car#2 is wrong.

Postby Mark! » September 24th, 2012, 8:32 pm

Bizzare wrote:But there's a section of the act, that would deem the OP's padna wrong. He initiated the overtaking process. correct me if I'm wrong.

You are correct, Antiviru$ friend did it first, so even though the other car overtook as well, he would be excluded since his overtaking technically occurred within another overtaking.

Antiviru$

Postby Antiviru$ » September 24th, 2012, 8:34 pm

Bizzare wrote:^So would the other fella, right? :lol:
daz ah srs charge

hence my reason for saying them both wrong....

Postby r3iXmann » September 24th, 2012, 8:42 pm

you'd both get wrong..was in a similar bouncident some years ago

the explanation provided is that both parties would have to be 'seeking permission' from a car on the opposite lane..

Antiviru$

Postby Antiviru$ » September 24th, 2012, 8:52 pm

r3iXmann wrote:you'd both get wrong..was in a similar bouncident some years ago

the explanation provided is that both parties would have to be 'seeking permission' from a car on the opposite lane..

so what was the final outcome??? both parties fixed their own vehicles??? POPO got involved???

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » September 24th, 2012, 9:06 pm

many factors can come into play. was there a solid white line or a broken one? if solid no one should have been overtaking. when overtaking did you sound your horn to warn other drivers of your intention? lame driving means what exactly? 50 kmph is the limit did you want to go faster? where the damage occured may indicate that the vehicle you were in made the first move and the other driver pulled without checking but if other factors exist it may not work in your favor.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 24th, 2012, 9:15 pm

you both would have to bear the fixes yourselves... police ain't gonna do squat and would eventually waste ya'll time with one set of runaround...

Antiviru$

Postby Antiviru$ » September 24th, 2012, 9:21 pm

^^ as stated, its the tasker road there has no road lined for the majority of the road, and yes my buddy did overtake first and Car#2 came into contact with my buddy car (front left side bumper and fender) car#2right side rear fender...

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 24th, 2012, 10:08 pm

forgive me if im wrong but aren't the police in any position to say who is right and who is wrong, that is for the insurance investigators to decide?? i always hear people saying the police say this and that but all they take in their report is if either party accepts liability.....if none decide, the insurance would have to do their own investigation and determine such even if it has to go to court.

again i could be wrong...
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on September 24th, 2012, 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby black start » September 24th, 2012, 10:31 pm

^That's correct. Police have no say. Its up to the investigators to decide based on all the info that was given and what was investigated...

Postby BrotherHood » September 25th, 2012, 12:49 am

Some interesting points were raised and after reading the first post of the OP I would say thyat car #2 is wrong. If this goes to insurance, I think both parties will be held accountable.

Postby eliteauto » September 25th, 2012, 1:01 am

the purpose of reporting an accident to the Police is twofold, the Police will determine if there is a breach of M.V & R.T.A (chap 48:50) hence the reason they are supposed to warn you of intended prosecution when you make a report, secondly when you make a claim the insurance investigator will laise with the police investigator and request a copy of the report in making their determination of laibility

Postby rollingstock » September 25th, 2012, 5:50 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:forgive me if im wrong but aren't the police in any position to say who is right and who is wrong, that is for the insurance investigators to decide?? i always hear people saying the police say this and that but all they take in their report is if either party accepts liability.....if none decide, the insurance would have to do their own investigation and determine such even if it has to go to court.

again i could be wrong...

So if the police want to charge someone for a breach of the mv&rt act as a result of an accident they hadda call the insurance investigator, "eh fadda who wrong dey dan?"

:lol: just some fyi the insurance usually goes with the decision of the police, and if they do change their stance, and you decide to contest it in court the court goes with the decision of the police, they however assign % liability.

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 25th, 2012, 6:17 am

^ thats if you are third party..full comp insurance fix your car and then choose to recover their monies...

thanks eliteauto for clearing it up....like i said i could be wrong.....besides vehicular manslaughter, has anyone ever been charged for anything else in an accident??

Postby rollingstock » September 25th, 2012, 7:14 am

^ yep, many times....."if a tree falls in a forest and there's no one there to hear it. does it make a noise?"

Postby RBphoto » September 25th, 2012, 7:23 am

The car in which the popo was sitting will always be right. Deresahallyur could lick allyuh wounds and fix yuh bloddy car and move on with life. That said... the M2 is no place to overtake. Juss chill at the speed limit and you will be ok.

Postby wagonrunner » September 25th, 2012, 11:12 am

crossdrilled wrote:the M2 is no place to overtake. Juss chill at the speed limit and you will be ok.
:?
Quite a bit of vehicles there don't get anywhere close to the speed limit (crims / shitty suspension).
What do you recommend then?

Postby r3iXmann » September 25th, 2012, 11:21 am

Antiviru$ wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:you'd both get wrong..was in a similar bouncident some years ago

so what was the final outcome??? both parties fixed their own vehicles??? POPO got involved???

yup..made a report to the station, both parties got wrong..went through insurance, and the explanation above is what was provided :|

Postby nervewrecker » September 25th, 2012, 11:32 am

randon question:

If this on the highway, there is no opposite lane to seek permission from any on coming car, who wrong?

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » September 25th, 2012, 11:34 am

OP i think ur pardner wrong cus he should have blown a lil horn or something before proceeding to overtake ...to me ur story sounds like ur pardner was the one that drove recklessly

Postby nervewrecker » September 25th, 2012, 11:37 am

So the car in front has non functional mirrors?

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » September 25th, 2012, 11:38 am

Antiviru$ wrote:bredrin

Isn't that what you call a rasta in a bakery?