PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

PH365Star

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby PH365Star » September 19th, 2012, 2:18 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:
PH365Star wrote:quick question guys....one 256GB SSD or two 128GB SSD?

Well personally i'll go with one 256.

why is that your preference?

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 19th, 2012, 2:37 pm

PH365Star wrote:
ichiniisama99 wrote:
PH365Star wrote:quick question guys....one 256GB SSD or two 128GB SSD?

Well personally i'll go with one 256.

why is that your preference?

Well two 128's might double the performance but it may not be that noticeable, plus in the future you can add another 256 and RAID them. I guess it depends on what you want to do, if you wanna use a separate ssd for your stuff so you can replace it without having to redo the entire system. It's up to you.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 19th, 2012, 9:09 pm

The safer thing would be to go with the single ssd, the average user prob won't notice the diff anyway. Two in a raid 0 is purely 'pips' ting

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » September 19th, 2012, 9:59 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:The safer thing would be to go with the single ssd, the average user prob won't notice the diff anyway. Two in a raid 0 is purely 'pips' ting

Nah not really nah. Yuh does see the difference 1 time as you use a raid 0 ssd setup. I had 2 crusial m4 ssd and i sorry i sold the other 1. Had it for 1 day. LOL.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 19th, 2012, 10:13 pm

mickey17 wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:The safer thing would be to go with the single ssd, the average user prob won't notice the diff anyway. Two in a raid 0 is purely 'pips' ting

Nah not really nah. Yuh does see the difference 1 time as you use a raid 0 ssd setup. I had 2 crusial m4 ssd and i sorry i sold the other 1. Had it for 1 day. LOL.

But would you use two 128's as opposed to one 256?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 19th, 2012, 10:21 pm

mickey17 wrote:

Dunno abt ssd in RAID 0 but two mechanical hdds in raid 0 makes a huge diff over a single drive (well for me anyway).

Wanna try two wd caviar black 1tb in raid 0 next year, dem drives supposed to perform nice. :shock:

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 19th, 2012, 11:01 pm

Now got around to playing portal 1 and 2

it is soooooo much win

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 24th, 2012, 6:58 am

aye....wey everybody jed? anyway, found this was cool, gaming desktop icons:

http://deleket.deviantart.com/art/Gamin ... k-42723812

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » September 24th, 2012, 8:56 am

everybody only playing bf3 these days. I dunno wa wrong to them nah. I would so use the NES controller 1.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 24th, 2012, 9:36 am

mickey17 wrote:everybody only playing bf3 these days. I dunno wa wrong to them nah. I would so use the NES controller 1.

Borderlands 2 FTW. :twisted:

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 24th, 2012, 9:42 am

mickey17 wrote:everybody only playing bf3 these days. I dunno wa wrong to them nah. I would so use the NES controller 1.

Ent? can't beat classic.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » September 24th, 2012, 11:03 am

ichiniisama99 wrote:

Ent? can't beat classic.

never can u beat classic

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » September 24th, 2012, 11:04 am

HCCA wrote:

Borderlands 2 FTW. :twisted:

ohhh geeeeedddddd. I ent play it though will download it and see

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 24th, 2012, 11:05 am

I'm replaying Zelda Ocarina of Time right now. Might actually get the 3d version for the 3ds.

xaira

Postby xaira » September 26th, 2012, 3:48 pm

anybody know the admin password for the SEA laptops this year?(send pm) they have this thing srsly lock down, cant even allow java to update itself without asking for pwd, cant even log into home wireless network, you have to select public as location, was going to wipe the hdd but i hear they will be checking them from time to time.

Specs
Hp Probook 4440s
Intel Pentium B970
2GB DDR3
320GB Hitachi 7mm thin drive
PS the optical bay comes with a filler so no optical drive

Elyon

Postby Elyon » September 26th, 2012, 4:14 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:War for cybertron was pretty decent @ 1st but I found it a lil monotonous. Gonna check out Sleeping dogs if I could ever pull myslf away from BF3.

@Elyon / ichiniisama99 yall on battlelog??

Haven't played bf3 in a while, guild wars 2 just sucked up my life but I already added u.

battlefield 3

Postby battlefield 3 » September 26th, 2012, 5:50 pm

xaira wrote:anybody know the admin password for the SEA laptops this year?(send pm) they have this thing srsly lock down, cant even allow java to update itself without asking for pwd, cant even log into home wireless network, you have to select public as location, was going to wipe the hdd but i hear they will be checking them from time to time.

Specs
Hp Probook 4440s
Intel Pentium B970
2GB DDR3

if u get through pm me na bro

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 26th, 2012, 6:47 pm

xaira wrote:anybody know the admin password for the SEA laptops this year?(send pm) they have this thing srsly lock down, cant even allow java to update itself without asking for pwd, cant even log into home wireless network, you have to select public as location, was going to wipe the hdd but i hear they will be checking them from time to time.

Specs
Hp Probook 4440s
Intel Pentium B970
2GB DDR3

Pretty decent specs dere if is just for schoolwork they purposed for.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 26th, 2012, 6:52 pm

Those SEA Laptops are password specific for the IT admins,as in each school would be different depending on what password the IT Tech for the school comes up with.Same as Bios password except for the 2nd year lenevo laptops,which have no bios passwords.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 26th, 2012, 9:37 pm

Elyon wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:War for cybertron was pretty decent @ 1st but I found it a lil monotonous. Gonna check out Sleeping dogs if I could ever pull myslf away from BF3.

@Elyon / ichiniisama99 yall on battlelog??

Haven't played bf3 in a while, guild wars 2 just sucked up my life but I already added u.

Serious, what name?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 26th, 2012, 9:38 pm

If anyone's interested selling my G930

Postby ismithx » September 27th, 2012, 8:26 am

been busy playing this: http://na.leagueoflegends.com/

pretty cool MMO if you ask me, all my friends ponging it right now, so...... i inside

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 27th, 2012, 10:58 am

ru$$ell wrote:Those SEA Laptops are password specific for the IT admins,as in each school would be different depending on what password the IT Tech for the school comes up with.Same as Bios password except for the 2nd year lenevo laptops,which have no bios passwords.

It have many ways around that .

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 27th, 2012, 1:06 pm

xaira

Postby xaira » September 27th, 2012, 1:39 pm

ps any body who get the bright idea to unplug the bios battery...dont, wont change anything

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 27th, 2012, 1:55 pm

I know someone who got it open to admin. I'll find out and PM you it...because there's a particular format for the password. It's probably by school.

BTW guys....i'm looking for an upgrade for my CPU cooler. I'm currently using a Corsair H60 and imo it's garbage. Temps are horrible :| I was thinking of just applying new paste and using a push pull config with two Ultra Kaze fans or Just get a V6GT/NH-D14. I'm using an i7 950 CPU. I know it's kinda old (45nm architecture) so more heat but the H60 came out before SB/IV so I don't think my CPU is the culprit.

Also My ambient temps are not high either and my clocks are stock.
@Stock Clocks my temps on the individual cores are >=65 and not even under load. Sometimes even in the 70s :|

Also not sure about the V6GT/NH-D14 as it's large and it may get in the way with my memory and memory fan.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 27th, 2012, 3:38 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote::lol:
I know someone who got it open to admin. I'll find out and PM you it...because there's a particular format for the password. It's probably by school.

BTW guys....i'm looking for an upgrade for my CPU cooler. I'm currently using a Corsair H60 and imo it's garbage. Temps are horrible :| I was thinking of just applying new paste and using a push pull config with two Ultra Kaze fans or Just get a V6GT/NH-D14. I'm using an i7 950 CPU. I know it's kinda old (45nm architecture) so more heat but the H60 came out before SB/IV so I don't think my CPU is the culprit.

Also My ambient temps are not high either and my clocks are stock.
@Stock Clocks my temps on the individual cores are >=65 and not even under load. Sometimes even in the 70s :|

Also not sure about the V6GT/NH-D14 as it's large and it may get in the way with my memory and memory fan.

Dem corsair all in one with d exception of the h80 and h100 nuh really made to handle those old a$$ hot cpus nah (especially in our climate).

You could prob try a push pull fan config using high airflow fans with a high static air pressure rating. XSPC and coolermaster sickleflow fans good enuff for that.

Or get a nice air cooler. Had two h50's already and midrange aircoolers beat dey tail. :lol:

I go have to pull some screeshots of my previous 1366 system and see what my temps were yes.

Used a noctua air hsf, h50 and a custom liquid cooling setup on that setup when i had it.

Now my me2 system (2600k) getting like 38 degrees idle/65-68 degrees max @ 4.2Ghz with a custom liquid setup.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 27th, 2012, 6:02 pm

Thanks man :)

Thanks for pointing out my old CPU as well :oops: 2shame
lol jk

I'm not to sure about NH-D14 working with my board as there is my RAM cooler for my dominators and MOSFET coolers on both sides of the CPU and a Northbridge heatsink under the socket as well :lol:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 27th, 2012, 7:08 pm

^^The noctua should work, just u may have to relocate the ram to a slot furthest away from the cooler.

That's the usual con with those tower style heatsinks.

The heatsinks on the rest of areas shouldn't bother the cooler unless u have one of those evga boards with the tall vrm heatsink on it in which case u would have to bend it a bit or cut it.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 27th, 2012, 7:09 pm

^ Why don't you invest ina H80 / Antec Kulher 620/920?