PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

firstchoicett

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby firstchoicett » September 14th, 2012, 7:55 am

Those cards are great cards in the early yes.

Elyon

Postby Elyon » September 14th, 2012, 1:53 pm

anyone seen this yet?

http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.ph ... S-MARS-III

very nice, usually asus direct cu ii coolers are triple slot even the Mars II was triple slot, this thing is dual slot! with rumored 8gb gddr5!

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 14th, 2012, 2:33 pm

Elyon wrote:anyone seen this yet?

http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.ph ... S-MARS-III

very nice, usually asus direct cu ii coolers are triple slot even the Mars II was triple slot, this thing is dual slot! with rumored 8gb gddr5!

3 x 8 pin pcie power plugs??? :shock:

Nah man.

The cooler pweety though. :lol:

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 14th, 2012, 2:49 pm

^^Thought it was just me... like a guy said on that page, "it will require a small nuclear reactor to power it" :crazyeyes: wonder what those requirements really are.

Elyon

Postby Elyon » September 14th, 2012, 3:04 pm

well it has 2 gtx 680 cores on it plus 8gb gddr5 and those 680's are going to be overclocked, so 3 eight pins sound a little weak to me considering reference gtx 680's use 2 six pins but asus's gtx 680's direct cu ii's use an 8+6 besides this thing is aimed to outperform two 680's in sli...

I agree also HCCA the cooler looks pretty always loved asus's rog colorscheme but something like that should have a full liquid cooling bracket like EVGA hydro copper stuff.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 14th, 2012, 3:33 pm

^ that's a lot if power .... I'm really missing my gaming rig yes.....

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 14th, 2012, 8:56 pm

firstchoicett wrote:^ that's a lot if power .... I'm really missing my gaming rig yes.....

wham bro you sell it? What you had in it so?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 15th, 2012, 7:26 am

ichiniisama99 wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:^ that's a lot if power .... I'm really missing my gaming rig yes.....

wham bro you sell it? What you had in it so?

i7 980 X, rampage3 , 12 GB GT 2000mhz 7970 , water cooling , 1500 watts Psu and corsair 800 D gone for 8500.

I have a i7 3960 X sitting one my desk might build back me monster for d Christmas if Santa pass lol.

PH365Star

OCZ Vertex 4 SSD vs. Corsair Force GT

Postby PH365Star » September 15th, 2012, 11:56 am

Tough choice guys! tech advice needed!

which do you prefer/think is better?

http://www.ocztechnology.com/ocz-vertex ... 5-ssd.html

VS.

http://www.corsair.com/en/force-series- ... drive.html

tell me what you think. or do you have a suggestion of ur own based on personal experiences? let me know.

mickey17

Re: OCZ Vertex 4 SSD vs. Corsair Force GT

Postby mickey17 » September 15th, 2012, 1:07 pm

PH365Star wrote:Tough choice guys! tech advice needed!

VS.

tell me what you think. or do you have a suggestion of ur own based on personal experiences? let me know.

corsair. If you look at reviews vertex ssd works gr8 but not for long. They have lots of BOSD issues with them as well. Corsair isn't the best either but much better than ocz.

iM@st@1

Re: OCZ Vertex 4 SSD vs. Corsair Force GT

Postby iM@st@1 » September 15th, 2012, 2:29 pm

mickey17 wrote:
PH365Star wrote:Tough choice guys! tech advice needed!

VS.

corsair. If you look at reviews vertex ssd works gr8 but not for long. They have lots of BOSD issues with them as well. Corsair isn't the best either but much better than ocz.

Could personally vouch for the corsair, mines running BSOD free since Nov '11. Very solid performing ssd. You could also look @ the Samsung 830 / Intel 520 series if you looking for some of the best.

blaze@16

Postby blaze@16 » September 15th, 2012, 4:37 pm

Anyone knows where i can purchase a Razer Naga MMO RPG mouse locally, i saw they were selling in somewhere via the newpapers but i cant remember :(

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 15th, 2012, 4:50 pm

blaze@16 wrote:Anyone knows where i can purchase a Razer Naga MMO RPG mouse locally, i saw they were selling in somewhere via the newpapers but i cant remember :(

Check this:

http://www.thewizzcomputers.com/phocado ... ubilee.pdf

blaze@16

Postby blaze@16 » September 15th, 2012, 4:52 pm

diz the ting self man thanks a bunch!

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 17th, 2012, 12:17 am

Anyone into transformers? You know they have a history of really bad games, in my opinion anyway. But the newest one is pretty good, like the classic one the older ones would know. check out meh gameplay:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RyIKnjJG ... ure=relmfu

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 17th, 2012, 9:26 am

ichiniisama99 wrote:Anyone into transformers? You know they have a history of really bad games, in my opinion anyway. But the newest one is pretty good, like the classic one the older ones would know. check out meh gameplay:

Fighting with Grimlock was the best part for me, overall the game was very enjoyable.

Unfortunately was too short as always :(

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 17th, 2012, 10:52 am

HCCA wrote:
ichiniisama99 wrote:Anyone into transformers? You know they have a history of really bad games, in my opinion anyway. But the newest one is pretty good, like the classic one the older ones would know. check out meh gameplay:

Fighting with Grimlock was the best part for me, overall the game was very enjoyable.

I agree... for a transformers game it was classic. And yeah too short, at least there's online play :D

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 18th, 2012, 2:28 pm

Anyone here plays super street fighter 4 arcade edition online on PC?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 18th, 2012, 5:14 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:
HCCA wrote:

I agree... for a transformers game it was classic. And yeah too short, at least there's online play :D

I dont play anything beside LoL and SOFII now. I still play some cod4 sometimes and used to MW2. Bought MW3 and hated it, played it twice. I think I'll download a cracked copy of this. Not paying $60 on steam for it lol.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 18th, 2012, 5:33 pm

Soul Collector wrote:I dont play anything beside LoL and SOFII now. I still play some cod4 sometimes and used to MW2. Bought MW3 and hated it, played it twice. I think I'll download a cracked copy of this. Not paying $60 on steam for it lol.

Steam does have plenty sales throughout the year so u can get games dirt cheap.

Hoping to get some this year end for my collection. :D

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 18th, 2012, 5:38 pm

HCCA wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:I dont play anything beside LoL and SOFII now. I still play some cod4 sometimes and used to MW2. Bought MW3 and hated it, played it twice. I think I'll download a cracked copy of this. Not paying $60 on steam for it lol.

So true. I bought Fallout 3 GOTY edition for $5 on steam summer sale.
Fallout New Vegas Ultimate Edition $10

Elder Scroll 4 Oblivion GOTY Deluxe Edition. Countless DLC yuh cah done play that. Paid $7

Paid $7 for the Entire GTA 4 collection.

Its nice that steam manages all the patches and gives you hours play time etc. Can't see myself bothering to hunt down crack and torrent when steam is so cheap and convenient. Not to mention steam cloud and ability to play games anywhere on any PC without having to walk around with DVD or external HDD etc.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 18th, 2012, 5:44 pm

HCCA wrote:

I waited for xmas to come just after the release of MW3 cuz I just knew there would be a sale and lo and behold I got it for $45 lol. Only way I'll buy this Transformers game is if the online play is any bit decent and if I know anyone who plays online. I think I too lazy to really care about any new games tho, getting this cuz it looking pretty cool and well I like transformers lol.

Yeah steam is a great service. Only bought MW2 and MW3 off it. And no hunting required, I got it in less than 1 minute, literally lol. Its downloading right now.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 19th, 2012, 10:27 am

Soul Collector wrote:
HCCA wrote:

I waited for xmas to come just after the release of MW3 cuz I just knew there would be a sale and lo and behold I got it for $45 lol. Only way I'll buy this Transformers game is if the online play is any bit decent and if I know anyone who plays online. I think I too lazy to really care about any new games tho, getting this cuz it looking pretty cool and well I like transformers lol.

Yeah steam is a great service. Only bought MW2 and MW3 off it. And no hunting required, I got it in less than 1 minute, literally lol. Its downloading right now.

Well if you like Transformers you'll like this game. Honestly every single Trans game, i hated. But fall of cybertron and war for cybertron (the prequel) actually tell the story while they were still on cybertron. The dialog is not stale and the characters are just like they supposed to be. Especially if you watched the cartoon, you'll like it. The online is decent, and pretty intense. You won't be disappointed if you're a fan.

Elyon

Postby Elyon » September 19th, 2012, 10:57 am

problem I had with fall of cybertron was that I'm forced to play as decepticons. that turned me off

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 19th, 2012, 11:35 am

Elyon wrote:problem I had with fall of cybertron was that I'm forced to play as decepticons. that turned me off

:lol: well yeah. It wasn that bad though, but it got to a point where i felt like "jeez i doh want to play with them", but i guess they wanted you to get both sides of the story. War for cybertron though you could have chosen the side you wanted to play with. I haven't played the decepticons' side up to this day. :lol:

PH365Star

Postby PH365Star » September 19th, 2012, 1:35 pm

quick question guys....one 256GB SSD or two 128GB SSD?

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 19th, 2012, 1:46 pm

PH365Star wrote:quick question guys....one 256GB SSD or two 128GB SSD?

Well personally i'll go with one 256.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 19th, 2012, 1:53 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:
PH365Star wrote:quick question guys....one 256GB SSD or two 128GB SSD?

Well personally i'll go with one 256.

But two 128gb in raid 0 :twisted:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 19th, 2012, 1:56 pm

War for cybertron was pretty decent @ 1st but I found it a lil monotonous. Gonna check out Sleeping dogs if I could ever pull myslf away from BF3.

@Elyon / ichiniisama99 yall on battlelog??

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 19th, 2012, 2:01 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:War for cybertron was pretty decent @ 1st but I found it a lil monotonous. Gonna check out Sleeping dogs if I could ever pull myslf away from BF3.

@Elyon / ichiniisama99 yall on battlelog??

Na bro i dont own bf3 yet.