Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Swisha » September 8th, 2012, 6:46 pm

lookin like my next wallpaper 8-)

birdykins11

Postby birdykins11 » September 9th, 2012, 2:07 pm

Anyone knows about/used a good writing app for the ipad 2...with both hand writing and typing features that could sync with a pc and view it as it is on the ipad?
I downloaded Goodnotes for ipad and it works great but i cant open the file on my pc to view my notes

shandyman

Postby shandyman » September 9th, 2012, 6:04 pm

birdykins11 wrote:Anyone knows about/used a good writing app for the ipad 2...with both hand writing and typing features that could sync with a pc and view it as it is on the ipad?
I downloaded Goodnotes for ipad and it works great but i cant open the file on my pc to view my notes

I use notability and Dropbox together. Works good for taking notes in school. You can also do audio recording. You can choose to save your documents in the native notability format or convert them to RTF and PDF. I personally convert to PDF + audio and sync to my Dropbox so that I can access my files from anywhere.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 9th, 2012, 8:34 pm

3 more days :P

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 9th, 2012, 11:12 pm

Swisha wrote:lookin like my next wallpaper 8-)

http://www.imore.com/apple-september-12-event-wallpaper

Postby M_2NR » September 10th, 2012, 1:58 am

I think I saw it posted in the android thread...
Anyone noticed this:
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1347256618.604074.jpg

xtech

Postby xtech » September 10th, 2012, 7:01 am

Installed it about 2 months ago works

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 10th, 2012, 7:52 am

2 more days can't wait .

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 10th, 2012, 10:30 am

firstchoicett wrote:2 more days can't wait .

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » September 10th, 2012, 11:44 am

Strauss wrote:

I can wait... My s3 keeps me occupied. The new iphone better beat it or else!

Postby Stephon. » September 10th, 2012, 11:57 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
Strauss wrote:

It won't lol

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 10th, 2012, 12:14 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
Strauss wrote:

In terms of what?
Screen size? Nope.

What new phone features you want the iPhone 5 to have?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 10th, 2012, 12:39 pm

Strauss wrote:What new phone features you want the iPhone 5 to have?

If you could combine an iPhone with a Swiss Army knife, it would be the most epic phone ever created.

Postby pete » September 10th, 2012, 12:47 pm

How bout:

1. Ability to mount the phone as a drive to easily transfer files to/from it
2. A way to easily switch on/off wifi, bluetooth, gps, auto rotation etc

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 10th, 2012, 2:12 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Strauss wrote:What new phone features you want the iPhone 5 to have?

If you could combine an iPhone with a Swiss Army knife, it would be the most epic phone ever created.

agreed !!!!

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 10th, 2012, 3:32 pm

pete wrote:How bout:

1. Ability to mount the phone as a drive to easily transfer files to/from it
2. A way to easily switch on/off wifi, bluetooth, gps, auto rotation etc

Oh yea I'd like #2.

#1 I don't see happening as the iPhone is also an iPod w/ iTunes music store. The record labels call the shots when it comes to DRM. Apple has to follow the rules set by these big companies to prevent people from just coping music FROM your iPhone to your PC.

Postby pete » September 10th, 2012, 3:39 pm

How about
#3. Switch from that apple proprietary charging port to a standard MicroUSB port which EVERYONE else uses

Cause really.. what's the advantage of the apple docking port over microusb?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 10th, 2012, 3:47 pm

^ they want to be different ....:-)

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 10th, 2012, 4:07 pm

pete wrote:How about
#3. Switch from that apple proprietary charging port to a standard MicroUSB port which EVERYONE else uses

The extra pins to control car decks, home stereos, data from your shoes, bio-feedback devices (heart rate), military hardware (special ops rifles) etc

i.e. you don't see "Samsung-ready" deck on your Lexus or BMW. There are lots of stuff out there that work with your iPhone/iPod/iPad and can be controlled both ways.

Postby pete » September 10th, 2012, 4:23 pm

Wait you need something special to plug into the iphone to get the nike+ to work? I thought it worked just so?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 10th, 2012, 5:33 pm

I know you used to need a dongle for Nike+ to work but apple has built it in on iPhones since the 3GS and the latest gen itouch has it.

Apple won't change it's dock connector in the 5 to a micro USB, too many peripherals have been designed solely to accomedate the 30 pin connector and it is logical that with the release of the 5 and the smaller apple connector they will release a converter from 30 pin to the new style.

Being said. If you really want to use a micro USB on your iPhone or idevice you can buy the converter online, Apple sells it in Europe due to the laws which require it. It should cost you 8-10 bucks for a genuine one on eBay or amazon.

Postby M_2NR » September 10th, 2012, 7:00 pm

pete yuh ent gone android yet?

But seriously why would they even go do such a thing and change to micro usb, all those 3rd party speaker makers thrive on making "iPod Ready" or "iPhone ready" devices. That alone markets their product. I'm sure apple also makes a killing from licensing that name and the 30-pin tech.

Don't expect anything major like that software wise. I was hoping for NFC since passbook is the latest fad but it seems it won't be coming this year. It is a pretty sucky way - the way iOS handles common files and no system toggles. Still. - but oh well. This is why I will be jailbreaking yet another generation.
Apple _never_ releases something too crazy(*cough besides Siri beta). Some (not me) say they take months/years of research to perfect it. I guess that's why you can have 2010 spec'd hardware running 2012/13 software and not lag....besides the battery life of course.

Postby pete » September 10th, 2012, 7:43 pm

I have gone android.. Only iOS device I have is a 2G ipod touch.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 10th, 2012, 8:12 pm

I don't see nfc coming in the 5, maybe in the '5S' to greater expand passbook and everyday usefulness, plus, I don't think I've seen nfc implemented anywhere locally yet no?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 10th, 2012, 10:06 pm

Good about the 5 is bigger screen:P

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 10th, 2012, 10:52 pm

the new iphone will have a micro usb to comply with EU standards imposed in 2011 and soon to be adopted by other countries..

http://arstechnica.com/apple/2011/10/ap ... standards/

The European Commission announced in 2009 that 10 mobile phone producers, including Apple, LG, Motorola, NEC, Nokia, Qualcomm, Research in Motion, Samsung, Sony Ericsson, and Texas Instruments, agreed to adopt a standardized charger in order to minimize the "needless electronic waste" caused by the proliferation and regular updating of mobile phones.

makes sense really... all devices can use the same wiring/peripherals etc

birdykins11

Postby birdykins11 » September 10th, 2012, 11:38 pm

shandyman wrote:
birdykins11 wrote:Anyone knows about/used a good writing app for the ipad 2...with both hand writing and typing features that could sync with a pc and view it as it is on the ipad?

I use notability and Dropbox together. Works good for taking notes in school. You can also do audio recording. You can choose to save your documents in the native notability format or convert them to RTF and PDF. I personally convert to PDF + audio and sync to my Dropbox so that I can access my files from anywhere.

Thanks buddy, it works great :)

sentraman

Postby sentraman » September 10th, 2012, 11:50 pm

Strauss wrote:
pete wrote:How about

i.e. you don't see "Samsung-ready" deck on your Lexus or BMW. There are lots of stuff out there that work with your iPhone/iPod/iPad and can be controlled both ways.

Samsung and other droids use bluetooth to stream music.. No need to plug in and jack in everything

Postby M_2NR » September 11th, 2012, 5:36 am

http://itunes.apple.com/app/youtube/id544007664

New YouTube app. You be the judge. Dont read any reviews before installing.

It honestly isn't as bad as I thought it would be.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 11th, 2012, 7:21 am

Less then 26 hours !!!!!