We Need This in Our Schools

Postby bluefete » September 7th, 2012, 5:20 pm

While we continue with our mollycoddling stupidity!!

Somebody give this man a medal.

Zero tolerance for tight pants, indiscipline, warns new Kingston College principal, Dave Myrie

Stoutly supported by the parents and guardians of Grade nine students, newly-installed principal of Kingston College, Dave Myrie, sternly laid down the letter of the law at Orientation on Wednesday and sounded a warning against indiscipline and the wearing of tight pants.

Against the backdrop of Kingston College's hallowed St Augustine Chapel, Myrie -- the stalwart credited with 'turning around' Wolmer's Boys School after disciplinary and other problems raised their ugly heads -- made it clear that school rules would be adhered to and that those boys who were not interested in education would not be allowed to waste the time of their peers or that of the teachers.

In a very conversational tone, he noted, "I am looking around and already I am seeing some hair styles looking like mohawks and afros. Those are not for school - the summer is over," he declared, adding, "I don't want to see those styles here tomorrow, so do what you know needs to be done."

Myrie, with slightly less calm, addressed the issue of dress -- tight pants to be precise.

"Some of you have developed a tendency to wear pants that are several sizes too small and looking like some names that I can't call here in church. The last man I know wear tight pants is somewhere in jail right now," he said in obvious reference to the incarcerated, self-styled Gaza Worl' Boss, Vybz Kartel.

"Look here ... I don't want to see tight pants here at Kingston College. We will not tolerate it. We will be having inspections at the gate in the mornings and you will be sent home if your pants are not in keeping with the dress code. We have a name for such persons who wear tight pants. 'Maama Man' is one such name and there are others that I could tell you outside of this chapel," Myrie said to prolonged applause from the parents as they nodded in approval of his every word.

"A long time dem fi do this," one mother said to no one in particular. "Dem bwoy ya a get way wid too much. Mi love how him sound!"

Prior to starting his tour of duty at KC, Myrie, according to the KC Times was the General Manager of Tastee Limited and before that he was an Executive within the Grace Kennedy Investment division. He served as principal of Wolmer’s Boy’s School for seven years. His work experience includes 13 years in England within the educational sector including stints as Regional Resource Officer, Senior Educational Welfare Officer, Schools Improvement Officer, Education Officer and Head of Special Educational Needs Department in three London Boroughs.

He holds a diploma in Education, a Post Graduate Diploma, and a Master of Arts Degree (Management).

Myrie, who was born in England to Jamaican parents, takes over from acting principal, the very personable Everton Burrell, who will once again serve in his substantive position as Vice Principal of the North Street Campus.

Interestingly, although Myrie is not a KC old boy, he fully understands and appreciates the Fortis culture, and this was made clear when he mentioned his tenure as principal as Wolmer's Boys, and quickly added, "I am saying this only once."

If Myrie does the job, and from all indications he will, then chances are he will indeed be baptized Fortis and undergo the blood transfusion that changes the colour of that substance from the usual red to the obligatory Fortis purple.

Dave Myrie

Chatychaty.com joins in welcoming Dave Myrie to Kingston College -- Yasmine Peru

Re: We Need This in Our Schools

Postby brams112 » September 7th, 2012, 5:35 pm

If we do that here it will be protest,violation of students to wear their religous hair style>via rasta,plats for boys and so on,i like the don't come to school if you dont want to learn part,this truly waste the time of teachers,place the students who want to learn in bad taste with the dunces and so on.''Long dem fi do this''here in trinidad get rid of the riff raff in schools,also get rid of the dunce teachers.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 7th, 2012, 6:12 pm

In Trinidad we need to start at the top to revamp everything...First we hadda get rid of the minister of education........

Postby DVSTT » September 7th, 2012, 7:29 pm

brams112 wrote:If we do that here it will be protest,violation of students to wear their religous hair style>via rasta,plats for boys and so on,i like the don't come to school if you dont want to learn part,this truly waste the time of teachers,place the students who want to learn in bad taste with the dunces and so on.''Long dem fi do this''here in trinidad get rid of the riff raff in schools,also get rid of the dunce teachers.

That protesting part is so true.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » September 7th, 2012, 8:13 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:In Trinidad we need to start at the top to revamp everything...First we hadda get rid of the minister of education........

true that, also we need some fresh faces in government

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » September 8th, 2012, 9:01 am

I'm all for getting rid of tight pants.

The hairstyle ting is a different issue tho. I'm mixed and have long curly hair. After finishing school, employers give me hell when I was looking for a job. Why? Because my hair too long. Forget the fact that I exceed the job requirements and passed every exam. They didnt want long hair. Full stop.

Let people be themselves nah man. If a man comfortable with a mohawk or dreads, leave him be. Performance and ability are what should matter, not looks.

Postby Chimera » September 8th, 2012, 9:31 am

kevinknr wrote:Let people be themselves nah man. If a man comfortable with a mohawk or dreads, leave him be.

they are leaving them be.

Leaving them out of their workplaces

Postby Les Bain » September 8th, 2012, 10:07 am

All for that. The point of a uniform is to get students accustomed to following established order. Although school chirren have traditionally made mods to uniforms to express they individuality, mohawks and bullerman pants should at least be backed up with good behaviour and A grades. If not...thas your ass business.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » September 8th, 2012, 10:14 am

A couple of years ago baggy pants was the problem in schools and now is tight pants.

These youths nowadays have no idea what they are about.

Less than 10yrs ago if you had on tight pants in school every man jack teasin you so look how
the scene change up.

Postby mero » September 8th, 2012, 11:01 am

Crackpot wrote:A couple of years ago baggy pants was the problem in schools and now is tight pants.

These youths nowadays have no idea what they are about.

Less than 10yrs ago if you had on tight pants in school every man jack teasin you so look how
the scene change up.

i agree with your first and last line

howwwwwever its all fashion man, the cycle transcends ever so often. While i agree that some of these pants are way too tight and look quite uncomfortable, thee old farts need to realise that they were once young and they were too part of the what's hot crowd. Its all a cycle of fashion; just like how bell bottoms once were, baggy ass pants that cover your entire shoe were, gun mouth pants, jreu curls,afros, corn rows, bald heads, Ronaldo muffs et al.

my problem however is that fashion does not equal style, and some of these clown feel the tighter the pants or t shirt the better they look. Most of them just flat out can't dress tbh.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 8th, 2012, 11:23 am

gunned pants and fresh Suade clarks :twisted:

ORRRRRR :lol:

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » September 8th, 2012, 11:37 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
kevinknr wrote:Let people be themselves nah man. If a man comfortable with a mohawk or dreads, leave him be.

And that's not fair. Shouldn't all men have an equal opportunity at a job? Regardless of hairstyle? Once its hygienic and well groomed, I don't see an issue.

Sadly, that's not how sheit works. 3rd world country mentality for real. :(

For the record, I didn't change my hairstyle and I still eventually found a good job, so there is still hope.

Postby rfari » September 8th, 2012, 6:04 pm

Why it takes this principal to instill discipline that should have been covered in the home?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 8th, 2012, 6:37 pm

rfari wrote:Why it takes this principal to instill discipline that should have been covered in the home?

yes....!! because parents looking for someone to pick up where they failed.....

Postby nemisis » September 8th, 2012, 6:38 pm

rfari wrote:Why it takes this principal to instill discipline that should have been covered in the home?

this!!!! If they leave home like that send them back

ken mohammed

Postby ken mohammed » September 8th, 2012, 7:07 pm

kevinknr wrote:I'm all for getting rid of tight pants.

The hairstyle ting is a different issue tho. I'm mixed and have long curly hair. After finishing school, employers give me hell when I was looking for a job. Why? Because my hair too long. Forget the fact that I exceed the job requirements and passed every exam. They didnt want long hair. Full stop.

Let people be themselves nah man. If a man comfortable with a mohawk or dreads, leave him be. Performance and ability are what should matter, not looks.

ken mohammed

Postby ken mohammed » September 8th, 2012, 7:10 pm

appearance have alot to do when its comes to companies today bro.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 14th, 2012, 7:30 am

ken mohammed wrote:appearance have alot to do when its comes to companies today bro.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 14th, 2012, 7:50 am

We need what in our schools? What exactly alyuh praising?

- Principals talking big during an orientation in front of parents?
- Parents saying, "Eh heh! Show them who is boss!" in response?
- Newly-installed school officials feeling they can change up everything dramatically and quickly?
- Fluffy optimistic articles that exploit public sentiment but contain very little substance?

What has the principal done other than talk? Most of what he said there is said (almost verbatim at times) at the start of every school year to new parents.

No wonder politicians does fool so many of alyuh so often.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 14th, 2012, 8:01 am

kevinknr wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:

And that's not fair. Shouldn't all men have an equal opportunity at a job? Regardless of hairstyle? Once its hygienic and well groomed, I don't see an issue.

For the record, I didn't change my hairstyle and I still eventually found a good job, so there is still hope.

You serious? Which corporate (not creative, corporate) environment in any developed country is liberal regarding employee dress and grooming?

Look up the employee dress code for JP Morgan, UBS or any other top investment bank or corporation in any developed country. UBS was telling emplyees what color underwear and nail polish to wear up until recently.

But hear de irony: Just as one imps saying a liberal dress code in a corporate environment is a First World mentality, a next imps go jump out and praise the rigid dress code as a disciplined, praiseworthy First World mentality.

Alyuh make up alyuh minds, nuh.

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » September 14th, 2012, 8:34 am

Humes wrote:
kevinknr wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:

You serious? Which corporate (not creative, corporate) environment in any developed country is liberal regarding employee dress and grooming?

Look up the employee dress code for JP Morgan, UBS or any other top investment bank or corporation in any developed country. UBS was telling emplyees what color underwear and nail polish to wear up until recently.

But hear de irony: Just as one imps saying a liberal dress code in a corporate environment is a First World mentality, a next imps go jump out and praise the rigid dress code as a disciplined, praiseworthy First World mentality.

Alyuh make up alyuh minds, nuh.

I don't appreciate your use of the words imps. Can't we have a discussion without insulting one another? :| Steups.

There are men with long hair in several fields and are not antagonized for it. I've seen doctors, politicians (Fitzgerald Hinds) and teachers/lecturers (Mr Jones of Presentation College was a Rasta AND a respected history teacher).

If anyone praise a rigid dress code, is not me so keep don't bother to direct any talk of irony at me. That is another man's opinion, I stand by MY opinion.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 14th, 2012, 8:47 am

So first you say that a rigid dress code is a third-world mentality. Then you point out that there are professions in this third world country that don't have rigid dress codes. You're proving my point.

Rigid dress codes aren't confined to any country or level of development. They exist in specific types of workplaces, regardless of country. Young people in the US and the UK complain just as much about their hairstyles and tattoos preventing them from getting jobs as you did earlier in this thread.

Therefore your "3rd world country mentality for real" comment was stupid. It was dumb. And typical of people who bawl third world", yet have very little idea how stuff works in developed countries.

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » September 14th, 2012, 2:41 pm

Humes wrote:So first you say that a rigid dress code is a third-world mentality. Then you point out that there are professions in this third world country that don't have rigid dress codes. You're proving my point.

Rigid dress codes aren't confined to any country or level of development. They exist in specific types of workplaces, regardless of country. Young people in the US and the UK complain just as much about their hairstyles and tattoos preventing them from getting jobs as you did earlier in this thread.

Therefore your "3rd world country mentality for real" comment was stupid. It was dumb. And typical of people who bawl third world", yet have very little idea how stuff works in developed countries.

I used local examples, yes. And yes, I'can't list any examples from a first world country. Why? Because I don't live in one. I live in a third world country. If there are no male long haired managers/business professionals/etc in the entire US and UK, past and present, then fine, call me wrong.

I don't care though. I maintain my position. It's unfair to deny a qualified, educated man a job because his hair is too long. Whether it's locally or abroad.

Also. you seem to get off on insulting people. Are you in a bad mood? Or are you always this obnoxious? :lol: Don't bother to answer. I won't reply.

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » September 14th, 2012, 4:16 pm

when they use to tell me to cut my hair in school ..i use to coast rel jed..my hair was shoulder length and kept neat..
in my opinion that is discrimination..

i remember a teacher telling a rasta he had to cut his hair cause it not acceptable for school.. everyone was like this man cant be serious..

there must be some sort of dress code.. but come on man .. sometimes these people rediculous

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » September 14th, 2012, 4:18 pm

Humes wrote:
YUBS was telling emplyees what color underwear and nail polish to wear[/url] up until recently.

waysssss wa colour and type underwear them girls had to wear.ahahhaha

granny panties not allowed

Humes

Postby Humes » September 15th, 2012, 1:35 pm

kevinknr wrote:I maintain my position. It's unfair to deny a qualified, educated man a job because his hair is too long. Whether it's locally or abroad.

Then just say that, and don't qualify it with uninformed ole talk about "third world".

The only reason one would bring developing or developed status into discussions like this is to draw a contrast. But if you're ignorant of what takes place in developed countries in this situation, as you just admitted, then you should just hush about what you don't know.

And you're not required to reply. In fact, considering the dotishness you've been posting so far, it's probably best if you don't.