brams112 wrote:If we do that here it will be protest,violation of students to wear their religous hair style>via rasta,plats for boys and so on,i like the don't come to school if you dont want to learn part,this truly waste the time of teachers,place the students who want to learn in bad taste with the dunces and so on.''Long dem fi do this''here in trinidad get rid of the riff raff in schools,also get rid of the dunce teachers.
*$kїđž!™ wrote:In Trinidad we need to start at the top to revamp everything...First we hadda get rid of the minister of education........
kevinknr wrote:Let people be themselves nah man. If a man comfortable with a mohawk or dreads, leave him be.
Crackpot wrote:A couple of years ago baggy pants was the problem in schools and now is tight pants.
These youths nowadays have no idea what they are about.
Less than 10yrs ago if you had on tight pants in school every man jack teasin you so look how
the scene change up.
ABA Trading LTD wrote:kevinknr wrote:Let people be themselves nah man. If a man comfortable with a mohawk or dreads, leave him be.
they are leaving them be.
Leaving them out of their workplaces
rfari wrote:Why it takes this principal to instill discipline that should have been covered in the home?
kevinknr wrote:I'm all for getting rid of tight pants.
The hairstyle ting is a different issue tho. I'm mixed and have long curly hair. After finishing school, employers give me hell when I was looking for a job. Why? Because my hair too long. Forget the fact that I exceed the job requirements and passed every exam. They didnt want long hair. Full stop.
Let people be themselves nah man. If a man comfortable with a mohawk or dreads, leave him be. Performance and ability are what should matter, not looks.
ken mohammed wrote:appearance have alot to do when its comes to companies today bro.
kevinknr wrote:ABA Trading LTD wrote:kevinknr wrote:Let people be themselves nah man. If a man comfortable with a mohawk or dreads, leave him be.
And that's not fair. Shouldn't all men have an equal opportunity at a job? Regardless of hairstyle? Once its hygienic and well groomed, I don't see an issue.
Sadly, that's not how sheit works. 3rd world country mentality for real.![]()
For the record, I didn't change my hairstyle and I still eventually found a good job, so there is still hope.
Humes wrote:kevinknr wrote:ABA Trading LTD wrote:kevinknr wrote:Let people be themselves nah man. If a man comfortable with a mohawk or dreads, leave him be.
And that's not fair. Shouldn't all men have an equal opportunity at a job? Regardless of hairstyle? Once its hygienic and well groomed, I don't see an issue.
Sadly, that's not how sheit works. 3rd world country mentality for real.![]()
For the record, I didn't change my hairstyle and I still eventually found a good job, so there is still hope.
You serious? Which corporate (not creative, corporate) environment in any developed country is liberal regarding employee dress and grooming?
Look up the employee dress code for JP Morgan, UBS or any other top investment bank or corporation in any developed country. UBS was telling emplyees what color underwear and nail polish to wear up until recently.
But hear de irony: Just as one imps saying a liberal dress code in a corporate environment is a First World mentality, a next imps go jump out and praise the rigid dress code as a disciplined, praiseworthy First World mentality.
Alyuh make up alyuh minds, nuh.
Humes wrote:So first you say that a rigid dress code is a third-world mentality. Then you point out that there are professions in this third world country that don't have rigid dress codes. You're proving my point.
Rigid dress codes aren't confined to any country or level of development. They exist in specific types of workplaces, regardless of country. Young people in the US and the UK complain just as much about their hairstyles and tattoos preventing them from getting jobs as you did earlier in this thread.
Therefore your "3rd world country mentality for real" comment was stupid. It was dumb. And typical of people who bawl third world", yet have very little idea how stuff works in developed countries.
Humes wrote:
YUBS was telling emplyees what color underwear and nail polish to wear[/url] up until recently.
kevinknr wrote:I maintain my position. It's unfair to deny a qualified, educated man a job because his hair is too long. Whether it's locally or abroad.