PUBLIC HOLIDAY - Monday 13th AUGUST 2012

Re: PUBLIC HOLIDAY - Monday 13th AUGUST 2012

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 12th, 2012, 9:15 pm

Bizzare wrote:Some of you extremely biased. When you were the employee, you celebrated holidays, now you're the employer...... "chinidad mediocre... wah dem wa holiday for..... i lozin out on meh morney"

I am still the employee, and a shareholder. But money that the company cannot earn directly affects my salary and my share dividends.

Trinidad already has too many national holidays. This month alone has three national holidays before this one was granted.

Why does one need a holiday to celebrate the achievements of our athletes?

geodude

Postby geodude » August 12th, 2012, 9:18 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Bizzare wrote:THIS IS FORKING TRINIDAD. I don't forking get why y'all must compare everything here to outside countries. We haven't seen a gold medal in forking 36 yrs. Is it the same for the US. We are a lot smaller than the US with a smaller economy. We do not produce athletes on the level the US does. YES , a gold medal means a lot more to us obviously :roll:
You have to be brainless to compare us to the US when it come to the Olympics.

Trinidad and Tobago compares itself to the USA for everything else...why not also the Olympics? As much as you try to distance yourself from the Yanks, the country and your countrymen continues to try and model itself to Uncle Sam. Trinidad, like so many other Caribbean islands draws its Westernized culture from USA culture. So your rant is nonsensical.

Bizzare wrote:This holiday has thrown me back on what was to be accomplished this week in the workplace. But it is one day, it's not gonna hurt so much to complain about it. How often do we get a holdiday declared like this. Those employed on a flat salary basis are very happy.

Not everyone is employed by the government or the private sector. More importantly, the issue isn't about a holiday being declared but the TIMING of its declaration. Complete lack of discernment by the government given the recent flooding disaster.

Bizzare wrote:I know very well all of y'all complaining in here home jumping up with yuh tanty and celebrating the day off tomorrow with the exception of AP - she doesn't even live here don't see how her input is valid. She is not affected by this like any of us are so I dunno if her views are even true to hersel

I do not have to reside in Trinidad and Tobago to call it like I see it: COMPLETE BOBOL.

the above is what as a country we should be truely ashamed off,
trini is a paradise, and as these things (such as holidays ) make being a trini one for the best things in the world we are a happy relaxed ppl that understand that productivity and money is not all these is to our existance, i suppose we have a holiday because we can, one day off and we will not be on the breadline, or facing repossession of your things,
only idiots would compare your country and ppl to other states that have had a very different history of development.

Postby Bizzare » August 12th, 2012, 9:23 pm

Rory, please be honest to yourself. You said it yourself that this directly affects your salary. If you were receiving a flat salary, would you be happy for the day off or not? Be honest.

This affects my salary also as I'm in the same position you hold within your company, in the department I work in. I'm not complaining. Those who work with me get a flat salary and they are happy. This doesn't affect me that much. I would be using the day off wisely or I can choose to do the work of 5 men if I'm so affected.

Postby rfari » August 12th, 2012, 9:34 pm

Ollur still here beating up on oh it have a holiday!!!!!ahahahahhahahahahha!!!!

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 12th, 2012, 9:36 pm

Bizzare wrote:Rory, please be honest to yourself. You said it yourself that this directly affects your salary. If you were receiving a flat salary, would you be happy for the day off or not? Be honest. . . .

It affects my salary in that less working days mean less profits realised which means:

"Sorry, we are not in a financial position to review your salary. You did get a very good performance evaluation though. Well done! Oh, by the way, we are not in a position to allocate a portion of the profits to share dividends. Sorry about that too. Would you like to purchase more shares? Some have just become available."

I do not receive overtime payments for the extra hours that I work. It is my choice to stay in my current job. I like what I do and I have had the same job since I left university many years ago. Money is not the sole motivator for where I work.

Again, I ask this question which no one seems to be able to give a sensible answer to.

Why does one need a national holiday to celebrate the achievements of our athletes?

Postby pioneer » August 12th, 2012, 9:38 pm

geodude wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
Bizzare wrote:THIS IS FORKING TRINIDAD. I don't forking get why y'all must compare everything here to outside countries. We haven't seen a gold medal in forking 36 yrs. Is it the same for the US. We are a lot smaller than the US with a smaller economy. We do not produce athletes on the level the US does. YES , a gold medal means a lot more to us obviously :roll:
You have to be brainless to compare us to the US when it come to the Olympics.

Trinidad and Tobago compares itself to the USA for everything else...why not also the Olympics? As much as you try to distance yourself from the Yanks, the country and your countrymen continues to try and model itself to Uncle Sam. Trinidad, like so many other Caribbean islands draws its Westernized culture from USA culture. So your rant is nonsensical.

Bizzare wrote:This holiday has thrown me back on what was to be accomplished this week in the workplace. But it is one day, it's not gonna hurt so much to complain about it. How often do we get a holdiday declared like this. Those employed on a flat salary basis are very happy.

Not everyone is employed by the government or the private sector. More importantly, the issue isn't about a holiday being declared but the TIMING of its declaration. Complete lack of discernment by the government given the recent flooding disaster.

Bizzare wrote:I know very well all of y'all complaining in here home jumping up with yuh tanty and celebrating the day off tomorrow with the exception of AP - she doesn't even live here don't see how her input is valid. She is not affected by this like any of us are so I dunno if her views are even true to hersel

I do not have to reside in Trinidad and Tobago to call it like I see it: COMPLETE BOBOL.

trini is a paradise, and as these things (such as holidays ) make being a trini one for the best things in the world we are a happy relaxed ppl that understand that productivity and money is not all these is to our existance, i suppose we have a holiday because we can, one day off and we will not be on the breadline, or facing repossession of your things,
only idiots would compare your country and ppl to other states that have had a very different history of development.

Waitwut...LOL...what else is there to our "existance" that you speak of?

The ignorance, laziness, backwardness, filthiness and lawlessness?

Surely you're proud of that?

I guess you're one those who think tall fancy buildings makes a country developed.

Postby Bizzare » August 12th, 2012, 9:41 pm

If y'all like the United States' way of doing things, go to the fuggin US.
I'm fedup of hearing the same sh1t spewed everyday. Why do some Trinidadians measure Trinidad's success based on how close we are able to mirror the US. Why can't we have an identity of our own. You know if the forkin US gave holidays for every achievement u wannabe americans would want the same here too. Why can't you go to the fugging US instead on whining here locally (no pun intended). If you're annoyed by ppl you label as "talknahs" go to the forking US. What's stopping you, got denied a "vizzay"?

Postby pioneer » August 12th, 2012, 9:43 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Bizzare wrote:Rory, please be honest to yourself. You said it yourself that this directly affects your salary. If you were receiving a flat salary, would you be happy for the day off or not? Be honest. . . .

It affects my salary in that less working days mean less profits realised which means:

"Sorry, we are not in a financial position to review your salary. You did get a very good performance evaluation though. Well done! Oh, by the way, we are not in a position to allocate a portion of the profits to share dividends. Sorry about that too. Would you like to purchase more shares? Some have just become available."

I do not receive overtime payments for the extra hours that I work. It is my choice to stay in my current job. I like what I do and I have had the same job since I left university many years ago. Money is not the sole motivator for where I work.

Again, I ask this question which no one seems to be able to give a sensible answer to.

Why does one need a national holiday to celebrate the achievements of our athletes?

It's a very simple answer that they're all trying to shy around but i'll take a hit for the team.

A: So they can "jump out" with boars, oars an talknahs echoing while jinkin dey rum on de streets celebrating their own pathetic lives.

Postby pioneer » August 12th, 2012, 9:50 pm

Bizzare wrote:If y'all like the United States' way of doing things, go to the fuggin US.
I'm fedup of hearing the same sh1t spewed everyday. Why do some Trinidadians measure Trinidad's success based on how close we are able to mirror the US. Why can't we have an identity of our own. You know if the forkin US gave holidays for every achievement u wannabe americans would want the same here too. Why can't you go to the fugging US instead on whining here locally (no pun intended). If you're annoyed by ppl you label as "talknahs" go to the forking US. What's stopping you, got denied a "vizzay"?

LOL trinilogic/10 here folks

The US/UK/Canada are all developed states, they didn't get there through laziness and ignorance. They fully well know the value of every cent. It's wrong to hope trinidad can one day be developed? Why should people leave? Or we must sit here and just accept failure because "we is trinis". Sorry to say but it's people with YOUR mentality is exactly why trinidad so backward.

I guess you chose to ignore the fact many trini companies do business with foreign companies with which several financial transactions take place. Tell a US or other foreign conglomerate you can't go to the bank on monday as scheduled to send a wire transfer because, someone got a gold medal so the entire country must roll over and play dead. Hope one day you might be able to realise the world operates on a global economy.

Then again, do you even have a job? Oh right you copy template-websites.

My bad, carry on.

Postby Bizzare » August 12th, 2012, 9:52 pm

If you're so displeased with the way things are going in Trinidad, why the fork don't you leave.

Postby pioneer » August 12th, 2012, 9:53 pm

Because I want to see the country improve.

Problem?

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2012, 9:57 pm

it's not about comparing to the US
until you own/run a business and have to collect money you will realise
the dents that public holidays put in your receivable
every holiday throws back your receivables by at least a week or two

Postby Bizzare » August 12th, 2012, 9:59 pm

pugboy wrote:it's not about comparing to the US
until you own/run a business....

stopped reading there. another biased post

Postby Bizzare » August 12th, 2012, 10:00 pm

pioneer wrote:Because I want to see the country improve.

Problem?

Yes, making posts on trinituner.com is a sure way to help.

Postby rfari » August 12th, 2012, 10:04 pm

Rell men sour in this ched yes

Postby Trini Hookah » August 12th, 2012, 10:11 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
Captainzaak wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:lol @holiday haters

anyone knows what time the olympic team is arriving at Piarco Intern'l Airport

Saw some where on FB that it's 9:45am.

today? wtfffffff i hadda go in the airport now

You planned on staying till tomorrow morning? :/

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 12th, 2012, 10:15 pm

so holiday tomorrow and next week monday for EID too....damn...lost income.....

Postby maj. tom » August 12th, 2012, 10:24 pm

I would like to contribute to this thread also:

meow meow meow meow, meow meow!!!
zeebu meow meow!!
MEOW?!!!
meoowwwwwwwwwwwww meow meow?

mew. meeowlll....

Databyte_Solutions

Postby Databyte_Solutions » August 12th, 2012, 10:26 pm

huh we win one gold and we geh ah holiday imagine if we did win 40 sumtin like d USA.....

no disrespect to the winner big ups an congrats bro on yuh achievement.

Postby S_2NR » August 12th, 2012, 10:32 pm

Bizzare wrote:If y'all like the United States' way of doing things, go to the fuggin US.

LOL trinilogic/10 here folks

The US/UK/Canada are all developed states, they didn't get there through laziness and ignorance. They fully well know the value of every cent. It's wrong to hope trinidad can one day be developed? Why should people leave? Or we must sit here and just accept failure because "we is trinis". Sorry to say but it's people with YOUR mentality is exactly why trinidad so backward.

I guess you chose to ignore the fact many trini companies do business with foreign companies with which several financial transactions take place. Tell a US or other foreign conglomerate you can't go to the bank on monday as scheduled to send a wire transfer because, someone got a gold medal so the entire country must roll over and play dead. Hope one day you might be able to realise the world operates on a global economy.

Then again, do you even have a job? Oh right you copy template-websites.

My bad, carry on.

save ur breath. it not worth it.

trini mentality: if it doesnt directly affect me, idgaf.
you cant just shut down an entire country just like that.

jamaica get a holiday?
ppl saying dont compare tt to us soo :lol:

Postby pioneer » August 12th, 2012, 10:36 pm

Why give a holiday today for tomorrow?

At least give people some prior notice to put things into place.

What about things that need to be done tomorrow? Schedules and appointments have been made.

brb third world country

geodude

Postby geodude » August 12th, 2012, 10:46 pm

geodude wrote:

Waitwut...LOL...what else is there to our "existance" that you speak of?

The ignorance, laziness, backwardness, filthiness and lawlessness?

Surely you're proud of that?

I guess you're one those who think tall fancy buildings makes a country developed.

wait what, you are the one that constantly labels Trinidad as a third world country because we fail in comparison to other "first world countries" therefore you are the one that thinks tall fancy buildings makes a country developed, and as such we should strive to emulate and copy what foreigners do.

With regards to our existence i meant ppl lives mean more than simple economic figures, ppl are more than a work force.
I guess you think that the purpose of life is to slave your entire life away in the pursuit of money? and anyone that does not share your view is mentally less developed than you because they place emphasis on other things?
So if we stop as a nation to celebrate the achievements of a few, how does this make us third world, if anything it makes us more unified as a nation and as a ppl, most of our national holidays celebrate the diversity of our ppl and in some extent makes various sectors of the population feel left out or basically feeling as if this celebration is "dem ppl ting", this event is a good opportunity to realise the achievements of a few and as a country celebrate them as one.
The fact that we can do this and put aside the need to run the rat race, i think shows more maturity as a ppl as we place the value where it should right be i.e celebrating the achievements of our ppl.
Productivity and economies of scale can and should always take a step backwards in the face of the joy of of our ppl, any county or ppl that cannot understand this are truly a backward, underdeveloped society, which we definitely are not.

Postby rfari » August 12th, 2012, 10:52 pm

All who vex with the holiday goto work. Dais all. De f*q. Who stopping ollur? Iron ollur infiniti shirt, pee and go in ollur bed.

Postby pioneer » August 12th, 2012, 11:01 pm

LOL ahahahahaha *wheeze*

Probably you need to remove the pie from your eyes, I never once hinted tall buildings = developed country.

Man is born as a money-making machine, perhaps you never heard the term homoeconomicus. It's up to us to realise our full potential. Then again I can see you fully well choose to wallow in mediocrity and non-productivity. Making money and being economically inclined is key to survival of the human race. Those that sit by and let life pass them by, accepting their failed lives because "thaz how it is" should end.themselves.

You use the words "can" and "should" as if you have tested this theory of yours? Did you not see what happens to superpower countries when they are shut down for a day or more? 9/11, japan tsunami, london bombing and other catastrophes meant nothing to you? Or you told yourself "izza chini" and continue living in your bubble. In case you haven't seen a world map, or have any idea how world economics work, other countries exist besides T&T.

Man gtfo this country with your backwardass self nah, you're the reason people still have no water or electricity and other basic amenities. And yes, we are underdeveloped.

brb letting someone else's gold medal to pay the bills

brb holiday is gonna alleviate poverty and reduce crime

Postby Gladiator » August 12th, 2012, 11:05 pm

pioneer wrote:Why give a holiday today for tomorrow?

What about things that need to be done tomorrow? Schedules and appointments have been made.

brb third world country

You said it right there...they can give a holiday no problem, but people need more than 12hrs notice. I can't imagine the mess things will be in on Tuesday. I didn't get a chance to put anything in place for tomorrow. And if I call out a worker I have to pay them triple time...

Postby rfari » August 12th, 2012, 11:07 pm

pioneer you seem lil upset. what's the matter?

Postby pioneer » August 12th, 2012, 11:08 pm

Gladiator wrote:
pioneer wrote:Why give a holiday today for tomorrow?

brb third world country

You said it right there...they can give a holiday no problem, but people need more than 12hrs notice. I can't imagine the mess things will be in on Tuesday. I didn't get a chance to put anything in place for tomorrow. And if I call out a worker I have to pay them triple time...

According to geodude and others, this builds our nation. It helps add value to our existence. Schedules and appointments is white ppl ting, we ear need dat.

Sorry for folks who have 7 & 8am flights tomorrow.

Postby Sky » August 12th, 2012, 11:09 pm

rfari wrote:All who vex with the holiday goto work. Dais all. De f*q. Who stopping ollur? Iron ollur infiniti shirt, pee and go in ollur bed.

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

My vacation leave starts tomorrow. HR already approved. And knowing my company, I lost that extra day. 1beatup.

I honestly fine we have nuttin to celebrate nah. De chile didn't even get gov't sponsorship to train in serious? Thas his victory yes, not the country's, sorry.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 12th, 2012, 11:13 pm

geodude wrote:wait what, you are the one that constantly labels Trinidad as a third world country because we fail in comparison to other "first world countries" therefore you are the one that thinks tall fancy buildings makes a country developed, and as such we should strive to emulate and copy what foreigners do.

Actually, comparison was made to other developing nations...or those that consider themselves developing. And yet still, TT fails in comparison. A more reasonable comparison would be that of Barbados v. Trinidad. Trinidad has more of the economic potential but squander it. Trinidad has the means to have a better infrastructure in place but based on what I have seen, it's like I am in the poorest villages of India. And well the crime rate....sigh.

geodude wrote:Productivity and economies of scale can and should always take a step backwards in the face of the joy of of our ppl, any county or ppl that cannot understand this are truly a backward, underdeveloped society, which we definitely are not.

WOW @ the bolded. Pios, they can't be serious.

Postby Sky » August 12th, 2012, 11:15 pm

Allyuh have AP likin sheself foqin up de country. After tonight she'll be good for 4 months yes.