PUBLIC HOLIDAY - Monday 13th AUGUST 2012

Re: PUBLIC HOLIDAY - Monday 13th AUGUST 2012

Postby sliderz1 » August 12th, 2012, 8:24 pm

impromptu holiday for 2nd olympic gold = 3rd world?
f*q allyuh

Postby Sky » August 12th, 2012, 8:25 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:Proof that Trinidad and Tobago will always be a Third World country. And all in light of the major disaster zone? Really, Kamla? Not even a full business day for affected victims to obtain needed supplies, water, food and more crew members to be present to effectively clean up the areas damaged by flooding?

Trinidad and Tobago is a complete hot mess! My heart also goes out to the self-employed who do not get paid even on the established public holidays in the country. This just means you will have to hustle harder to make out for lost earnings this week.

Enjoy your laziness, Trinidad and Tobago!

Have people who go to work, try to not do anything for the entire day now they celebrating another holiday.

third world forever

Well The Avenue will be crowded tonight. Money will be spent on alco, food and sex. Folks already dollzing up to head out for fete and celebrations while many of their fellow citizens are without electricity trying to find a place to shower and a bed to sleep on in Diego and surrounding communities.

As for tomorrow, folks will be too busy recovering from their drunken stupor to lend a helping hand and utilize the day off to help a victim.

But hey, you're celebrating country tomorrow and proud to be a Trini. :roll: :roll: :roll:

You suck for taking a shot at the country, but you're right.

Postby stev » August 12th, 2012, 8:28 pm

lol....Tuesday gonna be a hard day

Postby Bizzare » August 12th, 2012, 8:29 pm

was looking forward to new position tomorrow
a lot of employees are happy for this though. Don't give them wrong
Last edited by Bizzare on August 12th, 2012, 8:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

geodude

Postby geodude » August 12th, 2012, 8:30 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:Proof that Trinidad and Tobago will always be a Third World country. And all in light of the major disaster zone? Really, Kamla? Not even a full business day for affected victims to obtain needed supplies, water, food and more crew members to be present to effectively clean up the areas damaged by flooding?

Trinidad and Tobago is a complete hot mess! My heart also goes out to the self-employed who do not get paid even on the established public holidays in the country. This just means you will have to hustle harder to make out for lost earnings this week.

Have people who go to work, try to not do anything for the entire day now they celebrating another holiday.

third world forever

Well The Avenue will be crowded tonight. Money will be spent on alco, food and sex. Folks already dollzing up to head out for fete and celebrations while many of their fellow citizens are without electricity trying to find a place to shower and a bed to sleep on in Diego and surrounding communities.

As for tomorrow, folks will be too busy recovering from their drunken stupor to lend a helping hand and utilize the day off to help a victim.

But hey, you're celebrating country tomorrow and proud to be a Trini. :roll: :roll: :roll:

wtf, as if anyone was gonna go help anyway,
sometimes u ppl just be taking out of your arse just because you can

Postby Habit7 » August 12th, 2012, 8:30 pm

Postby rfari » August 12th, 2012, 8:30 pm

fack ollur,,,

Postby Stephon. » August 12th, 2012, 8:30 pm

called it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 12th, 2012, 8:31 pm

chevy3k wrote:can someone please clarify the difference;

NATIONAL HOLIDAY.

PUBLIC HOLIDAY.

Is it one and the same??
yes they are the same

"A public holiday, national holiday or legal holiday is a holiday generally established by law and is usually a non-working day during the year."

Rx

Postby Rx » August 12th, 2012, 8:31 pm

How allyuh does no these things? This thread was created at 6:36pm .. that's aby half an hour before the PM made the announcement.

De hell ! Neckto, yuh good... long time Bro

Postby S_2NR » August 12th, 2012, 8:34 pm

sliderz1 wrote:impromptu holiday for 2nd olympic gold = 3rd world?
f*q allyuh

how much medals the US got? did they announce any holiday :roll:

so if we got 5 gold medals = 5 days off?

this is the heights of BS.

Postby Habit7 » August 12th, 2012, 8:39 pm

Rx wrote:How allyuh does no these things? This thread was created at 6:36pm .. that's aby half an hour before the PM made the announcement.

De hell ! Neckto, yuh good... long time Bro

Friends in Maraval told me their MP told them since this morning

Postby sliderz1 » August 12th, 2012, 8:40 pm

S_2NR wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:impromptu holiday for 2nd olympic gold = 3rd world?
f*q allyuh

how much medals the US got? did they announce any holiday :roll:

so if we got 5 gold medals = 5 days off?

this is the heights of BS.

fack the US and anywhere else.....trini sweet
I live in a country that is celebrating its 2nd gold medal tmrw, honoured by a holiday

Postby Bizzare » August 12th, 2012, 8:40 pm

some ah ollour jus like tuh follow oui. :roll:
Ollour mussbe home celebrating no work tomorrow with ollour family but a different tongue on here.

Postby pioneer » August 12th, 2012, 8:41 pm

Yeh a Minister daughter told me that before it was announced, didn't need to watch tv like you losers.

Rx

Postby Rx » August 12th, 2012, 8:43 pm

Bizzare wrote:some ah ollour jus like tuh follow oui. :roll:
Ollour mussbe home celebrating no work tomorrow with ollour family but a different tongue on here.

Hooked on Phonics

Postby nervewrecker » August 12th, 2012, 8:45 pm

Habit7 wrote:Image

I cant help but laugh! :lol: :lol:

Postby Bizzare » August 12th, 2012, 8:47 pm

THIS IS FORKING TRINIDAD. I don't forking get why y'all must compare everything here to outside countries. We haven't seen a gold medal in forking 36 yrs. Is it the same for the US. We are a lot smaller than the US with a smaller economy. We do not produce athletes on the level the US does. YES , a gold medal means a lot more to us obviously :roll:
You have to be brainless to compare us to the US when it come to the Olympics.

This holiday has thrown me back on what was to be accomplished this week in the workplace. But it is one day, it's not gonna hurt so much to complain about it. How often do we get a holdiday declared like this. Those employed on a flat salary basis are very happy.

I know very well all of y'all complaining in here home jumping up with yuh tanty and celebrating the day off tomorrow with the exception of AP - she doesn't even live here don't see how her input is valid. She is not affected by this like any of us are so I dunno if her views are even true to herself
Last edited by Bizzare on August 12th, 2012, 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

guess_wh0

Postby guess_wh0 » August 12th, 2012, 8:48 pm

pioneer wrote:Yeh a Minister daughter told me that before it was announced, didn't need to watch tv like you losers.

woop de doo , yuh is still a kant

Postby S_2NR » August 12th, 2012, 8:50 pm

last time i checked keshorn walcott win the medal, not every trini. so why we getting a holiday?
honor him, doh shut down the country!

Postby sliderz1 » August 12th, 2012, 8:50 pm

Bizzare wrote:THIS IS FORKING TRINIDAD. I don't forking get why y'all must compare everything here to outside countries. We haven't seen a gold medal in forking 36 yrs. Is it the same for the US. We are a lot smaller than the US with a smaller economy. We do not produce athletes on the level the US does. YES , a gold medal means a lot more to us obviously :roll:

This holiday has thrown me back on what was to be accomplished this week in the workplace. But it is one day, it's not gonna hurt so much to complain about it. How often do we get a holdiday declared like this. Those employed on a flat salary basis are very happy.

I know very well all of y'all complaining in here home jumping up with yuh tanty and celebrating the day off tomorrow with the exception of AP - she doesn't even live here don't see how her imput is valid. She is not affected by this like any of us are so I dunno if her views are even true to herself

you sir are a god

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » August 12th, 2012, 8:53 pm

mmmmm, I doh mind working @ holiday rates :mrgreen:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 12th, 2012, 8:56 pm

Bizzare wrote:THIS IS FORKING TRINIDAD. I don't forking get why y'all must compare everything here to outside countries. We haven't seen a gold medal in forking 36 yrs. Is it the same for the US. We are a lot smaller than the US with a smaller economy. We do not produce athletes on the level the US does. YES , a gold medal means a lot more to us obviously :roll:

Trinidad and Tobago compares itself to the USA for everything else...why not also the Olympics? As much as you try to distance yourself from the Yanks, the country and your countrymen continues to try and model itself to Uncle Sam. Trinidad, like so many other Caribbean islands draws its Westernized culture from USA culture. So your rant is nonsensical.

Bizzare wrote:This holiday has thrown me back on what was to be accomplished this week in the workplace. But it is one day, it's not gonna hurt so much to complain about it. How often do we get a holdiday declared like this. Those employed on a flat salary basis are very happy.

Not everyone is employed by the government or the private sector. More importantly, the issue isn't about a holiday being declared but the TIMING of its declaration. Complete lack of discernment by the government given the recent flooding disaster.

Bizzare wrote:I know very well all of y'all complaining in here home jumping up with yuh tanty and celebrating the day off tomorrow with the exception of AP - she doesn't even live here don't see how her input is valid. She is not affected by this like any of us are so I dunno if her views are even true to hersel

I do not have to reside in Trinidad and Tobago to call it like I see it: COMPLETE BOBOL.
Last edited by AbstractPoetic on August 12th, 2012, 9:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 12th, 2012, 8:57 pm

I know very well all of y'all complaining in here home jumping up with yuh tanty and celebrating the day off tomorrow with the exception of AP - she doesn't even live here don't see how her input is valid. She is not affected by this like any of us are so I dunno if her views are even true to herself

You win the fuggin medal? No! What do you need a national holiday to celebrate?

Recognise the athletes' accomplishments through some other means, say, financial. I am sure that whatever financial contribution the Government gives pales in comparison to what expenses the athletes actually incur. You could even have a parade for them along the east-west corridor on a Saturday and a parade along the south version of the east-west corridor on the following Sunday.

The mother of one of the female runners (not the one who messed up the baton) works in the same company that I work for. I actually talk to her about her daughter's progress and she tells me about all the expenses that her daughter has to cover for her training. Most of the money is gained through private donations and scholarships, not from the Government.

pay1093

Postby pay1093 » August 12th, 2012, 8:57 pm

Bizzare wrote:

Actually tomorrow may very well cost me very well into the tens of thousands of dollars in added downtime and no income to offset the downtime.

Id really rather make than spend $50,000.

Postby Stephon. » August 12th, 2012, 8:58 pm

yikes!

Postby Bizzare » August 12th, 2012, 9:04 pm

AP, you are not here so you are not affected the way locals are. Yes, u may use logic to express your views as any outsider would and they themselves would hold the same views as yours, but unlike TRINIDADIANS LIVING IN TRINIDAD Keshorn's success did not have the same impact on u as it did to us.... even though u feel otherwise. You are not in a position to comment on this topic, sorry.

Postby Gladiator » August 12th, 2012, 9:06 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

Trinidad and Tobago compares itself to the USA for everything else...why not also the Olympics? As much as you try to distance yourself from the Yanks, the country and your countrymen continues to try and model itself to Uncle Sam. Trinidad, like so many other Caribbean islands draws its Westernized culture from USA culture. So your rant is nonsensical.

Bizzare wrote:This holiday has thrown me back on what was to be accomplished this week in the workplace. But it is one day, it's not gonna hurt so much to complain about it. How often do we get a holdiday declared like this. Those employed on a flat salary basis are very happy.

Not everyone is employed by the government or the private sector. More importantly, the issue isn't about a holiday being declared but the TIMING of its declaration. Complete lack of discernment by the government given the recent flooding disaster.

Bizzare wrote:I know very well all of y'all complaining in here home jumping up with yuh tanty and celebrating the day off tomorrow with the exception of AP - she doesn't even live here don't see how her input is valid. She is not affected by this like any of us are so I dunno if her views are even true to hersel

I do not have to reside in Trinidad and Tobago to call it like I see it: COMPLETE BOBOL.

Heh hold dat..... http://www.medalspercapita.com/

Postby SR » August 12th, 2012, 9:10 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

third world forever

and when other parts of the country were under flood waters in the past where were the people from the west..............

deal with it

most of that flooding was caused by the same people building housing on the hills without a care for town and country approval it was bound to happen sooner or later
while people have suffered losses its nothing compared to what has happened in the past the people as you say "south of the lighthouse"

so dont try to dramatise a situation that many other parts of the country are acustom to without the help and media support that the west is getting

Postby Bizzare » August 12th, 2012, 9:11 pm

Some of you extremely biased. When you were the employee, you celebrated holidays, now you're the employer...... "chinidad mediocre... wah dem wa holiday for..... i lozin out on meh morney"