Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » August 5th, 2012, 3:16 pm

Fishman, the flame hawkfish still going good?

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 5th, 2012, 3:31 pm

Depends on which one you are talking about. My first one disappeared after a couple of months. I suspect it jumped, but never found it. I got another shortly after and have had it ever since. He is doing very well. He has a lot of personality and is the biggest maco around. He never misses a beat. LOL.
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1344195047.782777.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1344195047.782777.jpg (70.86 KiB) Viewed 2613 times

Postby UML » August 5th, 2012, 3:34 pm

How long Hondab20b and Fishman in saltwater tanks?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 5th, 2012, 3:39 pm

I green in this, fishman is the long time contender.
I now making 2yrs 8mths.............but who's counting. I have a pardnah i used to go by that had one 22 yrs ago. That the man that introduce Raj to it.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 5th, 2012, 3:39 pm

My first salt aquarium was in 2000. Before that was fresh since I was a kid lol.

Postby UML » August 5th, 2012, 3:49 pm

HondaB20B wrote:I green in this, fishman is the long time contender.
I now making 2yrs 8mths.............but who's counting. I have a pardnah i used to go by that had one 22 yrs ago. That the man that introduce Raj to it.

damnnnnn...........it had SW tank that long?!!! :shock:

he mussee ah fisherman?!!

how did he get his equipment, knowledge, etc. if it wasnt that known?

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 5th, 2012, 5:31 pm

Cool reef fish man looking REAL good :) . Thanx honda. I thought it hardly had SW/reef hobbyists in trinidad.

Honda when we goin and see your entire tank? the suspense killin!! :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 5th, 2012, 7:10 pm

The guys name was Patrick ChooFoon. He was one of Trinidads top artists and was living in St Anns at the time............ (no, not in the looney bin............lol) Actually it was back in 89 or 90 when i was now doing my open water or advance PADI, we were diving in Scotland bay when i saw this guy catching fish with nets. He had now surfaced with a juv french angel and a queen. We spoke and after some mths i got to see his 48"X24"X30 SW tank that had allot of live rock, zoas, various sponges and a 6" eel. He had a 3ft sump with bio-balls and coral rubble and the skimmer was one of those that had the wooden air diffuser in it. He had moonlights and everything. One thing though, back then SW tanks really did smell fresh. He also had a 3ft tank with some seahorses that he caught right down the islands................................

Postby UML » August 5th, 2012, 7:39 pm

sea horses in trini? wow

i really dont have a clue what we have and dont have in tnt

Postby sharkman121 » August 5th, 2012, 7:51 pm

Raj have seahorses :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 5th, 2012, 7:53 pm

UML wrote:sea horses in trini? wow

it always had seahorses in TNT. Even in the gulf. Pardnah got one for me right in the Trinmar marine base a few mths back. By time he nearly rvh sando it had died. It has allot down the islands.

Postby UML » August 5th, 2012, 8:30 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Raj have seahorses :|

yea i know...i have a pic of them in the roti box :lol: :lol:

but i meant in the wild nah

HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:sea horses in trini? wow

it always had seahorses in TNT. Even in the gulf. Pardnah got one for me right in the Trinmar marine base a few mths back. By time he nearly rvh sando it had died. It has allot down the islands.

oh gorsh i hate to hear when fishes like that die...i does think better they leave it...i really hope he had an air supply for the thing.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 5th, 2012, 8:39 pm

he said it was about 3". He found it in one of the bilge sections of the patrol boat when he was cleaning out the strainer.

ryo

Postby ryo » August 5th, 2012, 9:26 pm

Hey guys just wanted your opinion on good community fish for my new 40x18x18 tank.I would like tetras ,rasboras and barbs maybe 1 dwarf gourami and maybe rainbow fish.
This is what i wanted to go with 5 cherry barbs,5 bleeding heart tetras 8 cardinal or neon tetras,3 black molly's,4 red mickey mouse platies,1 red tail rainbow shark and 1 blue crayfish.The tank will be semi planted with rocks. Please feel free to help me out on fish i should use or should not.
And what kind of substrate i should use and if the fish will need a water heater of what wattage.
Thanks

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 5th, 2012, 9:39 pm

ryo wrote:Hey guys just wanted your opinion on good community fish for my new 40x18x18 tank.I would like tetras ,rasboras and barbs maybe 1 dwarf gourami and maybe rainbow fish.
This is what i wanted to go with 5 cherry barbs,5 bleeding heart tetras 8 cardinal or neon tetras,3 black molly's,4 red mickey mouse platies,1 red tail rainbow shark and 1 blue crayfish.The tank will be semi planted with rocks. Please feel free to help me out on fish i should use or should not.
And what kind of substrate i should use and if the fish will need a water heater of what wattage.
Thanks

I know one thing fo sure, the barbs and tetras will nip the fins of the mollies and platies whole day.

Postby pugboy » August 6th, 2012, 7:47 am

Fellas, I have some old school box/siphon filters to give away cheap

They are Eugene Danner Supreme Superking 600gph

Postby UML » August 6th, 2012, 7:01 pm

pugboy wrote:Fellas, I have some old school box/siphon filters to give away cheap

They are Eugene Danner Supreme Superking 600gph

pics?

i doh even know what it looks like :oops:

btw wahs the biggest blackghost knifefish allyuh ever see?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 6th, 2012, 10:12 pm

Anyone see this in any petshop around recently?

http://www.amazon.com/Silent-Series-Bat ... p+air+pump

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » August 7th, 2012, 10:36 am

chais have the azoo version to that.

HondaB20B wrote:Anyone see this in any petshop around recently?

djblademan

Postby djblademan » August 7th, 2012, 4:01 pm

UML wrote:
pugboy wrote:Fellas,

Chai's had one a long time ao & it was like about 1 1/2 feet...thas the biggest i ever see in real...
mines never does live either d tank went tru or d idiot swim up d filter...lol
Mines grew to 9inches already & he comit suicide:(

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 7th, 2012, 6:15 pm

rmtuner wrote:chais have the azoo version to that.

Nah the azoo pump is different. The pump i'm looking for has a relay in it that remains open (off mode) when its plugged in and current is flowing to the circuit. When power goes, the relay closes (on mode) and the air pump runs until power is restored. The azoo constantly stays on and when power goes it just keeps on running off battery power. Dont want an airpump thats costantly running...............................thats not good for saltwater tanks.

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » August 7th, 2012, 7:17 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Does anyone have freshwater shrimp..not crayfish SHRIMP like this http://www.guppylodge.com/red%20cherry% ... mp%201.jpg
always wanted but i could never find. :(

If you get through pm me please.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 7th, 2012, 8:02 pm

BAZZINGA wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:Does anyone have freshwater shrimp..not crayfish SHRIMP like this http://www.guppylodge.com/red%20cherry% ... mp%201.jpg
always wanted but i could never find. :(

If you get through pm me please.

Chais had.................. maybe not the same type, but it was freshwater SHRIMP.

Postby UML » August 7th, 2012, 8:40 pm

HondaB20B wrote:

Nah the azoo pump is different. The pump i'm looking for has a relay in it that remains open (off mode) when its plugged in and current is flowing to the circuit. When power goes, the relay closes (on mode) and the air pump runs until power is restored. The azoo constantly stays on and when power goes it just keeps on running off battery power. Dont want an airpump thats costantly running...............................thats not good for saltwater tanks.

yuh check nu image in pt lisas?

cause dey does say dey doh have something and when they check....they do. happened to me just the other day.

djblademan wrote:
UML wrote:
pugboy wrote:Fellas,

Chai's had one a long time ao & it was like about 1 1/2 feet...thas the biggest i ever see in real...
mines never does live either d tank went tru or d idiot swim up d filter...lol
Mines grew to 9inches already & he comit suicide:(

welcome back...long time no see

i have one that is about 12 inches...das d biggest i ever see.
Last edited by UML on August 8th, 2012, 7:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

dgobo

Postby dgobo » August 7th, 2012, 10:36 pm

Guys I'm in the process of setting up a new tank 72x18x36. It was supposed to be a fresh water for my son ( he's only five months and likes to look at the fishes already) so I was thinking I'll just make it a long term project and create a salt instead. I know the first answer I'm going to get is use google and believe me I have. I've more or less got all the major components I will be ordering. Basically im mimicking a couple setups from reefcentral in terms of equipment. What I was wondering is there anyone locally who can really guide/ help me setup and maintain so that I can avoid wasting unnecessary moony and time ?

ryo

Postby ryo » August 7th, 2012, 11:38 pm

to get the shrimp you looking for go by Salibia bay between the river and sea they does be right by the edge.Its not the type you have on the pic it's somethng like a ghost shrimp.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2012, 12:49 am

dgobo wrote:Guys I'm in the process of setting up a new tank 72x18x36. It was supposed to be a fresh water for my son ( he's only five months and likes to look at the fishes already) so I was thinking I'll just make it a long term project and create a salt instead. I know the first answer I'm going to get is use google and believe me I have. I've more or less got all the major components I will be ordering. Basically im mimicking a couple setups from reefcentral in terms of equipment. What I was wondering is there anyone locally who can really guide/ help me setup and maintain so that I can avoid wasting unnecessary moony and time ?

some major info that anyone may ask that will help you along the way.

1) Have you ever kept any kind of fish (freshwater) on the whole.
Reason i ask is if you have kept freshwater fish before then its easier to maintain a saltwater tank because of your knowledge.

2) What are you interested in, a FOWLR (Fish Only With Live Rock) or Reef.

3) If you going reef, what type of reef,
a) SPS
b) LPS
c) Mixed

4) 72"X18"X36".......... is the 18" the width or the height.

5) What lighting system were you looking at, MH, LED's, T5's, combo's

6) Filtration........... does the tank have an overflow system/drain, are you going to use HOB filter or cannister

7) Whats all the major parts were you ordering
Pumps - both for circulation (powerheads) and for return (if required)
Skimmer
Chiller (if required)
others - reactors, ATO, timers meters, test kits, RO/DI unit, etc

Just some of the info needed so far...........................

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 8th, 2012, 8:08 am

HondaB20B wrote:

Last time that I was in Pantins, which is a long time ago, he had a few for sale. Give them a call to see if they still have.

Postby UML » August 8th, 2012, 8:14 am

i think i starting to see an improvement in my nitrates since starting the vodka dosing

:mrgreen:

djblademan

Postby djblademan » August 8th, 2012, 10:56 am

show off nah UML....mines always swiming up de dam filter or jumping out...
I rel outa it so i got nothing these days soon i wanna start back...
Post up ah pic of it nah man...i wanna see!