PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Ted_v2 » August 2nd, 2012, 5:59 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Barely use mine unless it's to listen to music and I really don't play them loudly. Mostly use the X540s on the PC and tv. x540s kick serious butt 8)

540x is baby thing dan :| Crips mids but No bass.

oh and the 2 year old z5500
i aint gonna pay over 900$

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 2nd, 2012, 6:28 pm

DVSTT wrote:What would be a good price for 2yr old z5500?

Dunno nah but i did get ah 6 mth old one for $1100 or $1200 from firstchoicett a few months ago.

Only ting that was wrong with it was that the backlight for the console display did conk out (not unusual with these models) but that coulda fix easy still and wasn't bothering me one a$$.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 2nd, 2012, 6:32 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Barely use mine unless it's to listen to music and I really don't play them loudly. Mostly use the X540s on the PC and tv. x540s kick serious butt 8)

540x is baby thing dan :| Crips mids but No bass.

oh and the 2 year old z5500
i aint gonna pay over 900$

Not into music really so it's good enough for me :)

Postby M_2NR » August 2nd, 2012, 8:40 pm

z5500 ftw :drinking:

Got the same issue like hcca (these days it magically stays on), but it works.

My advice though, I saw someone asking about buying an expensive soundcard... WAIT... wait until windows 8 drops and you see it's certified for Windows 8 etc.

I mean you could fork out the cash and get it, but we had to wait a while for drivers for windows 7. Back then (and even in win8 beta) you could have loaded it in compatibility or beta drivers but... Creative loves to not give proper support for them. (I have the xfi xtreme gamer) They never properly supported it in sp1 win7 as well. I could be wrong though

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 2nd, 2012, 8:51 pm

M_2NR wrote:z5500 ftw :drinking:

My advice though, I saw someone asking about buying an expensive soundcard... WAIT... wait until windows 8 drops and you see it's certified for Windows 8 etc.

I mean you could fork out the cash and get it, but we had to wait a while for drivers for windows 7. Back then (and even in win8 beta) you could have loaded it in compatibility or beta drivers but... Creative loves to not give proper support for them. (I have the xfi xtreme gamer) They never properly supported it in sp1 win7 as well. I could be wrong though

Yeah thas the bad ting about creative products - lack of proper support for when a new OS comes out.

I have ah audigy 2 zs and the windows 7 drivers don't work properly with it so i used a modded driver pack for it, worked very good.

The crystallizer function in those soundcards very potent for logitech systems since they lacking in the midrange/highs frequencies.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 2nd, 2012, 8:52 pm

Wow good thing M_2NR mentioned that.

Currently looking at a Creative sound card right now :|
I might most likely switch over to W8 as well....

Postby nervewrecker » August 2nd, 2012, 9:12 pm

stock z5500's arent all that, the sound aint so hott from reviews I read so far too.

The sub actually isnt really designed to hit anything under 33hz and its a weakling.
I'd look into getting a close to 200 watt sub with properly documented ts parameters to model an enclosure that is tuned to the low 20's. Some RE audio, Rockford, JL do come to mind.

If the satellites go i'd replace with a quick cheap fix like the faital 3" mids. I not sure where they high passed and the 3" can get pretty low.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 2nd, 2012, 9:44 pm

Yeah those lack low end bass badly.
My logi 5300e i grew it out

getting my lepai amp next couple weeks and ill get another amp for bass.
pc hadda be slaming
2.1 setup

Postby nervewrecker » August 2nd, 2012, 10:11 pm

why didnt you just get a 3.1 plate amp?

Postby nervewrecker » August 2nd, 2012, 10:12 pm

While I in here, any of you guys into liquid cooling?

whats the price like on some flat radiators and pumps?

Postby M_2NR » August 2nd, 2012, 10:15 pm

HCCA wrote:
M_2NR wrote:z5500 ftw :drinking:

Yeah thas the bad ting about creative products - lack of proper support for when a new OS comes out.

I have ah audigy 2 zs and the windows 7 drivers don't work properly with it so i used a modded driver pack for it, worked very good.

The crystallizer function in those soundcards very potent for logitech systems since they lacking in the midrange/highs frequencies.

they still do modded drivers tho? Been a while I've checked those forums... I must say coupling the z5500 with a good sound card does improve it a lot. I like SVM too.

I still rather use headphones though. Only recently I realized my neighbors can hear once I cross 4. I usually play it at 3 or less anyway :lol:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 2nd, 2012, 11:50 pm

M_2NR wrote:they still do modded drivers tho? Been a while I've checked those forums... I must say coupling the z5500 with a good sound card does improve it a lot. I like SVM too.

I still rather use headphones though. Only recently I realized my neighbors can hear once I cross 4. I usually play it at 3 or less anyway :lol:

Never had reason to look for anything else other than for the audigy since it was a high end card back in d day.

I also have ah usb xfi 5.1 external soundcard by them as well, doh use it cuz onboard audio just good enuff these days.

I have the 2.1 logitech z2300 system hook up to 2 sony floorstanding speakers and that does play hard. The bass output from that sub actually a bit lower than the z5500 sub as well as the z5300e sub. :D

nervewrecker wrote:While I in here, any of you guys into liquid cooling?

whats the price like on some flat radiators and pumps?

Best u go with a kit, buying the parts separate a lil more expensive.

http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/ ... s_id=30187

http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/ ... s_id=33548

Those kits have the flat radiators, you'll need high flow fans for maximum performance though.

If you're into silence then you can use low flow fans on rad like these:

http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/ ... s_id=30280

http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/ ... s_id=30281

You can also go custom and buy a better pump, reservoir, radiator, cpu block, tubing etc.

Flat radiators: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_ ... nics%2C355

The RS and EX series.

One of the best pumps on the market: http://www.amazon.com/Swiftech-MCP655-B ... ech+mcp655
Last edited by HCCA on August 3rd, 2012, 12:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » August 3rd, 2012, 12:01 am

I should have mentioned that it's not for a pc, it's actually for use in a car. Do any of these units have thermostats btw?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 3rd, 2012, 12:08 am

nervewrecker wrote:I should have mentioned that it's not for a pc, it's actually for use in a car. Do any of these units have thermostats btw?

Somehow i figured u meant for that use. :lol:

No thermostats in any of them.

Something similar to a thermostat is a fan controller with customizable fan controls. They use wired heat probes and you can control what speed you want the fan to run at when a certain temperature is reached.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » August 3rd, 2012, 12:11 am

What about something of this nature?

http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Cooling-H ... id+cooling

i've never done liquid cooling but its hella interesting

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 3rd, 2012, 2:05 pm

Currently using the H60. CPU temp is 26 degrees Celsius right now. No AC on either.

Postby DVSTT » August 3rd, 2012, 4:10 pm

HCCA wrote:
DVSTT wrote:What would be a good price for 2yr old z5500?

Dunno nah but i did get ah 6 mth old one for $1100 or $1200 from firstchoicett a few months ago.

Only ting that was wrong with it was that the backlight for the console display did conk out (not unusual with these models) but that coulda fix easy still and wasn't bothering me one a$$.

Im not even sure what soundcard my laptop has, creative something lol. But it sounds good. So what is a good price to pay for the z5500??
Last edited by DVSTT on August 3rd, 2012, 7:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DVSTT » August 3rd, 2012, 4:53 pm

nervewrecker wrote:stock z5500's arent all that, the sound aint so hott from reviews I read so far too.

The sub actually isnt really designed to hit anything under 33hz and its a weakling.
I'd look into getting a close to 200 watt sub with properly documented ts parameters to model an enclosure that is tuned to the low 20's. Some RE audio, Rockford, JL do come to mind.

If the satellites go i'd replace with a quick cheap fix like the faital 3" mids. I not sure where they high passed and the 3" can get pretty low.

Something like that?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 3rd, 2012, 5:55 pm

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 3rd, 2012, 6:38 pm

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=3616

Anyone knows of any other good bare laptops that can take desktop CPU's?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 3rd, 2012, 8:49 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?t=242213

same idea

Yup , best ting to do is what he did. Rip out the amp and put it in a custom built sub box.

The inside of that stock z5500 box real small.

I had a damaged z5500 set and last year i migrated my z5300 amp into the box with the sub. The bass a bit better but the amp obviously underpowering that sub.

Here's a nice review of the z5500 vs z906: http://soundnews.ro/2011/05/29/logitech ... h-version/

Seems by comparison the z906 is crap. :lol:
Last edited by HCCA on August 3rd, 2012, 8:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » August 3rd, 2012, 8:53 pm

DVSTT wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:stock z5500's arent all that, the sound aint so hott from reviews I read so far too.

Something like that?

so glad i outgrew this back in 2005,lol.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 3rd, 2012, 9:49 pm

ru$$ell wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

Something like that?

thats all some ppl can afford b..

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » August 3rd, 2012, 9:50 pm

Chiney wrote:
ru$$ell wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

Something like that?

not knocking their setup, the crazy bass stage i meant :lol: :lol:

Postby M_2NR » August 4th, 2012, 4:02 am

ru$$ell wrote:
Chiney wrote:
ru$$ell wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

Something like that?

not knocking their setup, the crazy bass stage i meant :lol: :lol:

my volume barely ever crosses 3/20. Must sound "good" at that level :mrgreen:
I used to laugh when a certain tuner tell me he used to play his all the time at that level and now I ended up doing the same :(

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2012, 10:48 am

DVSTT wrote:

Something like that?

nope, you need a new enclosure for it.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 4th, 2012, 11:21 am

LOLz @ M_2NR
Quality over quantity for me all the way......

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 4th, 2012, 8:48 pm

HCCA wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?t=242213

same idea

Yup , best ting to do is what he did. Rip out the amp and put it in a custom built sub box.

The inside of that stock z5500 box real small.

I had a damaged z5500 set and last year i migrated my z5300 amp into the box with the sub. The bass a bit better but the amp obviously underpowering that sub.

Here's a nice review of the z5500 vs z906: http://soundnews.ro/2011/05/29/logitech ... h-version/

Seems by comparison the z906 is crap. :lol:

I just stuck a cheap Pioneer 10" in the same box and it sounds decent. A bit boomy at times, doesn't hit the lows really good... But still decent. 100% better than the crappy Logitech speaker for sure

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 4th, 2012, 8:54 pm

HCCA wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
Thanks a lot for that. I went to Republic Bank this morning, might get one sometime this week. So ill purchase my stuff off there. Will need to find a quick reliable sky box too. I was thinking about those GPU's too but the prices are gonna be sky high lol.. Idk if I'd be able to afford that

They have the 2500K a bit overpriced for a sandy bridge processor, I planned on going for the 3570k as I'm gonna be gaming with it mainly. Photoshop is now and then and video editing, I'd probably just try learning how to :/
BUT I saw the AMD FX 8120 for $1300 and it's going for $160 US on Newegg, so that price is really good. I'm wondering if to go that way instead now.. As I said, primarily use is gaming.. Reading some reviews now but anyone care to share any thoughts /opinions?

I'm on an overall budget of about 7-8k and I have to buy a monitor with that too..

The sandy bridge and Ivy bridge processors outperform the bulldozer amd cpus by a fair bit even when the amd overclocked. Plus the fx 8120 and 8150 cpus pull a lot of power (140w i believe).

If is just for gaming the intel Ivy bridge would be the best bet. Dunno what the bulldozer series good for really.

As for the skybox you can try Aeropost, they charge by weight only:

http://www.aeropost.com/web/frontend/pr ... ountry=pos

And the new gtx 650/660ti gonna be around $150-$300 priced, so not that expensive. u still hadda wait till dey officially release and reviews out though.

The 3570k is a good mid range cpu doh, when overclocked it crushes amd and fares quite well over sandy bridge.

U should buy the monitor local though, the prices very reasonable and warranty good. Import only if u can't find what u want down here.

Cariszone have good power supply and memory prices, the other stuff a bit high.

Yeah I read what u said and checked some reviews... I'll stick with the ivy bridge.. A tuner has it for $1800 while Newegg has it for $230US so I find that really good.. And I figured it was gonna be more. Thanks for telling me that. I'll hold off on a video card then. When's it supposed to be released?

I wanted to future proof the system by going i7 but those prices.. I can't make lol and yeah for sure ill buy a monitor locally.. I'll look around for 27".. Maybe bigger if I can find.

iM@st@1 wrote:@ Jonathan_337

I've had a great experience with these Asus monitors, no ghosting, lag or tearing. Crisp pic quality. Currently have 24" but thinkin of upgrading to 27". If you interested in buying one of mine PM meh.

Nice, I'll let you know depending on how my budget goes. I wanted a 27" for the least but I dunno if I'd have enough cash, I'll probably settle on a 24" if I don't..

That'd be the last thing I buy though

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 4th, 2012, 9:29 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
I'll hold off on a video card then. When's it supposed to be released?

http://www.digitalversus.com/graphics-c ... 25492.html

August and September.