Ronaldo95163 wrote:Barely use mine unless it's to listen to music and I really don't play them loudly. Mostly use the X540s on the PC and tv. x540s kick serious butt
DVSTT wrote:What would be a good price for 2yr old z5500?
sound boy 64 wrote:Ronaldo95163 wrote:Barely use mine unless it's to listen to music and I really don't play them loudly. Mostly use the X540s on the PC and tv. x540s kick serious butt
540x is baby thing danCrips mids but No bass.
oh and the 2 year old z5500
i aint gonna pay over 900$
M_2NR wrote:z5500 ftw![]()
Got the same issue like hcca (these days it magically stays on), but it works.
My advice though, I saw someone asking about buying an expensive soundcard... WAIT... wait until windows 8 drops and you see it's certified for Windows 8 etc.
I mean you could fork out the cash and get it, but we had to wait a while for drivers for windows 7. Back then (and even in win8 beta) you could have loaded it in compatibility or beta drivers but... Creative loves to not give proper support for them. (I have the xfi xtreme gamer) They never properly supported it in sp1 win7 as well. I could be wrong though
HCCA wrote:M_2NR wrote:z5500 ftw![]()
Got the same issue like hcca (these days it magically stays on), but it works.
My advice though, I saw someone asking about buying an expensive soundcard... WAIT... wait until windows 8 drops and you see it's certified for Windows 8 etc.
I mean you could fork out the cash and get it, but we had to wait a while for drivers for windows 7. Back then (and even in win8 beta) you could have loaded it in compatibility or beta drivers but... Creative loves to not give proper support for them. (I have the xfi xtreme gamer) They never properly supported it in sp1 win7 as well. I could be wrong though
Yeah thas the bad ting about creative products - lack of proper support for when a new OS comes out.
I have ah audigy 2 zs and the windows 7 drivers don't work properly with it so i used a modded driver pack for it, worked very good.
The crystallizer function in those soundcards very potent for logitech systems since they lacking in the midrange/highs frequencies.
M_2NR wrote:they still do modded drivers tho? Been a while I've checked those forums... I must say coupling the z5500 with a good sound card does improve it a lot. I like SVM too.
I still rather use headphones though. Only recently I realized my neighbors can hear once I cross 4. I usually play it at 3 or less anyway
nervewrecker wrote:While I in here, any of you guys into liquid cooling?
whats the price like on some flat radiators and pumps?
nervewrecker wrote:I should have mentioned that it's not for a pc, it's actually for use in a car. Do any of these units have thermostats btw?
HCCA wrote:DVSTT wrote:What would be a good price for 2yr old z5500?
Dunno nah but i did get ah 6 mth old one for $1100 or $1200 from firstchoicett a few months ago.
Only ting that was wrong with it was that the backlight for the console display did conk out (not unusual with these models) but that coulda fix easy still and wasn't bothering me one a$$.
nervewrecker wrote:stock z5500's arent all that, the sound aint so hott from reviews I read so far too.
The sub actually isnt really designed to hit anything under 33hz and its a weakling.
I'd look into getting a close to 200 watt sub with properly documented ts parameters to model an enclosure that is tuned to the low 20's. Some RE audio, Rockford, JL do come to mind.
If the satellites go i'd replace with a quick cheap fix like the faital 3" mids. I not sure where they high passed and the 3" can get pretty low.
sound boy 64 wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?t=242213
same idea
DVSTT wrote:nervewrecker wrote:stock z5500's arent all that, the sound aint so hott from reviews I read so far too.
The sub actually isnt really designed to hit anything under 33hz and its a weakling.
I'd look into getting a close to 200 watt sub with properly documented ts parameters to model an enclosure that is tuned to the low 20's. Some RE audio, Rockford, JL do come to mind.
If the satellites go i'd replace with a quick cheap fix like the faital 3" mids. I not sure where they high passed and the 3" can get pretty low.
Something like that?
ru$$ell wrote:DVSTT wrote:nervewrecker wrote:stock z5500's arent all that, the sound aint so hott from reviews I read so far too.
Something like that?
so glad i outgrew this back in 2005,lol.
Chiney wrote:ru$$ell wrote:DVSTT wrote:nervewrecker wrote:stock z5500's arent all that, the sound aint so hott from reviews I read so far too.
Something like that?
thats all some ppl can afford b..
ru$$ell wrote:Chiney wrote:ru$$ell wrote:DVSTT wrote:nervewrecker wrote:stock z5500's arent all that, the sound aint so hott from reviews I read so far too.
Something like that?
thats all some ppl can afford b..
not knocking their setup, the crazy bass stage i meant![]()
DVSTT wrote:nervewrecker wrote:stock z5500's arent all that, the sound aint so hott from reviews I read so far too.
Something like that?
HCCA wrote:sound boy 64 wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?t=242213
same idea
Yup , best ting to do is what he did. Rip out the amp and put it in a custom built sub box.
The inside of that stock z5500 box real small.
I had a damaged z5500 set and last year i migrated my z5300 amp into the box with the sub. The bass a bit better but the amp obviously underpowering that sub.
Here's a nice review of the z5500 vs z906: http://soundnews.ro/2011/05/29/logitech ... h-version/
Seems by comparison the z906 is crap.
HCCA wrote:Jonathan_337 wrote:
Thanks a lot for that. I went to Republic Bank this morning, might get one sometime this week. So ill purchase my stuff off there. Will need to find a quick reliable sky box too. I was thinking about those GPU's too but the prices are gonna be sky high lol.. Idk if I'd be able to afford that
They have the 2500K a bit overpriced for a sandy bridge processor, I planned on going for the 3570k as I'm gonna be gaming with it mainly. Photoshop is now and then and video editing, I'd probably just try learning how to :/
BUT I saw the AMD FX 8120 for $1300 and it's going for $160 US on Newegg, so that price is really good. I'm wondering if to go that way instead now.. As I said, primarily use is gaming.. Reading some reviews now but anyone care to share any thoughts /opinions?
I'm on an overall budget of about 7-8k and I have to buy a monitor with that too..
The sandy bridge and Ivy bridge processors outperform the bulldozer amd cpus by a fair bit even when the amd overclocked. Plus the fx 8120 and 8150 cpus pull a lot of power (140w i believe).
If is just for gaming the intel Ivy bridge would be the best bet. Dunno what the bulldozer series good for really.
As for the skybox you can try Aeropost, they charge by weight only:
http://www.aeropost.com/web/frontend/pr ... ountry=pos
And the new gtx 650/660ti gonna be around $150-$300 priced, so not that expensive. u still hadda wait till dey officially release and reviews out though.
The 3570k is a good mid range cpu doh, when overclocked it crushes amd and fares quite well over sandy bridge.
U should buy the monitor local though, the prices very reasonable and warranty good. Import only if u can't find what u want down here.
Cariszone have good power supply and memory prices, the other stuff a bit high.
iM@st@1 wrote:@ Jonathan_337
I've had a great experience with these Asus monitors, no ghosting, lag or tearing. Crisp pic quality. Currently have 24" but thinkin of upgrading to 27". If you interested in buying one of mine PM meh.
Jonathan_337 wrote:
I'll hold off on a video card then. When's it supposed to be released?