Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby X_Factor » April 22nd, 2012, 6:53 pm

did these yesterday with the new grill
took about 25mins and a simple jerk dry rub seasoning

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » April 23rd, 2012, 9:21 am

Chicken looks allright. Lets work on the wares!

Postby pugboy » April 23rd, 2012, 10:47 am

is paper plate i seeing there ?
them places in j'ca does serve you jerk meat on a piece of foil

Postby SR » June 1st, 2012, 9:42 pm

new pit assembled and fired up today for the first time

barrel pit just needs the grills to be made

Postby SR » June 8th, 2012, 9:19 pm

barrel pit completed and fired up yesterday
ventilation working too well temp was too high

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2012, 10:05 pm

picsss

Postby SR » July 7th, 2012, 4:19 pm

good weather to bbq

both gas and coal pits gonna be running side by side later

Postby tr1ad » July 7th, 2012, 4:22 pm

???clique assemble

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 7th, 2012, 7:14 pm

u wicked sr.... when ah fasting... cyah fire up ah tofu or vege:P

Postby SR » July 8th, 2012, 5:06 pm

ah sorry

pits cleaned down and packed up

fasting starting jes now found meh old coal pot so fixing that up now when ah feelin for jes a 1 chicken bbq

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » July 31st, 2012, 6:03 pm

I think I ready to make an investment into another grill. I have a small coal grill but I would like to add a gas grill to my arsenal. Can anyone tell me where is the best place to look for an affordable grill? For the people who bought one from Pricesmart, how did that work out for ya'll?

Postby SR » August 1st, 2012, 12:15 am

charbroil brand

affordable and parts available online if need be

pricesmart or abc distributors.....aka costlo in aranguez
both have decent deals on charbroil pits

Postby SR » August 1st, 2012, 12:16 am

or if yuh have deep pockets
weber in peakes

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » August 1st, 2012, 9:24 am

Thanx bro and lol my pockets eh deep. Pricesmart for dat oui!

Postby SR » August 1st, 2012, 10:24 am

check costlo as well a while back they had a great deal on some charbroil pits price was about the same as if i had brought it in myself

Postby SR » August 1st, 2012, 10:25 am

also compare the models offered by pricesmart to see if its current or outdated
http://www.charbroil.com/

this will give you an idea on the pricing set even if outdated parts are available at charbroil and amazan if you need but once properly maintained it will last years

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » August 1st, 2012, 11:37 am

hmmm on reading some reviews I am seeing that the Charbroil grills tend to rust pretty quickly and don't stand up to the elements all that well. I am a man living in d bush and it is very humid. More so than a lot of other places in Trinidad and things by me rust very quickly. I am now thinking it may make more sense to put out the extra for a Weber if I know it's going to last me a much longer time. Having said that I don't know how much more expensive the Weber brand is. I'll check Costlo and I'll also check Peakes and Bhagwansingh. .

Postby X_Factor » August 1st, 2012, 2:10 pm

^it is very expensive...lol

Postby SR » August 1st, 2012, 10:06 pm

stand up to the elements............oh gorm dem americn does leave thier pits out in the weather right trhu

did a batch of chciekn today on a cheaper kettle type grill with kingsford matchlight coals

came out pretty good with an even temperature across the grill

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 1st, 2012, 10:11 pm

SR that BBQ today was the best that i had in a long while. !!!

Postby tr1ad » September 12th, 2012, 7:33 am

this may be the closest thread to what i am looking for.

a Split Grill with an electric motor to rent (preferably) to roast a pig, any of you guys know about renting this
or if you have one, willing to take on a job for next week?
SR may not apply........ it isn't kosher

Postby SR » September 12th, 2012, 9:14 am

i ahve one of the dual pits from devi fund raiser you can modifiy and make your own spit with manual turning

Postby tr1ad » September 12th, 2012, 10:03 am

need ah turner........ hence the offer for a job wuk

ah go be busy marridin

Postby tr1ad » September 16th, 2012, 7:53 am

no one willing?

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2012, 6:02 pm

all brothers together
must be some kind of sickness
DSC_7582.jpg

turboturnsmeon2

Postby turboturnsmeon2 » March 10th, 2013, 3:14 pm

can anyone recommend a grill with a smoker. Some thing not to big its just for home use.

Postby SR » March 16th, 2013, 9:18 am

pricesmart has some good deals these days

havent checked anywhere else in a while

gonne do some tenderloins this weekend need to give them a 24hr marinate

jsr

Postby jsr » March 22nd, 2013, 10:21 pm

Looking at trying to make like the picture below.

wonder how much they could sell for ?

smoker pit.jpg

Postby SMc » March 23rd, 2013, 4:38 am

I am thinking of making one of them too, what is the isolater for? Temperature control or for some other reason?

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » March 23rd, 2013, 6:00 am

Nothing beats a coal pot bbq in my opinion, take some effort but fter a few beers its all good =D