Dog lovers/owners...Parvo.

Postby Monk BANzai » April 25th, 2010, 2:08 pm

Took meh two lil runts to get thier shots today and the Vet told me that Parvo is once again making its rounds....so if your dog not eating as it should or has a diarrhea (sp) and/or vomiting., take it to the Vet for the Parvo booster shot ASAP.

Syrians have spoken. Carry on.

Postby Chimera » April 25th, 2010, 2:17 pm

ammm...i hope yuh eh mind I post this here....but as is in relation to dogs

anyone know where I can get a dremel multipro (with rechargeable battery) kit locally?

It's to file down pet nails

GorgonZuki

Postby GorgonZuki » April 25th, 2010, 2:22 pm

hardware store

Postby r3iXmann » April 25th, 2010, 2:23 pm

bhagwansingh's

Postby Chimera » April 25th, 2010, 2:29 pm

didnt see any of the kits with rechargeable battery pack in bhagwansinghs central ^^^

nor the other hardwares I check between chase village to couva

The few that had a similar kit, required AA batteries. (no rechargebale battery pack)

netsket

Postby netsket » April 25th, 2010, 2:52 pm

let d dong run on the concrete and it will wear naturally or u can cut it with clippers or get the vet to cut them

why buy something like dat for nails?!!

Postby Damien » April 25th, 2010, 3:16 pm

Carry your doggs to the vet don't cut their nails

Re: Dog lovers/owners...Parvo.

Postby S_2NR » June 20th, 2012, 10:34 pm

my rott pup had parvo a few months ago.
recovered and seems to be getting it again.. diarrhea, vomiting, lethargy and loss of appetite.

i wa give him away yes.

Postby Rooki3 » June 20th, 2012, 10:38 pm

2 of my rotts recovering from that, yard nasty for days

Postby UML » June 20th, 2012, 10:42 pm

try not letting ur puppy walk around on the floor when u go to the vet

dont let ur puppy walk on the road...especially through the grass at the side of the road

Postby Team Loco » June 20th, 2012, 10:49 pm

my 4 caribbean shepherds cost me $1500 in a visit today. them better go vegetarian yes, they too costly

Postby S_2NR » June 20th, 2012, 10:54 pm

UML wrote:try not letting ur puppy walk around on the floor when u go to the vet

dont let ur puppy walk on the road...especially through the grass at the side of the road

well maybe thats why, whenever i open the gate (auto) and driving in he love to go on the front lawn and pee.

now all he doing is lying down and/or hiding from everybody, not a sound

vomit up everything he eat for the past two days.

i cant go through this parvo thing again na, read somewhere that rotts and dobermans are especially prone to parvo.

Postby maj. tom » June 20th, 2012, 10:57 pm

Wash down the place with bleach. It kills the parvovirus. Double the disinfectant instructions on the bottle. Can't do anything about the grass areas and soil though without killing everything in it.

Postby UML » June 20th, 2012, 11:14 pm

S_2NR wrote:
UML wrote:try not letting ur puppy walk around on the floor when u go to the vet

well maybe thats why, whenever i open the gate (auto) and driving in he love to go on the front lawn and pee.

i cant go through this parvo thing again na, read somewhere that rotts and dobermans are especially prone to parvo.

most likely...cause u dont know which sick stray dog pee there before him

Postby Stephon. » June 20th, 2012, 11:35 pm

Thanks for the heads up!

Postby turbosingh » June 21st, 2012, 6:39 am

So what the price now adays to get your dog vaccinated?

Postby r3iXmann » June 21st, 2012, 7:28 am

Also, take up your dog's bowl immediately after he's done eating... Parvo is d worst :x

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » June 21st, 2012, 8:34 am

I think they have nail clippers for dogs in pet shops......kinda looks like a single hole punch......I mean rather than file their nails with a whatever you were gonna use.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 21st, 2012, 1:11 pm

Parvo is always around and is product of flies mainly.

Always wash your dog's bowls before and after feeding and cover them down.
Most dog owners leave the bowls with food out or forget to rinse before next feeding.

Wash down with bleach, disinfectant dont work against parvo.

Rott puppies require 4-5 booster shots as opposed to other breeds that require 3.
They are very susceptible to Parvo.

Additional signs to Parvo other than what is listed like no appetite, vomiting, diarrhoea are:
A yellow pigment in the whites of their eyes and yellow stomach.
Also their tongue would look pale and their stool will have blood.

And well if they do have parvo they need to be quarantined and given rehydration salts.

And as with most anti viral treatments, the parvo vaccine is a strain of the parvo virus itself.
Your dog must be healthy to take this shot and hope their bodies counteract it.
Dogs have died when given the Parvo shot.

Simple hygiene can prevent parvo, this is much better than the parvo shot.
It would also help to give your dogs vitamins: Canine Health and Silvermax and two good ones.
Its costs about $25 and $45. Start one and when its finished start the other in cycle.

Postby noshownogo » June 21st, 2012, 1:36 pm

good thread here, many of us love our dogs as an extension of our family. Can't sit back and watch them simply die.

Rx

Postby Rx » June 21st, 2012, 8:45 pm

good thread

Postby Sky » June 21st, 2012, 8:50 pm

Michael Knight... wrote:I think they have nail clippers for dogs in pet shops......kinda looks like a single hole punch......I mean rather than file their nails with a whatever you were gonna use.

Yup, and take them to the vet for them to show you how to cut it. They have blood vessels in their nails and a bleeding paw is the worst.

Cobalt60

Postby Cobalt60 » June 21st, 2012, 9:49 pm

S_2NR wrote:

I had two puppies survive that. Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate. Parvo is the worst.

rx80

Postby rx80 » June 21st, 2012, 11:10 pm

Just have to try your best to keep the area clean as possible, I buy bleach from price mart and dilute it 1 to 6, then use a watering can to spread it on the ground, usually do this every other week, keeps the concrete clean, toads away from my pond and disinfects... Also use some disinfectant in the kennel every so often... And try covering anything that can attract flies and then your dog. After feeding wash the bowl and pu it away..

demogorgon15

Re:

Postby demogorgon15 » June 22nd, 2012, 9:32 am

Are these house dogs? long nails could be a sign that they aren't getting enough room to run around or time off of the leash.

ABA Trading LTD wrote:ammm...i hope yuh eh mind I post this here....but as is in relation to dogs

anyone know where I can get a dremel multipro (with rechargeable battery) kit locally?

It's to file down pet nails