trinihub wrote:There are lots of uneducated people who became millionaires and never even saw a secondary school or university.
francis1979 wrote:My experience is:
(1) Degree is not required to be successful in life however in most cases it accelerates you and puts you in a better position to be successful. ( a lot more doors are opened)
(2) Depending on the field you will not be respected without a degree no matter how good you are? This may lead to reduced business.
(3) In most instances 70% of what you studied for your degree will not be used after graduation; however what is of greatest value to a degree graduate is the way you apply the fundamentals of the degree to your job in solving “real-life” problems?
My advice to any young person is
(1) Spend the extra time in school and get a degree especially since it is free in T&T.
(2) Decide on your passion and choose your program / career. You should get advice from parents, teachers, etc. but you should be responsible for the ultimate decision. Don’t do it because someone told you to.
(3) If undecided get a job in the field what you think you will be interested in for a year prior to starting a degree; but be prepared that you will not get a nice job for the year; it will be hard work. But the hard work will give you the best practical experience for the degree program.(I know finding a job like this this is very difficult in T&T)
The above is based on my experience of being an Engineering Graduate from UWI who went to UWI directly after A’ Level. Did not enjoy it and had poor grades for the 1st 2 years. Decided to take time off and worked in different positions for 3 years from Manual Labour, Supervisor Position and Project Management . Saw the value in a Degree and returned to UWI to complete my Degree. On my return since I had the practical side got better grades and enjoyed the program a lot more.
Habit7 wrote:I need more persons with this mentality....
...less competition for me.
DSM_05 wrote:OP = sour grapes?
Humes wrote:Doh confuse the exceptions with the rule.
ado15mk3 wrote:Humes wrote:Doh confuse the exceptions with the rule.
so true. if they only knew.
mother always say "dont envy, you have no idea what they did to have those things"
have seen many examples of this over the years so i happy with my roti an butter yes
Humes wrote:Habit7 wrote:I need more persons with this mentality....
Ent.
To people who want to be the next Jobs or Zuckerberg or Kanye West, be very, very honest to yourself. Do you have that extraordinary thing that they have? Are you willing to work incessantly, ketch yuh ass and take some very scary risks? Then go brave.
If not, then doh fool yuhself into thinking that because some people have become financially successful without an education, you will as well. And doh fool yuhself into thinking that all qualified people go through life as scrunters.
Doh confuse the exceptions with the rule.
Humes wrote:Habit7 wrote:I need more persons with this mentality....
Ent.
To people who want to be the next Jobs or Zuckerberg or Kanye West, be very, very honest to yourself. Do you have that extraordinary thing that they have? Are you willing to work incessantly, ketch yuh ass and take some very scary risks? Then go brave.
If not, then doh fool yuhself into thinking that because some people have become financially successful without an education, you will as well. And doh fool yuhself into thinking that all qualified people go through life as scrunters.
Doh confuse the exceptions with the rule.
trent wrote:Re: getting a degree is overated...
so true...
1UZFE wrote:@bareback u rhel grimey... but thats true cause i did Lit With Education and believe me the only option was teaching dat cyar pay.. Doin something diffrent and watching my past colleagues getting $7500-10k per mth which is really good, but there are many options in TnT without a degree...
tdavies wrote:what sense getting a degree.................
there are schools in Central where u can get a degree in 1 year
go to school only on sunday and do only open book exams
a whole lot of HURTfuhshire for UWI grads
and they practically give you the exams to prepare for
no wonder UWI students behave the way they do
3 -4 years full time with real exams
I wouldnt bother with a degree nah!!