The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

Re: getting a degree is overated...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 10th, 2012, 2:26 pm

trinihub wrote:There are lots of uneducated people who became millionaires and never even saw a secondary school or university.

this

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » June 10th, 2012, 2:38 pm

My experience is:

(1) Degree is not required to be successful in life however in most cases it accelerates you and puts you in a better position to be successful. ( a lot more doors are opened)
(2) Depending on the field you will not be respected without a degree no matter how good you are? This may lead to reduced business.
(3) In most instances 70% of what you studied for your degree will not be used after graduation; however what is of greatest value to a degree graduate is the way you apply the fundamentals of the degree to your job in solving “real-life” problems?
My advice to any young person is
(1) Spend the extra time in school and get a degree especially since it is free in T&T.
(2) Decide on your passion and choose your program / career. You should get advice from parents, teachers, etc. but you should be responsible for the ultimate decision. Don’t do it because someone told you to.
(3) If undecided get a job in the field what you think you will be interested in for a year prior to starting a degree; but be prepared that you will not get a nice job for the year; it will be hard work. But the hard work will give you the best practical experience for the degree program.(I know finding a job like this this is very difficult in T&T)
The above is based on my experience of being an Engineering Graduate from UWI who went to UWI directly after A’ Level. Did not enjoy it and had poor grades for the 1st 2 years. Decided to take time off and worked in different positions for 3 years from Manual Labour, Supervisor Position and Project Management . Saw the value in a Degree and returned to UWI to complete my Degree. On my return since I had the practical side got better grades and enjoyed the program a lot more.

firstchoicett

getting a degree is overated...

Postby firstchoicett » June 10th, 2012, 2:52 pm

Degree I drop off from my CIS Degree and did every single IT short certification it had . I feels much better now in IT I feel the short courses always best degree .

Postby Bizzare » June 10th, 2012, 3:12 pm

CIS is a weak degree IMO. bess u really do some short courses instead of that.

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 10th, 2012, 3:13 pm

realy true.........trust me.....even a maters..some ppl cannot for shyt apply what was learnt to the field in which they work....

Postby M_2NR » June 10th, 2012, 6:32 pm

francis1979 wrote:My experience is:

(1) Degree is not required to be successful in life however in most cases it accelerates you and puts you in a better position to be successful. ( a lot more doors are opened)
(2) Depending on the field you will not be respected without a degree no matter how good you are? This may lead to reduced business.
(3) In most instances 70% of what you studied for your degree will not be used after graduation; however what is of greatest value to a degree graduate is the way you apply the fundamentals of the degree to your job in solving “real-life” problems?
My advice to any young person is
(1) Spend the extra time in school and get a degree especially since it is free in T&T.
(2) Decide on your passion and choose your program / career. You should get advice from parents, teachers, etc. but you should be responsible for the ultimate decision. Don’t do it because someone told you to.
(3) If undecided get a job in the field what you think you will be interested in for a year prior to starting a degree; but be prepared that you will not get a nice job for the year; it will be hard work. But the hard work will give you the best practical experience for the degree program.(I know finding a job like this this is very difficult in T&T)
The above is based on my experience of being an Engineering Graduate from UWI who went to UWI directly after A’ Level. Did not enjoy it and had poor grades for the 1st 2 years. Decided to take time off and worked in different positions for 3 years from Manual Labour, Supervisor Position and Project Management . Saw the value in a Degree and returned to UWI to complete my Degree. On my return since I had the practical side got better grades and enjoyed the program a lot more.

Some great advice, especially engineering wise. Also If one is really inclined to study something I'd advise taking the year off between a levels and university and get a job in that area. Use your "summer" vacation as well to find a job in that field too!

Lastly, don't let GPA become all that matters. It doesn't. Yes it looks wonderful on a resume but you can come out with a first class honours, have zero people skills and you'd be a failure to society.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 10th, 2012, 6:47 pm

Well that's why I drop off and did all the short IT courses and did all exams this is like 6 years ago thro.

Humes

Postby Humes » June 10th, 2012, 7:05 pm

Habit7 wrote:I need more persons with this mentality....

...less competition for me.

Ent.

To people who want to be the next Jobs or Zuckerberg or Kanye West, be very, very honest to yourself. Do you have that extraordinary thing that they have? Are you willing to work incessantly, ketch yuh ass and take some very scary risks? Then go brave.

If not, then doh fool yuhself into thinking that because some people have become financially successful without an education, you will as well. And doh fool yuhself into thinking that all qualified people go through life as scrunters.

Doh confuse the exceptions with the rule.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » June 10th, 2012, 8:08 pm

OP = sour grapes?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 10th, 2012, 8:11 pm

DSM_05 wrote:OP = sour grapes?

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » June 11th, 2012, 8:39 am

Humes wrote:Doh confuse the exceptions with the rule.

so true. if they only knew.
mother always say "dont envy, you have no idea what they did to have those things"
have seen many examples of this over the years so i happy with my roti an butter yes 8-)

Bareback

Postby Bareback » June 11th, 2012, 9:54 am

ado15mk3 wrote:
Humes wrote:Doh confuse the exceptions with the rule.

so true. if they only knew.
mother always say "dont envy, you have no idea what they did to have those things"
have seen many examples of this over the years so i happy with my roti an butter yes 8-)

Clearly sour grapes......

A degree is not a visa, it is an opportunity - some open the door, others pretend they aren't home.

It is a tool, and like any other intangible tool you cannot look for an intructional manual. If you are then you'll end up making threads on tuner like this one!

silver

Postby silver » June 11th, 2012, 10:11 am

75 million under 25 unemployed

By By Carla Bridglal

Story Created: Jun 6, 2012 at 1:05 AM ECT
(
Story Updated: Jun 6, 2012 at 1:05 AM ECT )

Like many young people, Shanna-Marie Israel had a plan.

The 26-year-old from Diego Martin was going to study hard, graduate from university with her degree in Communications Studies, and then land a decent job with a decent salary, because she had that coveted piece of paper saying BA on it, which would put her way ahead of the pack.

As it turned out, Israel and many other young people had the same plan.

"I have a double major in Literatures in English and Communications Studies. I knew there wasn't much of a market for Lit besides teaching, but everyone told me Comms was in demand. Well, apparently, not much," she said.

According to the International Labour Organisation (ILO), 75 million young people under 25 are unemployed.

This grim picture, says the organisation, is further aggravated by the large number of youth engaged in poor quality and low paid jobs, with the vast majority of jobs available to young people being low paid, insecure, and with few benefits or prospects for advancement.

The organisation notes: "A generation without the hope of stable employment is a burden to society. Poor employment in the early stages of a young person's career can harm job prospects for life. Underemployed or unemployed youth will have less to spend as consumers or to save and invest, which will hurt employers and economies. The economic investment of governments in education and training will be wasted if young people do not move into productive jobs that enable them to pay taxes and support public services, as well as sometimes becoming a source of rising crime rates and drug abuse."

The Central Bank noted in its April 2012 Monetary Policy Report two Wednesdays ago that while the latest Central Statistical Office data show the unemployment rate in Trinidad stood at 5.2 per cent in the third quarter of 2011—representing a decline from the 5.8 per cent recorded in the previous quarter, and 5.9 per cent recorded in the third quarter a year earlier—the labour force was actually also reduced. Notwithstanding the decline in the unemployment rate, the majority of job losses over the period occurred in the youth category —people ranging 20 to 24 years old.

Trinidad and Tobago churns out several thousand of university graduates every year, and while many are eager to join the brave new world of work, finding a job remains a challenge.

Even harder is finding a job for which they are qualified.

The government, then, usually ends up as an employer of last resort.

Israel ended up at the Labour Ministry as a clerical assistant through its undergraduate employment programme, and then with the Ministry of Legal Affairs, also as an assistant. Both were a far cry from literature or communications, and were entry level jobs requiring little training.

"(There are) issues with hiring, placing and maintaining (staff at government agencies)," notes International Monetary Fund mission chief for Trinidad and Tobago Judith Gold.

In an interview with the Business Express two Tuesdays ago, Gold said while there was lots of room for implementation capacity for specific government programmes, there were, however, "huge challenges".

"There are huge problems with the right people doing the right jobs, training, even staffing, and that is hindering the government's ability to implement its various programmes in various sectors. In the public service there are a lot of unstaffed positions and lots of short term contracts. You have good training initially, but then these people are not put into the right positions and therefore they aren't invested in the job," Gold said.

She observed that there was a high turnover because there are a lot of short term contracts that are not always renewed: "People have to worry about themselves and their places."

That's what happened to Varrendra Mahabir.

The 27-year-old from Penal graduated in 2009 with a degree in Literature, Language and Education. He got through as a secondary school teacher – but on a short term contract. When his contract ends in July – the end of the school year – unlike other teachers who will be getting a salary during those holiday months, he will be in search of a job.

"I'm on contract and when that ends, I'm not sure if it will be renewed, so right now I'm looking at different leads to fall back on," he said.

Annaleah Doodnath, 22, also from Penal, graduated last year with a degree in Economics and through the on-the-job-training (OJT) programme run by the Science Technology and Tertiary Education Ministry, is currently a clerk at one of the regional corporation offices.

"I'm here to get some experience, and hopefully move on to something else soon," she said, adding that a few of her friends from university are also in the same boat, holding on to an OJT job, while looking for something that fits their training.

Israel eschewed OJT and moved on to the private sector, at a job that's not really what she studied for, and not at her ideal salary. But at least she's permanent. It might still be a stepping stone to greater things, and for now, as the labour market and the economy continues to be in a slump, she'll take security over glamour, she says.

Postby stev » June 11th, 2012, 10:18 am

a degree gets u an interview, not a job....or at least that how it used to be

Daran

Postby Daran » June 11th, 2012, 10:51 am

A degree is just proof that you can do more difficult sheit....however, with the way the majority of UWI students just cram for exams, and barely pass. It honestly doesn't prove sh*t. Anyone with an ounce of intelligence and get through once they understand the system.

This is much less so in what I call 'real' degrees....meaning Eng, Med & Law....nat sci and econ to a lesser extent.

But again while more respectful, getting a degree in those fields doesn't mean you smart. Even if it's first class.

I know a chick who had first class 4.0 GPA in Elec Eng (possibly the hardest degree in UWI to get first class) and she's as slow as molasses when it comes to thinking on her feet. I keep her in the office to do research where she is very strong, but I can't trust her to make intelligent on site decisions. My JohnD techs are far better and sometimes out perform the engineers here.

Any engineer who sits back relaxes and thinks because of his/her degree is fired within months here.

As for the other tertiary schools out there, it's hit and miss. At least I can trust that a upper second uwi student has a certain competence in most instances.

In the end, a degree just means you have something to support or prove what you're capable off....meaning it gets your foot in the door.....however, it doesn't mean sheit in the end once you get in.

Postby stev » June 11th, 2012, 11:04 am

scary to know that majority of future doctors are the same drunkards that came out of UWI. lol

Skanky

Postby Skanky » June 11th, 2012, 11:38 am

I'd rather have a degree than not.What I do after I earn a degree is a whole other story.

People complain that UWI people with degrees aren't thinkers....well guess what...that's what having a degree means...it means you can take classes, read a bit,get a draft for labs from previous years and regurgitate.It doesn't strictly mean that you're the greatest thinker.Most MSc programs same thing....you get knowledge handed to you....you know how to learn and regurgitate.

If you want to demonstrate you're a thinker with the ability to critically analyse and maybe solve problems get an MPhil or PHd.

Postby Stephon. » June 11th, 2012, 12:03 pm

But a degree doesn't necesserally mean that you're smart either, most of us half ass our way through classes, drink more than open a study manual, get serious the week before exams/do all nighters and get straight As. Probably why a degree means fk all now a days because anyone can get one.

Postby Sky » June 11th, 2012, 12:23 pm

Humes wrote:

Ent.

To people who want to be the next Jobs or Zuckerberg or Kanye West, be very, very honest to yourself. Do you have that extraordinary thing that they have? Are you willing to work incessantly, ketch yuh ass and take some very scary risks? Then go brave.

If not, then doh fool yuhself into thinking that because some people have become financially successful without an education, you will as well. And doh fool yuhself into thinking that all qualified people go through life as scrunters.

A degree may not focus as much as you'd like on the field of your choice, but it helps you to be a better employee.
See all those WTF classes? OB, Soci, Comms 1 &2, Info Lit, IT. They all help you with
Time management
Project management
People Skills
Documentation and using office in general

I work with people making upwards of 30k/mo and they can't speak properly. They can't write a formal email, they do everything on a notepad, hell some can't burn a cd.
Why? because back then they get a job on a rig/platform an work their way up.
They have the skills to do the actual tasks, but they still lack.
Degree then work vs work, I think you'll do better with the degree and reach faster.

tdavies

Postby tdavies » June 11th, 2012, 12:37 pm

what sense getting a degree.................

there are schools in Central where u can get a degree in 1 year
go to school only on sunday and do only open book exams
a whole lot of HURTfuhshire for UWI grads
and they practically give you the exams to prepare for

no wonder UWI students behave the way they do
3 -4 years full time with real exams

I wouldnt bother with a degree nah!!

Postby M_2NR » June 11th, 2012, 12:37 pm

Sky, also, you don't do much like those in Eng yet they expect to have a 4 year program in 3 years and also expect students to have such skills. :| Mind you every decade the program is "restructured" in some faculties eh.

Postby Stephon. » June 11th, 2012, 12:45 pm

Humes wrote:

Ent.

This is true but in Trinidad it's way too easy to make money that you NEED to be dependent on a degree. There are people with masters currently paying me rent at the end of the month. The man of the house was recently complaining to me how he was the next in line to move up in the company he works, for a position he applied for and he got snubbed by someone who knew someone.

Maybe the "school = security" works in other countries, but it's kinda hard to expect a lot from a degree in Trinidad, hope for the best but prepare for the worse I'd say. But even in America it's hard to get a job WITH a degree.

To me personally, school is just something my sisters and I are doing or did, just so they can show off that we have a degree in this and a masters in that at family get togethers.

I for one ain't waiting to finish my masters and going to expect anything out of it. I also never plan on working for anyone in my life either, so far so good.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 11th, 2012, 1:00 pm

Party Card > Degree!!

Bareback

Postby Bareback » June 11th, 2012, 1:11 pm

Part of the issue of not being able to think is the way they are being taught by the professors. I did not go to UWI and the way in which lecturers/ professors teach outside of UWI is not by telling or making you recite a text book, but by making you do projects, assignments, class involvement, attendance, group involvement, presentations, attire, group evaluations, etc.............. all of these show the prof that you can do more than vomit words from a book and the final marks are probably 20% of the final grade. Many of the International Asian students did not get 4.0's beacuse of this.

As for that chick who crying wolf with a DOUBLE MAJOR in English and Literature............. seriously WTF were you thinking you would do with that in Trinidad - educate the Guntas???????? And she is expecting a high paying job!!!

"Israel eschewed OJT and moved on to the private sector, at a job that's not really what she studied for, and not at her ideal salary. But at least she's permanent. It might still be a stepping stone to greater things, and for now, as the labour market and the economy continues to be in a slump, she'll take security over glamour, she says." At lest she got her head out of her yahoo and recognized the reality of life!!!!!!!!

Postby 1UZFE » June 11th, 2012, 1:19 pm

@bareback u rhel grimey... but thats true cause i did Lit With Education and believe me the only option was teaching dat cyar pay.. Doin something diffrent and watching my past colleagues getting $7500-10k per mth which is really good, but there are many options in TnT without a degree...

Postby cinco » June 11th, 2012, 1:23 pm

best part of this whole thread is the OP can't even spell overrated...

trent wrote:Re: getting a degree is overated...

so true...

Postby 1UZFE » June 11th, 2012, 1:24 pm

^^ he doesnt have a degree...lol

Postby Stephon. » June 11th, 2012, 1:28 pm

Mortifying.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » June 11th, 2012, 1:51 pm

1UZFE wrote:@bareback u rhel grimey... but thats true cause i did Lit With Education and believe me the only option was teaching dat cyar pay.. Doin something diffrent and watching my past colleagues getting $7500-10k per mth which is really good, but there are many options in TnT without a degree...

Ain't reality a beeotch!!!!!!!!!!

But the truth is that the comments about who you know, where you went to school (high school/ college), what your last name is, how you look, how you dress, how you speak are all valid. The last 3 I think academia could do a much better job at assisting students/ graduates.

My last name don't mean sheit wit the tighty whiteys in North America, but here (together with the high school I went to) give me a defintie advantage. As a professional it also makes my job at lot easier too.

konartis

Postby konartis » June 11th, 2012, 6:06 pm

tdavies wrote:what sense getting a degree.................

there are schools in Central where u can get a degree in 1 year
go to school only on sunday and do only open book exams
a whole lot of HURTfuhshire for UWI grads
and they practically give you the exams to prepare for

no wonder UWI students behave the way they do
3 -4 years full time with real exams

I wouldnt bother with a degree nah!!

this is the reason that a UWI graduate will get the job faster than these persons...then they running an complaining and posting saying that a degree is overrated...