Postby droppa » May 31st, 2012, 8:42 pm
ah lil write up!!
the day started out real nice, lil cold, but the sun started to peek out and the place warmed up well. we chugged on down to KFC/Pizza Hut gulf view car park and met up with the gang! going over my list i realise the BTs were missing so i called jon one and foxbrown immediately, jon said he was unable to make it and fox said he leaving to come up, the last minuters scrambled up meds while "Mr Super Soaker" attended to a small overheating issue with the black mamba, seems as though the mambas ac fan knocked out, and his temps raised a bit....nevertheless the time was right and we rolled out tru the back streets and onto debe where some did their last minute fill ups and grabbing of supplies for the day ahead. I stayed back and waited on fox, there was some chaotic traffic to go into penal due to the arrival day functions so the convoy turned, but one Robert decide to go straight and the other decided to turn right, the second team later regrouped with the first at the rock road junction and then proceeded to the morne diablo fishing village, we all stopped at the beginning of the trail and aired down the tires, the crew was balanced with a strong vehicle/weak vehicle and newbie/experienced mix. Paulluct was the first victim of the trail, so after some attempts, he had to bail on us, paul boi, yuh miss out, this would of been a run for you to put that mazda to the test....higher up the other mazda was havin a time straddling what was the first big hole, after this there were a couple of "nice splash pools" and even some nice ruts, but not the victim claiming type. we then reached a point where was very strange to us, a stream wit a 2ft drop then a sudden up hill climb, apparently the usual trail was washed away and this was the new route, everyone made it up that hill, then the next pool would start to claim!! First was Trev, Chelsea's dad in the black jimny with the boggers, apparently when he hit the water, he somehow tangled the gears, but was quickly sorted and drove on out, the monster hilux with the bigger bogger was the big splasher, and this would knock out his alternator, then chin with the semi-stock red vitara had some front diff issues, at this point we made a wrong turn, unknowingly and parked up and waited for the group, lunch was had, then we tried to fix up chin, but no help, the trail started to get very stumpy and we turned, then to realise the trail leads in another direction, this would now take us to bunsee trace, making the reversal complete. through those teak field s is where all the drama happend, i put down ah real mission impossible drive, while sliding down a very steep off camber hill into a rut, i start to apply power and move, it was jus like a reflex not to stick, fox had to pull chin all the way out, elvis had to pull rene some, after rene diff ucked up while trying to recover runul, trev make two sky up eh, men bawl for they mudda saying he woulda flip over, aastra really made a great attempt with his hts, monsterrocky did great also for his very first offroad run with his rocky, he never knew the rocky had so much potential, and he now learning the van too, elvis boi, dat hilux wukking, yuh lixx dat van till the wifey drop out, she say too much whiplash, yuh work dat bumper till them 14bolt run slack and yuh really didnt give up, the front end was making noise and yuh still towing the super soaker up the hill, real people got stuck yesterday, and who did not stick, had to winch themselves at some point, adil came and waited on us, his lights in the distance was a sigh of relief......brain said "dude ah reach fcukin cliff, what to do" we waited a bit till the guys were moving in the bush and then pushed out to the end, brian, monster and myself were of the first to come out, then the others started to trickle out, bit by bit, on existing bunsee, the rescue relief team with the food and drinks met us up, we decided to go palmiste park for the after run lime, it had place to park and running water to wash off hands......
to all those in attendance, especially the 3 guys who rolled with us for the first time, sorry yuh cudnt amke it paul, thanks for coming out and supporting, you all did well, some clubs make runs and end up overnighting in the bush, so dont feel annoyed for the lateness!!!!
to those who came to our assistance afterward, your generosity was greatly appreciated by all, even the piper!!!!
to all those who got stuck, got hungry, or just simple got frustrated, this is Side-B, and this is what offroading is about, no one was left behind, i made sure and called Z cause i was infront and wasnt sure where he was, i know he went back for his ATV, and he said thanks for the call, he was out on the main road, and cud not join us in palmiste, he had other commitments, thanks for dropping in Z, your presence is always welcomed!!!!