Side B - Indian Arrival Day, Morne Diablo Part 2!!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Re: Side B - Indian Arrival Day, Morne Diablo Part 2!!

Postby 3stagevtec » May 30th, 2012, 8:08 am

Place colddd! doh wanna get up... *drags a$$ off bed*

WAIT FOR MEE!!!

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 30th, 2012, 12:59 pm

i'm back home :(

my 4wd refused to engage and my front wheels won't turn :(

turns out that the vacuum line came out, an easy fix if i knew on the trail :x

oh well :cry:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 30th, 2012, 3:41 pm

So how was it? Serious rain down south?

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 30th, 2012, 10:56 pm

weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What an epic run!!!! Now reach home....Glad to hear that paullct!!!!! Trail claimed some more men but everyone got out safely and can drive home!!!!!! Thats Side B for you, leave no man behind.......Write up soon....Sleep now....Work tomorrow????? I think not......

droppa

Postby droppa » May 31st, 2012, 12:14 am

wowwwwwwwwwww
eeepeeeeeyeseeeeeee run!!!

every body stick, every body had to get pull....

pic and vids tomoro, vex i eh hav ah vid of the drive i put down on the off camber hill!!!!!!

Thanks to all who came, and at the end too, and for those who missed it, yuh kno the drill!!!

MonsterRocky

Postby MonsterRocky » May 31st, 2012, 12:44 am

waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!!!!!!!!
dat was 1 crazy badazz first run with d rocky..........just hope d guys dat damaged stuff repair soon!!!!!!!!! :wink:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 31st, 2012, 5:07 am

Don't like the sound of that , how many got damage? And what damages?

.z.

Postby .z. » May 31st, 2012, 7:47 am

every body stick, every body had to get pull....

U sure???

Z

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 31st, 2012, 8:47 am

"Goodnight.... Anyone wah get dey van wash tonight??"

Bwa-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha!!
Take a bottle of pepsi fuh dat!

.z.

Postby .z. » May 31st, 2012, 8:59 am

where d pics.

btw anyone took pics of the tail end.

Z

Postby 3stagevtec » May 31st, 2012, 9:17 am

woah! what the hell happened yesterday!!! time to go sort out my front diff and see what failed..

2WD mashing up de place yo! :twisted: :cry: :lol:

Everyone gonna have a story to tell after this one. pics and vids will come shortly..

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 31st, 2012, 10:22 am

Right!!!
Let meh do ah lil write up.....

So we meet up at KFC Gulf View at 8:00AM...Convoy was 15...New comers were chelsea and his dad in Suzuki Jimny and Suzuki Samurai and paullct in a Mazda B2500..
So we pulled out at approx 9:10am waiting for who we could....We met fox in Debe....Debe-Penal had some traffic as India Arrival Day celebrations were in full swing. So we had to take an alternative route through Barackpore. We got split up at this point but made great use of the radios and we linked at Penal Rock road......Arrived at the reversed entrance at approx 10:45am....And it was level mud....

Casualities: Paullct - CV busted at the entrance or so we thought so he ventured no further...Glad to know it wasn't serious. Mazda b2500
Next was the red suzuki Vitara....We think the cup for the inner CV came out of the diff but we were that far inside that we decided that it was best to tow him through. So with the efforts of the Fox and a rope/shackle combo we pulled him through the trail.
Next was the Treasurer, 3stagevtec in his white Suzuki Vitara. Not sure what happened but we suspected the front diff. Still needs to be updated on whats taking place there..So with some hepl and his driving skills he went on ahead in two wheel.
Next was Bobvis in his monster Hilux...Two problems occurred. First his alternator seemed to stop charging after he went through a mud pool but it started to work again later on. Secondly while towing 3stage his front diff/axle started to act up. He also needs to update us on whats taking place....So he went on ahead in two wheel....But his van is Monsterous so no probs there!!

Real stickage both for the regulars and newcommers but we made it out of the trail at approx 8:30pm....Second time we came out in the dark!!!!
Meet up after with some whose chess bun was so severe, they had to bing some eats and drinks for us!!! LMAO......But big up to them....Thats how Side B does it!!!!! Conquering trails, leaving no man behind, coolest bunch!!!!

Will post some pics in a while!!

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 31st, 2012, 2:20 pm

WOW :shock:

sounds like y'all had a blast. turns out it was more than just the lines. my front diff needs to have the actuator pin replaced as it was broken. apparently it's very common for this to happen and i've been "off roading" for quite some time in 2wd without even realising it. like i said, i've never been off road in a group before so it's only now that i had the side B guys to actually observe and point out that my front wheels were in fact not spinning. the diff will be rebuilt with the new parts and serviced on thursday next. i will be present and ready for the next run, whenever it may be :twisted:

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 31st, 2012, 2:30 pm

Thats what I got before the camera died...

droppa

Postby droppa » May 31st, 2012, 7:51 pm

Hold my pics, the lil experia battery went dead so early and well after a certain time, man eh studying pics again!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 31st, 2012, 8:01 pm

epic pics dude - it looks like a real blast...hope those guys who need repairs are sorted out soon...

droppa

Postby droppa » May 31st, 2012, 8:42 pm

ah lil write up!!

the day started out real nice, lil cold, but the sun started to peek out and the place warmed up well. we chugged on down to KFC/Pizza Hut gulf view car park and met up with the gang! going over my list i realise the BTs were missing so i called jon one and foxbrown immediately, jon said he was unable to make it and fox said he leaving to come up, the last minuters scrambled up meds while "Mr Super Soaker" attended to a small overheating issue with the black mamba, seems as though the mambas ac fan knocked out, and his temps raised a bit....nevertheless the time was right and we rolled out tru the back streets and onto debe where some did their last minute fill ups and grabbing of supplies for the day ahead. I stayed back and waited on fox, there was some chaotic traffic to go into penal due to the arrival day functions so the convoy turned, but one Robert decide to go straight and the other decided to turn right, the second team later regrouped with the first at the rock road junction and then proceeded to the morne diablo fishing village, we all stopped at the beginning of the trail and aired down the tires, the crew was balanced with a strong vehicle/weak vehicle and newbie/experienced mix. Paulluct was the first victim of the trail, so after some attempts, he had to bail on us, paul boi, yuh miss out, this would of been a run for you to put that mazda to the test....higher up the other mazda was havin a time straddling what was the first big hole, after this there were a couple of "nice splash pools" and even some nice ruts, but not the victim claiming type. we then reached a point where was very strange to us, a stream wit a 2ft drop then a sudden up hill climb, apparently the usual trail was washed away and this was the new route, everyone made it up that hill, then the next pool would start to claim!! First was Trev, Chelsea's dad in the black jimny with the boggers, apparently when he hit the water, he somehow tangled the gears, but was quickly sorted and drove on out, the monster hilux with the bigger bogger was the big splasher, and this would knock out his alternator, then chin with the semi-stock red vitara had some front diff issues, at this point we made a wrong turn, unknowingly and parked up and waited for the group, lunch was had, then we tried to fix up chin, but no help, the trail started to get very stumpy and we turned, then to realise the trail leads in another direction, this would now take us to bunsee trace, making the reversal complete. through those teak field s is where all the drama happend, i put down ah real mission impossible drive, while sliding down a very steep off camber hill into a rut, i start to apply power and move, it was jus like a reflex not to stick, fox had to pull chin all the way out, elvis had to pull rene some, after rene diff ucked up while trying to recover runul, trev make two sky up eh, men bawl for they mudda saying he woulda flip over, aastra really made a great attempt with his hts, monsterrocky did great also for his very first offroad run with his rocky, he never knew the rocky had so much potential, and he now learning the van too, elvis boi, dat hilux wukking, yuh lixx dat van till the wifey drop out, she say too much whiplash, yuh work dat bumper till them 14bolt run slack and yuh really didnt give up, the front end was making noise and yuh still towing the super soaker up the hill, real people got stuck yesterday, and who did not stick, had to winch themselves at some point, adil came and waited on us, his lights in the distance was a sigh of relief......brain said "dude ah reach fcukin cliff, what to do" we waited a bit till the guys were moving in the bush and then pushed out to the end, brian, monster and myself were of the first to come out, then the others started to trickle out, bit by bit, on existing bunsee, the rescue relief team with the food and drinks met us up, we decided to go palmiste park for the after run lime, it had place to park and running water to wash off hands......

to all those in attendance, especially the 3 guys who rolled with us for the first time, sorry yuh cudnt amke it paul, thanks for coming out and supporting, you all did well, some clubs make runs and end up overnighting in the bush, so dont feel annoyed for the lateness!!!!

to those who came to our assistance afterward, your generosity was greatly appreciated by all, even the piper!!!!

to all those who got stuck, got hungry, or just simple got frustrated, this is Side-B, and this is what offroading is about, no one was left behind, i made sure and called Z cause i was infront and wasnt sure where he was, i know he went back for his ATV, and he said thanks for the call, he was out on the main road, and cud not join us in palmiste, he had other commitments, thanks for dropping in Z, your presence is always welcomed!!!!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » May 31st, 2012, 11:12 pm

Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeey.... i get an entire wheelbarrow of mud / crud / sapate from my van!! Had to drop the engine shield as well to get all the crap out of there. Back fender was an easy fix... used a 1" x 3" board to press it back out.

Dat run was bess!! big up especially to fox and mamba for dem epic rescues! i feel if fox tray was big enuff, he would throw de vitara on and haul him out de trail..... dais fackin bravery and camaraderie rite dere!

and off course my nominee for the "Most WTF moment" of the run goes to the black jimny dat went vertical and den ended up wid de driver's window 1 foot away from de bank.... that's right... he went vertical and then ended up in a rut tilted to the right at a very precarious angle.

obviously de only way forward was then for me to power around him to the left side and then yank him out from in front.... which was definetely easier said than done. after 2 attempts that ended up with my van directly behind him, i finally managed to grab a line that allowed me to pass on the left, which just happened to be ultra slippy, de beast was fishtailing all over de place but i managed to hold her and after a couple of "testicle in throat" moments, we managed to get him out. i ain't go lie..... dem was a few heart palpitating moments dere...... my codriver almost end up sitting on de center console cause according to him "dat fackin tree was coming inside de van horse!!" :shock: :shock:

really good job by de usual suspects... imtiaz, droppa, sal, "tractor man", runul, rene... i tink we managed de convoy well... de experienced guys were spread out, so it was easy to give directions and offer assistance to those that needed it.

My advice to the rest of guys.... "ALLYUH FEEL FREE TO BUY SOME RECOVERY GEAR NAH!!".....
doh wanna sound harsh, buh if we consider dat de guys wid de equipment weren't de guys that used it.... it makes sense for us all to have at least a couple shackles and a strap.

it will save time if everyone has basic gear so dat Sal will not have to run from the front to the back of de convoy wid a muddy snatch strap and shackles when someone gets stuck. I ended up spranging a shackle off Imtiaz's front recovery rope to use on my strap to pull black jimny with runul, cause my shackles were at de back of de convoy.... iz no scene really cause Sal like to run up and dong, but its very easy for stuff to be misplaced..... yuh see wha i sayin??

but all in all was really A BESS FACKIN RUN!!!!! yuh had to see wha we drive thru to believe it.... no one cud properly describe how gooey and sticky dat was. Everyone on dat run deserves a pat on de back.

Nice gesture by de guys who couldn't make de run to come down and meet us.... leo, jeremy, rotated and their codrivers.... de aloo pie and cold pepsi hit de spot well.

Oho.... wha bout de ole man who shown up and say "anybody wah a wash or wha?!!"..... i see imtiaz nearly choke on he aloo pie yes!! :lol: :lol:

When is de next one??

Smeed

Postby Smeed » May 31st, 2012, 11:20 pm

and Paullct dais a real hard luck dere pal!! but we made de rite call cause u woulda be suffering inside de trail! get her fixed up nice cause i have de feeling dat we go be back dere soon, especially since de white vit was acting up and de "datsun", new "ole hilux" and de lux on 24's couldn't make it...... i sure some chessburn was felt when dey see we last nite!!..... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby 3stagevtec » June 1st, 2012, 12:25 am

http://photobucket.com/sidebmornediablopt2
^
All pics..

Mamba showed up hot and ready for action... :lol:

*caption it*

*wishes he had leafs and a solid axle* lol

Mamba wet himself!?

You know a run is gonna turn out EPIC when...

Look where you gone an stick..

Which way this boi really wanted to go?? :|

This forest was so scenic..

*splash*

Last edited by 3stagevtec on June 1st, 2012, 1:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 3stagevtec » June 1st, 2012, 12:28 am

This is one of those caption it moments... :lol:

Last edited by 3stagevtec on June 1st, 2012, 1:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 3stagevtec » June 1st, 2012, 12:32 am

Z to our rescue!! It was such a relief to see him show up and to know we had someone with his experience around. Thanks man!

Pointing us in the right direction..

Yup, this was where Z sent us.. lol, I love this trail!

10 wheel drive yo!

So what was yuh secret to not crashing down the off camber hill boidroppaboi??

This happened while winching the monster Hilux out a deep pit. Those BFG MTs really dug deep!

I would have loved to see if I could have driven out of that! Silly aluminium front diff.. :evil:

Elvis examining the epic pit he slid into..
Last edited by 3stagevtec on June 1st, 2012, 12:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 3stagevtec » June 1st, 2012, 12:41 am

Thanks for the pull!

Smitty Built Snatch Strap - ideal for rescues!

At this point, things were getting very interesting!

*howls*

Some fellas came well equipped for the night yes..

Postby 3stagevtec » June 1st, 2012, 1:13 am

Vids are being left to upload..

See here for them when they complete..

http://www.youtube.com/user/3stagevtec/videos

.z.

Postby .z. » June 1st, 2012, 7:19 am

"My advice to the rest of guys.... "ALLYUH FEEL FREE TO BUY SOME RECOVERY GEAR NAH!!".....
doh wanna sound harsh, buh if we consider dat de guys wid de equipment weren't de guys that used it.... it makes sense for us all to have at least a couple shackles and a strap."

i endorse dis point.

i have found that rope is very useful>>> can be repaired (joined) easily, can also b used through a snatch block, length easily adjusted (u just need 2 know some basic knots)

d guys with winches can also save on spooling out plenty cable by using a rope to take up some of the distance to the anchor point and spooling out just enough cable for d recovery.

Brian saw this operation at the back and benefited at one time saying leave d rope i go use it 2 winch out.

Z

droppa

Postby droppa » June 1st, 2012, 10:08 am

i too am guilty of not having proper recovery gear, i have a cable, but elvis was yanking rene and it snapped, i think i will get some rope, a good length of 3/4 and some smaller shackles...

its been a while now we saying this, i think the guys who dont have better tires yet should do this first....

Paullct

Postby Paullct » June 1st, 2012, 10:24 am

Smeed wrote:and Paullct dais a real hard luck dere pal!! but we made de rite call cause u woulda be suffering inside de trail! get her fixed up nice cause i have de feeling dat we go be back dere soon, especially since de white vit was acting up and de "datsun", new "ole hilux" and de lux on 24's couldn't make it...... i sure some chessburn was felt when dey see we last nite!!..... :lol: :lol: :lol:

yeah Smeed, sounds good. She's going in the shop on thursday to rebuild the diff and a full service one time. She'll be back on the road and off the road by friday.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » June 1st, 2012, 10:31 am

Smeed

Postby Smeed » June 1st, 2012, 10:53 am

few pics.......
fox.jpg
fox wid de sexy bumper.jpg
mean meaner meanest.jpg
soooooooo clean.jpg
mamba take a peepee.jpg
lifted guys.jpg
side b.jpg
lusting over de green lux.jpg

Smeed

Postby Smeed » June 1st, 2012, 11:03 am

moreeeeeeeee
where de trail.JPG
watch how she flex.jpg
recoverin after an uphill.jpg
somebody cud sleep inside dere.jpg
monster.jpg
lux representin.jpg

Return to “Off Road Runs”