Dangerous Dogs Act - Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Dangerous Dogs Act goes into effect August 1, 2012

Postby nervewrecker » April 18th, 2012, 7:10 pm

Why dont the muffler bearings put a system in place where potential owners have to meet a specific criteria before they can own a dog? eg Fenced area, financially able to support a dog, willing to seek training for the dog (if necessary) and some sort of effin psychological evaluation of the potential owners so they dont mistreat the animal.
Too much kants buying dog (esp pitbulls as bling) and dont have a secure place to keep them or even treat the dog good, they you wondering why they misbehaving.

Postby nervewrecker » April 18th, 2012, 7:11 pm

This is fcukery to the highest level.

Postby pioneer » April 18th, 2012, 8:03 pm

I was once attacked by a monkey...where's the dangerous monkey bill?

Anyhow please sign

http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/figh ... n=Petition

Postby tr1ad » April 18th, 2012, 8:11 pm

too many pages to read through, but i think if a pit owner, once they have the proper security around their house, yard space, training and well insurance, it should be fine

Postby Damien » April 18th, 2012, 8:11 pm

Bout time

Pretender

Postby Pretender » April 18th, 2012, 8:15 pm

Habit7 wrote:Image

If not specific breeds this guy has to get insurance too?

Does that guy have teeth???? :fist:

Postby wagonrunner » April 18th, 2012, 8:16 pm

pioneer wrote:I was once attacked by a monkey...where's the dangerous monkey bill?

Anyhow please sign

I feel your pain. A feuner attacked some tuners, including me as well. Yet we must continue to endure in silent suffering.

Postby MG Man » April 18th, 2012, 8:52 pm

Pretender wrote:It sad to hear people like MG Man say what they say. Do you really think that banning a particular breed of dog will put an end to a person ever being mauled or bitten by a dog?

Soooo many people think this way. [b]NEWSFLASH!!! ALL DOGS HAVE TEETH!!! ALL DOGS CAN BITE.[b]

And to answer your question good sir, we are not against legislation governing dogs and/or owners of dogs. We are against the law in its current form. I sympathize with any family who has been hurt by any dog. But banning 3 specific breeds of dog will not in any small way completely remove the chance of being bitten.

never heard of a trini being mauled to death by a pothound or a band of pompeks.............

nervewrecker wrote:Why dont the muffler bearings put a system in place where potential owners have to meet a specific criteria before they can own a dog? eg Fenced area, financially able to support a dog, willing to seek training for the dog (if necessary) and some sort of effin psychological evaluation of the potential owners so they dont mistreat the animal.
Too much kants buying dog (esp pitbulls as bling) and dont have a secure place to keep them or even treat the dog good, they you wondering why they misbehaving.

and what about existing owners who don't meet your criteria?

Postby Habit7 » April 18th, 2012, 8:55 pm

MG Man wrote:never heard of a trini being mauled to death by a pothound or a band of pompeks.............

Scroll up

Hint: look for black & white pics

Postby Habit7 » April 18th, 2012, 9:03 pm

Pretender wrote:
Habit7 wrote:If not specific breeds this guy has to get insurance too?

Yes Caesar Milan it has teeth but we don't have to be a dog psychologist like you to know that different breeds have different personalities. Also their certain breeds don't have the physiology to maul a human.

Pretender

Postby Pretender » April 18th, 2012, 9:18 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Pretender wrote:
Habit7 wrote:If not specific breeds this guy has to get insurance too?

Yes Caesar Milan it has teeth but we don't have to be a dog psychologist like you to know that different breeds have different personalities. Also their certain breeds don't have the physiology to maul a human.

Aren't you the one who posted the article about pothounds killing a man in Point Fortin? Do you really think a dog like yours can't bite someone? Do you really think its physiology would stop it from mauling a child?

Postby nervewrecker » April 18th, 2012, 9:25 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Why dont the muffler bearings put a system in place where potential owners have to meet a specific criteria before they can own a dog? eg Fenced area, financially able to support a dog, willing to seek training for the dog (if necessary) and some sort of effin psychological evaluation of the potential owners so they dont mistreat the animal.

and what about existing owners who don't meet your criteria?

well mg, I didnt read the whole thread but most likely they might aim to put the animals to sleep. :cry:
I am not in favor of making a law overnight without putting measures in place over time to make way for it (give people alternatives / get their act in order). From now till 01/08 is not enough time.
I am all for the seizing of the dogs and the owners heavily fined though, let the fines go towards the maintaining of the dogs and prospective owners who meet the required criteria adopt the dogs taken from previous owners. The heavy fines will also act as a deterrent for all who want dog and cant care for them in the future.
None of us can give life, none of us have the right to take it. Its not the innocent animal fault it ended up in this situation but seems it has to pay with its life due to the inconsiderate actions of earths biggest disease - man.

I am also not for the singling out of specific breeds alone. Have some common dog bigger and more brutal than half of them malnourished pitbulls and the like out here.

I say put the owners to sleep too, if the dogs hadda go, so should the owner. Nobody killing my dogs just so be it pitbull or pompek, I hadda dead too :!: 0X

Postby nemisis » April 18th, 2012, 9:31 pm

i haven't seen anywhere in the bill that said you have to kill your dog, it just said you need to have it registered, spayed or neutered and insured. What exactly is the problem?

Postby pioneer » April 18th, 2012, 9:42 pm

pioneer wrote:I was once attacked by a monkey...where's the dangerous monkey bill?

Anyhow please sign

I feel your pain. A feuner attacked some tuners, including me as well. Yet we must continue to endure in silent suffering.

I had a $12,000 transmission job last month

top that nuh?

Postby Habit7 » April 18th, 2012, 9:53 pm

Pretender wrote:Aren't you the one who posted the article about pothounds killing a man in Point Fortin? Do you really think a dog like yours can't bite someone? Do you really think its physiology would stop it from mauling a child?

Pot hounds not all that far from their hunting hounds cousins, Pot hound like terriers can maul. But toy dogs 10lbs-20lbs pose no serious threat and should not be broadbrushed with any legislation.

Pretender

Postby Pretender » April 18th, 2012, 10:00 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Pretender wrote:Aren't you the one who posted the article about pothounds killing a man in Point Fortin? Do you really think a dog like yours can't bite someone? Do you really think its physiology would stop it from mauling a child?

Pot hounds not all that far from their hunting hounds cousins, Pot hound like terriers can maul. But toy dogs 10lbs-20lbs pose no serious threat and should not be broadbrushed with any legislation.

Ha ha ha oh lawd!!! U believe what we call pothounds are actually closely related to actual hunting hounds? what do they hunt, pots? ha ha ha

Postby wagonrunner » April 18th, 2012, 10:20 pm

pioneer wrote:I had a $12,000 transmission job last month

top that nuh?

I dunno that one. what did she do? what did it include?

Postby DVSTT » April 18th, 2012, 10:39 pm

any dog can maul a child, even a lil pompek! The bill is nonsense. how can they just ban 3 breeds? There are responsible owners of pitbulls who keep their dogs secured and away from public! What happens to them? This bill basically ignores their responsibility in properly keeping the dog. This bill needs to be revamped before it is enforced otherwise people will be releasing pitbulls all over. Stray pitbulls...

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2012, 10:41 pm

damn those dangerous dogs.

Postby pioneer » April 18th, 2012, 10:43 pm

There should be no ban on any "breed" or "type".

Simply charge owners where they are negligent.

Postby pioneer » April 18th, 2012, 10:43 pm

ABA how DARE you post those vicious man-eating dogs.

Postby pioneer » April 18th, 2012, 10:46 pm

clearly one can see in those pics the babies/children are dead

oh-the-horror

brb implementing dog bill

brb it will stop

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2012, 10:49 pm

marlener

Postby marlener » April 18th, 2012, 11:23 pm

I think that owners should be held responsible for the animals and that they are unfairly targeting certain breeds.If they impliment the bill as is and not give people enough time,how many people do you think will get mauled by stray pitbulls and then they will say that is the same thing we was saying. Love the pic ABA.I keep my pit inside,if some one breaks in and gets bitten I have to pay them from breaking and entering??

Rx

Postby Rx » April 18th, 2012, 11:29 pm

oh fork.

so much other laws to enforce and they picking on mih dogs?

Leave mih pit- hound alone... and allyuh cyah prove he's half pit !!!

Postby pioneer » April 18th, 2012, 11:30 pm

I sorry but there's gonna be epic backlash for this failgubment

They better amend that sh1t quick

Lotsa powerful stakeholders involved.

Postby X_Factor » April 18th, 2012, 11:32 pm

while i do agree to have some sort of legislation its being done in the wrong way
hold the owner accountable!...not ban the dog or put a high pricetag to own the dog
i'll wait to find out whats the premium gonna be to have them insured

they should have a dangerous foods act next..
put a ban on sugar,cheeze, oil etc...cause i am sure those kill more ppl yearly than dogs
anyone found to have diseases or ailments thats not genetic or hereditary should be charged because clearly they were not taking care of themselves!

Postby pioneer » April 18th, 2012, 11:42 pm

brb not focusing on the human element

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » April 18th, 2012, 11:59 pm

Obviously some financier behind this nonsense, again. I'm going to kick back and imagine who is suddenly going to benefit from something like... dog insurance... ah yes I see it all clearly now.

Postby pete » April 19th, 2012, 6:07 am

^^ Same thing I'm thinking. $2k/year for insurance by 10,000 dogs is $20M/year

And any payouts would be through a long drawn out process in the courts so easy easy money.