Strauss wrote:Devourment wrote:Again, this is just semantics, but I assume you mean LTE by 4G as TSTT already has had 4G for 2 years now in the form of WiMAX.
Is this real 4G?
i.e. near 100M bit/s moving and 1Gbit/s stationary transfer speeds? Plus the rest of things that go along with calling your network 4G ?
Edit: I'm questioning because 4G is "LTE Advanced", not simply LTE (which is still 3G).
lostallos101 wrote:no more mylime :'( now ah have to pay for every minute i talk
oh well so February for it right? *waits to see how this goes down*
lostallos101 wrote:umm fellas it done already :/ i think last week it officially finished
Habit7 wrote:No prob, all TSTT has to do is flick a switch and theirs is on too.
redmanjp wrote:i think is tstt backbone that doesn't have enough bandwidth- but if digi decide to upgrade tstt will have to flick on that switch
jsm1985 wrote:lostallos101 wrote:umm fellas it done already :/ i think last week it officially finished
That's not true, My Lime promotion is still running as it has all the time (it is renewed at the end of every period they advertise until)
Now until March 2012
http://www.bmobile.co.tt/services/mylime/
lostallos101 wrote:umm fellas it done already :/ i think last week it officially finished
skylinechild wrote:Habit7 wrote:No prob, all TSTT has to do is flick a switch and theirs is on too.
on really....![]()
u know something that i dont ???
Picasso wrote:skylinechild wrote:Habit7 wrote:No prob, all TSTT has to do is flick a switch and theirs is on too.
on really....![]()
Apparently he does...
TSTT already upgraded connections for selected cell sites and testing is going to start early 2012 on the " real 4G service ". The service may roll out for selected corporate clients in the late half of 2012 and be available for everyone before the end of 2012 or early 2013 .![]()
Doh PM me or ask nothing further
Picasso wrote:skylinechild wrote:Habit7 wrote:No prob, all TSTT has to do is flick a switch and theirs is on too.
on really....![]()
Apparently he does...
TSTT already upgraded connections for selected cell sites and testing is going to start early 2012 on the " real 4G service ". The service may roll out for selected corporate clients in the late half of 2012 and be available for everyone before the end of 2012 or early 2013 .![]()
suffocate69 wrote:Picasso wrote:skylinechild wrote:Habit7 wrote:No prob, all TSTT has to do is flick a switch and theirs is on too.
on really....![]()
Apparently he does...
Not arguing with the timelines or any proposed plan to beta test corporate clients, it's very much a 'TSTT like' plan to only cater to rich west people.
Anyways, I used to work for TSTT contractor and their backbone (Metro-E) is superb, they could have supported 4G spreeds since 2006.
Their problem is and has always been the access side of the network. Going for 2G to 3G isn't a simple switch.They have to buy new equipment and install it on every cell site then to extensive testing. That sort of thing takes a lot of time.
Given my experience with TSTT's network rollouts, I don't see them being ready in 2012 sadly. Digicel on the hand is installing a lot of equipment and seems to be way ahead of where TSTT is at this point.
xtech wrote:redmanjp wrote:i think is tstt backbone that doesn't have enough bandwidth- but if digi decide to upgrade tstt will have to flick on that switch
I believe its the other way around and is Digicel "Trinidad" with a weak backbone.
All of their cell towers are linked not by fiber but with wireless. Unless they fix that they will never be able to give you full 3G or worse yet 4G speeds even if they do roll it out.
TSTT is just going to relax since Bmobile dont have to worry about a thing.
Besides flow has a faster internet access package an TSTTs Blink could match it but they simply wont be bothered
skylinechild wrote:suffocate69 wrote:Picasso wrote:skylinechild wrote:Habit7 wrote:No prob, all TSTT has to do is flick a switch and theirs is on too.
on really....![]()
Apparently he does...
Not arguing with the timelines or any proposed plan to beta test corporate clients, it's very much a 'TSTT like' plan to only cater to rich west people.
Anyways, I used to work for TSTT contractor and their backbone (Metro-E) is superb, they could have supported 4G spreeds since 2006.
Their problem is and has always been the access side of the network. Going for 2G to 3G isn't a simple switch.They have to buy new equipment and install it on every cell site then to extensive testing. That sort of thing takes a lot of time.
Given my experience with TSTT's network rollouts, I don't see them being ready in 2012 sadly. Digicel on the hand is installing a lot of equipment and seems to be way ahead of where TSTT is at this point.
agreeing with the points in blue.....However certain elements of the cell tower upgrade CAN be reused- and certain parts cant.....WRT to the cost, it can be done....TSTT annual profit is millions upon millions....also the tower must also still be downward compatible with normal cell phones - phones that just send / receive a call and SMS.
TSTT can do it but as someone rightfully said...they waiting for someone to drop the bombshell then they will do it....
Bmobile Tech wrote:My Finger is on the switch, just waiting for Digicel to launch first then *click* we on![]()
Digicel wrote:Dear Customer, we are currently performing network upgrades.If your phone switches to 'SOS', please change ur Mobile Network Mode to '2G'. 4 info txt 972 to 247
Bareback wrote:Fellas hanging on the EDGE of their seat for this boy...............