Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Devourment

Re: looks like digicel going 4g

Postby Devourment » December 15th, 2011, 8:40 pm

Strauss wrote:
Devourment wrote:Again, this is just semantics, but I assume you mean LTE by 4G as TSTT already has had 4G for 2 years now in the form of WiMAX.

Is this real 4G?

i.e. near 100M bit/s moving and 1Gbit/s stationary transfer speeds? Plus the rest of things that go along with calling your network 4G ?

Edit: I'm questioning because 4G is "LTE Advanced", not simply LTE (which is still 3G).

The 3G and 4G are just marketing terms. You're right that a couple years ago, 4G was supposed to indicate speeds of 1Gbit/s.....but that was abandoned long ago once OFDMA with 64 QAM using 4x4 MIMO was made ready for UMTS (i.e. GSM 3G aka HSPA+), WiMAX & LTE.

That's right, they are all using the same access technology, which is why HSPA+ is called 3.9G and WiMAX along with LTE are called 4G.

What makes WiMAX & LTE 4G and not 3G is that 4G can scale up to 1gbps in theory, however, from tests i've seen that requires 100mhz of spectrum, 4x4 MIMO, and 128 QAM using super low error correction ratios.....the best and most expensive phones are capable of 1/8 this speed (max).

Postby redmanjp » December 15th, 2011, 9:52 pm

i think is tstt backbone that doesn't have enough bandwidth- but if digi decide to upgrade tstt will have to flick on that switch

Postby bushwakka » December 15th, 2011, 10:19 pm

we likeee eeeet

anoojra

Postby anoojra » December 20th, 2011, 8:42 am

Since it have so many Bmobile users here...could someone tell me how to remove this Bmobile International News thing, where they does be sending me news every day that i don't read

someone had activate it on my phone sim and i don't know how they did it.

Thanks in advance

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » December 20th, 2011, 2:39 pm

no more mylime :'( now ah have to pay for every minute i talk

oh well so February for it right? *waits to see how this goes down*

Postby teems1 » December 20th, 2011, 2:40 pm

lostallos101 wrote:no more mylime :'( now ah have to pay for every minute i talk

oh well so February for it right? *waits to see how this goes down*

eh? waddya mean no more mylime? when is that officially ending?

Postby stev » December 20th, 2011, 2:59 pm

wah d as..doh make dem joke nah boi. wah u mean no more my lime? splain yuhself nah man.

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » December 20th, 2011, 4:19 pm

umm fellas it done already :/ i think last week it officially finished

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » December 20th, 2011, 10:52 pm

lostallos101 wrote:umm fellas it done already :/ i think last week it officially finished

That's not true, My Lime promotion is still running as it has all the time (it is renewed at the end of every period they advertise until)

Now until March 2012

http://www.bmobile.co.tt/services/mylime/

Postby skylinechild » December 20th, 2011, 11:03 pm

Habit7 wrote:No prob, all TSTT has to do is flick a switch and theirs is on too.

on really.... :lol: :lol: u know something that i dont ???

xtech

Postby xtech » December 20th, 2011, 11:12 pm

redmanjp wrote:i think is tstt backbone that doesn't have enough bandwidth- but if digi decide to upgrade tstt will have to flick on that switch

I believe its the other way around and is Digicel "Trinidad" with a weak backbone.

All of their cell towers are linked not by fiber but with wireless. Unless they fix that they will never be able to give you full 3G or worse yet 4G speeds even if they do roll it out.

TSTT is just going to relax since Bmobile dont have to worry about a thing.

Besides flow has a faster internet access package an TSTTs Blink could match it but they simply wont be bothered
Last edited by xtech on December 20th, 2011, 11:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » December 20th, 2011, 11:50 pm

jsm1985 wrote:
lostallos101 wrote:umm fellas it done already :/ i think last week it officially finished

That's not true, My Lime promotion is still running as it has all the time (it is renewed at the end of every period they advertise until)

Now until March 2012

http://www.bmobile.co.tt/services/mylime/

wait nah so what was with the text then really taking money for all the minutes i spent? messing with man emotions :(

ok sorry mates...i was mistaken...carry on

Postby S_2NR » December 21st, 2011, 12:00 am

stop talkin sheit

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 21st, 2011, 9:44 am

skylinechild wrote:
Habit7 wrote:No prob, all TSTT has to do is flick a switch and theirs is on too.

Apparently he does...

TSTT already upgraded connections for selected cell sites and testing is going to start early 2012 on the " real 4G service ". The service may roll out for selected corporate clients in the late half of 2012 and be available for everyone before the end of 2012 or early 2013 . :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Doh PM me or ask nothing further :|

Postby skylinechild » December 21st, 2011, 5:23 pm

Picasso wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

Apparently he does...

TSTT already upgraded connections for selected cell sites and testing is going to start early 2012 on the " real 4G service ". The service may roll out for selected corporate clients in the late half of 2012 and be available for everyone before the end of 2012 or early 2013 . :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

so from this we can see.....
1. the constant outages of the network was due to these "upgrades" on CERTAIN sites.....
why they keeping the cows they have instead of upgrading them or replacing them with full fledged cell sites to get island wide coverage...

2. they going to start testing by NEXT yr

3. they service MAY be available middle of next yr... no promises

my issue is not with you my issue is why they taking soo long to make it available....

Trinidad is one of the most prosperous islands in the Caribbean yet we have sub standard service....

*sigh

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » December 21st, 2011, 6:11 pm

dan we pitch paves some of the best roads in trini n look at ours....its just how it is here...its a competition thing...one waiting on other to make move before dropping the bombshell

suffocate69

Postby suffocate69 » December 21st, 2011, 8:14 pm

Picasso wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

Apparently he does...

Not arguing with the timelines or any proposed plan to beta test corporate clients, it's very much a 'TSTT like' plan to only cater to rich west people.

Anyways, I used to work for TSTT contractor and their backbone (Metro-E) is superb, they could have supported 4G spreeds since 2006.

Their problem is and has always been the access side of the network. Going for 2G to 3G isn't a simple switch.They have to buy new equipment and install it on every cell site then to extensive testing. That sort of thing takes a lot of time.

Given my experience with TSTT's network rollouts, I don't see them being ready in 2012 sadly. Digicel on the hand is installing a lot of equipment and seems to be way ahead of where TSTT is at this point.

Postby skylinechild » December 21st, 2011, 9:19 pm

suffocate69 wrote:
Picasso wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

Apparently he does...

Not arguing with the timelines or any proposed plan to beta test corporate clients, it's very much a 'TSTT like' plan to only cater to rich west people.

Anyways, I used to work for TSTT contractor and their backbone (Metro-E) is superb, they could have supported 4G spreeds since 2006.

Their problem is and has always been the access side of the network. Going for 2G to 3G isn't a simple switch.They have to buy new equipment and install it on every cell site then to extensive testing. That sort of thing takes a lot of time.

Given my experience with TSTT's network rollouts, I don't see them being ready in 2012 sadly. Digicel on the hand is installing a lot of equipment and seems to be way ahead of where TSTT is at this point.

agreeing with the points in blue.....However certain elements of the cell tower upgrade CAN be reused- and certain parts cant.....WRT to the cost, it can be done....TSTT annual profit is millions upon millions....also the tower must also still be downward compatible with normal cell phones - phones that just send / receive a call and SMS.

TSTT can do it but as someone rightfully said...they waiting for someone to drop the bombshell then they will do it....